Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Washingpool Farm Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Bridport > Washingpool Farm Caravan Site Reviews

Washingpool Farm Caravan Site
North Allington
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 5HP
Tel: 01308 459549
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marily 1 review from this member

 A very enjoyable stay at Washing Pool Farm.

A most peaceful camp site.

Facilities good and clean.

With the benefit of a Farm Shop serving excellent breakfast.

Recommend a stay here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Derek3454 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site well situated for visiting the surrounding area

Showers and toilets spotless, grass cut nice and short,

Very good farm shop on site stocked with all your needs.

Bridport itself is a very busy town with loads of shops to browse around, and plenty of pubs to visit.

Would certainly recommend a visit to this site, we will be back without doubt. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franny68 1 review from this member

 Liked, shop and cafe, both great. Caravan site well laid out.

Only 2 complaints were very noisy, constant traffic, cars, lorries tractors etc. From very early until late at night. Also there was some kind of generator or something, which ran all night.

In addition, lovely clean toilet block, very nice except the toilets are for 5yr old. My tall wife struggled to stand up. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Apull2 1 review from this member

 Have visited many times but first since re-vamping. Very nicely upgraded with spacious pitches.

On pitch water supply including tap additions, grass and hardstanding to each pitch.

2 showers and 2 toilets both immaculately clean especially important as Covid is still rife.

Farm shop and cafe excellent and covid secure.

One request. Easier access to the recycling bins and waste please.

Great stay, thank you 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barsar 48 reviews from this member

 Washingpool Farm

Easy booking via the website. Lots of information was e mailed to me prior to arrival re check in process and local information.

The road from Bridport is very narrow in parts so care is required. All pitches are hard standing with enough space for awning and car. All have power, fresh water and drainage inc in the price. There's also free wifi. Try to avoid pitches 1, 2 and 3 which are closest to the shop and storage area. This is due to noise from cooling plant and early morning deliveries.

Many of the pitches have sea views.

If you are putting up an awning be sure to take very heavy duty steel pegs and a lump hammer. Surface is very hard.

The site is like a big CL but with 2 basic clean toilets and 2 showers. No bells and whistles but perfectly acceptable.

In Sept 2020 I thought the Covid preventative measures were acceptable and taken seriously.

The farm shop is worth a visit. High quality local produce with many vegetables grown on site. There is also a cafe serving drinks cakes and snacks.

It's a 30 minute walk into Bridport where there is a good range of shops and eateries. Lots of walks and small resorts nearby inc West Bay, Lyme Regis, Abbotsbury and Weymouth. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynnie11 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, fully serviced, toilets/showers were open which was great! Farm shop amazing.

Easy walk to bridport across the fields. Only minor negative was that the pitch was a little overgrown (my hubbie weeded ) shame the owners haven't kept this tidy.

First impressions count! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 28 reviews from this member

 We booked here because the farm shop was used in Broadchurch as owned by Lenny Henry. We were not disappointed. The CL site has just 5 generous sized pitches with water and drainage to each pitch. Fabulous view across the working farm fields to Bridport and the sea. Just one toilet and a chemical emptying point.

The shop is fabulous with lots of items to tempt you. We bought vegetables and some packet items before we left. The potaoes. Labelled as 'freshly dug' reminded me of how potatoes used to smell when I was growing up - Fresh! Carrots lasted longer than supermarket ones too.

Friendly staff in the shop and the breakfast we had on our last day included lovely thick toast! Before leaving we made a donation to the local Air Ambulance and took photos of ourselves with a life size cardboard cut out of Lenny Henry. Our only gripe was that the advertised free Wifi on site was not working on any of the 3 days we were there. We mentioned it twice but nothing was done.

Despite that at 17 per night for a fully serviced pitch it was terrific value! 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gerryrys 14 reviews from this member

 We had a great 4 days at this campsite with our dog. The site itself has a great outlook - some road noise but nothing that kept us awake! And of course the farm shop is amazing. It must be remembered that this is a WORKING FARM and quite understandably they request that dogs be walked on a lead.

We were told we could walk the dog anywhere except the walk around the fishing lake which was fine. There is a 'permissive path' which is signposted to the main footpath. There are plenty of other places nearby that you can drive or walk to and let the dog run around. We had some great walks - despite the mixed weather.

West Bay is a must for your fresh fish and a little drive out on the road to Abbotsbury there are plenty of places to stop and walk some of the coastal path and admire the view of Chesil Beach.

Would thoroughly recommend a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: R-j.smith 1 review from this member

 Nice pitches, clean toilet. Fab farm shop and restaurant. BUT, although welcoming dogs there is nowhere within reasonable walking distance to let dogs off lead and they won't allow them walked round the lake even on lead.

The 20 min walk to Bridport involves crossing at least 2 fields and one stile, although we still couldn't' find the footpath.

The free wifi is only available at the restaurant and only free if you are a BT customer. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maysie 6 reviews from this member

 A little gem of a CL. Extremely friendly and helpful staff in shop upon arrival. Pitches well cared for and spacious with water to each pitch enabling us to hook up our mains adapter and not bother about refilling the aquaroll.

All pitches are hard standing with electric and there is an immaculately kept toilet next to a a covered chemical waste disposal point.

Lovely views down the valley and very pretty fishing lakes with reasonably priced coarse fishing at 5 pr day or 3 pr half day. The site is well-situated for many National Trust car parks and properties. We particularly recommend Barrington Court and Montecute House. We managed to visit both along with Tintinhull gardens all in one day as they were close together. Also well situated for many coastal path walks and we visited Lyme Regis, Abbotsbury and West Bay. If you go to Abbotsbury you must eat in the Abbotsbury Tea Rooms as it is gorgeous and the food is excellent. If visiting West Bay eat at the George Hotel - what a find. Awesome food and beautiful surroundings.

All in all we loved this site. Good access from road. Dogs are welcome and you can walk them right from the site as there is a footpath leading from your doorstep. Very handy having the farm shop right there too although it is pricey they stock everything you might need. We didn't try the cafe but other visitors assured us it was lovely and the breakfast they had was excellent. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Washingpool Farm Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Washingpool Farm Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Washingpool Farm Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2122 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement