Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Les Quatre Saisons

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Limousin > Site Reviews

Les Quatre Saisons
Chignat
Soubrebost
Limousin   (Browse area)
23250
Tel: 0033 0555642335
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 27
Open: 1st April To 30th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mackem1 1 review from this member

This was simply the best site we have stayed on in France. It is peaceful, shaded, spaced out and private, immaculately kept, with hens wandering round and travelling donkeys occasionally grazing in the a sectioned off area.

There are ample hot showers, toilets and washing up facilities, new and very clean. An excellent free WiFi service is provided.

The owners are extremely friendly and helpful, and will supply you with detailed maps of walks and cycle rides direct from the site. The the evening meals provided are both high cuisine and excellent value. We ate twice, and would have liked to fit in more.

This is a very quiet area of France surrounded by kilometres of rolling woodland and small lakes. The owners have created a piece of Arcadia, and it was a pleasure to share it.

We stayed for five nights, wished we had planned for longer, and will definitely come back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonbim 1 review from this member

A beautiful campsite set in perfect tranquillity - the only sounds we heard after 10. 00 pm were the occasional hoots of the neighbouring owls. The pitches are set well apart so you have masses of space. There's a great old barn with table-tennis and shared fridges. The owners, Andrew & Bernie, are very friendly and incredibly helpful - our tent gave up the ghost after some rain one night but they soon sorted us out. The area is great for walking, cycling and swimming in the nearby lake. The nearby town of Bourganeuf is friendly with a nice market, a few bars & cafes, shops and a supermarket. Highly recommended for a relaxing break in this quiet & pretty region.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicchopin 4 reviews from this member

Idyllic and peaceful location to get away from it all. Very well maintained campsite with lots of space between pitches. Pros: beautiful village location, starry night skies, space and tranquillity, very accommodating hosts, the home cooking, morning delivery of bread and croissants, and lots to see and do in the surrounding area (within 20-30 minutes car drive). Downsides: no shops or anything of interest within walking distance, only 2 showers (which would be a struggle during peak season), and no handsoap or toilet paper in shower/WC block (apparently too expensive!). Also got massacred by mozzies and horse flies; by the end of the week, we each counted about 150-200 bites, although according to French news, this summer was particularly bad throughout France due to the wet Spring/early Summer (the Creuse region being cited as the worst affected area!). Would therefore recommend lots of mozzie repellant if visiting this summer!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Janiceandkev 1 review from this member

This is a very nice campsite in a lovely quiet area. It's a great place for road cycling or mountain biking. The only downside is that there are no bars, restaurants or shops in walking distance. The owners Andrew and Bernie are very helpful and friendly. You can have dinner at the house and Bernie's cooking is amazing, excellent value!

The pitches are large although some are slightly sloping. There are only 2 showers but we never really had to wait.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Logburner 4 reviews from this member

This site is an absolute gem. Having visited two main other sites in France on this holiday, we have to say this site suited us the best. The site itself is slightly sloping but every pitch has been levelled to perfection. Electric hook up is available to most. A family area in a separate field area has been set aside for those with children. This has been well thought out so as not to disturb others, and had easy access to the shower/toilet block and fridge/freezer facilities. The toilet & shower block were kept spotless, and also had cleaning sweepers for us to use to keep it that way. Washing-up facilities were in the same block and were very good, double sinks and hot water.

On site freshly made bread and croissant are available in the mornings, and Bernice (owner with Andrew) is a fantastic chef, and an evening on beautiful starry night, is a must, served in their garden. They ensure that your table is shared (if wanted) with others that can speak English. We had two fantastic & entertaining meals at the site.

The location in a small hamlet village, which is set amongst the rolling countryside of the Creuse region, just 10 minutes drive from athe nearest town of Bourganeuf. A quaint little market town, with a Wednesday market which brings the place alive with it's many colourful stalls and gastronmic delights. Bathing & boating lakes are about 20 minutes drive away, with clean beaches and have lifeguards in July/August. There are many other attractions in the area, a giant maize at Gueret. The wolf place as mentioned in another review. This place is brilliant for walks and cycling, and we had a lovely relaxing time here, and are already planning our return soon.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bazbazbaz59 5 reviews from this member

Camped here for four night in our Mazda Bongo campervan and we had a great relaxing time. This site has decent sized pitches and we were at the top of the main field with an electric hook up. The facilities are first class and there is a wi-fi connection around the house and toilet area. There is a town nearby called Bourganeuf with a Supermarket but it is a short car ride away. Andrew and Bernie are lovely people and we would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CWright90 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 5 nights while we were house hunting in the area combined with a family holiday. A nice site in the countryside with plenty of space for each pitch. The ethos of the site is eco-friendly and there are good recycling facilities. There are two showers, which you had to queue for at busy times of the day and they were not really hot enough to enjoy but overall the facilities are sufficient. We were pitched in a field near to the games room in the barn. This was a great facility for children but we were unfortunate that the noise from the barn spoilt the peace in the evenings, however it must be said that it was not the children that made the noise, it was the parents that behaved as though they had won the world cup every time they scored a point which was unnecessary and quite inconsiderate. We do not have small children but it was obvious that it was a great site for families that want simple entertainment. You can order fresh bread every day and Bourganeuf is just is few km away and has shops, cafe's and decent supermarkets. The Lac de Vassiviere is about 25 mins drive away and lovely for swimming and cycling and water sports. The owners are friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back there.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Farrant 2 reviews from this member

This site looked very nice and the owner was very helpful and if you have a tent or a normal sized caravan you will probably enjoy your stay but.

The entrance is narrow off a narrow lane and up an extremely steep slope. I have a large 7. 2 metre caravan and we didn't make it! The back was scraping the road and the clutch was sending out smoke signals that I could still smell 24 hours later. We were stuck on the corner. The proprietor fetched his tractor but by that time we had managed to get the caravan on level ground, using the mover. We were then able to hitch up and move to another site. Fortunately the damage is only cosmetic and you have to get on your knees to see it.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Callum.A. 1 review from this member

We took our kids camping here for their first taste of foreign camping. It was fantastic. The owners have really set up their site in a family friendly way. The facilities were equally fantastic, and used with evident respect for the initial quality and care taken over their condition. Spacious sites, some with shade. The owner does a bread run on each morning, which makes life easier.

Local facilities are pretty good, with a Super you ten minutes away, and several sites of interest within 30-60 minutes drive. Especially good were the Wolf park, Local lake with watersports and beaches and nearby waterfalls.

A remote feel in a gorgeous setting, will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bensgirl 6 reviews from this member

We decided to book with this site after looking at their website, which is well illustrated with photographs and upon our arrival, it was exactly as depicted.

The owners, Andrew and Bernie, are very friendly and accommodating, being able to pick up freshly baked bread and croissants each morning that Andrew has collected from the village was a lovely treat that we quickly became accustomed to!

The facilities are very good. The washing up area is the nicest we have used in the time we have been caravanning. The toilets are clean (a daily thorough hosing down by Andrew saw to that!) although a few well placed signs reminding other campers to perhaps 'clean as they go' might not go amiss in both the toilet and washing up areas!

The showers were lovely and hot without the annoying 'timed' tap and there were squeegee mops to clean up afterwards, although again not all people seem to take advantage of those!

One area of improvement would be a light outside the toilet and wash block, it was a bit scary making a dash to the loo in the dark!

It is a very peaceful area to visit, I think I read 6 or 7 books just lazing about, belly full of bread and 'compote'.

The town is a short drive away, is lovely and quiet, but has all the necessary shops including a well stocked 'Carrefour' just on the edge of the town, with very cheap fuel!

We treated ourselves one evening to a wonderful dinner, prepared by Bernie, at very reasonable cost, four courses, each one completely delicious, which we ate in their lovely comfortable house. If the weather had been warmer we would have eaten outside.

The site itself is lovely, very tranquil and full of trees and shrubs. We pitched in an area under trees and had many lovely birds for company every day, it is indeed a 'twitchers' paradise! We even had a lovely little hedgehog visit almost daily!

There is lots of space between pitches, so you don't have that cramped in feeling you get with some sites.

The area itself is perfect for walking and bike riding, you can drive for ages without seeing another soul!I would say if you are visiting the area with children taking bikes is a must as there aren't many things to amuse them, I can imagine whinging cries of 'I'm bored' if they are used to bright lights and amusement parks!

You can even hire a donkey if you feel the urge to venture into the hills!

For those with larger caravans there is quite a steep incline into the site which took quite a run up to reach the top, although we haven't got the most powerful of tow cars!

We will return to this site without a doubt and highly recommend it to others.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Limousin

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2325 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!