Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Shady Oak

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Tarpoley > The Shady Oak Reviews

The Shady Oak
Bates Mill Lane
Beeston
Tiverton
Tarpoley
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CW6 9UE
Tel: 01829 730581
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 24
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 79 Reviews
                7/10 from 79 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Leanne 1 review from this member

 I stayed at Shady Oak Campsite at the weekend, I was coming with my camper van while friends were staying in a tent.

The lady who booked us in made sure our pitches were together as there was different pitches for tents and camper vans which was really good,

The toilet and shower facilities were clean and well maintained. The location is fabulous being right on the canal. Lots of nice walks to do also from the site we could see both Peckforton and Beaston castle.

We also visited the Pub on site. The staff were friendly and helpful. Lots of Covid measures in place. We felt very comfortable and the home made steak pie was to die for.

All in all a very enjoyable time at the shady oiak campsite we will certainly visit again.

Only put 1-10 for child friendly as it is ADULTS ONLY which suited us down to the ground so should have put 10-10 for that but people may think children are ok to go if I did. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ttops1 1 review from this member

 Great site, lovely and clean showers and toilet facilities. Peaceful. Pub at side of site with beautiful beer garden and dogs welcome, also food available.

Slightly more expensive than other sites, however only for adults with no children.

Will be going again. Thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gillyarss 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and nice facilities but thought a bit too expensive compared to others in the area.

Location was perfect.

Lots of outside and inside space, covid restrictions perfectly in place. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ZIZAG 28 reviews from this member

 Camped here after a day on the Sandstone trail, as It was only about 1Km along the Canal towpath.

The pub was closed when

I arrived in the afternoon. No one about for paying for the campsite. A lot of people waiting for for a drink and food and some motorhomes waiting to book in, and phoning a number but ringing out no answer they left, Not to wait any more:

I was In a dilemma as the next campsite was a couple of hours walk away and I had a hard trek 13 miles and very tired. So I waited and lo and behold the Staff turned up at 5. 30pm ☺ So pleased to be able to book in for the night.

I was perturbed and perplexed to be charged a price of 20 for a small one man tent I think it was take it or leave it.

As It was a glorious end to a sunny day I pitched my tent on the sloping field on long grass with a lovely view of Shropshire union canal nice layout of the pub In a prime spot with tables and chairs, gorgeous scenery with Beeston Castle In the background. I was the only tent on-site apart from a large RV on a permanant pitch.

Checked out the wooden cladded toilet block, declined to Use the Shower. As the whole place needed a good clean. The Campsite needs an overall TLC, as It has a lot of potential. I can't understand why Its not looked after, as It has everything going for It I suppose It would be Ok for one night.

Ref: to the pub looked good clean and nice decor, No food available that night as midweek. The barman did give me a menu list for a delivery takeaway local company. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Theraes 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from the shady oak NEVER again. It is the worst site we have ever visited. 20 a night including electric. 2nd night 4. 30 am electrics failed. In the morning we tried to find some one to report it to but it was 10. 30 before any one was around. Much later the manager arrived to tell us he couldn't understand it, but we had been told that there was a problem. We moved to the other side of the field where the electric was working! But the ground was a soaking mud pitch. All the hardstandings are just big enough to put a small caravan on so each time you went out you were treading in mud and wet grass. The van got filthy! Also there is a charge of 1 for a shower. The showers are not fit to use the toilet block is 2 loos and 1 shower all were dirty, and not cleaned from the day we arrived(Weds) till we left on Sun. The manager did give us a free meal in the pub for our inconvenience But the break was ruined 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jan Evans 3 reviews from this member

 VERY SHADY.

Very disappointed in this campsite it didn't live up to any of its promises. Firstly the refurbished toilet block must have been some years ago and I certainly would not shower in there. No one came to clean or replenish in the time we where there. They are currently filling in a large hole 20m+ in the main field, so diggers with top soil arrived at 8. 30am and stayed all day. I wouldn't mind but there was no mention of building work when we booked. The site said Dogs must be kept on a lead, but there was people there with a dog loose, and no one said a word. The area we where pitched had littler that had clearly been there for some time rusty can etc. We emails the site to highlight our disappointment but they have not bothered to respond.

Give this site a miss unless your happy to Part with your money. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: P M D 1 review from this member

 Out of 12 hardstanding pitches only one was occupied but we were allocated one that required leveling ramps. The next morning the grass was cut prior to the Bank Holiday weekend, it took him over 3 hours. He started at around 07:20! - next to our pitch !

The wash basins were a total waste of space as the taps were the sort that had to be kept depressed and there were no plugs.

On a positive side, we did have a nice meal at the pub. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nw126kazandspen 14 reviews from this member

 Last min. Booked over internet all fine. Then rang to pay depisit.

Campsite no change from years gone by. Toilets have been disguised by cladding wood.

Onsite pub next too canal.

Pub has been renovated painted etc. Well done. Tv area. Were dogs are allowed. Pool table too.

Ate here 1 night. Very nice quick and reasonable.

We were mislead on staying the next night as were told we could watch 6 nations but were kicked out so people can watch football. Lost our 2nd night food order and drinks and nxt night stay. Long canal walks etc ideal for dogs and walkers. Close too beeston castle. Oluton park.

Would return for the walks and pub canal.

Never used showers as l did not like them

Some staff very friendly and helpful others could not br bothered.

Small car park for pub and patio and play area. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jobin62 1 review from this member

 Campsite itself is small and very quiet, great views of castle, it has very basic facilities, showers are 1 token for 5 minutes which was a bit of a shock as they are in need of some serious refurbishment, however they were clean. The hard standings are very uneven, the leccy hook up was fine but there is no water hook up.

This could be a lovely little site with a bit of effort - as the pub is gorgeous and is on the canal. The menu is quite limited, but reasonably priced and food is ok.

However - we were made to pay in full, up front for 3 pitches we wanted and when 1 of our party couldn't come due to ill health - were told they have a strict - no refunds policy. We would have expected them to retain 15-20% but they took the whole amount. That was disappointing. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Boothy1981 2 reviews from this member

 Pub is beautiful, lovely food etc. Shame that they do't put more effort into the campsite attached as it is awful.

Says refurbished shower blocks - they have basically put a wooden hut sort of effect around the outside of the facilities that have been there for years. The inside are just disgusting. Never any soap or toilet roll. Two toilets in the mens and the same for the womens with one shower each. 1 for 5 minutes of shower which I wouldn't have been bothered about if they worked! The womens shower was broken and the mens gave up the ghost and stopped working too, which meant having a freezing shower half way through washing. When I reported this to the pub they told me that it was because it was being over used?! I did say that maybe they could look at updating them to which the lady replied that she had told the manager this but that he wouldn't do it.

The grass was stupidly long which meant trudging to the toilets was annoying as the bottom of your pants were always wet from the extra long grass. Just plain lazy to not cut it to be honest. We stayed as part of a group of 3 families for 3 nights over the bank holiday.

The toilets and showers were not cleaned the whole time which we couldn't believe! The floor was awful! Think twice before staying! 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Shady Oak child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Shady Oak?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Shady Oak dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tarpoley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2476 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement