Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bank Top Farm Caravan Site C L

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Bank Top Farm Caravan Site C L Reviews

Bank Top Farm Caravan Site C L
Cropton
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8HH
Tel: 01751 417509
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Seasidenana 7 reviews from this member

We stayed for 3 nights in September. Although we only live 20 miles away, we wanted to cycle in the forest and visit the micro brewery next door. The site is a large level field, with lots of space to pitch. There are no toilets or showers, just EHU. The owner is very laid back and does not bother you. We tried to book for the beer festival, but it was fully booked. Make sure you book well in advance.

We enjoyed visiting the pub where we had a meal one night, itís a friendly place where we got chatting to several people. The food is really nice. The brewery tour is good, and the beers very good !

The road to Cropton Forest where the trails start has a very steep section, which was difficult for me as a disabled cyclist so we took the bikes in the car to cycle the forest trails. A shame as I thought we would be able to cycle from the site. We liked the visitor centre at the forest where you can get maps and there is a nice cafe.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparkywoo 2 reviews from this member

What a splendid relaxing 3 night stay we enjoyed here with our 4 year old and 7 month old kids. Okay it's just a field but it's so relaxing, no strict rules or hassle from owners, everyone friendly. Loads of space for all to enjoy. Lovely listening to all the birds in the trees and watching the sunset over the moors.

Pub next door is a cracker.

Didn't actually get to meet anyone who works there, so didn't get wifi password so can't comment on that.

12 quid a night is cracking value. Will make it a regular trip on the calendar ☺

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jondy376 56 reviews from this member

Just coming to the end of a 2 night stay at Bank top fm, Mike the owner is away but left instruction to post the money through the letterbox

The site is very well kept and the location is lovely and excellent area for walking. We had 2 great circular walks, first to Newton on Rawcliffe was around 11 mile With a nice pub in the village. The second walk was to Hutton le Hole Via Appleton Le Moors and coming back Via Lastingham, Here the Blacksmith Arms is worth a visit too. This walk was around 10 mile.

Another plus for me was the free wifi, we were in the top corner furthest away from the house so didnít expect the signal to be that good, but both the laptop and the phones all had a good signal.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Malcolmfoxwist 12 reviews from this member

Have just spent 2 nights on this site.

In comparison to some sites, it is basic, having only EHU and water, but that doesn't detract from what was a very relaxing stay. Especially as it is very inexpensive. The field is flat and is surrounded by a mature hedge. The owner, Mike is very friendly and doesn't pester you as soon as you arrive for his money. He also wasn't funny about us staying a little beyond the normal departure time.

Cropton is well situated for Whitby, Scarborough et al.

The main benefit of staying here is the New Inn pub and micro-brewery literally next door to the site. Superb beer and food. Really enjoyed the Brewery tour arranged through Red Letter Days.

All in all a very enjoyable stay; so much so that we have booked for New Years Eve. Mind you the pub does have something to do with our decision to spend NYE here!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sherrif 25 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site as on other attempts to book it has been fully booked.

When we booked the owner was away and rang us back the same evening.

On arrival the owner told us to set up anywhere we liked. The site is large and very flat making setting up easy.

My wife asked the site owner where we could buy fresh eggs locally he advised us of a place in Cropton Village but said he had not seen any for sale recently. On returning from a walk he came to our van to check if we had managed to get any eggs and said he had picked some up whilst out if we needed them.

Just out of the site gate to the right is the New Inn pub this is a lovely pub belonging to the Croptom Brewery selling their local brews well worth trying as they are very good beers. The staff make you very welcome they also sell good food we have not eaten there on this visit but have done when we have stayed on other sites in the area in the past.

There are some nice walks from the site you an walk to Cropton Forest and to the Keldy Lodges and Lastingham Village the Blacksmith Arms is worth a visit.

Hutton le Hole is also within walking distance if you like walking long distances or can be a nice car drive away.

Have not listed facilities as this is a CL with only water and elson disposal but all I easy reach

Plan to return very soon

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shanefaye 5 reviews from this member

We love this site we visited recently as the kids were desperate to get back to caravanning.

The area is lovely, its close to Pickering and Whitby.

There is loads of space on the field and a pub/ restaurant close by.

The owner is really helpful, we got stuck in the snow up there and he pulled off with his 4x4 with no problems at all.

This is a really popular site and we always struggle to get on so book well in advance.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SCEPTRE001 2 reviews from this member

Visited the site for an extra weekend away. Booked at short notice, and were lucky to get in as the site is very popular.

The site is excellent value for money, the site is of generous size, level with good easy entrance for large vans.

The site is next door to the cropton brewery, the pub looked inviting will no doubt try next time.

Excellent location for Rosedale / Hutton le Hole / Pickering / Kirkbymoorside and Helmsley.

Will be using this site again!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 101 reviews from this member

The site is a large, level, well maintained and closely-mown field surrounded by tall hedges. Access is easy even for large units. The site owner asks that waste 'grey' water be emptied along the hedge, which makes the job easy! Mike, the owner, let us leave late afternoon as site not full - important on a short weekend break.

Cropton, the adjacent village, is very pretty and although there are no shops, there is a pub with microbrewery just at the entrance to the site. There was no problem with midges when we were there - as contrasted with some reports of woodland sites in the area. This can be a major factor in how comfortable a site is!

Location is convenient for Rosedale, Farndale, Lastingham, Levisham (railway), Dalby Forest etc.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5184 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019