Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Wimborne > Riverside Lakes > Reviews

Riverside Lakes
Slough Lane
Horton
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH21 7JL
Tel: 01202 821212
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: May > October (weaer Depeant)

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lclon5 1 review from this member

 Absolutely brilliant!

The owners are lovely, campsite is beautiful amenities are fantastic!

Will definitely be going again, but for longer!

Couldn’t recommend more! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pixieliz 1 review from this member

 Fabulous place, absolutely idyllic. The children loved to play on the tyre swing while we cooked dinner on the open fire.

My little girl learned to fish which she loved and has continued with back home.

The owners are so friendly and welcoming and the bathrooms etc a are very clean. I appreciated the proper bath as our baby was only 6 months at the time.

So much to do in the area (we loved the heavy horse museum nearby and water slide park at Poole).

Best holiday ever! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacfrosty 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights during the earlier part of this week. Lovely campsite, beautifully maintained. The pitches are in groups of a few, single isolated ones and an area (not hard standing) for those in campervans and caravans.

There is EHU on quite a few of the less isolated pitches. The remoter ones are without.

The grass is left to grow long except where 'trails' have been mowed and where the pitches are. It really is quite beautifully done. You feel you are in a meadow (which you are) full of buttercups and other wild flowers and yet the pitches are perfectly groomed.

They have some open fire areas and also will provide a fire pit for individuals.

The facilities are clean and comfortable. There is a very nice bathroom with a full-sized bath in it. They also have in the dish-washing area an enormous fridge and 2 freezers for freezing your freezer blocks.

The family who own it are so kind and helpful.

It was very quiet when we were there which was perfect for us. However, even full I do not think people will feel at all over-crowded with so much 'non-camping' area around.

A lovely site, we will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ArkansasJane 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a week's stay in lovely dry weather. This was our first visit - 2 adults and one 8 year old. I'd booked a pitch at the far end (chill out area) and in many ways, this was the loveliest spot.

We saw and heard plenty of wildlife, including a badger snuffling through the long grass by our tent - so exciting! We were away from passing (foot) traffic and so it was especially peaceful and dark.

This is an AMAZING site, hard to find now, with so many places offering smart facilities and entertainment. This is the opposite and is so simple (but extremely well run, by a lovely family).

No hook ups, apart from the hard standing field by the entrance, so no electronic noise (hooray); terrible mobile coverage (hooray); no kids entertainment apart from a brilliant rope swing in the shade, dismantled at night, and gorgeous piglets.

No cars on site, except for unloading/packing up. A FANTASTIC idea, which saves you from revved engines, slamming car doors and party animals coming back at midnight and shining headlights over your tent. I wish lots of campsites did this.

Brilliant and useful features were the fridges and freezers and electric points for re-charging phones. Free showers were just fine - spacious and pretty clean, though never hot (warm was fine).

Night skies were wonderful, sunsets beautiful, the glow sticks every night were great and made for some lovely games; the ice cream van was fun. The fire pits were great. Lots of glowing campfires everywhere on an exceptionally dark site.

You could easily spend 2 or 3 weeks here. The only downside for me was that the traffic around the Bournemouth area is appalling in summer (the A35 is notorious apparently) and so trips out, especially southwards, towards the coast ) took way longer than we'd anticipated. But not the fault of Maggie and Nigel. T

Hanks. We hope to be back (if we can get in) 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ShortHamstrings 3 reviews from this member

 This is our favourite campsite and we visit several times a year. The owners have come up with a unique philosophy of having several lovely big pitches grouped together dotted around the site with plenty of wild meadows in between.

There are lakes if you like fishing, a tyre swing for the kids (which gets taken down at night, nice touch!) and you can have fires which is top of our wish list.

There is a strict no noise after 10pm policy which is happily enforced, so many places we have been to where this is ignored, but then again the people who come to this site do so for the relaxed and peaceful vibe.

Toilet blocks are usually pretty clean as are the washing up areas. There are a couple of fridges and freezers here too which is really useful for re-freezing ice blocks and storing food.

Moors Valley Country Park is about 5 mins drive away, this is a great day out, and the lovely Sandbanks Beach about 20 mins drive away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mr CB 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from an amazingly relaxing week end at site and have to say that I have never stayed at a such a well run and friendly site.

The pitches are very large and well maintained, the washing up area was good with plenty of hot water and the toilet block was outstanding. We had a brazier one night and it really did add to a very lovely evening watching the sun set and stars come out.

The walk from the site to Drucilla's took us just over an hour through some wonderful country side with the help of a very descriptive route map supplied by the site.

The people running the site were so friendly and helpful I can not thank them enough for shearing their lovely part of Dorset with us.

We will be back many times in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoggingHippo 3 reviews from this member

 2nd year at this campsite with my wife and 5yo boy. Our favourite campsite by far. This is how campsites should be. No cars on the campsite (except for unloading and packing up) which makes it pretty safe for kids to run and cycle around. Loads of space. Other campsites of this size would squeeze another 50 pitches onto the space available.

Rope swings for the kids, plus the opportunity to get up close with some of the farm animals. Fires allowed in the provided fire baskets, they come round with kiln dried firewood, sold at cost price. Plus glowsticks for the kids.

Clean facilities, plus a self composting eco-loo. Fishing lakes, and in a lovely part of Dorset. Drusillas pub only a couple of minutes up the road. Verwood 10 min drive, Ringwood 20 min drive.

A large Camping World branch only 5 mins away which is handy, but you can end up buying extra stuff which you then have to pack in the car for the journey home ;-) 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ad2101 2 reviews from this member

 My new favourite site! Really friendly, good facilities in an amazing setting. Owners really put themselves out to make sure you have a good stay.

No cars on site is a really good idea and just improves the standard of this site. Can't wait to book up next years trips. Fishing is very much a small fish course fishing lakes.

Great for the kids but I would like to see a few more larger carp in there, but that's just my style of fishing! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Manglemender 7 reviews from this member

 We spent a pleasant week at this site last summer - our second visit. We like this site because it is very peaceful and campfires are allowed (firewood can bu purchased on site). We used it as a base to explore the Jurasic coast and to visit some ancient monuments such as Maiden Castle.

The site is most busy at weekends and is geared around families with young children coming down from the London area. As a middle aged couple staying for a week we weren't typical clientele but were welcome just the same.

There are no laundry facilities on site but there is a launderette a couple of miles away with an excellent cafe next door.

Nanny state alert! If you want a hot shower then you're out of luck; they are fixed at lukewarm in case a small child gets scalded. Personally speaking, I'm more than happy to take responsibility for the temperature of my shower - as I do every other day of the year.

The site is a bit pricey but it is very good. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Simon8132 3 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a week at riverside lakes and decided to write a review as not many on here covered the fishing.

The campsite is superb. We had one of the 5 pitches with electric hook up and you had more space than you could ever need. Its really nice that kids are free to play here and there aren't loads of health and safety rules.

The fires braziers are a really nice idea and definitely add to the experience. Washing up facilities are excellent and very clean. Shower block is spotless and the shower cubicles are really big however the water is not that hot and there is no temperature adjustment. Its warm enough but don't expect a nice hot shower. The tent camping areas look great all set out in there own little meadows connected by meandering paths.

There are 3 lakes to fish, the water level was very low in the top lake and the small lower lake is completely weeded over. The larger middle lake is lovely. The fishing is quite difficult and its not a bite a chuck venue but the fish are in superb condition and worth the extra effort to catch.

I had around 10 bream around 2. 5lb, 2 common carp to 13lb and a lovely 10lb Koi. Never had any maggots to try for smaller silver fish but never picked any up on sweetcorn or bread. I'm no coarse fishing expert so the fish are catchable. On the sunnier days saw a few nice Carp cruising but not loads.

Would highly recommend drusillas pub and the drovers arms to eat and avoid the Horton inn.

Oh and the owners are as helpful as anyone could possibly be.

Will definitely return 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Lakes?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Riverside Lakes dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wimborne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3906 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement