Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Washingpool Farm Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Bridport > Washingpool Farm Caravan Site Reviews

Washingpool Farm Caravan Site
North Allington
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 5HP
Tel: 01308 459549
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynnie11 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, fully serviced, toilets/showers were open which was great! Farm shop amazing.

Easy walk to bridport across the fields. Only minor negative was that the pitch was a little overgrown (my hubbie weeded ) shame the owners haven't kept this tidy.

First impressions count! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 28 reviews from this member

 We booked here because the farm shop was used in Broadchurch as owned by Lenny Henry. We were not disappointed. The CL site has just 5 generous sized pitches with water and drainage to each pitch. Fabulous view across the working farm fields to Bridport and the sea. Just one toilet and a chemical emptying point.

The shop is fabulous with lots of items to tempt you. We bought vegetables and some packet items before we left. The potaoes. Labelled as 'freshly dug' reminded me of how potatoes used to smell when I was growing up - Fresh! Carrots lasted longer than supermarket ones too.

Friendly staff in the shop and the breakfast we had on our last day included lovely thick toast! Before leaving we made a donation to the local Air Ambulance and took photos of ourselves with a life size cardboard cut out of Lenny Henry. Our only gripe was that the advertised free Wifi on site was not working on any of the 3 days we were there. We mentioned it twice but nothing was done.

Despite that at 17 per night for a fully serviced pitch it was terrific value! 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gerryrys 14 reviews from this member

 We had a great 4 days at this campsite with our dog. The site itself has a great outlook - some road noise but nothing that kept us awake! And of course the farm shop is amazing. It must be remembered that this is a WORKING FARM and quite understandably they request that dogs be walked on a lead.

We were told we could walk the dog anywhere except the walk around the fishing lake which was fine. There is a 'permissive path' which is signposted to the main footpath. There are plenty of other places nearby that you can drive or walk to and let the dog run around. We had some great walks - despite the mixed weather.

West Bay is a must for your fresh fish and a little drive out on the road to Abbotsbury there are plenty of places to stop and walk some of the coastal path and admire the view of Chesil Beach.

Would thoroughly recommend a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: R-j.smith 1 review from this member

 Nice pitches, clean toilet. Fab farm shop and restaurant. BUT, although welcoming dogs there is nowhere within reasonable walking distance to let dogs off lead and they won't allow them walked round the lake even on lead.

The 20 min walk to Bridport involves crossing at least 2 fields and one stile, although we still couldn't' find the footpath.

The free wifi is only available at the restaurant and only free if you are a BT customer. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maysie 6 reviews from this member

 A little gem of a CL. Extremely friendly and helpful staff in shop upon arrival. Pitches well cared for and spacious with water to each pitch enabling us to hook up our mains adapter and not bother about refilling the aquaroll.

All pitches are hard standing with electric and there is an immaculately kept toilet next to a a covered chemical waste disposal point.

Lovely views down the valley and very pretty fishing lakes with reasonably priced coarse fishing at 5 pr day or 3 pr half day. The site is well-situated for many National Trust car parks and properties. We particularly recommend Barrington Court and Montecute House. We managed to visit both along with Tintinhull gardens all in one day as they were close together. Also well situated for many coastal path walks and we visited Lyme Regis, Abbotsbury and West Bay. If you go to Abbotsbury you must eat in the Abbotsbury Tea Rooms as it is gorgeous and the food is excellent. If visiting West Bay eat at the George Hotel - what a find. Awesome food and beautiful surroundings.

All in all we loved this site. Good access from road. Dogs are welcome and you can walk them right from the site as there is a footpath leading from your doorstep. Very handy having the farm shop right there too although it is pricey they stock everything you might need. We didn't try the cafe but other visitors assured us it was lovely and the breakfast they had was excellent. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Misterg 2 reviews from this member

 Nice site in a pleasant location as part of a working farm. Easy access to town. Has water to each pitch. The adjoining farm shop has a good range of fresh food and some frozen. The cafe food is good. Although adults only there were children on site in a huge RV. Not a problem as they were very well behaved and polite. It is a busy farm / shop / cafe but no excessive noise. A small clean toilet and chemical emptying block under cover. Overall I would say it is a good site although a bit expensive in respect of site fee, cafe food and shop. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GregnDee 1 review from this member

 This site is just about perfect. We arrived to a warm and friendly welcome, we picked our pitch and were delighted to find that each pitch had its own water and power. Pitches are hardstanding and with terrific views. Lovely people. The site is peaceful and very little road noise. The farm shop is 'to die for'. Very central for a great number of interesting places - depends what you are looking for but we checked out the Swannery, Hardy's Monument, and a nearby stone circle. We had a lovely morning in Bridport - would recommend the museum there - and spent the afternoon in Lyme Regis - even though it was cold the beach was full of families - children playing in the sand and even in the water!

Highly recommend! 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vasco 12 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have visited this great CL site perched at the top of a south facing valley looking over Bridport towards the sea. We were a bit apprehensive taking the van out at this time of the year with snow and the coldest night of the year forecast. It did fall to -8c on the first night but it was sunny most days. It is a working farm with an excellent farmers shop. If you are foodies, you will love it. Each of the pitches has its own water supply and are spacious. There is a footpath down the valley into the town and you can visit The Good Fellows Arms, which is virtually a front room selling great beer!. It is only about 30 mins to walk into the centre of Bridport which has a good market. West Bay, and Seatown are only short drives away with access to the Coastal Path.

I am sure we will visit again for the good walks and peace and quiet in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cazandsteve 3 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 4 nights at this superb CL. The pitches are well spaced with great views down the valley to Bridport. There is a toilet with a chemical emptying pit next door. The toilet is well lit and clean with everything provided, the only problem was a camper who insisted on smoking in the toilet despite clear signs not to!

The farmshop is an absolute joy, such fantastic choice and quality and the staff in both the shop and the cafe were really friendly and helpful. We had some lovely meals in our motorhome with all ingredients fresh and local. We also had a 'full english' one morning in the cafe which was a lovely treat.

The area has some lovely walks/beaches, our favourite was Lyme Regis which is a lovely old fashioned family seaside town, Cogden beach where dogs are allowed all year and West Bay for ice creams and fish and chips!

The site is run by a family who have lived there for generations and this is shown by the care given to the site and surrounding area.

We are really looking forward to returning very soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rosie3 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a week in August. The pitches are large and the two nearest the security gate have views over Bridport.

The owner was very friendly and helpful, especially when our motor mover became stuck on the caravan wheel. He loaned us tools to release it.

The facilities were clean. There is a brilliant farm shop on site. The site is quiet except for the fridges from the farm shop which could be heard at the dead of night. However this should not deter you.

We would definitely stay there again. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Washingpool Farm Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Washingpool Farm Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Washingpool Farm Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


506 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement