Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Middlehills Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > Middlehills Farm Campsite Reviews

Middlehills Farm Campsite
Grangemill
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 4HY
Tel: 01629 650368
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 29/04/2022 to 25/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 152 Reviews
                8/10 from 152 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Steves 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location, clean, well-kept site to high standard.

Nearby quarry is not an issue, just faint sound of a generator or something similar.

There is a rustic children's play area which is well constructed but little ones need to be closely supervised if you want to avoid a visit to A and E. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Chega4 1 review from this member

 Beautiful campsite with wonderful play area for kids.

Amenities good, clean, but not luxurious.

Only issues: proximity of quarry (loud up till 11 some days, problem for little ones); charging for showers (seems a little cheap at this end of the market.

Overall, though, very happy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Sjhhil 1 review from this member

 Fantastic campsite. Very family friendly. Clean facilities. Great stay.

Great to stay at a campsite that have noise level rules at night. Thank you 🙏 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Claire 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Not overcrowded. Great location. Plenty of facilities. Convenient little shop on site.

Our daughter loved playing on the playground and Seeing the animals.

We will definitely be going back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: The Mighty Whites 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely well run site.

Good facilities and my children loved the animals.

Owners were really helpful and friendly. A bit inconvenient having to pay for the showers but this is the only criticism.

Would definitely visit the site again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Taafe75 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the late May Bank Holiday 2019 in a small group of, with two tents and a camper van.

The staff were excellent even finding me to return the chopping board I had managed to leave near the shop.

The was a bacon butty van on the morning of the weekends if you didn't fancy making something yourself.

The toilets and showers were very clean but my only negative would be that you had to pay for a shower that lasted 5 minutes but I rushed and came out and had half my time left (take a watch in with you)

All in all this is a lovely little camp site with friendly, helpful staff. I will certainly be returning here again soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SmittenMummy 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Middlehills Farm Campsite on the last weekend of the May half-term holiday. If you like busy campsites then this is absolutely the place for you! We are used to more tranquil and relaxed places however, so even though it is a lovely site with amazing views, we wonít be returning.

I made our reservation a couple of weeks before we stayed, and the booking process was very easy. When we arrived at the site, I went to the reception and was greeted by someone very friendly, but not overly helpful. I was simply told to pitch up anywhere I liked on either field Ė I got the impression he was in a hurry to be somewhere else. I wasnít told about any of the facilities available, which irked me slightly as at all the other campsites weíve stayed at, the owners have gone out of their way to be welcoming and show us around.

Both fields for campers who donít want a hook-up were very busy, but we found a spot that didnít have too much of a gradient. The ground was in good condition and it was easy to pitch up. There was a lovely atmosphere as there were so many families staying, and the playground on site was a huge plus for us as it meant we could put the tent up while the kids entertained themselves quite happily.

I had mixed feelings about the facilities. When I eventually worked out where everything was, I was surprised to find there was only one drinking water tap serving the whole site (according to other campers). Considering there must have been 100+ tents/motorhomes there that weekend, Iíd expected some other taps to be available so people didnít have to lug water containers around so far. Having said that, there was rarely a long queue for water, which was good.

Pot washing facilities for the back field were pretty bad! The water was scalding hot and the sinks not a great design for when it got busy. The showers, too, were a disappointment. You have to pay to use them (20p a minute or £1 for five mins) but the coin machine is outside the cubicle, so you have no idea how long youíve got left until the water suddenly stops! Also, the shower I had on my second morning was actually salt water, which was a horrible experience as I wasnít expecting it. I was very glad my young daughter hadnít had one with me as sheíd have been screaming from the salt stinging her eyes etc! After about three minutes it ran clear with fresh water, so I have no idea what was going on there.

Having said the above, the showers/toilets were clean and there were plenty of hooks to hang your stuff on to keep it off the floor.

There is a shop on site, which has limited opening hours. We chose to drive off-site for supplies instead, but it was good to know there was a back-up if needed. Also, there are fridge and freezer facilities at Middlehills, which were very useful.

The site operates a minimum noise policy after 10. 30pm, which everyone seemed to stick to. It was very peaceful and quiet, with the only noise at night coming from the nearby quarry Ė this was more like a constant hum though than anything too intrusive.

Overall, this is a truly lovely site. Itís well-kept, has a lovely atmosphere, and its facilities are clean. Personally, itís not for us, and I was very conscious that it was a business above everything else. Thereís nothing wrong with that of course, but it doesnít gel well with the easy-going, stress-free vibe that I associate with camping. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Christine2901 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, amazing scenery and a magical night sky!

We stayed for two nights in our tent with our grandson age 5

The site is lovely and clean, grass cut nice and short, bins empty and clean.

There is a local Indian take away which will deliver free or collect you and return you to the restaurant free amazingly good food.

The wardens couldn't do enough to help and were lovely and friendly. Even started our car as we drained the battery with the radio on night before quiet from 10ish and we were neer the kids park

The shop was well priced and had all the usual things you'd expect opens 3 times a day fire pits for rental. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GemDeanBill 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, good facilities, pleasant owners/staff, picturesque location (the noise from the nearby quarry is noticeable but not too imposing for us. ) Having the pigs is a nice addition and the playground for the kids was great. We will most definitely be returning for short breaks here. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CERichardson 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site at the weekend with family. Two tents and a campervan with awning - 6 adults, 2 young children and 6 dogs! First impressions of the site were great - friendly staff and flexible pitching. Impressive 360 views from site was lovely. Kids play area was great for the little ones and pigs were a nice addition. Facilities could have been slightly better. Showers were 'interesting' with a payment machine on the outside (20p for 1 minute, £1 for 5 minutes). You had 40 seconds to get undressed before the water started and the machine had a timer on so you knew how long you had left. The only problem was it was on the wall outside so you didn't know until the water switched off! Site was in a good location in the heart of the peak district. Only 20 mins from Dovedale which we visited. Take away drivers came round giving out menus for local indian and pizza takeaway which we used on our second night when our bbq got rained off. Ice cream van came round too in the afternoon. Overall would visit again, but for 2 days max. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Middlehills Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Middlehills Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Middlehills Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2456 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement