Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park At The George Inn

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Cambridge > Riverside Caravan Park At The George Inn > Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park At The George Inn
Bristol Road
Cambridge
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 7AL
Tel: 07 394 950 929  or  01453 890270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 26
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 60 Reviews
                8/10 from 60 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Judy Norton 21 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, excellent bathroom facilities.

Dog friendly pub on site, lovely dog walk by the river.

Plenty of local pubs.

Spacious pitches, not too busy so most caravans had a double pitch. Hedges between every 2 vans 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Toddyboy 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with very clean, & spacious facilities.

Secure site with barrier in place and next door to a really friendly pub serving tasty food at competitive pricing.

Dog walking along a path and through woodland alongside the caravan park fence.

Bus stop outside useful for getting out and about. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pete162 3 reviews from this member

 An excellent site for relaxing, visiting local attractions or even breaking a long journey to/from the Southwest adjacent to ‘The George’ Public House on the A38.

Upon arrival we had a warm welcome and site brief,

The site itself is well laid out with twenty-seven pitches in total. Tall hedges divide the grass pitches into single or double areas, each are well proportioned. Hedges also remove a lot of traffic noise. The far end of the site ends with a fan of four hard standings.

Flat grass pitch with electric hook up and water tap.

The site is secure with a 2. 6M height restricting barrier which needs to be opened by reception or A George pub staff member. A secondary barrier to let sub-2. 6M vehicles pass is activated by a card swipe system and you pay a £10 refundable deposit at the nearby pub to get one.

Located alongside the river Cam with lovely river and woodland walks to explore the local area.

The site facilities were very good and spotlessly clean. A Block containing token operated washing machine, two toilets and four spacious shower rooms consisting of shower, toilet and wash basin can be accessed by the same card that operates the barrier. There are also two separate unisex toilets next to the wastewater/chem area.

The George Inn pub has a large beer garden and children’s play park. Good pub grub and ale.

There are Sainsbury’s and Tesco about 4 miles away in Cam as well as a very good Chippy.

We will definitely be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JVRUDALL 13 reviews from this member

 The welcome was good, and we were soon found a hardstanding pitch, (due to a pile of rubble, our booked site was unavailable). The hardstanding was quite small, but adequate.

There are some lovely facilities some walk away, with very clean bathrooms, excellent showers, but odd to have 6 showers and only 4 toilets. To remedy this to site have recently put in 2 new, unisex, toilets. However, one of the locks was dysfunctional and I got locked in - not great.

There is an excellent pub on site and lots of very good walks straight off the site. However, we were not told that the building work would recommence at 8. 00 am on the Tuesday, waking us up with a lot of heavy machinery.

The site should have been closed for this work, and we feel that a refund, or at least and apology, should have been forthcoming. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TheFreys 2 reviews from this member

 Flat grass pitch (pitch 4) with full electric hook up. Our spot was a a double pitch which was nestled between two hedgerows. We had a tent in the pitch next to us but there was plenty of space for both.

The site is located alongside the river cam. Ideal for river and woodland walks. Even sad a few chaps paddle boarding in the river, which looked fun.

Upon arrival the site manger apologised in advance for excess mud created by building work, however we did not experience any issues and found the site to be immaculately clean.

Site facilities were very good, toilet block was well kept, and the four family shower rooms were always clean.

The site is secure with a raising arm barrier and height barrier. I did feel a nuisance on one or two occasions when I had to bother the site manager to open the height barrier for access and egress. I’d like to mention that this was because we had a roof box attached to our vehicle, otherwise we would’ve padded without issue.

The George Inn pub is literally a stone throw away from the pitches and has a large beer garden and lovely park for the kids to play. The menu food and drinks menu was extensive.

Overall, we loved our Easter BH stay here and would definitely recommend it to fellow touring and camping enthusiasts. The site manager/ owner is a very pleasant lady who was very helpful. Thank you 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: AdenG1 14 reviews from this member

 If I had a pound for everytime I have passed this site I would be a very rich man but I had never tried it. At the end of my summer holiday I was looking for a site where I could break my return journey and visit my family locally.

The site is secure with a height restricting barrier which has to be opened by reception to allow vans in and out. The entry barrier and toilets are protected by a card swipe system and you pay a £10 refundable deposit at the nearby pub to get one.

The site is well laid out with tall hedges creating specific zones - this gives isolation and removes any traffic noise - the site is close to the A38 but generally this is quite a quiet road as the M5 takes the bulk of the traffic.

The food and beer in the pub are good. The nearest large supermarket is Tesco in Cam which is about 5 miles away.

Ive already booked for a one night stay in either direction for my holiday trip next year. An excellent site for exploring the local area or breaking a journey to the South West 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Pgrah6 1 review from this member

 A very well organised campsite with pitches divided by tall hedges. Run by the George inn who have a very large beer garden from where you can keep an eye on children in a very good play area. The pub also does excellent meals.

The newly built shower/toilet block has private rooms consisting of shower, toilet and wash basin and a very large changing area. Good Elsa and grey water disposal and convenient water supply.

Very secure with a substantial height barrier operated by the manager when required. Car entry and exit by card system £10 deposit required refundable when you leave.

Nothing negative to say about the site, second time I have used it and will be visiting again next year.

Convenient spot if travelling north from Devon/Cornwall. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Aimfir 1 review from this member

 Lovely small clean site with good access the the M5.

The pub does some good food

Slimbridge cafe on the canal with biking and canoe hire are good place to go.

Also good walking 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jeanette Lockett 1 review from this member

 Very secure you had to use a barrier card to enter and leave, over head barrier could only be open y warden.

Toilet had shower in with the and was very large and warm and clean.

Large pitches, very close to river and wood's for walks and pub was good for meals. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: RodM 2 reviews from this member

 An excellent clean and tidy site.

Well served by adjacent pub, The George.

Although next to a busy road, a tall screen of trees keeps the noise down.

Local shops within easy reach.

Ideal for visiting, Gloucester, Bath, Bristol, the Cotswolds and The Forest Of Dean. 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park At The George Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan Park At The George Inn?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park At The George Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cambridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4265 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement