Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Les Pecheurs

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Provence - Cote D Azur > Roquebrune Sur Argens > Camping Les Pecheurs Reviews

Camping Les Pecheurs
Roquebrune
Roquebrune Sur Argens
Provence - Cote D Azur   (Browse area)
83520
Tel: 0033 04 94457125
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 7 Reviews
                7/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Croyde_or_bust 16 reviews from this member

Booked this through The Caravan Club and were unimpressed. Staff were polite but appeared to have their hands tied by management. On arrival we were given a pitch but told we could have any in that area. The pitch wasn’t big enough for caravan and awning. A larger second pitch couldn’t be accessed even using a mover. A pitch was found where we could put van and awning, it was overgrown, full of dust and weeds (as were all of them), nice when the wind blew. We tied back branches to prevent them rubbing the van. The car went on a nearby pitch. Initially we didn’t know of pitches to the rear of the site, we were given a photocopied map which didn’t include them. We later became aware and they are nicer, larger and easier to access and there were 3 vans present. We were denied them due to flood risk caused by a flood many years back ! So why were any vans parked there? There were also sports amenities and a children's play area there.
Showers were clean, but gave 8 secs of water per buttonpress and we had to ‘kiss’ the wall to get under it. Temperatures varied. Filling a 40-litre container took ages. Dishwashing gave lukewarm water. Waste disposal is a toilet bowl, try lifting and emptying a full waste container. Toilets and showers were clean, no soap or toilet paper. The camp wasn’t peaceful. The adjacent road was busy, a lane running alongside was noisy early and late. On arrival we paid 20 euro deposit for a cardkey. When we left the staff had no cash access to return our deposit.
Plus side. Pool area is very nice, includes an adult only area with whirlpools. Could also do with parasols. Might get overcrowded high season. Very welcoming restaurant beautifully located and supplied good food at decent prices. Friendly site shop, but very small with little choice. Intermarche is a mile away. Free canoes, it’s worth a paddle the river is teaming with wildlife including turtles. Cannes (30 miles) take the cliffside/sea route from Frejus absolutely stunning. St Maxime (8 miles) easiest area to park for beaches (some free), Port Grimaud and St Tropez (15miles) both beautiful. Take a trip up into the mountains too.
Very disappointed, we expected better than a cramped, dust bowl for our stay. Compounding this was the exclusion from the rear area. Since our visit we have learned that many seemed to have been refused access to this area but there are many different excuses for why !

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaiash 21 reviews from this member

We chose this site because a) it was open and b) ACSI discount; an added bonus was that the town was walking distance (10-20 mins). Access to the site is easy via the D7 opposite the beach car park for the 'Roque brune'. This is a four star site and seems rather expensive in high season. There are statics and ready erected tents on site with 'Rent a Tent' a Dutch company. The reception staff all speak good English if necessary. There is a small shop on site which has basic provisions and bread etc in the morning. There is also a restaurant and café, not used by us but which seemed very popular and was open to locals too. For the end of April the site was quite busy, mainly Dutch but some Germans, French and a few GB.

Pitches vary a lot in size and have very sparse grass and become muddy in rain - some worse than others. We thought the best ones were nearest to the sports/kids area but these were unavailable to us on arrival because of work being carried out. Electric is 10 amps with a mixture of Euro and old style connections, some pitches are a long way from the boxes but the site seems to have a good supply of extensions to lend out. We were just over 50 metres away from the nearest box.

The pool is large and heated with a 'Balnéo' area for adults (extra charge); it is just a plain pool with no slides etc. Showers etc were heated and kept very clean. We found it to be very peaceful and quiet especially as night drew in BUT it was late April.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hortonjjj 3 reviews from this member

We ended up at Les Pecheurs by accident whilst we were on tour and we quite liked it. It is a 4*family run campsite with some added extras such as a lovely lake a short walk away and the free canoes which my husband enjoyed.

The sanitary facilities that we were near were adequate although it annoys me when campsites don't have toilet paper - we were paying 45 Euros a night! That said they were adequate and we were happy enough with them although the baby bath area didn't appear to have lighting. On our last day I found a newer toilet block that had a much nicer baby area - wish we'd known beforehand!

The playground was great for our one year old although the baby swing was slightly broken. She loved it though and it was a great way of letting off steam before bedtime.

Our pitch was our only gripe - although we saw it in advance (they take you on a golf cart to check them out which is good) we didn't realise the noise we'd encounter from fellow campers. If you go to this campsite avoid being near a walkway if you don't want to listen to a drunken speech every five minutes as people walk past or tired children yelling as they accompany their parents home. We really struggled to keep our baby asleep with the noise although she usually sleeps very well.

The swimming pool was good although very busy as it was the height of the season so we went to the local beaches and the lake over the road - also very busy but more space, particularly in the water. We visited St Tropez - I'd been before and although I think it's a little over-rated it is a must-do. The yachts are spectacular and it's quite fun guessing which people own them and which people have dressed up to look as if they may own them. Go early though, traffic is ridiculous.

Back to the local area - we walked into the Roquebrune Night Market and were somewhat disappointed with the lack of stalls although it was quite nice. We ate at the restaurant on site that night and we both thought that for French cuisine and the price it was rubbish. I got a half burnt steak hache with cold frites and my husband got a nice tasting local stew but it was mainly a plate of pasta. I'd save your money and go out somewhere much better.

Overall I'd recommend Les Pecheurs but be careful where you pitch unless you are going off season or don't mind late night noise.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 99 reviews from this member

Lovely friendly staff. Chose our pitch ourselves. The entertainments young man was great. Had us playing boules the afternoon we arrived! Loos etc clean and pleasant. Easy 12 minute walk into Roquebrunne which we found beautiful, especially on the night of 21st June when Fete de Musique was on. Lots of different music all around the streets of the little town. Wonderful!Half hour drive takes you to small beaches of Les Issambres. Pool was fine, don't think it was heated!Pitch size was good. Would return again.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Troyes5518 1 review from this member

We have recently returned from a seven week stay at Les Pecheurs Camping, Roquebrune Sur Argens in the South of France. An area which was unfortunately affected by the events of 15th June, 2010. Would like to re-assure clients of Les Pecheurs both old and new that the campsite and the surrounding Var Region has been restored to it's former beauty.

Les Pecheurs is a superb site with great pool facilities, owned and ran by a friendly family who endeavour to ensure campers enjoy a tranquil family holiday in excellent surroundings.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Diesel steve 9 reviews from this member

Visited this site in June. Booked for 7 and left after 5 nights. Disappointed as listed as a 4 star site. Pitches awkward to get into. Ok with mover. Very thick tree cover, little sun onto pitch. Toilet block 3 appeared refurbished. No seats or paper provided and mixed sex although looked clean didn't smell fresh. Site ok to visit surrounding area and not to stay on site all day. They wanted 15 euros a day for spa and jacuzzi. Used camping cheques but was not worth 40 euros a night.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: TONY GINGELL 1 review from this member

My Father In Law first visited this site in in the 70's. He and his family loved it so much, that they kept going back, every year, for the next 10 years. (Staying there for the whole month of August!) When I started to date my future wife, she stopped going and so did he some three years later. Then, in 2003, he asked us if we would like to go there again with him. Back then, our family consisted of two sons aged 3 and 8, and they certainly did not have to be asked twice! My In Laws used to take down with them a fold down trailer caravan, but as towing and the driving was not something he was looking forward to, we decided to stay in a mobile home. Now I know on a camping web site I should be giving a review about staying in a tent/caravan, but I'm sure I can still give a feeling about what the site is like without living under canvas. (Oh, and before I get started, we have been back every year since 2003 and are going again in 2009)

The Site.

The site itself is not huge, so if you like a place with lots of entertainment/night life, then this would not be the site for you. Still interested? Then read on!

The campsite is located close to the village of Roquebrune sur Argen. Along one side of the site runs the river Argen, and to the front, (Across the road.) the lake. Visible from the whole site, is the impressive dominating rock. You enter the site via the single entrance/exit, overlooked by the attractive reception building. Once checked in, you are provided with a swipe card for the barrier, a map of the site and a small booklet that lists some of the local attractions/markets etc. If you are camping, then the friendly staff will show you what pitches are available so that you can choose one you would like. Most of the site has the advantage of shade from the mature trees that cover it, and the trees and bushes give the place a very pleasant atmosphere.

Amenities.

Toilets/showers.

Cant think why I put this first. Perhaps because you’ll no doubt be using them? There are three toilet blocks provided and all of them are kept very clean. Not all of them have the same features, so it’s worth checking them out. Here is what you can find, toilets, showers, showers for young children, washing basins, washing machine, tumble drier and “washing up” sinks.

Pool.

The pool is not that big, but large enough for the size of the camp, and children’s paddling pool. There is also has a “bar” (Or should that be Café?) selling teas, coffees, ice creams etc. In the shaded area of the bar are two table tennis tables. The pool complex also has a separate, additional payment, area that has a Jacuzzi and steam room. (Or was it a sauna? As you can tell, I’ve never gone in there!) Please note that during lunchtime, during the height of the season, the pool does close. A pain in some ways, but at least you can get the kids out and home for lunch! Also, I like the fact that the pool can only be accessed by one gate, that closes on its own, and has a catch that is too high for little fingers to reach.

Bar/Restaurant

A bar speaks for itself I guess, but from here you can order a small range of Pizzas (Delicious!) and chips. The restaurant has been enlarged since our first visit, and very nice it is to. We have eaten there many a time and have never been disappointed with any of our meals. This is also where you will find the evening entertainment, two pool tables and table top foot ball.

Now, if I can be a grumpy old g*t for a few seconds, the “Evening entertainment” was the one thing about the site that I did not like. Sorry Les Pecheurs, but for me it was too loud, and went on too late. I must admit that we have been going for the last 6 years, so have heard the same songs over and over again, and we do have a mobile home that is close to the restaurant. That said, last year (2008) it was MUCH quieter, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed for this year. (But it may be worth keeping this in mind when looking at pitches.) Also, please note that they do not have singers EVERY night! During the day, there are some free canoes moored up, accessed by the gate in the entertainment area. Paddles, and life jackets are provided at reception.

Shop.

Small, but it has the essentials, (But not English newspapers) and freshly baked bread every morning!

“Aire de Jeux”

Here is the football pitch, play area, table tennis (outdoor) and “Mini club” for the children. I cant say much about the mini club, as my two were never interested in it. All I can say is, the other children appear to be kept amused and there always appears to be something going on. During the week, there is archery, and often a child’s circus comes to visit every two weeks. (Additional charge and only high season.)

Security.

I know that no place can ever be totally safe, but we always felt that our children were as safe as they could be at Les Pecheurs. The whole site is fenced in with only one entrance/exit. No car can come onsite without first obtaining a swipe card. There is a strong sliding gate that closes after 11.30pm and opens again at 07.00, so no cars can move on or off the site between those times. There is however a pedestrian side gate for guests that have got back home late, provided they have remembered the entry code. The pool is also fenced in, with just the one access, all of which makes one feel that their children’s safety has been thought about.

General.

By the reception, you will find a list of daily events and trips. Climb up the rock anyone? As I have already mentioned, we have been going to this site for several years and it appears that each year, there is something new at the site. Most of the older mobile homes have been replaced with new ones., the Jacuzzi complex was added, the restaurant was enlarged. What I’m trying to say is that here is a site that puts some money back into the business, its give as well as take. If you like a medium size site, well run, clean, with friendly staff, safe for children, and with lots of places to explore, then Les Pecheurs is the site for you.

Close by.

Across the road, is the lake, tennis courts, and crazy golf. The tennis and golf, are both free to site residents, but both are showing signs of age…. The lake offers some water sports, but this is not connected to the campsite, so is at additional cost. I’m not sure of the exact day, but I think its close to the 17th August, there is a free firework display at the late each year, which is all part of the village festival.

Local attractions.

I’ll try to be brief!

Roquebrune Village, only a ten to fifteen min walk away, only small, but several good restaurants, and well worth a look around. St Aygulf, good general market, and nice beach. (Take some shade with you!) Frejus, lots of Roman remains, nice town and Zoo on the outskirts. St Raphael, good shopping area by the beach, and has a large market (Sundays?) and evening market along the beach road. Agay, quieter beach, glass bottomed boat trips. St Tropez, boats, glamour, alongside smelly drains and dog poo. (As you can tell, I was not too taken with St Trop, perhaps the image in my minds eye was just too set?) Don’t get me wrong, its worth a visit, but there is one road in, and one road out, so arrive early and leave late. (Or get the passenger ferry from Les Issambres harbour.) Gorges du Verdon, unless you like narrow twisting mountain roads with a shear drop, head for “Les Salles sur Verdun” and don’t go the “Canyon” road. We head for “Draguignan, D557 to Villecroze, Aups, then D957. (And DON’T take the road on the right, signposted “Canyon!”) Again, get there early, and then hire a boat/canoe to go up the gorge. I’d advise taking a packed lunch as well as there are not may places to eat.

But my favourite, so to head to the mountains and see what you can find. Tourtour, Fayence, its no good, there are too many to list. All wonderful and just waiting to be discovered.

Note for those not driving from home.

So far, we have always taken the Eurostar “Tourist train” from St Pancras to Avignon. It has never been late or held up once. This train only goes once a week on a Saturday and only stops at Ashford and a driver change when in France. This is a SCNF train and not the TGV so be carfull when booking car hire, as there is also a TGV Avignon station. From the station we have then picked up a hire car and driven down to the site. The only thing is, there is only one car hire company with an office in the station, Avis. So, the train pulls in, a few hundred people get off, several of which head straight to Avis. Need I say more? The time to the campsite depends on the traffic at the tolls on the motorway. No traffic, 1 ½ to 2 hrs, but we have been known to take 3-4.

Mobile Homes.

There are mobile homes provided by some companies, (Keycamp?) or you can book direct and use the sites own ones. BUT, the sites own ones are expected to be vacated as clean on departure as they were on arrival. An inspection is made on departure, and keep in mind that the motorways start to get busy after 10……


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Roquebrune Sur Argens      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Provence - Cote D Azur

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3396 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019