Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dog Lane Fishery

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Site Reviews

Dog Lane Fishery
Lake View
Priors Marston Road
Napton On The Hill
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV47 8LT
Tel: 07957 861733
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Samjas 2 reviews from this member

Have been going to dog lane for years now to fish but have in the last few years been taking our caravan and have to say absolutely love this place. We always like to stay on the camping field and not the rally field as the few over the lake is beautiful. ( word of warning depending on the pitch your allocated you may need a few blocks for the caravan steadies as the field slopes towards the lake )

The toilet and washing facilities are on the small side but are more than adequate and the on site cafe is great too you can sit in for breakfast lunch and fish and chips on a Friday. They will also deliver your sandwiches to your fishing peg should you wish.

There are three lakes here and I prefer to fish the willow lake with us pleasure angling as the other to are for the serious specimen anglers. I always catch here which is good for older kids as they donít get bored.

Josh the owner has grown into a fine young man and owner as I can remember him following his grandad around the fishery learning the tricks of the trade. He is always investing into this place and it will I m sure just get better and better.

Keep up the good work josh and see you soon.

The Barkerís.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul hesford 5 reviews from this member

Stayed just one night, very welcoming, plenty of pitches to choose from, facilities block was good and clean however the hot water started to run out, this turned out to be due to the thermostat and the hot weather The site was well kept and was very peaceful. We ate at the The Folley, food was first class and just a short walk away, definitely would go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AUSTINS 9 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site 3 times. I left a review previously and feel now that an update to that is required.

The central location is very convenient to many historical towns and villages.

Have to say the reason we return to this site is it has such a friendly atmosphere. The pitches are larger than a lot of sites, and rules are few. Dogs are allowed (lead at all times), and must be cleaned up after. The enticements that keep us going back are the wonderful fishing lakes, pitch sizes, open views, and facilities block. Napton On The Hill is a large village within easy walking distance down a country road. The village has a fantastic shop/post office. With local pubs etc it really is an ideal place. Transport is not essential to get to the shop, pub, or indeed the skate, swing and small Zipwire park that are quite literally across the road.

Each time we have telephoned to book a pitch, we were impressed with the efficiency and friendly manner. There are two fields within the site, the one for adults only is called Lake Veiw. The other 'Meadow' is for families. Meadow is not any further away from a lake and has a central area of the field available for children to play in. It is closer to the village provided Skate/swing park.

We like this place a lot and we shall return again quite soon.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trez321 4 reviews from this member

Just spent a very enjoyable 2 weeks at dog lane fishery and campsite 2 areas for caravans one with a mix of tents and vans, the gents amenity block having recently been refurbished is superb. On site cafe for a cooked breakfast etc 16 amp hook up we pitched on. The lakeside with views of one of the 3 lakes one being specimen lake with carp to over 30lb plus cat fish n sturgeon I managed a 29lb 3oz common plus a few more and one cat, the lake in front of the vans fished great to normal methods carp bream tench crucians roach. The surrounding area is great to explore a short walk into the village and a little further to places like Warwick, Stratford on Avon a site which is on our return list

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Katwel 4 reviews from this member

Super touring site with a clean, modern shower/toilet block that also has a washing/laundry room and continuous hot water. It also boasts a cafe that serves breakfasts, burgers etc and a fantastic authentic Thai curry on a Saturday night. Fresh free range eggs are also available. A short walk and there is a postoffice and general store.

The site has 3 well maintained fishing lakes, one of them being specimen with carp to 30lb and cats to 45lb plus. The site has 2 areas to choose from-lakeside and Meadow, the latter being used more by families as it is larger and farthest from the lakes. All the pitches are grass and well maintained.

The owner and his grandson are very welcoming and are always on hand to deal with any problems.

All in all a great site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davedaveydave 6 reviews from this member

Booking the site was simple, one phone call, and requested to pay cash on arrival.

On arrival, shown to pitch which was in a large field with a central 'wild' area. Pitches were around the perimeter with one side for caravans the other for tents. However we had a mix of the two and were allowed to pitch together.

Initially the pitch we were allocated, the EHU was out of action, but we were quickly re-sited.

We arrived at the tail end of a Public Holiday weekend and the site was, understandably, quite busy. The toilet/shower facilities were, therefore, busy.

There is a cafť on site, which we didn't use - only because we had taken everything we required. There isn't a playground on site, though a 10 minute walk into the village, one can be found. Next door is a skate park, which although in use didn't create too much noise.

The site appeared to be well drained and the grass kept short - no hard standing available.

Water, waste and Elsan points were all by the amenity block which is at the entrance to the site.

As the name suggests, the site is based around the fishing lake which was in the adjacent field.

A good value for money site, especially away from busier periods.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Marshman111 3 reviews from this member

Having been to Lakeview campsite in Napton many times I thought it was about time I left a review. Firstly the owner Eddie and his Grandson Josh make you very welcome and will help you pitch up. The lake view is beautiful and very relaxing. There's a choice of 3 fishing lakes all well stocked and well kept. There's a great little cafe on site open every day. They serve a nice range of breakfasts, cobs, snacks and drinks and run by Eddie's lovely wife. The shower blocks are great - the mens have just had a refurb and are ultra clean and modern. There's a washing-up room with plenty of hot water. The village has plenty to offer and all a very short walk away - shop/post office, 2 pubs serving great food and a club which has one half done up as a cosy pub room and the other half a traditional room for bingo and bands (there's one on nearly every Saturday night). Some lovely walks around the village and to the many surrounding villages. A gem of a site.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nosha 34 reviews from this member

Short grass, clean quite new toilets & showers, lovely location and 16a hook-up. Whate more could you want? We are not fishermen, we just wanted to see a new area of Warwickshire; but it was a nice walk round the 3 lakes. Met some drunk and roudy fishermen (who were removed the next day) but you couldn't hear them from the camping areas. 10 min walk into the village with a well stocked post office which is also a tea room! Called in the village hall to see a WW1 display and had tea and a cake for £1. 50. Steep walk with great views of the countryside from the folly/windmill. Well priced - We'll be back!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mellee 1 review from this member

We stayed 5 nights at this lovely quiet well kept site. We booked 3 pitches together as we met family there and all of us from children upwards enjoyed it. Even at the weekend when it was busy there was plenty of space between pitches and for the children and dog to play.

My partner who was the only one of our group to fish, hadn't done so for many years, found everyone very helpful and friendly. There are 3 fishing lakes, all beautifully situated and landscaped so that even if you are not into fishing are lovely to walk around.

We had 2 meals out at The Folly and The Kings Head, both within walking distance and food was excellent. Napton has a great post office/General store with daily bread baked fresh on site.

All in all a lovely quiet site that isn't bogged down with a long list of rules and has a laid back relaxed quality to which we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nev75 15 reviews from this member

A really great site if you like fishing. Three lakes - Specimen (carp, catfish), pleasure and match/silverfish. I had over 20 carp and other fish (4-10lbs) on the pleasure lake each session.

This is though not just for fishermen. The toilets are superb. 2 showers in each and very modern and clean. The water and bins are closeby. There are two fields. The one we used was overlooking the first lake and was mainly for caravans and motorhomes. The other at the end of the first lake was large with electric hookups all round and used by tents and families. There was a short path to the fishing lake but surrounded by trees so should be OK for children. In fact the other side from the lake we saw a children's play area.

The owner and his grandson look after you and the site.

Also for the fishermen there is a snack stall and you can park your car close to the lake of your choice. The local pub is within walking distance.

The site is good for touring Stratford and Warwick. To top it the cost was only £13 for weekdays and £15 for Friday and weekends (all inclusive). Fishing extra at £5. What more could you want.

Anything negative - as a motorhome user I would like a waste water disposal point and I would like to see more water points. A small shop would also be useful.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


100 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019