Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Walnut Tree Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Winford > Walnut Tree Farm Camping > Reviews

Walnut Tree Farm Camping
The Street
Regil
Winford
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS40 8BD
Tel: 01275 472207  or  07554 892069
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 6
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 20 Reviews
                10/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Alec wallace 5 reviews from this member

 Mike who owns the place is a really nice guy and keeps the site clean and tidy. There are only 6 pitches spread across an area of a football pitch and a bit.

The pitches are generally flat, the grass kept short and itís a good space to camp. There are two unisex drop toilets which are clean and donít smell.

Two clean unisex showers with plenty of hot water on tap and (BONUS) with normal on/off handle, no constantly pushing a button that gives you 20 seconds of water. Each pitch has a fire pit and for £10 Mike can provide a wheel barrow full of well seasoned wood.

The site is surrounded by public footpaths and we took a walk into Chew Stoke where the pub sold good local cider at £3 a pint.

Tourist stuff: We went to the Fleet Air Arm Museum at Yeovilleton which is well worth a few hours wandering around and so was Cheddar Gorge. Tho itís expensive to park at the Gorge and apart from the natural beauty there are a few tourist shops.

Things to consider.

In the distance you can see planes that have taken off/going to land at Bristol Airport. Tho they donít fly directly overhead but you can hear them. During the day they didnít bother me and at night I wear ear plugs but if youíre a light sleeper I think they may effect you.

Access to the site is along nearly 2 miles of single track road with occasional passing points so if youíre not competent /comfortable with reversing along a single track country lane then this may not be the site for you.

Overall would I return here? Yes deffo. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Danny Colyer 3 reviews from this member

 We've always dismissed glamping but, suffering from injury and unsure whether I was fit to camp this year, a shepherd's hut seemed worth a go. So, for 4 nights, my wife and I stayed in luxury while the kids slept in their tents next to the hut.

If you like basic sites (we do), this site is ideal. The showers were clean, hot and included in the price. The composting toilets were clean and functional. The farmer was helpful and friendly, clearly wanting his guests to enjoy a relaxing holiday.

The Monarch's Way footpath passes through the site - within yards of the hut that we were in - perfect for going off on rural walks without having to drive anywhere.

Blagdon Lake, Chew Valley Lake and Nempnett Thrubwell are each within a day's walk and there are several pubs serving good food within a couple of miles of the site.

If you're walking to a pub for dinner, don't forget to take torches and (if you head into Regil or Winford) a red light.

Access is along narrow country lanes. This might be a site to avoid if you have a large vehicle or a trailer.

There are no shops within easy walking distance so, unless you take bikes, or are willing to spoil your holiday by driving somewhere in the middle of it, make sure you arrive with enough supplies to last you. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: NJA09 1 review from this member

 We loved this quiet, rural site, Lovely views of the surrounding countryside.

Owerful, hot and importantly clean showers. Clean and tidy compost loos, decorated with vases of colourful garden flowers. Sink for washing up with cold water tap only. Very helpful and friendly farmer.

Fabulous location, around 20mins to Bristol, 30mins to Bath. Beautiful and interesting Yeo Valley gardens 10mins drive away with atmospheric cafe serving a small selection of cakes, you need to book ahead.

Lovely rural walks directly from the site.

Two fridges in the barn for campers use. If there are enough campers the farmer will do tractor rides around local area and chicken racing! Such fun for everyone. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rogisi 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights and highly recommend it if you like peace and quiet and stunning countryside.

The toilets and showers were very clean and Mike made us feel very welcome,

Will definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kalcoatl 2 reviews from this member

 Simple rustic camping with fire option, composting toilet.

Didn't try shower.

Isolated but charming location green all round. Friendly farm landlord. 4 miles walk from airport. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Suzette1 1 review from this member

 I stayed in the Hobbit Shepherds Hut for 3 nights. From the second night I was the only visitor to the site. Lovely and peaceful. Lots of wildlife. The huts decor is kitsch, rustic and pretty. It is also well equipped and comfortable with nice touches to it. It has a 2 ring gas cooker, solar power lights and running water which you pump from a water container under the sink. The eco toilet and showers with hot water were nice and clean. Outside the hut is a picnic table with umbrella as well as sunlounger chairs.

Mike and Mary are very welcoming and helpful. Mike will supply you with eggs and wood for the fire pit if you wish. He is also very knowledgeable about the local area. Remember to visit the food store in the village before you arrive at the campsite. Mike will supply ice for the cold store under the bed and you can use the fridge in the barn.

The water fall is a short walk away and Chew Valley lake is about an hours walk away across the fields. I enjoyed the fish cake and chips for £8.50 in the restaurant at the lake. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Non camper 3 reviews from this member

 We spent the three nights of August bank holiday weekend in this fabulous campsite surrounded by beautiful countryside.

We had booked with friends, and arrived to find that Mike, the very friendly and helpful owner, had cordoned off a generous section at the end of the field to reserve it for our tents. We looked over lush green fields and trees, and a simple wooden fence separated us from a large field sometimes visited by a herd of cows and three sweet calves. There were about half a dozen other tents in the field with us, though most of the time we werenít aware of them. We occasionally met one or two of their occupants by the loo and washing up area but never had to queue for these or the showers. The facilities were spotless, cleaned several times a day by Mike and kept well supplied with loo roll, liquid soap and sawdust for the compost loos. A bunch of garlic hung in each loo, possibly to absorb odours; if so, it worked. The showers were pristine, with plenty of hot water.

Campfires are welcome in the fire pits and we bought a wheelbarrow of firewood from Mike for £5 that lasted us our whole stay.

Our stay at Walnut Tree Farm was lovely and peaceful. We liked the fact that the site had a 'quiet time' from 10pm to 8am. We also really enjoyed the chicken race that Mike organised one evening. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campmoon 1 review from this member

 Excellent quiet site you can pitch where you wish, showers very good powerful hot and clean. Composting toilets (very clean and cleaned regularly, ) A quiet site with friendly owner plenty of space for every one. The wild life we saw 'from our tent' included owls, rabbits fallow deer, martins/swallows, buzzards. You can even have a campfire and sit out and star watch all night if you wish.

locally the 1 mile crown pub very good reasonably priced and large portions cider was good. About 2 miles small village with a coop, cash point etc.  


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizex 28 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, and the farmer is very nice and chatty. It is a 'Quiet Site', though we did know beforehand there was a 30th birthday party in the other field, so it didn't disturb us too much. But I think the farmer is in the process of making his mind up what kind of site he wants to have.

As a 'Quiet Site', it's gorgeous. The composting toilets were great (loved the head of garlic hanging in one!) with sawdust provided instead of flushing. They were clean and smelt of sawdust. There is only one big Belfast sink for washing up and cleaning teeth, which is a slight drawback.

The showers were hot and clean and my clothes did not get wet while hanging up.

You're out in the back of beyond, but there's a cashpoint in Chew Magna and a decent pub with an Indian restaurant in Chew Stoke. There's also a Spar in Harptree. Josh Eggleton has both the Michelin-starred Pony and Trap a couple of miles away and the Salt & Malt fish & chip restaurant at Chew Lake.

There is no noise from the airport, you can see the planes descending to land in the distance (and taking off), that's all.

It cost £7 per person plus £5 for the car(which isn't mentioned on the website). A huge wheelbarrow of firewood that lasted all evening was well-priced at £5.

For me it was a double treat of being a tents-only site and a site where dogs are not allowed (because it's a working farm). And there is no electric, but we brought our own.

Dear Mr Farmer, please opt for a 'Quiet Site' and loads of us quiet people will come to chill in your field. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizlizard 2 reviews from this member

 Don't visit this campsite if you are expecting all mod-cons - but DO VISIT if you want peace and quiet, friendly owners and beautiful countryside! As stated in previous reviews, the proximity of the airport is not at all intrusive and mostly all that can be heard are the usual countryside noises - lovely cows in the next field, and owls at night and birdsong during the day. The facilities are basic but very clean. Cooking breakfast (bacon sandwiches) on the morning of departure, the farmer asked if we liked mushrooms, and then proceeded to jog up the field and then handed me four beautiful mushrooms, turning the breakfast into a feast! A tip for your SATNAV - it might say you have arrived at destination, but you need to go further down the hill. An excellent brief stay but I'm sure we will be back. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Walnut Tree Farm Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Walnut Tree Farm Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Walnut Tree Farm Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Winford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3847 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement