Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Cormier

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Site Reviews

Camping Le Cormier
Le Cormier
Route De Saint Flovier
Obterre
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
36290
Tel: 0033 2 54 39 27 95  or  0033 6 66 53 07 90
    Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 55 Reviews
                10/10 from 55 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Edandelaine 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here again on route to Spain. Great site with exceptionally friendly and helpful owners. The site is very good for walking with or without dogs. Lovely pretty village and good shopping further afield. We will be back on our return home. Thanks to Mike, Cath and Bessie

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Famchick 2 reviews from this member

Huge, well demarcated pitches with enough space for our folding camper, car, and - had we had them - pup tents, with space to play too. Pitches with varying amounts of shade were available. Darts and games were to be found in the barn, and the plunge pool was an added luxury. The whole site was very orderly, and well kept. The proprietors were friendly and extremely helpful. The toilets and showers were well looked after and clean. The local area was lovely and we were very much taken with the nearby town of Loches. We were only there for a couple of days, but are already planning to go back.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gower Rambler 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from our second visit to this very peaceful site, we were welcomed my Mike and Kath like old friends. Because my wife and myself are into our 80s'Mike offered to help with our awning which was very gratefully accepted, The site is immaculately kept and the loos and showers though in portable enclosures were also very clean and tidy. There is plenty to see and do in the area with the market at Loche a must. The highlight of the day was when Bess ( Mikes mum) stopped to chat while on her daily walk around the. We will certainly visit this site again though it might be in one of the quite lovely studios which are also on the site

Clive Williams

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigwordsmith 1 review from this member

Blissful site - 10/10/10

Found this site through UKCampsite.co.uk and sent an email to the owners, Mike & Cath, who left the Uk to give this a go 9 years ago. From the outset their service and attention to detail was brilliant.

The site is five acres around a typical French farmhouse courtyard, which houses a barn, and three gates/ studios as well as two owners' residences. The pitches are huge, served with electricity and satellite feeds, plus they encourage you to drain your grey waste tot he hedge - so much less faff than using a Wastemaster and very green.

The site is extremely peaceful, and set in very pleasant countryside with a mass of small villages and hamlets nearby. Nearest town is Loche, which is delightful and supports multiple visits, as it is rich in history as well as offering commanding views of the countryside.

Tours is about an hour away by car, and offers all the big city stuff, as well as some delightful churches, monuments and restaurants, but perhaps the most enjoyable aspect of the site is how relaxed it all is.

We met several couples that return each year, Sangria was shared around the table, and it is easy to understand why so many people go back year after year after year.

As Mike told us when we arrived, they wanted to create the kind of site that themselves enjoyed staying on, and despite the worst efforts of French bureaucracy to stop them are doing a great job.

Only downside at the moment is the washing facilities - due to French red tape they are still fighting to put up a purpose built shower block, but hopefully this will be in before Easter 2018. We were't bothered as we use the facilities son board the van, and fresh drinking water is just a few yards from the pitches.

Will definitely return - there are only 12 pitches, so booking is a good idea!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jacjones 7 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site. Ideal size for us as it was very peacful and relaxing. Everyone very friendly. Facilities spotless. Plenty of villages and towns to explore nearby. One tabac in the village 5 mins walk for a drink or goods from the shop. Van delivers bread etc a few times a week. Loches within 15 minute drive.

Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 77 reviews from this member

As predicted, we did return, but for a three-week stay this time since we had found it so relaxing, as do many of their returning 'guests'. We even reserved the same pitch as last year! This period also coincided with the Tour de France which my OH could view in the barn with other campers.

Mike and Cath continue to work hard updating facilities as well as running the 'ship' on a day-to-day basis. The plunge pool was open and in use during the hot spell. The 'garden-setting' grounds are maintained to a high standard, even down to removing the falling leaves when they littered the pitch. We were again able to use the shower room of an unoccupied studio ahead of work starting shortly on a dedicated amenities facility, though towards the end of our stay portable loo and shower cubicles were installed since the rental studios would be in use during the coming weeks.

We revisited some of our favourite haunts as well as seeking out some new ones. Having never visited a chateau during many holidays in France (some say when you have seen one, you have seen them all), Mike and Cath recommended Chenonceau as their local favourite and we were not disappointed. We did Vouvray the same day and bought a few bottles of the 'tiny bubbles' from a wine cooperative.

Montresor made another pleasant excursion, though we didn't visits it's chateau. There's a pretty stroll beside the river though, and a small art exhibition (unusual 3-D stained glass technique) installed in an old timbered building. Good lunch in one of several restaurants.

Our visit to picturesque Angles-sur-l'Anglin coincided with a medieval weekend and craft fair. Tasty lunch at British-owned No. 15 tea room.

Again we had lunch at L'Auberge de la Source in Saint Flovier, ten minutes away. Same price at 12. 30 for four courses and house wine - a no-brainer, don't know how they do it for the money. Their take-away pizza (chips available as a side order) on Friday and Saturday evenings is excellent too. Friendly ambience, clean, frequented by locals as well as tourists.

Excellent markets at Loches and La Roche Posay (another pretty town for strolling) with smaller one for fruit, veg, fish and meat at Chatillon on Fridays. Bread van continues to call on site several days a week, plus there is a small grocery store for basics in the village which is about a 10/15 minutes stroll. For a 'big shop' we used Intermarche at Chatillon.

In conclusion, one of my all-time favourite French sites.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ASoliver 3 reviews from this member

On arrival we were surprised to find porta loos and showers at the entrance of the site, we were shown around a lovely well kept site by the owner, we were told that there were showers and toilets available in at least one of the studios, so while unhappy about the prospect of using porta loos and showers we set up for our 2 week stay.

The site itself was was immaculate, however the reason for this soon became apparent, the owner was constantly either on his ride on mower or was using his leaf blower, this would not have been a problem but it was from around 10am till about 3pm and it was every day except Sunday. The hope of peace and quiet was shattered. Because of the constant maintenance our tent was being covered inside and out with dust, excluding our cooking area. There really is no need for the pitches to be mowed every day or for every single leaf to be collected.

I understand and except rules, however I was completely astounded by the approach of one of the owners, she was aggressive in the way she spoke to my husband because he did not close the shower curtain so it could dry! I mean really, this was on day 3 of our stay.

This was the first but not the last time she would approach us in this manner.

A few days later when showing new guests around, my husband was in the pool and the owner shouted out to him 'I hope you have had a shower' (meaning the rule is no sun cream to be on in the pool), to do this in this manner is rude, embarrassing, my husband felt compleatly humiliated, there is completely no customer service skills at all.

One evening (9. 30pm) a few of the campers got together, a few drinks and good game of uno and a laugh, after all we are on holiday and relaxing, the owner marched over put her finger to her lips and used a hand movement for us to be quite (this is how the group interpreted what was meant) it completely spoiled the evening for us all. The following morning we were told it was because the children were playing ball, but some clarification at the time would have been very helpful to us all.

To be honest we were looking forward to a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing holiday but ended up with stress, headaches and a desperately wanted to go home, I have never been on holiday and counted the days so I could go home, instead of wanting to stay.

2 weeks of our lives completely lost, our only summer holiday completely spoilt by bad service and obsessive behaviour, so very very angry and utterly disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 77 reviews from this member

It felt strange to have all British fellow campers, but it made a change. Mike, Cath and Bessie were perfect hosts during our 11-night stay. Our pitch was perfect being large, flat and with shade. The loo and showers in the portable buildings would have been adequate but it was a bonus being allowed access to the bathrooms in the unoccupied studios with their excellent facilities. They are offering these facilities until new ones are built now that they have been granted planning permission. My OH very much appreciated the televised coverage of Le Tour onto a large screen in the barn. Enjoyed days out and about, particularly Loches on Saturdays for its market, fine architecture and restaurants - went twice. The 12. 60 lunch in Saint Flovier at Auberge de la Source was excellent value for four courses and wine. Would definitely use again particularly as it is just over four hours from the ferry terminal at Ouistreham. Bit of a pain having to go off site for bread on the days when mobile tradesmen do not call. Definitely one to use again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Revdmichael 1 review from this member

My son and I recently spent 5 days at Le Cormier, using it as a base to watch the Tour de France. It's a wonderful place, quiet and Mike and Cath couldn't have been more welcoming. Fabulously large, flat pitch with easy electric hook-up, clean loos and showers. We were greeted on arrival by Mike and walked around the site. As the Tour, Wimbledon and the Euros was on at the time, they had set up a screen in their barn. It was nice joining other campers watching the sport - not noisy but a bit like watching TV at home with one's mates!

Daily visit to the campsite of the baker and on one afternoon the butcher was a bonus. We brought our bikes but only got out on them once! However, perfect cycling countryside and Mike provided us with a map of possible routes. Chateau and wine country so lots to do in the locality.

I am sure we will return - we would have loved to stay for longer after finding this absolute gem.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gower Rambler 4 reviews from this member

Visited La Cormier in May and found we had picked perhaps the best site of our many trips to France, not all bells and whistles as they say, but a really peaceful site with great owners. The weather during our stay was not great, quite wet in fact, but Mike did everything to help, at the end of our stay even taking our awning down for us as we were both in our late 70s, then helped to dry it. Then the icing on the cake Bessie Mike's mother who walked around the site every day and stopped to pass the time of day with everyone. We will certainly use this site again if our health allows. The site itself has large flat pitches which can get a little soggy after heavy rain but dry out quite quickly. The facilities were clean and tidy with lots of hot water. The area has lots to see and do, with a great restaurant in the local village. We will be back Clive Williams

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -    All Sites in Loire Valley   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2552 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019