Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Cormier

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Obterre > Camping Le Cormier > Reviews

Camping Le Cormier
Le Cormier
Route De Saint Flovier
Obterre
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
36290
Tel: +33 2 54 39 27 95  or  +33 6 66 53 07 90
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 59 Reviews
                10/10 from 59 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JVRUDALL 12 reviews from this member

 Excellent customer service. Mike greeted us on our arrival, and both him and Cath made us feel very welcome, providing us with a nice bit of hardstanding, and lots of information.

Excellent walks directly from the campsite ( Mike gave us a map), and close to the village of Obterre.

Be warned- come prepared with food as there isn't a local shop or restaurant ( possibly in the summer?), although a bread van comes to the campsite some days.

Many thanks for a lovely, quiet stay - we might be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jeffs on tour 7 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site, set in rural France, lovingly owned & managed by the very friendly & helpful Cath & Mike.

We were warmly welcomed on arrival, shown to our very spacious pitch where all the services were explained.

The toilet & shower block is modern & always immaculately clean.

The bread van arrived every morning with delicious goodies, which were delightful. Lots to see & do around the area & Loches the nearest big town was charming, especially on market days.

Great area for walking & cycling too. We would highly recommend Le Cormier. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Meridienmick 8 reviews from this member

 Mike and Cath are great hosts, they work tirelessly to make the site attractive and enjoyable. The pitches are huge - when Mike showed us to our pitch I originally thought it was two pitches but it was all our own space.

The pitch had a number of trees which was great as we had a choice of sun or shade by moving around within the pitch, but in view of the heatwave we mostly wanted shade.

The pitch also had our own picnic table which was a nice touch. Unfortunately, due to the heatwave, the site had a bit of a "scorched earth" appearance to it with the trees shedding their leaves even though it was only mid-July.

Other campers were predominantly Brits. The showers and toilets were modern and immaculately clean, although the shower head seemed to produce a very fine spray that went everywhere rather than a nice deluge.

One really nice touch is that we were given a business card with Mike and Cath's phone numbers on so we could call for help if we found ourselves in trouble.

All in all, a very pleasant and peaceful site which we would happily use again if we visit that part of France again.

We didn't find a great deal to do in the immediate area, although I don't think we stayed long enough to explore properly, and the intense heat meant we were disinclined to go searching for places to go so we probably didn't do it justice.

Had to drive quite a way for a supermarket which closed most days 12. 30 to 14. 30, and the petrol station wouldn't accept UK cards for self payment when the kiosk was shut. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Locksmithmac 2 reviews from this member

 Second time we’ve stayed here, would like to thank mike and cath for their help recently, as we arrived with a engine problem on our motorhome.

Very helpful and will definitely be going back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Edandelaine 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here again on route to Spain. Great site with exceptionally friendly and helpful owners. The site is very good for walking with or without dogs. Lovely pretty village and good shopping further afield. We will be back on our return home. Thanks to Mike, Cath and Bessie 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Famchick 2 reviews from this member

 Huge, well demarcated pitches with enough space for our folding camper, car, and - had we had them - pup tents, with space to play too. Pitches with varying amounts of shade were available. Darts and games were to be found in the barn, and the plunge pool was an added luxury. The whole site was very orderly, and well kept. The proprietors were friendly and extremely helpful. The toilets and showers were well looked after and clean. The local area was lovely and we were very much taken with the nearby town of Loches. We were only there for a couple of days, but are already planning to go back. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gower Rambler 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our second visit to this very peaceful site, we were welcomed my Mike and Kath like old friends. Because my wife and myself are into our 80s'Mike offered to help with our awning which was very gratefully accepted, The site is immaculately kept and the loos and showers though in portable enclosures were also very clean and tidy. There is plenty to see and do in the area with the market at Loche a must. The highlight of the day was when Bess ( Mikes mum) stopped to chat while on her daily walk around the. We will certainly visit this site again though it might be in one of the quite lovely studios which are also on the site

Clive Williams 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigwordsmith 1 review from this member

 Blissful site - 10/10/10

Found this site through UKCampsite.co.uk and sent an email to the owners, Mike & Cath, who left the Uk to give this a go 9 years ago. From the outset their service and attention to detail was brilliant.

The site is five acres around a typical French farmhouse courtyard, which houses a barn, and three gates/ studios as well as two owners' residences. The pitches are huge, served with electricity and satellite feeds, plus they encourage you to drain your grey waste tot he hedge - so much less faff than using a Wastemaster and very green.

The site is extremely peaceful, and set in very pleasant countryside with a mass of small villages and hamlets nearby. Nearest town is Loche, which is delightful and supports multiple visits, as it is rich in history as well as offering commanding views of the countryside.

Tours is about an hour away by car, and offers all the big city stuff, as well as some delightful churches, monuments and restaurants, but perhaps the most enjoyable aspect of the site is how relaxed it all is.

We met several couples that return each year, Sangria was shared around the table, and it is easy to understand why so many people go back year after year after year.

As Mike told us when we arrived, they wanted to create the kind of site that themselves enjoyed staying on, and despite the worst efforts of French bureaucracy to stop them are doing a great job.

Only downside at the moment is the washing facilities - due to French red tape they are still fighting to put up a purpose built shower block, but hopefully this will be in before Easter 2018. We were't bothered as we use the facilities son board the van, and fresh drinking water is just a few yards from the pitches.

Will definitely return - there are only 12 pitches, so booking is a good idea! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jacjones 27 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site. Ideal size for us as it was very peacful and relaxing. Everyone very friendly. Facilities spotless. Plenty of villages and towns to explore nearby. One tabac in the village 5 mins walk for a drink or goods from the shop. Van delivers bread etc a few times a week. Loches within 15 minute drive.

Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lbarkas 91 reviews from this member

 As predicted, we did return, but for a three-week stay this time since we had found it so relaxing, as do many of their returning 'guests'. We even reserved the same pitch as last year! This period also coincided with the Tour de France which my OH could view in the barn with other campers.

Mike and Cath continue to work hard updating facilities as well as running the 'ship' on a day-to-day basis. The plunge pool was open and in use during the hot spell. The 'garden-setting' grounds are maintained to a high standard, even down to removing the falling leaves when they littered the pitch. We were again able to use the shower room of an unoccupied studio ahead of work starting shortly on a dedicated amenities facility, though towards the end of our stay portable loo and shower cubicles were installed since the rental studios would be in use during the coming weeks.

We revisited some of our favourite haunts as well as seeking out some new ones. Having never visited a chateau during many holidays in France (some say when you have seen one, you have seen them all), Mike and Cath recommended Chenonceau as their local favourite and we were not disappointed. We did Vouvray the same day and bought a few bottles of the 'tiny bubbles' from a wine cooperative.

Montresor made another pleasant excursion, though we didn't visits it's chateau. There's a pretty stroll beside the river though, and a small art exhibition (unusual 3-D stained glass technique) installed in an old timbered building. Good lunch in one of several restaurants.

Our visit to picturesque Angles-sur-l'Anglin coincided with a medieval weekend and craft fair. Tasty lunch at British-owned No. 15 tea room.

Again we had lunch at L'Auberge de la Source in Saint Flovier, ten minutes away. Same price at €12. 30 for four courses and house wine - a no-brainer, don't know how they do it for the money. Their take-away pizza (chips available as a side order) on Friday and Saturday evenings is excellent too. Friendly ambience, clean, frequented by locals as well as tourists.

Excellent markets at Loches and La Roche Posay (another pretty town for strolling) with smaller one for fruit, veg, fish and meat at Chatillon on Fridays. Bread van continues to call on site several days a week, plus there is a small grocery store for basics in the village which is about a 10/15 minutes stroll. For a 'big shop' we used Intermarche at Chatillon.

In conclusion, one of my all-time favourite French sites. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Cormier child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Cormier have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Cormier?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Cormier dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Obterre      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5644 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement