Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Karma Farm Eco Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Karma Farm Eco Campsite Reviews

Karma Farm Eco Campsite
8 Fen Bank
Isleham
Ely
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB7 5SL
Tel: 01638 780701  or  07900 961217
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: 14/04/2022 to 26/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: SamNoel 2 reviews from this member

 What an idyllic place! We read the Karma Eco-Campsite and really wanted to see how they had managed to create a family campsite from site-based or recycled materials and minimal waste.

I was thrilled we could afford to rent the larger of the two Yurts, which look like the cosiest option. We arrived late in bad weather, but were welcomed in with a smile and a whirlwind tour.

We got to wake up in the morning in wonder (the inside of the yurt and surrounding landscape is very beautiful). One of the kids described the style as post-apocalyptic, I wouldn't argue with that.

It's a unique and charming place, full of the sounds of the wildlife and nearby farm animals and yet we could walk into town for essentials and a lovely pub meal.

If it had been a little warmer we would have stayed up and had a fire, planning to return in the summer months next time.

I had an absolutely perfect birthday treat! 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I am struggling to see what there is not to like about this site, it is great. Proper camping with enough rules to keep the site good, but not too many to ruin the vibe and experience.

From the first contact with the owner, using the enquiry form on here, to meeting him in person, he was polite, professional and explained everything about the site. I was booked in and told the procedure on arrival.

I found the site easily, it is down a farm track, but there are passing places, so this was not an issue. You have to check in at the Gypsy caravan at the entrance and complete the booking forms, and then you are given the key code for the gate.

Once in the site it is made up of lots of areas, separated by hedges, borders etc. There are lots of choices, and electric hookup too if required on some pitches. Each pitch has its own firepit and you can purchase logs from the owner if needed. There is a chemical disposal point, fresh water taps, and toilets and showers.

The facilities were allocated to each pitch, this saved sharing them during these Covid times. The toilet and shower room I was given, was clean, tidy, well maintained and the water was nice and hot in the shower. Yes it was in a cabin, but this is eco camping and all part of the experience.

There is a washing up sink, fridge and freezer for campers use and info on the area too.

There are also quite a few glamping units on site, and I did not venture into these, however they looked nice and a bit quirky.

The site is located just a very short stroll to the nature reserve and a bit further on you can reach the footpath that runs alongside the fens. There is also a marina there, however this is private but you can see the boats from teh bridges, etc. And is very pleasant. I walked for miles along the fens, and of course it is nice and flat, so also great for cycling if you prefer.

The village of Isleham is around a mile away, and a nice stroll as the roads are not busy. There are two pubs in the village, both were open, but I did not venture in to them. There is also a Co-Op in the village for any supplies.

There is not a playground or anything, however with the space and the fens and the farm animals, this is a great site for children too.

This is a working farm, it is quirky, it is relaxed, it is wonderful and for 10 per adult per night, it is a great little getaway and I will defo return when visiting the area again. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adnamabrown 2 reviews from this member

 Sadly this site did not live up to the picture painted on its website. Don't mind basic facilities, however clean toilets, that flush properly would have been nice, as would more that one hot water tap. Can't comment on the showers, as couldn't bring ourselves to use them. Games barn very run down. BBQ area seemed to be a dumping ground. Whole site just looked run down. Shame as in a lovely part of the country. In comparison to other sites we have used it was expensive, with very poor facilities. 
Management response: Karma Farm Eco-campsite would like to thank all the people who gave us some complementary reviews about our unusual and unique campsite.

We hope you will return often and enjoy all the natural camping and 20% lower fees for all our regular campers. Not many, if any campsites have this.

To the very few people who gave somewhat negative reviews, we are sorry you feel that way about our campsite. It might have been better to tell us of your concerns before you left this campsite so we could possibly try to remedy them.

After 10 years of running this campsite we feel these negative reviews are a result of some large groups / parties of campers with one or two in the group who didn't wish to comply with our few polite rules or be reminded of them, as a result unfortunately we have decided to no
Longer accept very large groups.

In conclusion, if you are happy to be quiet after 11pm, keep all your dogs on leads, and don't need loud radio music, then we are always very pleased to see you.


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fenwanderer 2 reviews from this member

 What a place I found, Karma Farm, brilliant campsite, Will the owner very friendly, its a laid back place in a way, very ECO which is good. Toilet/Shower facilities clean and tidy. Log fires at night, you can have a walk around and choose where you wish to set up camp, no loud music or noise, all in all a very quite relaxing place to stay. Excellent, definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Talk2et 4 reviews from this member

 This is a site with a lot of potential and uses a lot of up cycling, however it does require some attention to detail but currently it just adds character to the site. I will, however, advise that you have footwear for the shower.

We went on bank holiday so it was rather busy and it is great for groups. We were a large group, of tents and a tin can on wheels (oops, camper van) with a large age range and we had a good amount of space and the site was quiet by 22:00.

We could have a campfire in the provided vessel (washing machine interior) different pitches had different vessels, we could also recycle and it was in a good location for all to get too. It was easy to visit Ely and we did a click and collect from Tesco.

I think it is a good site and I will return as a group unit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: LyndaHaines 1 review from this member

 Having just spent a lovely weekend in the small yurt, I wholly recommend Karma Farm as the perfect rural retreat. My husband and I and our family and friends have been visiting for at least 5-6 years (we even had our wedding reception here in 2012) and love it every time. We have camped in a tiny two-man tent up in Cecil's car-free field and used our Bedford Midi camper van with hook-up as well as trying the log cabin and the small yurt on various occasions.

It may on first appearance seem a little rough around the edges (with nettles near the sink and ivy creeping into the toilet shed) but that's the site's absolute charm and all part of its eco-ethos. As the signs explain the nettles and other undergrowth are there to attract wildlife, especially around the fish pond. Also with two hides on the edge overlooking the Washes and River Lark it's the perfect spot for bird watching all year round.

The site may seem basic but isn't. There are two toilet sheds and a gas-powered shower pod at one end and another block of two toilets/sinks and a shower pod at the other, and possibly another toilet block coming soon. These are all regularly cleaned and well stocked with the all-important toilet rolls. The recycling bins across the site are also regularly emptied and campers encouraged to recycle or take away with them as much waste as possible.

There's also a family games area and another BBQ area, as well as fire-pits and BBQs available across the site - free of charge. There is a small price for wood, provided ready-chopped in wheelbarrows. Bicycles are also available for hire - handy for popping up to the village supermarket, one of the two delightful pubs or the fish&chip van on a Friday evening (just 5 mins away).

The yurts are delightfully decorated and comfortable (I wish I had a memory-foam mattress as good at home) with bedding provided if you want it. The small one is within it's own private enclosure near the pond with a deluxe BBQ and cooking/washing-up shed. The log cabin (my personal favourite in the colder months) sleeps a small family and has all the comforts of home (microwave/kettle/toilet and shower) as well as the privacy of it's own decking/BBQ area.

This is a working family farm run on eco-principles, so yes hook-ups are limited, the lighting is solar powered and the gas shower is temperamental (but show me any in a hotel or B&B that isn't when you first try it). And yes campfires and games of football are encouraged with the caveats of no load music (other than accoustic) and no noise after 11pm, and there's space for everyone, whether you want a quiet pitch way down in Cecil's Field or a group of you together celebrating in the Simons' Field.

It's these quirks and relaxed atmosphere that make it so homely and the welcome from Will and his family so genuine and deserving of their nomination for the CCC's own 'Best Friendly Welcome Award' in 2013.

If you want a pristine CCC site with manicured lawns and immaculate concrete toilet blocks then book into the Cherry Hinton or Great Shelford sites near Cambridge instead.

We will be returning time and again but sshhh don't tell anyone or they'll all want to come : ) 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scrisp 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic weekend camping at Karma Farm.

It really caters well for families with its 11pm curfew and lots of play areas. Allowing camp fires is another bonus, together with a relaxed atmosphere. Will the owner and farmer is on hand to help out and provide firewood.

This site is just a 20-30 minute walk into the village with a shop and two pubs. Well worth a trip. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lesweeks 2 reviews from this member

 Basically we chose this site as it was where we needed to be. The site website looks, flatteringly, good and sort of describes what you find. It's called an Eco Campsite but what this actually means I'm not sure. The site was pretty un-tended with a variety of open air shacks and a couple of pseudo 'yurts'. The 3 or 4 hook-ups were limited to a scruffy piece of rather uneven and lumpy ground and were simply cables to connect to. The loos (only two) were basically housed in sheds with no hot water and the shower (just the one) in a larger shed with a one temperature water supply operated by a lever stop-cock. The recycling bins were small, broken and some full.

This is probably the most basic CCC Listed Site that I've been on and although membership of the CCC gives you a 1. 50 pp discount the standard 18 per night for a couple + 3. 50 for electricity is really not justified by what you get. I suppose our expectations are higher these days. Will is a very pleasant character, laid back and trusting (you leave your payment in an envelope when you leave) but justifying leaving the banks of nettles for the wildlife, putting a couple of pages of birds from an RSPB magazine (puffins!) in the loos and using solar powered LED's in the loos (and nowhere else) does not really qualify as Eco.

Would I go back? Only if I had to because of it's position and lack of other camping sites nearby. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TMB89 1 review from this member

 Karma was exactly what we were looking for - a relaxing and casual campsite. You can literally just pitch up your tent and park your car wherever there is a space available. Will's very laid back attitude made us feel very comfortable. There is one hot shower, two outdoor toilets, a water tap and a separate sink to do your washing up - all very basic - however was all that we needed. Will definitely be coming back, thanks for having us :-) 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yvonnetomlin 8 reviews from this member

 There were two adults plus a dog and an awning. We were expecting a lot from this site but for the following reasons, @ 18:50 a night felt it was overpriced. The up side was the site is set right on the washes which provided a lovely walk if the cows weren't up on the bank. On arrival we had to wade through nettles to hook on to electricity, so not a good start. The chemical disposal point was filthy and the area around the bins, the sink and water tap were nettled and dirty. The site needed a fair amount of TLC. The play barn, at 1 an hour was unusable with many of the games broken or pieces missing. Also it didn't look at all inviting. There were some lovely small spaces for tents but the caravans were pitched in a row alongside the main drive which went to and from the owners house. This meant we got a lot of dust every time they went by, which was often. My son and family joined us for a weekend in a camper van which was charged at the same rate as U. S. Plus an extra charge for two small children. With a little tidying and regular attention this would be a lovely site but I would hesitate before recommending this site to a friend 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Karma Farm Eco Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Karma Farm Eco Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Karma Farm Eco Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ely      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2797 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement