Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Shady Oak

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Tarpoley > The Shady Oak Reviews

The Shady Oak
Bates Mill Lane
Beeston
Tiverton
Tarpoley
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CW6 9UE
Tel: 01829 730581
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 24
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 76 Reviews
                7/10 from 76 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ZIZAG 26 reviews from this member

Camped here after a day on the Sandstone trail, as It was only about 1Km along the Canal towpath.

The pub was closed when

I arrived in the afternoon. No one about for paying for the campsite. A lot of people waiting for for a drink and food and some motorhomes waiting to book in, and phoning a number but ringing out no answer they left, Not to wait any more:

I was In a dilemma as the next campsite was a couple of hours walk away and I had a hard trek 13 miles and very tired. So I waited and lo and behold the Staff turned up at 5. 30pm ☺ So pleased to be able to book in for the night.

I was perturbed and perplexed to be charged a price of £20 for a small one man tent I think it was take it or leave it.

As It was a glorious end to a sunny day I pitched my tent on the sloping field on long grass with a lovely view of Shropshire union canal nice layout of the pub In a prime spot with tables and chairs, gorgeous scenery with Beeston Castle In the background. I was the only tent on-site apart from a large RV on a permanant pitch.

Checked out the wooden cladded toilet block, declined to Use the Shower. As the whole place needed a good clean. The Campsite needs an overall TLC, as It has a lot of potential. I can't understand why Its not looked after, as It has everything going for It I suppose It would be Ok for one night.

Ref: to the pub looked good clean and nice decor, No food available that night as midweek. The barman did give me a menu list for a delivery takeaway local company.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theraes 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from the shady oak NEVER again. It is the worst site we have ever visited. £20 a night including electric. 2nd night 4. 30 am electrics failed. In the morning we tried to find some one to report it to but it was 10. 30 before any one was around. Much later the manager arrived to tell us he couldn't understand it, but we had been told that there was a problem. We moved to the other side of the field where the electric was working! But the ground was a soaking mud pitch. All the hardstandings are just big enough to put a small caravan on so each time you went out you were treading in mud and wet grass. The van got filthy! Also there is a charge of £1 for a shower. The showers are not fit to use the toilet block is 2 loos and 1 shower all were dirty, and not cleaned from the day we arrived(Weds) till we left on Sun. The manager did give us a free meal in the pub for our inconvenience But the break was ruined

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jan Evans 3 reviews from this member

VERY SHADY.

Very disappointed in this campsite it didn't live up to any of its promises. Firstly the refurbished toilet block must have been some years ago and I certainly would not shower in there. No one came to clean or replenish in the time we where there. They are currently filling in a large hole 20m+ in the main field, so diggers with top soil arrived at 8. 30am and stayed all day. I wouldn't mind but there was no mention of building work when we booked. The site said Dogs must be kept on a lead, but there was people there with a dog loose, and no one said a word. The area we where pitched had littler that had clearly been there for some time rusty can etc. We emails the site to highlight our disappointment but they have not bothered to respond.

Give this site a miss unless your happy to Part with your money.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: P M D 1 review from this member

Out of 12 hardstanding pitches only one was occupied but we were allocated one that required leveling ramps. The next morning the grass was cut prior to the Bank Holiday weekend, it took him over 3 hours. He started at around 07:20! - next to our pitch !

The wash basins were a total waste of space as the taps were the sort that had to be kept depressed and there were no plugs.

On a positive side, we did have a nice meal at the pub.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nw126kazandspen 11 reviews from this member

Last min. Booked over internet all fine. Then rang to pay depisit.

Campsite no change from years gone by. Toilets have been disguised by cladding wood.

Onsite pub next too canal.

Pub has been renovated painted etc. Well done. Tv area. Were dogs are allowed. Pool table too.

Ate here 1 night. Very nice quick and reasonable.

We were mislead on staying the next night as were told we could watch 6 nations but were kicked out so people can watch football. Lost our 2nd night food order and drinks and nxt night stay. Long canal walks etc ideal for dogs and walkers. Close too beeston castle. Oluton park.

Would return for the walks and pub canal.

Never used showers as l did not like them

Some staff very friendly and helpful others could not br bothered.

Small car park for pub and patio and play area.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jobin62 1 review from this member

Campsite itself is small and very quiet, great views of castle, it has very basic facilities, showers are £1 token for 5 minutes which was a bit of a shock as they are in need of some serious refurbishment, however they were clean. The hard standings are very uneven, the leccy hook up was fine but there is no water hook up.

This could be a lovely little site with a bit of effort - as the pub is gorgeous and is on the canal. The menu is quite limited, but reasonably priced and food is ok.

However - we were made to pay in full, up front for 3 pitches we wanted and when 1 of our party couldn't come due to ill health - were told they have a strict - no refunds policy. We would have expected them to retain 15-20% but they took the whole amount. That was disappointing.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Boothy1981 2 reviews from this member

Pub is beautiful, lovely food etc. Shame that they do't put more effort into the campsite attached as it is awful.

Says refurbished shower blocks - they have basically put a wooden hut sort of effect around the outside of the facilities that have been there for years. The inside are just disgusting. Never any soap or toilet roll. Two toilets in the mens and the same for the womens with one shower each. £1 for 5 minutes of shower which I wouldn't have been bothered about if they worked! The womens shower was broken and the mens gave up the ghost and stopped working too, which meant having a freezing shower half way through washing. When I reported this to the pub they told me that it was because it was being over used?! I did say that maybe they could look at updating them to which the lady replied that she had told the manager this but that he wouldn't do it.

The grass was stupidly long which meant trudging to the toilets was annoying as the bottom of your pants were always wet from the extra long grass. Just plain lazy to not cut it to be honest. We stayed as part of a group of 3 families for 3 nights over the bank holiday.

The toilets and showers were not cleaned the whole time which we couldn't believe! The floor was awful! Think twice before staying!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jgeater1961 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from Shady Oak, we checked in at the pub as requested, to say we were impressed by the surroundings of the pub, clean, modern oldie world type public house overlooking beautiful views of the canal. After a couple of minutes we receiving a warm welcome from a member of the staff, paying the £20 per night fee, a little steep but thought if the campsite was as nice as the pub it would be worth every penny. From here things started to go down hill, firstly the lady asked 'would we want to purchase any shower tokens at a £1 each' a bit surprised by her comment ' I replied that we were unaware that the showers were not included in the nightly £20 fee, this was not mentioned in their advert' she seemed a little surprised by this and asked which website I had seen the site advertised, I had seen Shady Oak on a few different websites with no mention of additional fee for showers, her reply was its mentioned on their Facebook page, I explained personally I don't use Facebook. At this I declined the offer to buy tokens saying we would use our own caravan shower. Returning to our car and van we drove onto the site to find our allocated pitch. We were a little surprised to find only 2 other vans on an approx 15 van site, maybe some of the reasons for this is the grass hadn't been cut in months, a dog running around fowling the grass, the supposedly toilets and showers were located in an old prefab type cold shed, in much need of a good clean, green moss on the walls of the shower, looked like they hadn't been used in a while. At this time it was getting late in the day so decided to set up and make the most of our stay, however about an hour later a man appeared opposite producing a garden lawnmower from his van, we laughed and said surly he isn't going to start and cut the grass with a garden mower, this would take him days, well after struggling for an half hour he managed to cut a large square and then packed up and drove off. We were puzzled by this action but not for long after 2 cars pulled on and erected two small pup tents, ah ah mystery explained, rather them than us it was cold and raining heavy by this time.

Now for the plus side of Shady Oak, we ventured into the pub a few times, eating their twice, a good menu selection, reasonably priced for both food and drinks, a nice cosy atmosphere, with lovely views of the canal. We think its such a shame their campsite does not live up to the standards of the pub, all it will take is a bit of time spent and TLC to make this a gem of a site, which I an convinced will dramatically improve their bookings.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stansmum1 1 review from this member

We have just come home from a weekend stay at this site. We were a mixed group of 3 tents, adults, children and 2 dogs. We loved this site. The location is perfect, a field behind a country pub, right on the canal. Toilet/shower block was basic but clean and was reflected in the price of £15 per night per tent. I love the flat fee idea too, £15 all in. No extras for more people, dogs or cars. The grass was cut and our pitch was flat, easy to find and a decent space. The staff in the pub were very friendly and helpful. The pub itself was lovely, newly decorated and dog friendly. We ate in there on Friday night and were very impressed with the quality and price of food. On the Saturday we went over and bought nice coffees from them and brought them back to the tent- very handy. Electric hook up was only £5 per day and very easy to use. The play area was out of action which is a shame but there was lots of space for children to play and walks along the canal were very interesting. We all loved this site and will definitely be back sooner rather than later.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: E_port_ranger 14 reviews from this member

Only camped here for one night but really liked the place. The pitches are numbered and allocated by the staff. We had a slight problem that the people to our left had nicked half our pitch, luckily the group of ladies to our right hadn't used all their space so our two man tent still had room. The staff were very helpful down at the pub but wasn't worth bothering them over our pitch problem. The toilets are basic but clean and better than some sites I have paid more money to stay at. There is no loo roll provided so take your own. Most of the pitches are flat and level and the view and location are brilliant The pub is really nice now, didn't have any food but saw some which looked great and staff are all friendly. We found ourselves short of a mobile phone on returning home and phoned site to ask if one had turned up. They immediately sent one of the staff to scour our pitch and toilets but couldn't find it and rang back to let us know. Thought this was really good service. The phone turned up in the luggage after all back at home

In conclusion I will definitely be visiting this site soon.

Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3606 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019