Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodland Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Canterbury > Woodland Farm Reviews

CLOSED: Woodland Farm
Walderchain
Barham
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that this site is now closed, and no longer trading as a campsite.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know

Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hjgoldsmith 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a three night stay (Tuesday-Friday) at Woodland Farm in Barham as two families forming a group. Finding the campsite was very interesting because the sat-nav took us to the wrong place! As mentioned in another review study the UKCampsite.co.uk map to find the correct place. As you approach the campsite you notice the tranquil surroundings, few cars on the roads and the sides dotted with farms, houses and fields.

When we found the campsite after asking for directions we came to a small gate. On the gate was a notice from the owner reading 'Come in and set up, will be back soon' so after squeezing the cars through the tight gate we came to a medium sized green field. At the edge of the field was weathered shed which we confirmed was the toilet block. When we arrived there was one other group there so we looked in the woods but found these to be cold and uneven so we pitched at the side of the field.

Once we had pitched up we found our bearings around the site. The toilet block was a faded green shed with a broken paving stone leading to the steps. Once inside you was faced with one shower and two toilets with two sinks to accompany. One toilet did not flush properly and the other seemed to attract a few spiders! Considering we stayed over a dry period the floor still seemed to get wet as the owner relies upon campers to mop it. One sink was used for washing up and the other for washing hands.

The owner provides one toilet roll per toilet and only replenishes when asked. When we did ask she replied 'Are people eating them?!'. For the sink you are provided with a bottle of hand sanitizer (no soap) so we went out and bought some ourselves. The shower was small but powerful, just took a long time to get to the right temperature. Another comment about the toilet block is the Louvre doors - not only can you see out but if you look hard enough you can also see in!

When using the toilets at night, a small light is attached to the ceiling but this does not make any difference whatsoever. When going to the toilet don't forget to take your torch! There is however a small candle by the sink to provide some light. On the side of the shed there is a tap which provides water.

Although there are bins on site the owner encourages you to take your rubbish home as she has not means of disposing it other than burning it, but most rubbish you can burn in your campfire.

The campfire is only allowed in the washing machine drums which are provided around the site and the wood is available to buy for 3. 50 from the owner but you can easily go into the woods to find enough.

The owner is less than friendly. Very rarely will you get a smile but she is willing to help you with things. She often walks around the campsite with her grandson and dog to collect peoples money and ensure everything is alright.

We went as two families and it was like we had no children with us! The woods provided enjoyment all day long and they hardly even used the toys we brought with us - any child will love the extensive woods and will keep them busy for hours. A word of advice though - unless it is extremely quiet there is no place to play ball games on the field as it is not big enough.

On the first night there was only our group and one other. However on the second the tent number went from four to eleven on the small field! The owner does not seem to care about how many she is squeezing in and there seems to be no limit as to the number of tents - some people had to go into the forest due to lack of room.

We understand every campsite can get busy but if she intends to have that many people on site then the facilities need to expand. There was over thirty people that night which meant over 5 hours wait for the shower had everyone spent 10 minutes in there.

Our only complaint about the other campers was one person kept the whole site awake with their snoring! Although this could not be helped by the owner - people should really consider others when pitching their tent!

Overall we had a lovely break here, this is a no frills campsite and great for escaping the real world (you really are nowhere near anything!) but the facilities are quite poor.

Here you get what you pay for and for 5 pppn you can't complain too much! Would definitely come back. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chapmans 3 reviews from this member

 An amazing little site toilets very clean with one shower. Plenty for the kids to do in the woods while you cook your food on the fire. This was really like going back to childhood days. Five pounds for the wood was very good value as you could help your self to the wood. Take all your supplies with you when you arrive. Because you really are in the middle of nowhere. I would recommend it to any one. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Planetmalthus 4 reviews from this member

 This is not the easiest site to find, even with sat nav, but it is a real gem. The map function on ukcampsite shows the position correctly, so get your bearings before you head off.

The main camping area is a small clearing in the middle of coppiced woodland, with additional pitches in the woods themselves. Pitches all face into the woods, and with your own personal fire pit, evenings are bliss. This site really allows you to sit back and enjoy nature.

The woods are just the right size to allow kids to disappear to their own devices, but not so big that they can't easily be called back when needed.

And although there is no electricity on site, you do get the benefit of a shower that runs off gas, so there is no end of hot water. And no electric lights is fantastic for gazing at the stars.

And the lovely owner, Sandra, keeps the site fees and the price of wood very reasonable.

All in all, our opinion is that this is the best little campsite there is. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyfreeman 2 reviews from this member

 Nice sheltered site with a secluded feeling to it. Reception & staff seemed friendly enough, no marked out pitches but we were told where to pitch up - would have preferred to choose a pitch but hey ho!

You can have fires which is a bonus. Wasn't too busy when we were there but there was a bit of a queue for showers first thing in the morning but I guess that's par for the course with the smaller sites we prefer & nothing we couldn't cope with.

Facilities are basic, shower & toilets but clean enough.

Its well located, nice rural area but also not too far from civilisation, shops & necessities of life! It is a very simple site, no bars, clubhouses etc but that is why we like it.

Fellow campers seemed friendly and that is always a bonus. All in all a nice site, we will be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bistow1 1 review from this member

 A small but lovely campsite. Set in woodland near Barham and some nice roads/ lanes to cycle on nearby.

We managed to get one of the pitches in the woods which was lovely and had a fire pit ready for us to use.

Facilities were always clean, if not a bit basic (2 loo's and 1 shower in the same bloc) but the shower was hot and there was space to wash up.

The owner was pleasant enough but not overly friendly and beware not to walk up their drive if their dog is out as it clearly is a good guard dog!

The pubs are not really within walking distance (about a 1 and a half mile cycle) and the nearest shop for supplies was about 7 minutes away by car.

Would definitely revisit and recommend to people who want a true camping experience that is not commercialised. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Markuspalarcus 1 review from this member

 What a completely ace campsite. Its the sum total of stuff I like about a good campsite.

You can have a fire here, there's a load of coppiced woods to explore/muck about in and its a short walk to the local village.

We didn't find the pub but I think its quite close. Maybe 20 mins walk.

If you like social clubs, swimming pools and crazy golf this is not the place for you.

They have woodland clearings for pitching tents and a green if you have something bigger like a campervan.

Its fairly near to Canterbury and we were able to cycle there using some nearby byways in about an hour. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karl+mal 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is in a beautiful country location. Set in coppice woodland and nearish to a village pub. Good wildlife in the woods and very peaceful.

The unisex shower block is basic but functional with 1 hot shower, 2 toilet cubicles and 2 sinks. There is no shop or other facilities on site or in the near area.

This site suited us perfectly for a nearly wild camping experience, beer and chatting around a fire never felt so natural. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maisiegoes2 1 review from this member

 We have visited many parts of the UK and camped in fields with just running water provided and also well established sites. This was our first visit to Kent though, and it didn't disappoint. Fantastic countryside, small villages and towns, seaside and historic Canterbury, marvellous.

Woodland Farm campsite was chosen because it offered a peaceful and quiet spot in the middle of a managed wooded area. The facilities were clean and everything you needed for a short break. Good showers, hot water, sinks and clean toilets. Plenty of walks from the campsite to local pubs with great food.

A friendly site with a good feel about it. Sandra, the owner living on site, made us very welcome and our Jack Russell, Maisie, made friends with everyone. Apologies to the couple who found Maisie liked diving into sleeping bags first thing in the morning! Good job they liked dogs!

Wouldn't hesitate to go back and camp at Woodland Farm again! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Queen of Maps 4 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it if you like small campsites but with decent facilities.

Lots of hot water and the shower and loo block was clean and adequate for the number of people although over the weekend I think more pitches than the stated number in the description were let out which meant some waiting was required for the shower.

It was nice to be surrounded by trees and to have options of taking one of the few pitches in the woods although other campers remarked that it was cold in the trees being in the shade all the time.

When we arrived though the owner wanted to direct us to pitch in a specific spot which, although we were happy with the suggested spot, we would have preferred to not have felt under pressure over where to pitch.

She also said that it might get busy over the weekend which might mean other people sharing our camp fire (empty washing machine drum) which I didn't like the idea of (but others may not mind). However whilst it did get busy we didn't have to share (may have had something to do with how we pitched our tents!)

Take some strong tent pegs as in places it was difficult to get the pegs in the ground without them bending beyond use. Seemed to either be lots of stones or even concrete under the grass.

Good location and easy to get onto a main road to get to places like Dover or Canterbury. Some lovely scenery for walking in the local area too. 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2643 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement