Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Black Horse

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Ashford > The Black Horse > Reviews

The Black Horse
Fiddling Lane
Monks Horton
Ashford
Kent   (Browse area)
TN25 6AP
Tel: 01303 812182
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 31 Reviews
                6/10 from 31 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 72 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stopover whilst travelling to and from France as its just 15 mins from the Channel Tunnel terminal.

The first thing to mention if using this site is to choose your route carefully, some of the lanes approaching this site are very narrow.

The owner was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

The site itself is ok, the pitches do slope down, so if using a caravan you may need blocks under your front steadies. There is just one toilet and one shower, both were clean.

One thing to be aware of, there is nowhere on site to empty your toilet waste tank, the owners will not let you empty it down the toilet either, you have to take it away with you which for a family of four in a caraven was most inconvenient.

On the first night we ate in the pub, the food was ok but nothing special. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MillieB 1 review from this member

 Just a quick update - The electric hookups have now been installed and working well.

The cost is still 16. 00 for the pitch with the use of the facilities and an electric hook up, 10 per night if you don't need to have the hook up. Lovely food, lovely rural setting - excellent for the tunnel. Be careful though if using a sat nav, it did take us through some narrow lanes best to get off the M20 at Junction 11 and follow the B2068 to Canterbury, take the 2nd left into Blind House Lane and then right and right again. A much easier route. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nigel and family 3 reviews from this member

 This is going to be a great site. The camping field has views to the North Downs; the loo and shower is clean; the pub has great food and first class hospitality; and the location is convenient for the North Downs, the South Kent Coastal towns and port.

The site is 16/night and you get a 10% discount in the pub (food and beer both excellent). We'll definitely return, but not until next year when the new electricity hook-ups are connected (we ran off an extension lead out of the garage) and the field has been landscaped (currently out-of-bounds because of the recent digging of a trench for the electrics ~ we had to camp in the car park). 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happybonzo 39 reviews from this member

 A good title for this review would be 'Another one off the list!'

If you are there to use the place as an over-night stop on the way to the Channel Tunnel Beware - as The Black Horse is now under new management.

The place has been extensively cleaned and the new owners were very professional and welcoming; full marks on that score.

Under the previous owner providing you had a meal, you were allowed to stop overnight with your car, caravan or motorhome. If you didn't want a meal, then you paid 10 and that was fair enough.

The new owners expect you pay 10 but this is not refunded even if you have a meal.

They also encourage you to run a 'tab' for your drinks and will deduct 10% off it if you are staying over-night. This is an easy way to spend too much; probably not such a good idea if you're just heading off on holiday. I did not make use of this.

With regard to the 'Camp Site' - This is a car park. There were fields used by people with tents when I've visited previously but the fields were barred off. I'm not sure what there was as waste disposal facilities. There only appeared to be a cold water tap.

A lot of country pubs welcome the 'over-nighters'. In fact, many of the Motorhome and Caravan forums have special sections just for places that allow people to stop. How long the Black Horse remains on the lists remains to be seen.

The food was reasonable and was up to the standard being offered by many pubs these days: In fairness the bread was first rate and that was made by the owner's husband 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dodi164 17 reviews from this member

 We booked in for one night but so enjoyed this pub that we decided to stay for another night. The owners, a delightful Italian family had recently taken over the running of the pub, and the food was superb and very reasonable compared to the prices we pay in London. The campsite is in the process of being updated and I am sure it will be of a very high standard if the pub is anything to go by.

The shower was free and and very pleasant to use. The pub seems to be in the middle of nowhere so was delightfully quiet and peaceful, with some beautiful views of woooded hils to wake up to in the morning. I shall return to this pub, especially on a Monday when they have a pasta night which I know will be truly authentic family cooked Italian pasta! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TwoJs 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights, 1 on our way to the tunnel and 1 on the way back. The site is very well organised and easy to locate. Excellent on site fish and chips on a Friday night!

At reception we were provided with an information sheet with loads of relevant info - nearest petrol, directions to the tunnel etc. Which we found very helpful.

The toilet block is warm, modern and immaculately clean, a pleasure to use.

We will definitely use this site again en route to Europe. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happybonzo 39 reviews from this member

 We used the site as an 'over-nighter' on our way to the Channel Tunnel.

We parked on the car park as it would have been nigh on impossible for us to have got a 7m Motorhome and Smart car on a trailer into the designated camp site.

The approach lanes are very narrow and I was glad that we didn't meet anything coming the other way.

I thought that the food was surprisingly good and far above the standard that one normally has to tolerate as Pub Grub. It was not cheap as some reviewers have already commented but the quality was first class and worth what we paid

Would I use the Black Horse again?

Yes, definitely. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jujudiprose 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely pub, lovely food, shame about the campsite, this place could be fab with a bit of attention. The loo and shower are new but to get to it was a nightmare to get to past loads of rubbish including old cars among the remains of a building. We were unable to get into the field designated as 'the campsite' due to the bumpy uneven muddy small entrance so ended up in the pub car park. Such a shame because we would definitely have gone back again as lovely area and food. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Druidz 1 review from this member

 We stopped here for one night on our way home after getting off the ferry at around tea time on a Friday evening. The pitch was free as we ate in the pub, the service and food were both fantastic but we found the price to be a little steep, over 70 for two adults and one 4 year old.

The electric feed for the pitch was a heavy duty extension lead which was covered by a plasters bucket to keep the rain off. (we disconnected the power before going to bed) Water was a hose pipe which you needed to ask to have turned on, fortunately we had a 5 liter water bottle to fill. The shower and toilet was a porta cabin that was obviously out of use. We spoke to some campers in a tent and they told us the toilet was actually in the pub. We had a caravan so the toilet issue was not a problem. We have now gone back to a tent so I would probably ring them first to check on their facilities. It wasn't quite what we expected to be honest and we would probably have chosen to pay the 10 pitch fee and fed ourselves. That said the food was very nice !

My advice is to ring and check with regards to facilities especially if you have very small children. All in all it is handy for the ferry only 10 minutes away and as a one nighter it was ok apart from the electricity supply. 


Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campinthesticks 1 review from this member

 This is a Pub with a field & hard standing ( car park )at the rear -with basic facilities - a small shower & toilet facility has recently been created, although clean, it lacked attention to detail, ie inadequate lighting -wash hand basin too small - no shelving or bench.

The field was scruffy. Electric hook-up is not really ideal being a number of extension leads covered by buckets to protect from bad weather.

The Pub itself is pleasant enough & I found the cuisine of a reasonable standard.

Conveniently located for The Eurotunnel & Supermarket only a 10 minute drive away

Potentially could be good 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Black Horse child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Black Horse?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Black Horse dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3940 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement