Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Fief Angibaud

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Camping Le Fief Angibaud Reviews

Camping Le Fief Angibaud
St Gervais
Vendee
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85230
Tel: 0033 02 51 68 43 08
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jjgderbyshire 5 reviews from this member

Two weeks here in weather that was a bit too hot for us, but we had a massive all service pitch which provided some shade whatever time of day. Owners very helpful and can't do enough for you, including the couple who turned up to work there for a couple of months. Quite a few Dutch staying there and that says something for the site as their standards are very high if you've ever stayed on sites in the Netherlands, you'll know what I mean. We visited a couple of places and markets, but in the heat, it was nice just to chill out on the campsite. Don't be put off by it being 2 star, we met people who have been going there every year for the last 30 years. If ever towing becomes too much of an effort for me, it's good to know that I can store my caravan at a place like this for a reasonable price and just arrive to find it waiting for me on site. There's no meals provided and no bar, which I find to be a good thing, but there's a communal barbeque where people seemed to congregate and have a good time by the sounds of it. The quiet by 11. 00pm rule was observed and they were gone by that time, but they were having a good time and not bothering anyone. I'll avoid colourful language and just say that on the 'happy campers' type sites, you inevitably encounter people you would prefer to avoid, and I'm glad to say there were none of those types on this site. Fully recommended and we will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 20 reviews from this member

Quiet, English owned site, Andrew was very helpful to us when we had a problem with our motorhome.

Unfortunately the day we arrived and the day after were taken up sorting out our motorhome as weíd been hit by a van on the way. Andrew helped us to find a garage which could fix our problem, canít thank him enough for his local knowledge and going to the trouble to help us.

Very clean showers, toilets etc, everything you need - hooks, somewhere to hang your shower jel and a seat to put your stuff on. We didnít use the WiFi much as it was just in a hotspot by the toilet block. About a mile away is a local baker and there is a restaurant close to that, we didnít try either as the weather was very hot and we chose to bbq. Some large supermarkets are not too far away, we would come for longer next time and hire a car to check out the beaches. Definitely want to come back.

Everyone was so friendly and helpful to us, made us welcome, mainly Brits when we were there.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carnec2002 8 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to Camping Le Fief Angebaud and it is our intention to return for another three weeks in 2018.

Camping Le Fief Angebaud is owned and run by an English couple who clearly understand the needs of their clients. It has large level and spacious pitches that are unequalled to anywhere we have stayed at on mainland Europe. This site is situated in a rural location, on the outskirts of St Gervais which lies east of the small town of Beauvoir sur Mer.

With 25 all grass pitches it is a small campsite which packs a huge punch. Facilities are excellent and well maintained by Andrew and Janette and their team. Grass on the pitches is well manicured and always cut before occupation.

Despite the lack of things for kids to do on site, the ones we saw seemed to be happy and content. The great thing with kids is they can establish friends immediately and amuse themselves without the dependency on all things electronic.

On site facilities are very good. Toilet and shower block spotlessly clean and regularly serviced with plenty of hot water. At no time during our three week stay did we find them busy despite being high season. There wasnít a single occasion that we found them unclean.

There is a washing machine (token operated) and ironing facilities in the shower block area together with a washing up area and CDP. There is also a good lending library there if you fancy reading a book or two. So if you have a paperback or two that you feel like donating to the library Iím sure they would be appreciated.

Perhaps my only criticism is accessing the shower block and facilities to empty the toilet cassette. You have to pull the toilet cassette across an expanse of gravel in order to gain access to the building and CDP. The wheels on the cassette tend to dig in and leave ruts in the gravel. The access point to the CDP would benefit from a narrow concrete path to accommodate the cassette or trolley wheels.

Place an order for bread, croissants, and pastries the night before and it is there to collect from reception in the morning. You canít beat the French for their bread. Just love it.

Noise levels on site are relatively low and invariable quiet after 11pm. There is the occasional bit of noise after that time but it is not excessive and besides which who really cares? Work hard all year for the reward of a holiday in a fantastic location naturally gives cause for celebration and having fun. At no time did we need to complain about the site being noisy. Besides which, after a day at the beach or wandering around the countryside Iím ready for bed. The silence of a rural location and a glass or two of wine sends me off to sleep in no time.

The weather in the Vendee is usually dry and very warm with plenty of sunshine, unlike this year which appears to be an exception. We had a couple of days of heavy rainfall, yet despite this the site drains exceptionally well and did not collect water. Pegging out tents and awnings is not difficult but I would recommend sturdy steel pegs if it is a dry year as the ground can get very hard. This year we had no difficulty in using the plastic double hooked ladder pegs supplied with the awning.

We had a wonderful holiday at Le Fief Angebaud and have already booked again for another three weeks in 2018.

A big thank you to all at Le Fief Angebaud.

We really enjoyed our stay with you and look forward to returning in 2018, health and wealth remaining the same.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ell87 1 review from this member

This was the first time we have camped abroad and we loved it. This campsite was recommended to us and it did not fail to deliver. Good clean facilities, plenty of space for the children to play and beaches only 20 minute drive. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. We will definitely be returning. Thankyou for a lovely holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annee5 4 reviews from this member

An amazing site with the most enormous pitches I've come across. Very lovely campsite with friendly and helpful owners. Facilities showers etc are clean, well maintained and never had to queue except once for washing dishes.

The best thing was the size of the pitch! We had a large tent and still plenty of room at sides back and front.

We found a lovely beach on the Ile de Noirmoutier and travelled there each day. A bit of journey which could take up to an hour with traffic and speed restrictions but well worth it once there.

Thoroughly enjoyed this site, it was also very quiet and peaceful. Definitely recommend and would hope to visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SDODGE 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a week in August last year and while the site was busy, due to the spacious pitch we had and the overall size of the site we never felt crowded or packed-in like other sites we have stayed at in France.

Washroom facilities are maintained to a high standard and cleaned thoroughly a couple of times a day. There was always plenty of hot water. The washing machine has a quick programme, which is handy when you just want to freshen clothes and not spend a couple of hours hanging around waiting for it to finish. There are clothes airers provided, which stops people setting up improvised washing lines off trees and bushes. The surrounding area, is ideal for cycling as very flat and most days we cycled to nearby towns/villages including Ile de Noirmoutier. If you like shellfish then there are some excellent restaurants nearby, our favourite was Le Mord'eau at Port Du Bec, less than 30 mins cycle from the campsite. A speciality is the mussels covered in pine needles cooked on an outdoor oven. I can also recommend the Perle de Pain, Boulangerie in Bouin for amazing pastries/cakes, but cycle there to help burn off the calories. We will definitely be visiting this site again in the future as one of the best we have stayed at in France.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Not in a box 3 reviews from this member

This is the second year we have visited this site as we just love it. The campsite does not have a pool, evening entertainment etc. The site is just a peace haven. The pitches are lovely an big so you never feel like you need to be quiet as the pitch next door can hear you. You can totally switch off from the outside world and relax. If you do want WiFi it's free on site near the toilet blocks but to be honest it's quite nice just switching off :)

The toilet and shower block are what you would expect from a site - clean and usable. There is 3 or 4 showers (I can't remember) but we never had to wait to use one at any time of day.

The area is beautiful and you're only a short drive away from some of the best beaches around. The villages are lovely too. There is some great cycle routes not far from the site. The Moulin de Raire and the Castle at Apremont are worth a trip - very cheap day out for all the family at both places - the kids loved them. Included at Apremont you also get free entry to the water tower which has amazing views. The grounds only at Apremont are worth wondering around and taking a picnic. A short walk from the castle is a water dam and a lovely small beach with various water activities.

At the bottom of the hill towards Saint Gervais you'll find a great bakery and butchers which are well worth a visit.

Do not come to this site if you want a hectic site with lots going on as people keep themselves to themselves and soak up the peace. We have three young children (one of whom is autistic and has adhd and the site owners are very accommodating for us) and they love playing outdoors and doing old schools games so if your children are like this I'm sure they'll love it too. They also enjoy seaching for the little lizards on site and hearing all the crickets, owls and other animals as the night gets dark. Amazing sky's for star gazing.

We're already looking forward to visiting this site again :)

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Batman41 11 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite on our 'mini' tour of France- we liked it so much we stayed a couple of more nights before making our way up to Brittany. The owners are lovely, friendly and welcoming and were at the end of the phone when we got lost trying to find the site! The pitches are huge and you feel like you have your own little piece of this lovely campsite. The showers and toilets were always clean and tidy and we never had to wait to use a shower. It is very peaceful but only a short drive away from the coast and its lovely scenery. If you want a busy campsite with pool, entertainment etc this is not for you, but it want a quiet, peaceful friendly site were you can relax this is definitely the one to visit. We will definitely be visiting again and it is in our favourites campsite book! 10 out of 10.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DavidSear 1 review from this member

We (couple, 50s, UK & Dutch roots), visited this super campsite on a touring holiday down the Atlantic coast. Plan was to stay for a weekend and we ended up spending two glorious weeks here. Why? well, the weather was superb (I later heard the Vendee gets the second highest number of sun-hours in France), there was loads to do in the immediate vicinity (cycle tracks, clean beaches, swimming, salt-pans, quaint villages, catching shell-fish, drinking coffee & wine and letting the world go by. ) and the campsite is a real gem (huge pitches, quiet, enough shade, clean facilities, hot showers and, when we visited just before the season kicked in, very restful. )

If I were to think hard for a negative point, then possibly the presence of unsightly caravans stored at the end of a field would be the only gripe.

Our top tip for visitors: go to the Passage du Gois (submerged road) that links to the Island of Noirmoutier and do as the French do: buy some little rakes and go searching for shellfish when the tide is out. They are easy to cook and surprisingly tasty!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pennine Plodder 20 reviews from this member

3rd visit to this peaceful, rural site. Other than the trees providing additional shade, nothing really changes here. The facilities are always clean and tidy. The lack of clubhouse and swimming pool mean that the site generally is youth-free! (A boon to those of us involved in education!) The clients on site are generally English and Dutch with an occasional other nationality. Lovely part of France, easy stretch to the coast and some lovely beaches and various tourist attractions. The Isle of Noirmoutier can be accessed by either bridge or Gois. Lots of lovely well attended markets in easy reach. Supermarkets including Intermarche, SuperU and Leclercs within 10 mins drive, petrol all competatively priced. For those with dogs, there is a very amenable vet in Beauvoir. Thanks Andy and Janette, summer was a joy but not long enough. See you 2016.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1636 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019