Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Lower Penderleath Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > Lower Penderleath Farm Reviews

Lower Penderleath Farm
Lower Penderleath
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR26 3AF
Tel: 07723 014567
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60+
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mervzzr 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for a week. Weather was fab but windy though the grassy partitions helped deflect the worst of it and gave a little privacy. The site overall was very clean and well kept with spotless facilities even though nearly full. The shop had a little of everything and well stocked. There is a central field area where kids can play but no swings etc. There is a path from the top of the site to the dunes and beach which as long as not loaded up like a small packhorse is easily walkable and dog friendly, however beware the beach by the car park at Gwithian is not dog friendly during peak season Please find out as when on the beach there is no way of knowing when you cross the boundary. During the week there are visits from various caterers all of which are of a high quality and well worth a try. Just to finish off the Red River across the road from the entrance is fab, it's friendly tidy good local beverages and the food is of a high quality at reasonable prices. It's also dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattyboy1 8 reviews from this member

 If you're after a basic campsite for some proper camping then you can't get better than Lower Penderleath. It is located in the middle of the countryside 3 miles from St Ives so plenty of lovely views and peace n quiet. Russell the owner is brilliant, very friendly and helpful. There are lovely free hot showers and toilets which for a basic campsite are nice and clean. The camping itself consists of 2 large fields in which you can set up wherever you like. No pitches or restrictions at all. Been here 4 times now and will continue to keep coming here. If you're after lots of facilities this campsite isn't for you but if you want a basic campsite for some proper camping this is the site for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BigRedAnt 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a great holiday at Lower Penderleath. We spent just over a week there, 12 of us in 3 tents. There is so much space it was easy for us all to pitch together, and there seems to be no limit as to tent size, or use of toilet/utility tents.

The shower, washing and toilet facilities are basic but very clean, with hardly any queueing required at all. There are three large fridges in the office, to store your food etc in, and you can charge your phones up there too.

You can rent firepits from the owner (or use your BBQ as we did), helping us to warm up on cool evenings. The owner, Russell, is very friendly, and he often lights up a communal fire so people can sit and have a beer and a chat.

All in all an excellent campsite, close to all the major tourist spots; we can't wait to visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dav and Steve 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Lower Penderleath for a week and would thoroughly recommend it. Although the site has basic facilities, they were much cleaner and better maintained than your average campsite. There is plenty of fridge and freezer space, as well as plug sockets for charging mobiles, using hairdryers etc. Although we did not use it, the bus service to St Ives calls just along the road from the site and looks very convenient, although it only operates during the summer. Despite staying during the school summer holidays, we found the site to be very quiet. The surrounding area is very picturesque, with lots of opportunities for walking, day trips out etc. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Georgina2345 2 reviews from this member

 Delightful. The owner, his dad and dog Sally were very welcoming. The use of a fridge, electric kettle and power points for charging was great. All facilities well thought through for user. Great showers with no annoying push buttons, hair dryer, full length mirror etc. The site feels very individual and no annoying toilet block with glaring lights. Lots of birds and other wildlife. Near to St Ives and Penzance and several good pubs. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neildb 2 reviews from this member

 Camped in early August 2012 in a 2 person group for 3 nights.

I am still new to the whole camping experience but Russell did a great job in convincing me that it's the way to do a holiday. Showers seem to always be hot, even when you're a late riser like me. They are cleaned regularly as are the 4 toilet cubicles.

The office has loads of plugpoints to use throughout the day. Fridge / Freezer available for ice packs and food. BBQ buckets to rent for the night for a small deposit and fee.

The fields were great. Lots of space to pitch and some great views (if you're at the top of the bank!). Noise was never an issue.

Prices as above and very reasonable for the quality. Just bring cash in hand on the day to pay the full amount on the first day of the stay.

St Ives is a lovely place, though probably made better with the great weather we had that week. Parking is 5. 70 for the whole day, just get in before 12 to secure yourself a spot. I believe there is a bus you can take in from near the campsite if you don't feel up for the drive or fancy a drink out in the evening.

Overall, awesome stay and definitely coming back. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VinceBeckworth 4 reviews from this member

 This is a great back to basics campsite that is well worth a visit. The site is run by Russell, a nice chap who can generally be found pottering around the place if you need anything and will often build a communal fire and have a beer in the evening. There are fire buckets for hire if you fancy your own fire and plenty of space so that you have enough room to spread out.

The site is very quiet, although there is a good pub that is a couple of miles away, across the fields. The facilities appear basic, with handwritten signs and a variety of coloured sanitary ware, but there are enough toilets and showers and plenty of free hot water. All is kept spotless by Russell. There is a small office with a fridge/freezer and power points to charge your phone - what more do you want? 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Toomuchpollock 1 review from this member

 Had a great time at Lower Penderleath Farm. We had a group of around 10 and plenty of space not to disturb the neighbours.

Russell was a great guy and joined us in the evenings for a few beers around the campsites communal fire. Very knowledgeable of the surrounding area and was able to point out a good walk into St Ives and another to the local pub (The Engine), although don't try walking the same way back in the dark. We were warned against it and after stumbling around in a muddy field for over an hour we gave up and went back to the pub.

Beautiful landscape and no light pollution made for fantastic views, both day and night.

Some of the other reviews say tents only but Russell was happy for VW campers and similar, he just wasn't keen on the bigger motorhomes as he doesn't provide electricity or chemical toilet disposal.

Facilities were clean and the water was warm. Apparently Russell used to bottle mineral water there so you can happily drink it straight from the tap. There were even a couple of outdoor bath tubs to clean wetsuits.

Great place, will go again.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CarryOnCamper66 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the August Bank Holiday week 2011. Loved it. No caravans or campervans, only tents. Proper camping!

Russell the owner is on hand all day and evening and keeps the place spotless. The showers are free to use and regularly cleaned. Loads of hot water. The pot washing facilities and toilets are equally spotless. There is a fridge freezer available for campers to use and Russell cleans this regularly too. Hosepipe and a couple of old baths available in the farmyard to wash your wetsuits out and hang them up to dry. Plug sockets available to charge your phone and even a cubicle for the ladies with a mirror and sockets to plug your hairdryer in.

Russell had a campfire going most evenings and we sat round having a beer and putting taters in the fire.

You can rent a fire bucket or a barbeque from Russell for a reasonable rate.

Lidl supermarket at Hayle is nearby. Theres a Tesco in St. Ives but it was always rammed with people when I went there.

Amazing clear starry nights No light pollution. Satellites aplenty up above.

Best beaches nearby are Gwithian or Godrivey. Russell has the local OS maps and can show you the best bits.

St. Ives is very posh these days and the cafes have become bistros and the shops art galleries. Parking is chronic so take the bus mentioned in other reviews. We used Russells site as a base. Newquay is only 30 miles away and we watched the European surfing championships on Bank Holiday.

Overall one of the best campsites Ive experienced and Ill be going back there. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janeyb1307 1 review from this member

 This has to be my very favourite campsite in the UK!

We stayed at Lower Penderleath Farm during August Bank Holiday weekend. When I called Russell a couple of days before the weekend to see if he had spaces, he assured me that he always had room. I was a bit dubious and expected to find a very cramped site. How wrong I was!

The farm has two very large fields and at the height of the weekend, there were about 20 tents between the two fields and after Saturday this was reduced by half. Russell told me that this was the busiest the site had ever been!

The site is in a wonderfully peaceful location and Russell keeps the site and its facilities immaculate. There are plenty of showers and toilets, excellent wash up area, hosing down section for wet suits/boards etc, and a fridge and kettle in the office.

Russell is a real character and very helpful and friendly. In the evening he lights up a fire and anybody is free to join him for a beer and a chat.

You can hire fire baskets but have to purchase your own wood and coal but there are plenty of places available to make these purchases.

I can't rate this place highly enough although have been reluctant to place a review because I don't want everyone to know about it! 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Penderleath Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Penderleath Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lower Penderleath Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Ives      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5821 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements