Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Foufinside Farm Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Foufinside Farm Certificated Site
Parwich
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QF
Tel: 01335 390228  or  07890 477189
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lynnprothero 1 review from this member

The most welcoming family run business that go the extra mile. We spent the whole summer for weekend last year and are back again. The view the family owners are amazing and do everything to make your stay the best. The best ever views too.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrcampa 4 reviews from this member

We have been using this site as a short stay weekend away since the birth of our daughter.

It is a very basic site, never overly busy or noisy. Kids play in the field and can look at the cows, chickens and farm cats that reside around the farm. This is a working farm so you will hear all the noises associated with being on a farm, so you will hear early morning mooing.

The farmers wife is very friendly and is usually around if you need any help, purchasing shower tokens, getting ice packs frozen or being informed of any village activities. You can also buy eggs if you need them from the free range chickens.

We love it because it is so simple. 1 toilet, 1 shower 1 sink. Showers are currently charged at 80p per go and its amazing how quick you can wash when being timed. You get 7 1/2 mins, and its enough. The toilets are basic but clean. I have given a low score on this only due to the size of facility. If things get busy with only one toilet you do have to use strategy.

There are some caravan pitches in a separate field with hookup. If you need tent hookup you can get this from the farmhouse if required.

Kids can roam about in the field, it feels like going back to my own childhood campsites of the 80's in the Yorkshire dales.

The pitches are relatively flat and you can pitch either under trees on one side or out in the open on the other. Views are magnificent and you are on top of a small hill looking out onto rolling landscapes. Cooking breakfast in the morning looking out was heaven.

On our first visit we entered the campsite from a northerly direction. I decided to take the dog for a walk thinking we were in the middle of nowhere. How wrong was I !. The most beautiful village opened up before me ( Parwich ) as I walked down the hill into a valley harbouring all manner of stunning homes my eyes were out on stalks! As I kept walking to the centre of the village It opened up into a village green with play area and local pub containing the shop selling all the basics you could need. The road that goes through the village only seems to serve the village and so has very little through traffic.

If you want a simple old school site that is very laid back including one of the most idilic and quiet villages in the district within walking distance ( 10 mins to the pub, I timed it ), then this is a must.

We took our friends and kids on our last visit and all agreed its just a lovely little spot.

The only down side is that walking back from the pub with associated lubrication can get you slightly out of breath as there is a bit of a hill to ascend. Considering this I recommend a slow amble up to the site after said activity, the properties in the village on your route up the hill are something to behold.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hipflask1307 1 review from this member

This site is an absolute must for those wishing to have a peaceful, picturesque holiday in the midst of the White Peak district. The view is beautiful; you can watch the sunset on an evening whilst sipping on a nice glass of wine!

We are campers with two children aged 7 & 10 and stayed for 1 week in the summer holidays.

Whilst we were there we had a few other people on the site in caravans and tents, but it was very quiet. Out kids were a little bit sad that they didn't have any other children to play with however, we had lots of plans for the week so we kept them busy. There is a whole field to play in, e. G. Frisbee, kite flying, football, paddling pool!

The toilet block consists of 1 toilet, 1 shower and a sink. They also have a washing up bowl and area to wash up in. Don't be put off by this; as most of the caravans use their own facilities, we pretty much had the block to ourselves. The shower is 80p for a token. I'd buy a few in advance, just in case the owner goes out. We'd planned to have a shower one day, but it was the local animal show which they attended. It didn't cause us a problem though as we just had a full body wash in the shower area anyway.

The owner was lovely, she was really helpful and friendly. We bought fresh eggs from her (laid that morning!) and my children played with the cats and kittens. It was really lovely to have a little nosy at the farm as well. We saw lots of gorgeous calves in the cow shed. A family of cows kept popping their heads over the wall to have a nosy at us too! Also, we had no O2 data reception which was really difficult as we forgot to take a map! Luckily the lady kindly let us use her wifi code so that we could get our directions.

The village is about half a mile down the road. It is absolutely stunning! Unfortunately, the local pub is closed for refurbishment at the moment. There is a play park opposite the pub which is great for the kids!

The location is great for days out. We did the following:

Dovedale - took a dinghy to the river - played all day! & went for a walk.

The Roaches - wonderful walk around The Roaches & Luds church

Alton Towers - Less than 20 miles away - great to get there early!

Tissington Trail on the bikes - You MUST go to Tissington Tea Rooms for the most wonderful cream tea.

Carsington water - great for water sports. We took our bikes and did the 7 mile cycle around it.

We had a great time there and would definitely go back again!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smoothies Girl 3 reviews from this member

THIS SITE IS A MUST!

Another wonderful memorable visit to Foufinside farm. Asked for our favourite pitch and we were kindly allocated as requested.

The wonderful owners so very friendly and go out of their way to ensure that our stay was a good one. We forgot to take mugs for our cups of tea and Phylis kindly loaned them for our duration of stay.

Facilities were again clean and well stocked with loo roll, never a queue either which is great. Bought fresh eggs laid that morning by the free range hens and they were so delicious.

This site has access to fabulous walks and it has stunning views too. You won't be disturbed by traffic, the only thing you'll hear is the odd 'moo' and the beautiful birdsong.

Ashbourne is only five miles away and such a delightful shopping area, lovely tearooms and unusual shops to browse do has a great deal of pubs offering good food.

This site offers great access to the Derbyshire Dales, it is quiet and the owners are so helpful without being obtrusive.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smoothies Girl 3 reviews from this member

A little gem of a site where you will find a really warm welcome from farmers (owners). They are both happy to tell the kids all about farm life and the animals and you can purchase fresh eggs from the farmhouse.

The site has stunning views with easy access to some beautiful walks and the Tissington trail.

Facilities are just a toilet and shower operated by a token available from the farm house at the cost of 60p for about 8 mins which we found was ample. There is electric hookup.

This site is clean and tidy, it has basic facilities but we go back time after time because of the warm welcome and the stunning views.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SparklyCampers 2 reviews from this member

This is our second year here. It is very basic but you know what you're getting with these little farm sites. On site, the ground on the hook up field is both sloping and uneven so chocks and levellers are essential, even on the hardstanding gravel area. There's only a single water point for both fields and the shower & loo are a short trek at the top of the upper field. The grass is kept very long in our opinion and animals graze in slow periods so wellies are essential too, but there's surprisingly little animal noise considering it's a true working farm. The entrance is easily missed so take care when coming down the hill.

However all is made up for by the utterly stunning views over the valley towards Tissington. The site is a great base to explore from, and only about 15 minutes from Carsington water and ten minutes from a free car park on the High Peak trail, amongst others. Ashbourne itself is also about 12-15 mins drive and is a nice little market town with a decent children's playground and water splash area, and access to the start of the Tissington Trail.

Parwich village is quiet and sleepy, but the pub/shop is popular despite the very steep walk back up the hill of an evening! Shop is decently stocked for essential but has very limited opening hours. There are public footpaths from both the village and direct from the site to walk to Tissington village and the Tissington Trail, but be prepared for quite a hike!

All in all a site I'd happily recommend and will be returning to.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dazzleness 1 review from this member

Not a lot to add that the other reviews haven't already said.

Foufinside is a working farm with beautiful views across the surrounding countryside, a lovely place for a relaxing camping break with cows as neighbours in the next field. All of the southern peak district is easily accessible as we discovered.

We camped in the field in front of the farmhouse with easy access to the toilet and shower (walking through the chicken run) and stopping for a fuss with the kittens. (Wellies are a good idea here, it is a farm after all). The toilet and shower are basic but kept clean and stocked with toilet roll and fresh hand towels daily. This was our first experience of camping in over 30 years and it was a pleasure.

Parwich village is within walking distance, good pub with shop open all day till late at weekends but check the notice board outside pub for the weekday times. Ashbourne is a drive away if its weekday afternoon and you've arrived without food as we did.

All in all excellent value for money, would go again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brereton 3 reviews from this member

This is a basic site but the location and views are lovely and the pretty village of Parwich is close by with a friendly pub.

We spent 3 nights in our motorhome on hard standing with electricity and we got a good signal on the TV.

Unfortunately we could not fill up the fresh water tank as it was a basic tap with no connector we managed with the water carrier.

We walked on the Friday to Tissington and Alsop de dale lovely walk about 7 miles, we caught the bus into Asbourne on Saturday 3. 00 return good local service.

Unfortunately during our visit the 1 toilet and 1 shower were dirty and the grass needed cutting so you really do need wellies.

The owners are really nice and friendly but this site could really do with some TLC

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bert2604 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at the end of September. We had the pick of the pitches as no one else on the site other than a few campers. Lovely view across the countryside, nice and peaceful, only the sounds of the farm animals.

Nearly missed the site entrance. If you are coming from A515 Ashbourne to Buxton road, turn in along the unnamed road, you will see a no HGV sign. After a couple of miles you will see a 30mph sign and then the village of Parwich sign. As soon as you see the Parwich sign STOP! Look about 20 yards to your right you will see the caravan and camping sign.

This was our first small site and loved it. We will now be going back and this break made us realise you don't need the big sites with all the mod cons.

Great location to explore this area. Dovedale, Tissington Trail, Buxton, Matlock all close by. We walked Carsington resovoir, about 8 miles around.

Loved Parwich village. Nice pint at the local pub and shop. All the people in the village we spoke to were pleasant. We didn't eat there but the menu looked OK and not expensive.

Because it wasn't busy the day we were leaving we were allowed to leave what ever time we wanted, which was great not having to rush off for midday like a lot of sites.

1 x Toilet and shower were basic, but what do you need.

Nice and safe if you have kids. No playground, but big enough field to play in.

Do take wellies as at the end of the day you are on a farm.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper365 1 review from this member

We visited this campsite at the end of the the month for 2 nights, we had alright weather. The views were absolutely fantastic.

The walk is brilliant to and from the village but can be very hilly, fantastic prices at the pub. Another fantastic walk is to the village of Tissington, but again it is a bit steep and hilly, and it is 5 miles there and back.

The owners where very helpful!

There is 1 toilet and 1 shower, the shower can be a bit temperamental but it gets the job done!

The campsite it self was very good, larger then expected can fit up to 9 caravans and 15 tents (2 with eletric!

Overall this is a good campsite and we will be returning, lovely for the kids because of the farm animals and newly born kittens! We got fresh eggs the day we were leaving (very cheap)! Fantastic

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2815 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019