Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Knotlow Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Knotlow Farm Campsite > Reviews

Knotlow Farm Campsite
Flagg
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9QP
Tel: 01298 85313
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2024 to 05/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 120 Reviews
                9/10 from 120 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  120 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Windrush2 20 reviews from this member

 Spent a rather wet weekend in July at this site, however despite the weather I was rather pleased!

First of all, the site is nicely secluded down a private access road to the farm, and off a small lane to the village of Flagg. Road noise is minimal, although aircraft noise is present and generally a little louder than usual for most places.

The site itself is long, meaning the furthest pitches from the facilities mean making a decent length walk (which isn't a personal complaint). However it should be noted that there are plenty of pitches closer to the facilities too.

There is a moderate slope in places on the site, however the locations where you'd be pitching tents are usually pretty flat and stone free. Additionally, the ground felt like it was relative well draining despite the large levels of rain at the time of my visit.

Facilities were pretty good and decently maintained, and showers cheap to run (20p for a decent length of time. Also the only case I've come across of a shower timer you could 'stack' with more coins).

Views and surroundings were pleasant, being in the middle of a small valley, surrounded by farmland. There were some nice walks directly from the site, including that of a public footpath that passed through the site. Distances to shops were somewhat more significant, however for short trips, or if you plan ahead this isn't really an issue.

Staff were perfectly professional and friendly.

All in all, thoroughly enjoyed, and would consider returning to in the future! 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Tentguy 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from two nights at this lovely campsite. I'm getting back in to camping after a break and this site has made me want to do more.

Arrival and pitch:

Arrived around 2:30 on the Friday of a hot June weekend and we were directed to pitch in the adults only area near the entrance to the site. This was a lovely spot and we managed to get in the corner with hedges at the side and the entrance road behind us.

Very flat area and shielded from any wind.

There was a thunder storm the second night with torrential rain in the early hours and when I got up a few hours later, there wasn't a single bit of standing water anywhere. The site obviously has good drainage.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the site overall is very sloped. If you're in a van you'll need leveling blocks and in a tent you'll need to find a good spot. But we did so it didn't bother us lol

Facilities:

The facilities block is in a converted farm building and is lovely.

You enter and there's an open area with four generous pot washing areas and a few vending machines. Local maps are on the walls showing walks and there's a large freezer for ice packs.

There are then ladies/gents facilities and a family toilets/showers that I didn't go in. The gents has four urinals, four cubicles and four showers (20p coin for 2 minutes and were lovely and warm).

The facilities were clean thanks to the valiant efforts of the lady doing the cleaning throughout the day, despite some campers not showing as much respect for the facilities (or, Indeed, her) as they maybe could have done.

Didn't have to queue for the showers either night I used them, around 7pm.

Fun fact, from where we were to the toilets and back was 1, 000 steps, but it was my choice to pitch literally the furthest from the toilet block as possible :-)

The EHU pitches are very close to the facilities.

Site overall:

The grass, hedges and overall site is very well maintained. The facilities were clean and pleasant, the location is easy to find and access is good along the entry road.

It's on the flight path for Manchester airport but the lowest we saw any planes was 18, 000ft so it's not like being on a runway. Certainly isn't noisy. We had a lovely afternoon with the binoculars and flight radar app looking at the planes.

If I had one niggle, I'd have liked to have seen more water points, but we were only there two nights and I'd brought 5 litres with me so only had to fill up once

Very good site and I'll definitely be going again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Howlyn 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site. You choose your own pitch, some of the pitches are a bit sloping.

The site is very quiet being well away from roads. All facilities are modern and very clean.

The village of Monyash is a short walk from the site, here there is a good pub serving good food.

Pizzas are cooked on site and looked and smelt delicious, we would have tried them but were only here for one night and had brought our meal with us.

I would strongly recommend this site for all ages. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Beninnotts 3 reviews from this member

 Really friendly staff.

Great quiet location and surrounded by beautiful Derbyshire countryside.

Just be aware that it's unfortunately under the flight path of Manchester Airport. However that's not the fault of the farm and a minor issue.

The toilets are kept very clean and well looked after.

Limited pitches for electric hook up so book early at peak times. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lee gotch 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site toilets and wash rooms spotless clean, hosts are very welcoming,

Loved how quiet it was, kids had loads of space to play ride bikes, brilliant walks around there

Could do with a washing machine and dryer if raining somewhere to wash dirty clothes and dry 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Thekickingmule 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite set in a beautiful plot of the countryside. Travelling there is easy and the postcode given will send you there with no issues.

On arrival you go to the shop where you can place orders for some hot food, which I didn't try on this occasion but I think I will in future! A friendly welcome and 1 minute booking in procedure and then I was out to set my tent up.

The tent area is on a hill, so bear this in mind when you're setting it up as I had to turn round in my tent when I realised the blood was rushing to my head. Once set up, I had stunning views or sunsets, moon rises, hills and stars.

The Angus Aberdeen cows in the nearby fileds caused me no bother at all even when they were curious as to what I was cooking (burgers!)

The facilities are great. Nice and clean and plenty of room. I didn't shower as I wasn't there that long but I was told you can get change in the shop, but I'd advise bringing lots of 20p coins.

The washing facilities have washing up liquid in the dispensers, which was a really nice touch and there are a couple of local maps and leaflets of things to do in the area, so you don't have to plan ahead too much.

All in all, I would say this is a great campsite and one I will be visiting again as it has great access to Peak District towns and at a reasonable price (some are SO expensive now for camping!) it's definitely being saved in my small list of campsites to revisit 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Liz98 4 reviews from this member

 We come to this campsite every year and it never disappoints! This year was the busiest we've ever seen but there were no issues with queues at the toilets or washing facilities.

The people running the campsite are lovely, the food is excellent and it's great to be able to camp with a fire.

We were a group of 3 families with 12-13 yr old children, there was no charge for our event shelter and the kids loved playing in the field. Not too noisy at night either.

Highly recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: AeschMk 1 review from this member

 A well located site with basic facilities.

Would benefit from improved facilities.

We were there when it was very quiet and felt like it would not be so pleasant at full capacity. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2015  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Dannie 1 review from this member

 Really lovely campsite, good And clean facilities and everyone was very welcoming.

Peaceful location, and short drives to many beautiful hikes.

Not too busy, but a good atmosphere from other campers. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Percyvan2020 3 reviews from this member

 We had a great weekend at Knotlow, the facilities were clean and perfect location right on the limestone way.

The fields were lovely and spacious and it was so nice having the farm animals nearby.

Homemade pizzas from the farm were a treat as well!

The showers were pay to use which was a slight downside but not a major issue by any means. 
via mobile


Previous     120 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Knotlow Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Knotlow Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Knotlow Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


42958 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement