Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Black Beck Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ulverston > Black Beck Farm Camp Site > Reviews

Black Beck Farm Camp Site
Bouth
Ulverston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8JJ
Tel: 01229 861284
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 15/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pam Bowker 1 review from this member

 Amazing views of the hills and countryside.

Quiet and peaceful.

Owners very friendly and helpful.

Plentiful hot water for pot washing

Hot showers and clean toilet block 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Phillip Watson 1 review from this member

 Only a small camp site but in the perfect place. Basic facilities but very clean and tidy.

A pub within five minutes walk, 10 minutes car drive to Ulverston, 5 minutes to Haverthwaite steam railway where you can catch train then boat to Windermere or Ambleside.

Friendly and helpful owners, will be back still more to see 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ianple 1 review from this member

 Excellent, friendly, clean, beautiful setting, and amazingly, there's a great pub nearby too!

So we'll definitely be going again. Bit expensive though. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graeme 3 reviews from this member

 It is quite simply the best site we have stayed on. The location and the friendly laid back owners made the stay very enjoyable.

We stayed in the shepherd hut which was so cosy and warm and very well sited.

We will be back again soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greatstuff 1 review from this member

 We have had a great time camping at Black Beck Farm.

We could choose where we could pitch our tent, lots of lovely areas to choose from, hidden corners & dips to pitch away from others,

The views are just perfect, from Sun Rise to watching the Stars in the evening, Perfect place to 'Get away from it all'

Good toilet & shower block, clean & plenty of hot water, area to wash your pots.

The village as great pub 'The White Hart' good bar meals (when your fed-up of bbq food!) The farm as lovely free range hen & duck eggs.

Windermere only 30min drive away, Enjoyed our day at Grizedale Forest & the Go Ape! The Site is in a good area for visiting the South Lakes. 5 min drive & your on the Steam Railway going to Lakeside then Steam Boats onto Bowness & Ambelside.

Very much looking forwards to returning again next summer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeets 3 reviews from this member

 Firstly, we were made to feel welcome by the very friendly and laid back staff!

The site itself is spread out on a series of hillocks. There is a main flat, closely mown field in the middle with the toilet block adjacent, or you can go up the hills a bit and find a very private but more rough and ready spot on the hillocks around. The ground here is less flat and less closely mown, so it is a bit more rough and ready, anti can seem quite a long slippy walk back down the hills at night to get to the loos, or with a heavy tent to pack up!

We found the loos were very basic and simple, but not old and always clean and supplied with soap, loo roll and hot water. Showers were free and hot, but you needed to keep pressing the button. The showers were basic but really generously sized so you had lots of space! Bear in mind there are no chairs or stools to put clothes on so prepare yourself for some shower gymnastics if you want to keep your clothes dry getting out, or just bring a bag to hang them all easily on the hook provided!

The views are absolutely stunning from most of the site from what I could see, and the night sky were beautiful. There were a lot of wasps and ants around up on the rougher hillocky areas, but the main flat area was fine! There was very little noise up on the more private hill areas, we heard nobody else at all from about 10pm, however going to the loo the main flat area was a little more lively a little later on. Nothing crazy but not silent. We don't really mind a little light talking or music in the evening wafting over, but if it bothers you bear it in mind and pick your spot carefully - like I said the hill areas were silent as they were so private!

There is a village pub nearby that does pretty decent food for about 15 a head, but there is very little else around locally. A couple of nice woods to walk in, but not even a shop - Ulverston about 15 min drive away is the best bet if you need any major supplies, otherwise go prepared! Generally a good basic site. We were pleased with it and had a nice time, and would likely go back so long as it was out of wasp and ant season! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluntmind 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely spot to stop and enjoy the Lake District.

The pitches are nice and spread out, with lots of dips and hidden areas, so it can be nice and private.

The facilities are good and it is all in a wonderful area.

It's a five minute walk to Bouth with the White Hart Inn serving good food and beers and now also a new farm shop has opened up nearby. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ninasam 1 review from this member

 What a hidden gem this site is! The views are amazing on this site, we felt on top of the world looking over the valley, the people were so welcoming & helpful.

The grounds are so very well kept, with very clean shower room & toilets, the washrooms are just along side from where we pitched our tent, two showers & two toilets for both ladies & gents, plus a nice area to wash your pots,

My family of 4 stayed for a great price of 15.00 per night & showers were all free! Added bonus of a great little pub 5 mins walk from the site with lovely village green with slide & swings for the kids. Prefect!


Thank you all at Black Beck Farm for a great time, we will definitely return soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikenfm 2 reviews from this member

 This was the first time I've been camping since I was a kid ! Stayed here for one night just to 'dip my toe in the water', so to speak.

I needed somewhere to use as a base whilst walking in the Lake District with my mate. I was not disappointed. The campsite whilst being basic is fantastic ! We had a warm greeting from the lady at the farm and paid 15 each per tent which I thought was reasonable.

The camping area is in a fabulous location with great views of surrounding woodland. The area is relatively flat and you can park your car very close.

There is a small toilet block that is very clean and has two showers with free hot water.

What is a real bonus is that there is a great pub less than 10 minutes walk away that serves food and real ale. What more could you ask for !

I shall certainly return as soon as possible for another weekend. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Judith64 1 review from this member

 I have stayed at been staying at Black Beck farm for 12 months now, over the last few months there has been a shower block installed with toilets. The showers are free I might add. Black Beck is a quaint little farm in Bouth, the owner Jean is a lovely lady and Neil is also very helpful.

There are lots of places to visit, within a short distance and lots of beautiful walks to go on.

Now that the showers and toilets (with electric lighting) have been installed, it is much more family orientated. No all male or female partys are allowed, this ensures that there is no loud noise after 10pm.

Well worth a visit. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Black Beck Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Black Beck Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Black Beck Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ulverston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44314 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement