Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Black Beck Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Bouth > Black Beck Farm Camp Site Reviews

Black Beck Farm Camp Site
Black Beck Farm
Bouth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8JJ
Tel: 01229 861284
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jeets 3 reviews from this member

Firstly, we were made to feel welcome by the very friendly and laid back staff!

The site itself is spread out on a series of hillocks. There is a main flat, closely mown field in the middle with the toilet block adjacent, or you can go up the hills a bit and find a very private but more rough and ready spot on the hillocks around. The ground here is less flat and less closely mown, so it is a bit more rough and ready, anti can seem quite a long slippy walk back down the hills at night to get to the loos, or with a heavy tent to pack up!

We found the loos were very basic and simple, but not old and always clean and supplied with soap, loo roll and hot water. Showers were free and hot, but you needed to keep pressing the button. The showers were basic but really generously sized so you had lots of space! Bear in mind there are no chairs or stools to put clothes on so prepare yourself for some shower gymnastics if you want to keep your clothes dry getting out, or just bring a bag to hang them all easily on the hook provided!

The views are absolutely stunning from most of the site from what I could see, and the night sky were beautiful. There were a lot of wasps and ants around up on the rougher hillocky areas, but the main flat area was fine! There was very little noise up on the more private hill areas, we heard nobody else at all from about 10pm, however going to the loo the main flat area was a little more lively a little later on. Nothing crazy but not silent. We don't really mind a little light talking or music in the evening wafting over, but if it bothers you bear it in mind and pick your spot carefully - like I said the hill areas were silent as they were so private!

There is a village pub nearby that does pretty decent food for about 15 a head, but there is very little else around locally. A couple of nice woods to walk in, but not even a shop - Ulverston about 15 min drive away is the best bet if you need any major supplies, otherwise go prepared! Generally a good basic site. We were pleased with it and had a nice time, and would likely go back so long as it was out of wasp and ant season!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bluntmind 3 reviews from this member

This is a lovely spot to stop and enjoy the Lake District.

The pitches are nice and spread out, with lots of dips and hidden areas, so it can be nice and private.

The facilities are good and it is all in a wonderful area.

It's a five minute walk to Bouth with the White Hart Inn serving good food and beers and now also a new farm shop has opened up nearby.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Greatstuff 1 review from this member

We have had a great time camping at Black Beck Farm.

We could choose where we could pitch our tent, lots of lovely areas to choose from, hidden corners & dips to pitch away from others,

The views are just perfect, from Sun Rise to watching the Stars in the evening,

Perfect place to 'Get away from it all'

Good toilet & shower block, clean & plenty of hot water, area to wash your pots.

The village as great pub 'The White Hart' good bar meals (when your fed-up of bbq food!) The farm as lovely free range hen & duck eggs.

Windermere only 30min drive away, Enjoyed our day at Grizedale Forest & the Go Ape! The Site is in a good area for visiting the South Lakes. 5 min drive & your on the Steam Railway going to Lakeside then Steam Boats onto Bowness & Ambelside.

Very much looking forwards to returning again next summer.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ninasam 1 review from this member

What a hidden gem this site is! The views are amazing on this site, we felt on top of the world looking over the valley, the people were so welcoming & helpful.

The grounds are so very well kept, with very clean shower room & toilets, the washrooms are just along side from where we pitched our tent, two showers & two toilets for both ladies & gents, plus a nice area to wash your pots,

My family of 4 stayed for a great price of 15.00 per night & showers were all free! Added bonus of a great little pub 5 mins walk from the site with lovely village green with slide & swings for the kids. Prefect!


Thank you all at Black Beck Farm for a great time, we will definitely return soon.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikenfm 2 reviews from this member

This was the first time I've been camping since I was a kid ! Stayed here for one night just to 'dip my toe in the water', so to speak.

I needed somewhere to use as a base whilst walking in the Lake District with my mate. I was not disappointed. The campsite whilst being basic is fantastic ! We had a warm greeting from the lady at the farm and paid 15 each per tent which I thought was reasonable.

The camping area is in a fabulous location with great views of surrounding woodland. The area is relatively flat and you can park your car very close.

There is a small toilet block that is very clean and has two showers with free hot water.

What is a real bonus is that there is a great pub less than 10 minutes walk away that serves food and real ale. What more could you ask for !

I shall certainly return as soon as possible for another weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juzieb 1 review from this member

After a fantastic weeks camping, my family can not say enough good things about this camp site. The location is perfect for the Lakes (plus blissfully quiet), and the views are wonderful. Not had such a warm and friendly welcome in many years.
Yes the site may be basic, but has a great deal to offer. There are washrooms and toilets at the bottom (very clean, and 50p got us more than 5 min hot water!), plus toilets in the middle of the camping area. They are small, but clean and more than adequate.
As per a couple of previous comments, yes there was no light bulb - but we did in fact ask about this, and were told it was not possible to have electric in this part the camp site. But not a problem, as being camping family we had a torch (always be prepared!). And lets face it, where in the Lakes can you stay for a family of 5 for only 15 a night ! We will be back again very soon.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Quartz 10 reviews from this member

The site is quite out of the way and the view from the pitching area was pretty good.

The site advertises itself as family orientated with strict noise rules however these were not enforced when we stayed there. The toilets were dilapidated and poorly maintained. There was one set up a hill (without working lights) and another down a steep hill at the rear of the farm house. A previous poster described the facilities as basic this was quite an understatement.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heavy 1 review from this member

Just got back from this site as we stayed over the bank holiday. The site itself was set in a lovely location with stunning views just a few miles from Ulverston where there's a supermarket. But like the review below said the facilities were very basic, not very child friendly as they had only one shower in a cramped cubicle which with a 50p coin would give you hot water for 5 mins.
There was one toilet for the men and women on the hill and I'm afraid the light in the womens toilet is still out of use, that's nearly a year after the post below stated.
The prices are still the same but overall if you don't mind struggling with the facilities on offer and just getting on with it, this site was pretty ok and as a last minute booking wasn't too bad really.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pcjjap 2 reviews from this member

Getting a campsite on the Friday of August BH in the Lakes is a challenge, but Black Beck had space for us - and plenty of others so it seemed :) The main camping area was a flat field, with standpipe and toilet hut nearby. Other than that there were plenty of other spots dotted around the site and we pitched up the hill a bit. The views were amazing! Size of tent was not an issue (and ours is XL!). 15 a night flat - not extra charges for our many children. (10pn if your tent is up to 6-man I think). The facilities were VERY basic, but OK for a weekend. Toilet hut needed a new light bulb and was busy! Other than that it was a little walk down to the farmhouse to use the other loos (3 more) or the shower. There was only one shower @ 50p a go. We didn't use it so can't comment on how good it was, but it looked modern enough - just a bit out of the way! There was NO HOOK UP & NO LIGHTS ON SITE (all the better to see the stars!)

A pitch in a farm field - friendly and fun! That was what we went looking for and that was what we got :) - OH and some good weather to boot!


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3618 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020