Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dadford Road Campsite Silverstone

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Buckinghamshire > Silverstone > Dadford Road Campsite Silverstone Reviews

Dadford Road Campsite Silverstone
Silverstone Road
Dadford
Stowe
Silverstone
Buckinghamshire   (Browse area)
MK18 5LH
Tel: 07710 629495  or  07802 831777
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: unlimited
Open: Events At Silverstone & On Request

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Kilerkg 1 review from this member

 Very cheap campsite for the local area (Silverstone race track) the ground isn't the best (Not cut down as low as some of the others) but really can't complain for the price. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MillaHills 2 reviews from this member

 We go to this site regularly, but I just noticed there are no recent reviews.

As stated below it is basic, but the old toilet/shower block has been replaced. It is now a solid structure with everything you need, but a bit draughty, especially as the walls of the toilet cubicles stop at about knee level.

Also it can get very muddy, I've been stuck a few times.

Otherwise it is great and the owner very helpful. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PW555 19 reviews from this member

 The Good the Bad and the Ugly

The Good:

We chose this site as we were attending the World Endurance Championship at Silverstone, we booked on line easily and were advised to pay when we arrived but also told if nobody on the gate just to pitch up and someone will be around to collect fee’s, the latter applied, we found the most solid ground near the top of the site and pitched our caravan, the owner appeared after a little while to collect fees and even knocked us £10. 00 off the agreed £60. 00 charge for the week-end as the weather was due to be rubbish… Never had that before but very nice touch. In regards to the poor weather, due to rain even the area we pitched in was a bit soggy, we noticed a few others getting bogged down in the mud and helped who we could but the owner was only a phone call away and popped up in his 4x4 to pull peoples units/cars out, he even brought his tractor up on one occasion when someone got really stuck. The owner was most certainly very helpful and a good guy to deal with.

The location is superb for all Silverstone events being only a 15 minute walk down the lane to the nearest track entrance, however, as WEC is not the biggest event the lane is still quite busy with day to day traffic which runs quite quickly, as we had a four year old with us we decided to take advantage of the Free Parking at the track and used our car to save any potential accidents.

The Bad:

Although I have stated “Bad” I am not going to run the site down as I got exactly what I paid for and went there with “Eyes Open” however I still feel people should be aware of what’s on offer so you make an informed decision before you arrive, Dadford is basically a working farm that does a bit of camping, If you are a regular Caravanner/Camper you are going to find this site basic to say the least, there are no electric hook-ups, the main toilet/shower block is more than adequate but as before, very basic, if you are expecting all the frills of a heated toilet block, hair dryers, power points or wi-fi etc. Then this is certainly not the site for you. The field used for camping is clean and tidy, however, as this is a working farm you are going to find sheep droppings, we had some on our pitch which we simply kicked out the way, it’s no big deal but some people may turn their noses up at this.

The Ugly:

The only real criticism I have about Dadford is about the old blue toilet block, this thing is still being used and honestly the only thing that needs doing to this is demolition, a great big portion of the roof has caved in due to water ingress and you literally got drenched (When raining) if you tried to use the urinal’s, I would suggest the owner takes care of this ASAP as it is really an Accident waiting to happen.

In summary, a fantastic site for all Silverstone events, a really friendly and helpful owner, less than half the price of Woodlands etc. I would certainly use again without a problem, if the site had electric hook-ups then it would be even better. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Blongs 49 reviews from this member

 Stayed here again for the F1 in 2015.

Site was excellent, no problems at all. Paid on the way in on Friday morning for 2 nights motorhome - £60.

Short walk to Club corner for track access.

Each night there was a different food vendor available on the site.

There are showers and toilets now built at the site, I didn't used them myself but lots of people were using them with no problems.

I would stay here everytime I go to Silverstone. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nouser 1 review from this member

 A friendly bunch who run this place and do what they can to help.

The pitches are good - I stayed for British GP 2012 and it rained all weekend, but the pitch we found never got squelchy under foot (other bits did). I didn't even need wellies despite the horrendous weather and having a pitch at the very bottom end of the site!

The toilets are good considering - kept unblocked, kept stocked, fully flushing too. There definitely need to be more of them though. And there were very few showers.

To be honest, I never found any facilities (like shop, food place, any mobile charging place etc). I have no idea if they exist or not, but there was a 'hog roast' advertised that I never saw.

Some people partied late into the night, but it was a generally respectful bunch. You never know who's gonna show up though.

A huge benefit is that it is very close (10 mins walk) to the main Silverstone entrance at the International Pit Straight. It is also far cheaper than many of the other places around and they are more welcoming. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: The Law 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this 'campsite' for 3 nights whilst attending the Blancpain Endurance race weekend at Silverstone Race Circuit in June.

Very easy online booking system and very easy to find campsite.

On arrival we were not sure we were actually in the right place though as the field was occupied by over 500 sheep (one of party estimated around 1000 sheep!). The website does say:

'Please be aware this is a Temporary Campsite and is normally a field'.

The farmer came round not long after we arrived and rounded the sheep out of the field, took our money and asked if we had a torch as the lights are not working in the toilets. Once we had paid we did not see her again in the four days we were there.

The result of the sheep in the field? Not difficult to guess - yes sheep poo! It was everywhere. We kicked the more solid bits out of the way, but had to cover the less solid bits with mown grass. It caked our groundsheets, our tyres, stuck in our boots etc. There was a young family next to us who couldn't let the children play on the field due to amount of poo.

Over the 3 nights we were camped, there were 4 units for 2 nights and only 2 units for the last night. This meant the site was lovely and quiet with lovely views over the fields.

The toilets were dusty and dirty and the elsan disposal point was a broken toilet pan with a bit of hosepipe. Luckily we had onboard facilities.

Be aware - this temporary campsite is, as advertised, normally a field.

We have rated this campsite on our experience. You may fare better when the campsite is used for busier events such as the Moto GP or the F1 Grand Prix. However, we will be staying at Woodlands! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Blongs 49 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the British F1 Grand Prix 2011.

The site was by far the best value site I found when searching and it all worked out really well.

I e-mailed from their website and pretty quickly got a reservation e-mail and reference number. I don't know if this was strictly needed but it was good to have.

We found the site from the directions without a problem, it is 5 mins walk along the road to the circuit gate and this site is across the road from the official camping.

We paid £60 and arrived Friday morning until Sunday evening. I think we could have stayed until Monday for this price. We had 3 adults in the motorhome.

The staff were welcoming and gave us some info sheets and security wristbands.

The toilets and showers were fine, we used the toilets a few times but generally used the facilities on board.

I could see water taps within easy reach as well.

The access road was good and no one had any problems. The site is very big and didn't feel crowded to us.

It was quiet overnight and no silliness to be seen or heard. No security issues for us either.

Bin bags were provided on the way in and a truck came around on Sunday morning collecting the rubbish.

I would stay here again for the F1 or any other events at Silverstone.

The nearest gate for Silverstone is 15 which is Club corner. We had seats at Copse for the race and it took a while to get to as it is the complete opposite side of the track.

The site is also used for carparking so the post race gateway is slow, we however stayed back at the campsite for quite a while after the race and avoided most of the issues.

Ratings are in the context of the location and event. Other sites were charging this much per person to camp within 1 motorhome. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingrocks5 1 review from this member

 We used this campsite for an overnight stay whilst visiting the Renault World Series at Silverstone.

It was really easy to find, the fields were huge and mainly flat with well maintained hedges and access roads. The toilets were ok. The Ladies started off clean but deteriorated over time as the site was busy. There was a good supply of loo roll though! The Men's toilets, I am reliably informed, were dirty on arrival. There was another double block further on in the adjoining field though (which was empty) which were available and clean if you didn't mind walking a bit further.

Some quite drunk groups of people and loud music til about 3am and noise til 4.30am. If you do visit with children, camp round the outer edges of the field as the 'bowl' shape in the middle was used by scrambling cars! The site owners did stop this though as soon as they were told about it. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NICK27 1 review from this member

 This is a great campsite to visit if you are a first time camper. It is close to the Silverstone circuit and is very clean and tidy. We visited for this years grand prix and this was the first time that I had ever camped. I was always nervous about camping. I should not have been. The staff on site were friendly, helpful and were visible if you needed help. The toilets were extremely clean which was a relief and they were topped up with toilet roll on a regular basis.

The other campers were extremely friendly and even helped erect our tent. We could get easily to the circuit so we missed nothing. You could also hear the cars from the field which was an added bonus.

We cannot recommend this site enough. We will definitely be returning next year. There is a family friendly atmosphere and as mentioned nothing was too much hassle for the staff. We had a great time. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camp Tim 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite if you're visiting a motor racing event at Silverstone. Most the campsites that operate around Silverstone during the British Grand Prix have hole in the floor type toilets. Dadford has fully flushing bogs and half decent showers.

At £30 per site for the grand prix weekend, it represents excellent value for money. There's a 'quiet' area too if you don't want to party all night.

The owners/people running the site are extremely friendly and helpful. There's a bacon butty van that's reasonably priced compared to most the catering facilities around the Grand Prix! This is a no-nonsense good value campsite, and we'll be back for the 2011 Grand Prix. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dadford Road Campsite Silverstone child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dadford Road Campsite Silverstone?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dadford Road Campsite Silverstone dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Buckinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


976 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement