Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Margrove Park Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Saltburn By The Sea > Margrove Park Holidays > Reviews

Margrove Park Holidays
Boosbeck
Saltburn By The Sea
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
TS12 3BZ
Tel: 01287 653616
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews

Photos (8)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Millie123 1 review from this member

 We were visiting family so it was a base to sleep

Friendly staff, bar travellers rest was nice and prices were very good

Showers and toilets clean and heating, which was a bonus.

This is really for seasonal pitches 110, for tourers/motorhomes there is only 10.

It's a secure site so no-one can get in without a card.

Electricity is included in the daily rate

Always took the dog Bella for a walk round the site. Some caravan were set out lovely. Other should be ashamed, it brings the tone down

All in all if I was looking for a seasonal pitch it would have a great atmosphere as everyone is friendly, polite and helpful 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Y Geegee 1 review from this member

 Friendly reception and introduction to this site.

The facilities were clean but not up to the modern standards of some sites.

This was reflected in the price, which included £5 worth of electricity (ample for our stay).

There is a bar which we did not visit, so cannot comment. Happy to stay there when visiting friends who live nearby.

Short drive to the coast / moors and various pubs and restaurants.

The site was quiet but we were not there in school holidays! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: BettietheBurstner 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, the staff are down to earth and work hard, facilities were spotless.

Pitch was big enough for an awning and we were right across from the office and the on site bar Travellers Rest, we didn't manage to go in this time but will definitely go in on our next stay.

The site is definitely family oriented and very dog friendly, plenty of outdoor seating for those wishing to sit outside the bar.

Only grumble really was lack of wifi but hey we weren't there to look at our phones and it just seems to be a signal dead zone. Which is nothing to do with the site.

Ideal location to visit Redcar and Saltburn on sea, We really enjoyed our stay and many thanks again for your hospitality. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Moira7 1 review from this member

 Friendly, helpful welcome from the owners.

Very clean facilities. Electricity included.

Check out simple and straightforward.

No problems at all. Thank you 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Littlespike 1 review from this member

 Awesome family run site, nothing too much trouble at this site warm welcoming, & pleasure to return too,

Second visit & not our last,

Security barrier access,

Owners live on site,

Showers always spotlessly clean,

Bar added bonus, everyone so friendly,

Ourself & dogs had lovely stay,

Thanks to Keith sue Adam & Simon we hopefully see you soon. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: HighSlayer 15 reviews from this member

 My first visit to Margrove Park and I was surprised at how big the site is. Generally I don't like big sites but Margrove is very different.

Almost all of the pitches are seasonal and there is only a handful of touring pitches. This means there is a great community spirit and the site is actually very quiet, at least when we were there.

The toilets block seems mostly used by the touring pitches. It is extremely clean and well appointed. The shower cubicles themselves are a little small and low but there is both a wet and dry area in each. They are clean, free and plenty of hot water. No fiddly buttons to keep pressing either.

My only gripe is that the lighting is on a timer - you press the button when you go in and the lights stay on for a set period and then turn off. That period wasn't long enough for me to use the loo, have a shave, shower and dry - they went off as I was drying. Fortunately it was daytime so there was enough light to see by, but at night could be dangerous.

My suggestion would be to press the button again before getting in the shower, then all should be good! That's really the only thing I could complain about.

The site staff could not be friendlier. Great sense of humour, helpful and really made our visit fun! There is a bar on site which is clean and friendly, again with great staff.

Whilst we were there a chap turned up each day with a food trailer, serving burgers, teas, coffees etc and on the Sunday a full Sunday lunch for £5!

The location is handy for travelling around the North Yorkshire moors and is close to the seaside towns of Saltburn, Runswick Bay as well as not being far from Whitby.

It's only a few minutes to Guisborough where there is a good selection of shops and is also a pleasant town to visit. Plenty of country pubs in the area

Prices when we visited were great value at £20 per night of which £5 is for electricity. If you go over the £5 then you need to purchase more at the office but it is unlikely you'd go over that.

There is also a £10 refundable deposit for the gate, with sensor pads either side. This gives a decent level of security

All in all this is a great site, with great staff, excellent facilities and in a great location.

We'll definitely be coming back! 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carry on Behind 3 reviews from this member

 Recently visited Margrove caravan site after reading good reviews on here about it and had high expectations! Oh how I was in for a shock!

Now I'm not a snob let me just make that clear but this site was like a council estate on wheels!

What with screaming kids at all hours and drunks next door to us arguing, music blaring and dogs barking in to the early hours it was definitely an eye opener!

The reviews I had read on here said that the toilets/ shower facilities were" immaculate" yet when I used them on the morning there was tissue all over the floor, the sinks looked like they hadn't been cleaned in days and a lump of faeces in the shower cubicle!

Well I'm sorry if that's they're idea of immaculate I'd hate to see dirty!

The butty van selling food and Parmos were absolutely rotten the worst £6. 50 I've ever spent!

The only good thing about the site was the pub as it was a lovely pint and reasonably priced!

All in all I would give it a 4/10 and that's been kind but for £20 a night you get what you pay for I guess 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: HBittlestone 1 review from this member

 Stayed at Margrove Holiday park as an overnight stay when walking the Cleveland Way.

Simon the site manager was very helpful. I lost my mobile phone on the days walk!

Felt welcome and safe (lone female).

Facilities clean, nice hot showers and price very reasonable. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JZHarrison 1 review from this member

 This was a very pleasant 2 night stay. Right from the friendly welcome and the help to leave early on our departure date (they came in early to open the gate for us) it was very good stay and good value for money.

The shower/toilet block was good and clean, the pitch we had was hardstanding and level and the site itself well maintained. There were limited touring pitches as there are a lot of seasonal, permanent and stored caravans so that is probably a good recommendation. The site felt very secure.

A bonus is the friendly bar on site but if you want to go further afield then there is a welcoming pub about three quarters of a mile away that serves some good beer and food. There is also a regular bus service(s) from the road outside.

Overall a good stay and value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gilltony 2 reviews from this member

 A friendly and secure site. Warden controls the barrier and can see all visitors to the site which is comforting.

The toilet/shower block is clean and showers are free to use I read an earlier review about toilet roll but the toilet roll was provided when we were there.

There is a small bar on site although we did not use as it is not dog friendly although there are seats outside we could have sat at with the dogs had the weather been better. Lots of seasonal pitches and storage on site.

There is no shop nearby but if you are willing to travel a few miles into Guisborough there is everything like Morrisonís, Cafe Nero, Costa, and lots of independents to name a few. It is a lovely market town.

There are a few beaches within reach Redcar, Saltburn, Whitby, Scarborough.

If you like walking you can also find some great places to hike.

Flamingoland Theme Park & Zoo is approx 30 miles away if you have children.

There is no WiFi fir the older children and as the site is based just under Birkbrow the signal isnít great our phones were only working on 3G.

Itís a site to relax on.

I havenít rated the site on child friendly as we had no children and I didnít see a play area but there were children on bikes playing on site. There is a playground in the village if you want a little walk. 
via mobile


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Margrove Park Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Margrove Park Holidays?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Margrove Park Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saltburn By The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4168 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement