Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Grandie Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Appleby > Grandie Caravan Park Reviews

Grandie Caravan Park
Old Dufton Hall Farmhouse
Dufton
Appleby
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA16 6DD
Tel: 017683 53582  or  +441768353582
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights en route to Scotland in campervan with electric. Friendly, clean site, mainly 'static tourers' with touring pitches set within a lovely village with stunning views of the fells. Great pub, The Stag Inn, with good food, real ales/ciders. There's also a shop/cafe in the village but didn't visit. Ideal location for fell walking, particularly High Cup Nick. Would be good for families, safe site with a playground next door. Seemed popular with backpackers walking the Penine Way. Would definitely return for use as a base for exploring the fells.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iaincbrown 1 review from this member

To start with, Dutton is beautiful, the Stagg Inn is a fantastic place for a meal and a good beer, and in the morning the Postbox Pantry is amazing for a big hearty breakfast.

I went to Dutton for a walking weekend, and could not have enjoyed myself more than I could have every hoped for.

The site is THE BEST, right in the heart of Dufton, it was neat clean and so friendly.

Every time I visit a site I dream of being able to own one of my own, making it a great place to stay and a great experience for the guests.

Grandie is probably the closest to that ideal I have been to. Everything about it is just right !

If you are looking at Lakes for a good place to stay, this is quite simply IDEAL.

Thanks Julie and if you ever want to sell let me know ! :)

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Union John 5 reviews from this member

This small site is primarily given over to caravans but there are some pitches for tourers. Pitches are terraced and all level, hard standing with water points at pitches. Facilities are basic but kept clean and I was pleased to see that the site actively encourages recycling. Along with the vans there is a small, steady stream of tired Pennine Way walkers. The site owners are very helpful; while I was chatting to him Julie turned up with super glue so that a Dutch hiker could repair his water purification device. He had nothing but praise for the site and people in the village who had also helped him out. Let's face it: it's the small courtesies and favours that make it all worthwhile.

No hesitations in recommending this site. Well-placed for some great day walks which is what I was doing.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Them Frenchies 1 review from this member

Stayed last weekend at Grandie with the family. The site has new owners, Julie and Mike. Fantastic people. Cracking place, well looked after. New toilet block and shower facilities. Very clean, powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Great place for walking, relaxing. Individual electrical and water point on every pitch. The Stag Inn is only a few minutes walk. Great food, great beer. Playground next to site for kiddies. We've already booked to go back again. Definitely well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Effnboots 15 reviews from this member

Dufton is a lovely little village and this campsite is right in the village, so superb location. Aite is fairly small and you are fairly close to your neighbour, but fine for a weekend. 1 shower in ladies which is ok, not easy drying and getting dressed as floor gets wet. Toilets and shower were fairly basic but ok. Very friendly manager. Pub in village does great food and dogs are allowed in bar area. A must do walk is up to High Cup Nick - it is well worth the effort.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JOHNANDRACH 6 reviews from this member

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights at the start of the school holidays. It was in a great location at the foot of the hills and 2 minutes from the village green, pub, café and shop. The sight caters mainly for caravans and motorhomes but uses the smaller grassy areas for a few tents. It was very quiet as most caravans were unoccupied - we therefore had the very good showers to ourselves! We did the walk up High Cup from the site which was superb and then travelled to other good walks nearby that included Ullswater-about 45 mins drive. The owner in the bungalow over the road allowed us to use her freezer in her garage for ice packs. We highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: StephenJColeman 5 reviews from this member

A lovely site with terraced pitches (a little tight for arrival and departure).

There is both electric and water supply to each hard standing pitch.

The toilet block is good with hot running water, clean and bright. The eslan disposal and grey waste is very good. The site also offers some recycling facilities.

Dufton is delightful village but sadly when we visited the only village pub had just changed hands / stopped serving food (despite booking ahead).

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ali86 1 review from this member

My wife and I have just returned from four days at Grandie caravan park it is Lovely Campsite, really friendly and clean. Not a lot of showers but we never seemed to wait long for one. Can highly recommend this site its a real Gem. The village Pub(The Stag)is no more than 300 Yards from the Park entrance and serves quality food almost all day. A nice tea room is across the village green from the pub should you fancy a cake or two.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BEREBROOK 3 reviews from this member

What a brilliant little site this is. Wanted site near to high cup on the Pennine way and found Grandie caravan park. Right in the village of Dufton with local pub and teashop close by. Dined at the pub. Excellent food and roaring log fires. Walked Dufton ghyll and saw six red squirrels. Walking is really good with the Pennine way passing the site entrance. Owners of site are very welcoming and helpful. New ablutions block opened in 2010. Shall be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geoff Stables 2 reviews from this member

This is a great site in a great village. Run by friendly people, who are always helpful. Village has one pub, one shop, one Youth Hostel where you can get a hot breakfast if you book it the night before, and one village shop. Village green is two minutes walk away with goal posts - great. Great walking from the site.

Totally recommended.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Appleby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3622 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020