Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lockwood House Holidays ( Adults Only )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dawlish > Lockwood House Holidays ( Adults Only ) Reviews

Lockwood House Holidays ( Adults Only )
Exeter Road
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX7 0NU
Tel: 01626 867645
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CCC Members Only
Open: 1april To 30th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (13)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gitta 19 reviews from this member

Lovely site with easy access to a number of places and sights in the area. Easy to find, very pleasant owners, and spotlessly clean site. Free showers and WiFi were a bonus. Bus stops in walking distance too: we used the buses for the whole of our stay. We appreciated being camped near the trees since it was very hot. There is a certain amount of traffic noise during the day but very quiet at night. Big Sainsbury in walking distance via the Country Park. Would certainly stay again if we are in the area.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: KandDP 6 reviews from this member

This small site is easy to find, particularly following the owner's directions. It is a beautifully kept site, with superb shower facilities. The owner came to welcome us. The site is well place for Dawlish, although the walk into town was not to be recommended as there is no footpath, and it's a very busy road.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aylesburybloke 1 review from this member

Great long weekend at this site. Good location, handy for essential shopping and very convenient public transport.

Loads of room, excellent showers, toilets and WiFi, better than most of the larger sites we have visited. Very friendly and helpful owners.

Already booked for the spring 2016, highly recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hkwhales 1 review from this member

Stayed on this lovely site for 10 days in early September. The owners, Sue and Dave, were some of the nicest and most helpful owners we have ever met. ( We have been staying on campsites for a number of years. ) The site is small and friendly, ideally situated for touring the whole of Devon and Cornwall is within easy reach. As previous reviews have mentioned there is some road noise - but much less than we have encountered before on other sites. Lovely hot showers available all day and clean facilities. An added bonus is the inclusive Wifi.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stephen Stead 2 reviews from this member

Check directions before arriving at site. Turn off sat nav near to end of journey otherwise you will get directed down very narrow country lane. This information should be on owners website. Very good location for exploring south devon. The site is on a very busy road, motorbikes very noisy. We spoke to our fellow campers who also found road very nosiy which has put both couples off staying again. Toilet blocks not cleaned every day and often ran out of toilet rolls.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AlexandDebs 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to Lockwood House and our only real problem was that it was only for one week this time.

There is a bit of a slope across most of the site. The concrete hard standing is nice and flat but we had the gravel hardstanding at the top of the site with a gentle fall across it but nothing the levelling ramps we had couldn't cope with (the site did have a small pile of wood boards against the toilet block but we were sorted). Even when the heavens put down a months rain in two days the awning stayed dry so drainage much better than some sites.

This site has a great little facilities block for a 5 van site a male and female toilet plus two unisex showers - I never had to queue once even with five couples on site. The only improvement we could think of would be the addition of a washing-up sink at the side of the toilet block as our van sink is always a bit small, especially for the Cadac grill.

The free wi-fi was superb and capable of streaming SkyGo every so often so this was a real bonus.

We made good use of the great public transport links with the Exeter-Dawlish-Torquay bus stop just outside the site entrance and the trains from Dawlish and Dawlish Warren took us to Exeter and Plymouth. There is a decent Sainsburys a few hundred meters from the site and the great Food Hall/Deli at Powderham Castle a few miles up the road so this made shopping or great food easy. We didn't find any walkable (for us anyway!) pubs but there is plenty of good food and drink within a couple of miles.

We like this site a lot and we'll be back next time we visit Devon

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rainbowsend 7 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site. Excellent location in walking distance to Dawlish via Dawlish Warren and the coastal path. A large well kept lawn with one concrete and one gravel hard standing. The facilities are exemplary with two showers and a gents and ladies toilet, they're always immaculately clean too. Sue popped round daily to check all was OK but was not intrusive, she was always able to offer help and advice. Would definitely return if in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: THOMPSON1 1 review from this member

Just returned from lockwood house, and we were quite sad to leave.

The owners were great, felt like friends, when we left, the site is well cared for, a great team, the toilets/showers were always immaculate.

Well located for exeter/ dawlish/teignmouth and torguay.

Great to have a supermarket close by.

There is some road noise, but to be honest, it didn't disturb us.

The only thing we tended to hear was the gravel path.

We will definitely return, if they will let us, ha ha

Such a relaxing site, feel like we totalled chilled.

Ian and sandra thompson

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Summerdamson 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, great for exploring South Devon area. Adults only and no dogs, perfect for us. Sue, the owner was charming and helpful. The facilities were really superb, clean and well equiped, electric showers so constant hot water, in private lockable shower room, with clothes hooks, rack and enough space to change and cleaning products. Clean tidy toilets with paper in plentiful supply too. This pretty secluded site is lovely, small but with plenty of space even at full capacity (5 caravans or motorhomes) so never felt crowded. Well kept grass and surrounds. Slightly sloping site, but owners have added a couple of level hard standings, we managed fine in our trailer tent. Sainsburys supermarket nearby was very handy, (just up road but not in sight or sound), walkable but country road with no pavement so probably best to drive. To be honest the road is the only downside of whole site, it can get busy so you do hear it. If you want absolute silence this may not be for you. Sue kindly informed us of this when I booked as we were in a tent so liable to hear it more. We could however it would not certainly not prevent us returning, everything else about the place far outweighed the minor noise issue!Enjoyed a lovely meal at The Anchor pub at nearby Cockwood near Starcross, has an extensive menu with a vast range of seafood, but plenty more on offer besides. Really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Loo1952 3 reviews from this member

Lovely (lovely) folk in charge. Road a bit noisy but it goes away at night time and even though there are 'chooks' about they are very entertaining and actually do not pose a problem for an alarm call!(and the eggs make very (very) good scrambled eggs). On the whole a really really nice place to stop and stay and we will return! the area is great and this site is well situated for a lot of areas. Thank you

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4370 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019