Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Pilsbury Lodge Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Pilsbury Lodge Farm Reviews

Pilsbury Lodge Farm
Hartington
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0AB
Tel: 01298 83603
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15 CCC Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bumbly4 5 reviews from this member

There is a reason why there are no reviews for 5 years. This is a working farm which I have no problem with and the site field, location and views are superb BUT I would cope with the facilities if I was young enough to not be concerned about them being bohemian. They are simply awful.

I really don't like providing such a negative review but obviously there has been ZERO re investment in years and just keeping a field well mown is simply NOT good enough.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hafenmeister 4 reviews from this member

Location. Location. Location. A beautiful little site on the edge of the Staffordshire Moorlands, with fantastic views, a five minute drive from the A515 and a 30 minute walk from the Asbourne-Buxton bus service.

The site has toilets, showers, a washing-up room, EHUs, and helpful and friendly owners. Just perfect for those like me who want just a field with basic facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kirstsw 32 reviews from this member

Had a lovely 2 night stay at Pilsbury Farm in beautiful sunshine. The views from the site are great and the site was well kept. There are 2 toilets and showers. The showers are £1. 00. The facilities are basic but adequate. The lights weren't working in the toilets so a torch was necessary at night. For our tent and 2 adults it was £12 p/n.

We did the walk to Hartington like other reviews have stated. It took 45 minutes over the fields. We would definitely visit Pilsbury Farm again.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wardster00 4 reviews from this member

This is one of my favourite sites and although it says CCC only on this site, we are not members so I assume that all are welcome.

We have stayed here a few times and although the facilities are basic they work and they are clean.

The main selling points are the view from the field and how safe it is for the kids to play in the field while we enjoy a glass of wine.

The walk into Hartington is lovely, either across or the fields or down the lane via Pilsbury and the Devonshire Arms is a cracking pub.

The proximity to the High Peak Trail is also great for cycling.

If you like a no frills site that makes you feel as though you are getting away from it all this site cannot be beaten.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Benmars 2 reviews from this member

Visited the site with my family last weekend- not too bad to find, & nice & secluded. Facilities basic but clean & in good order, lovely field for the kids to run about in. Had a great trip into matlock where we found a good eat in chippy!

If you need a bottle of wine at 7pm like we did, the tesco express is a nice drive away towards Buxton (about 15 mins). Highly Recommended for a nice quiet time.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Karen 123 1 review from this member

Just spent two nights here. A really lovely position. If your going up the A515 take second turning for Pilsbury, go under bridge and straight over cross roads. Farm is only a short distance on your left and is well worth a visit.

Beautiful views. Working farm but very clean. Walks all around, a nice track run alongside the farm takes you into Hartington where the pub does lovely meals.

The owners of the site keep the grass short and are there if you need them, otherwise they just get on with their work.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Worsleys 4 reviews from this member

Just had great weekend at Pilsbury Lodge farm - fantastic views and only about 15 mins walk down to Hartington where we had a super meal in the pub in the middle of the village. Basic facilities but clean and friendly staff.

Lots of space for tents and a few hook up caravans. Watched the rooks flying in and out of the rookery just at the entrance and spotted our first swallow. GOod walk down the Dove Vally - up and over Chrome hill and back via the Manifold valley. Great place - thank you.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SandraWhite 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely weekend at Pilsbury Lodge Farm. Came across is by chance after moving on from another site in the area that was very water logged.

Pilsbury is a working farm in a beautiful area of the Peak District.

There was plenty of space to pitch the tent and for the kids to run around and play. The pitch was flat and the grass cut neat. Facilities were basic but more than adequate and the water for washing up was the hottest we've found to date!

The owner kept a low profile but was friendly and helpful when approached.

It was a short drive to the Tissington Trail but we could have cycled if the children had been older.

All in all a very pleasant and relaxing weekend.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kramrams 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from a couple of days at pilsbury farm. How wonderful this trip was. The Views are so beautiful of the countryside, it did rain a lot but that did not even dampen the views.
The site is nice & quite, it was great watching the cows go in for milking. There is a washing up room with information in it and 2 unisex washroom which were basic but what more do you need.
There are great walks from the farm and Buxton, Hartingdon are a short drive away. The owner Michelle is there to give you any advice you need.It is just a great centre point for touring Derbyshire, even if we had a tent I would go to this site. I will return here without a doubt

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mkn9139 8 reviews from this member

Lovely little site on a working farm with gorgeous views, lots of space for the kids to play and a friendly owner.

The field got quite boggy but we had alot of rain and as is to be expected around the farm got very muddy too.

Facilities are very basic in converted outbuildings, concrete and breezeblock with the usual helping of cobwebs and spiders, but the actual sinks and loos were clean, and plenty of hot water for washing up. Showers are £1 for 9 minutes (according to the info board), which with a bit of organisation is long enough for 3 kids and 1 parent!

You can buy milk for 50p a pint using your own container. There is a general village stores in Hartington, and a very nice chippy in Longnor which also has a cafe to eat in (bit of a white knuckle drive to get there but worth it). Buxton is an easy drive away with a petrol station on the road in and plenty of shops in town.

Loads to see and do in the area, and close to the high peak trail.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2977 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019