Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rowan Craft Ltd Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles > Rowan Craft Ltd Certificated Location Reviews

Rowan Craft Ltd Certificated Location
Wherry Dyke
Geldeston
Beccles
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR34 0LY
Tel: 01508 518208
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sheila Kemp 1 review from this member

Wonderful and peaceful location. Fantastic hospitality and friendly host.

The Wherry Inn is under new management and well worth a visit! Amazing food, lovely atmosphere and completely dog friendly. This really made our holiday enjoyable as we could have a great meal and keep the company of our dogs.

Thanks very much for having us!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jillnandy 8 reviews from this member

Fantastic little site so tranquil. The showers and toilets are clean and functional although if cold I would have to be brave for a shower as it is unheated they are also quite a way from where you stay. Owners were friendly and helpful but not intrusive. There is a bus stop at the entrance to the site where buses go hourly to Beccles or Bungay although we found the bus expensive compared to Norfolk. However the 3 mile walk by public footpath along the river to Beccles is lovely. The Locks Inn pub is only a 20 minute walk and the food is super and reasonably priced. We did not try the Wherry Inn as we had already read that it was expensive. We will definitely be making a return visit here.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Darrenz2366 1 review from this member

Having discovered this wonderful little CL site earlier this year, we have now visited a number of times and will do so again.

We have just spent another relaxing weekend on Rowan craft island and enjoyed the wildlife, riverside facilities and the Village Fete. Site owners are very friendly and helpful and the facilities are basic, but acceptable.

This little gem set in wonderful surroundings is just a short paddle away from the Locks Inn where live music is often on. Tell your friends and no one else sort of place - fantastic.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ianjacquie 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here on a very very hot weekend. Beautiful site set in the middle of a river setting which in the sunshine made it even better. We were greeted by staff on arrival(who live on site) they were very helpful and left us to our own devices.

The canoe hire is easy and excellent fun, we hired for 3 hours but when we go back at the end of July we are gonna hire for the day.

Although the site was full(5 van) we never felt crammed in. The facilities are very clean and never busy.

Cant wait to go back. Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blue Peter 1 review from this member

Our first visit over the Easter weekend. Smashing little site right next to the river. Toilet/Shower facilities clean and tidy. Pub in the village very close to site nice but seemed a bit pricey, both food and drink.

Locks Inn excellent and well worth a visit particularly at Easter weekend when they always hold a Beer festival. Live entertainment and some great beers for real Ale fans.

Close to the towns of Beccles and Bungay which are both worth a visit. Beccles is particularly nice with a nice riverside park area, great for Picnics. And good riverside walks.

We'll definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EricH 4 reviews from this member

We booked in advance as the cost was minimal and the description was inviting. Upon arrival we were offered two 'hook-up' sites and settled in.

The toilet/shower block is a 5 minute walk from the sites as are the fresh water/toilet disposal arrangements.

Vehicles are not allowed to be parked near caravans but at a car park several 100 yards away.

The nearby pub, the Wherry Inn, we have renamed the Wherry expensive Inn! £6. 00 for a glass of wine £9. 95 per person for fish & chips! We drove to Becces and bought fish & chips for £7. 50 for two people.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lizziepop 3 reviews from this member

We love this site. Had a wonderful relaxing 3 night stay. Nice quiet site and helpful owners.Bus stop and pub at top of road. Numerous trees so you can be sheltered or in the sun.Being unlit at night you need a torch if you venture out.There are no local shops, but there is a farm shop up the road. Didn't visit the Locks Inn but that is on our list when we return in August for 7 nights, with our 3 dogs this time.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trudiemann 5 reviews from this member

We loved this site. We were a party of a campervan, a motorhome and a small tent and all ages loved it. The site is very pretty with trees and riverscape.

Pub across the road from the entrance and a fantastically remote and entertaining pub a 5 minute cycle/20 minute walk away - The Locks.

Highly recommended. We will be returning very soon. They now have electric hook up too.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 119 reviews from this member

Just an update to my review of July 2008 below.

The site itself has not changed one bit so previous comments in that respect remain current.

The purpose of our stay was to go to the Harvest Beer Festival at the Geldeston Locks Inn. The Locks Inn has gone from strength to strength. Periodic festivals are longer and more elaborate; range of food is wider; the curry night has served me with a couple of the best curries I’ve had anywhere and Green Jack beer continues to win awards everywhere it goes! (See website for details) The atmosphere is always informal. I believe all this is due to a ‘labour of love’ by Colin the Proprietor. If Colin ever moves on, I’m sure it will never be the same.

The nearby farm shop has expanded and now sells veg and meat. The range home made chutneys & pickles is vast as is the range of home made jams. Additionally there is a farm animal encounter (and some not normally on a farm!) for children. Entry is free / donation.

The Wherry Inn immediately opposite the site entrance, continues to be a very smart eats / drinks / music pub.

One of my top 20 sites with the Locks Inn, my all time favourite country / riverside pub, just round the corner. 10/10!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 119 reviews from this member

I'll start by saving you the bother of reading the rest of this review by simply saying that you will be hard pushed to find a more unusual, more informal, more pleasant or more peaceful site.

This site is probably unique in as much as it occupies an island within a small marina. Numerous mature trees create a nice feel to the site area. You have the choice of pitching in the shade or in the open. Being surrounded by water, families with children will need to exercise the obvious precautions.

Encircled by moored motor cruisers, caravans are outnumbered by small boats 50-1. However, as there were very few boat movements, there was little to disturb the rustling of the leaves. Another nice touch that contributed to peace and quiet was the etiquette of only to bringing your car onto the pitches only for loading and unloading.

The site area is unlit at night, so remember your torch - and your ghost story book! The vehicle entrance gate is closed around 22:30 and opened about 08:30. The pedestrian gate is always open, but if you want to get away early or get back late, parking outside is not a problem.

The W.C. And shower (20p) are located on the end of the main boatshed. They are around 200 paces from the pitches, which is slightly too far to be described as convenient. But bear in mind that this is a CL, so having them at all is a distinct luxury! Own sanitation, or a bike, might be useful.

The drinking water tap and chemical disposal point are on the dock area. Again, slightly too far to comfortably carry a water container. Best to have a roller type container, or a trolley for your jerry can. (Or be prepared to drive over: which again is not a problem.)

There are no local shops - save for a farm shop just up the road which sells fruit, veg, eggs and home made pickled onions! Every thing you need can be obtained in nearby Beccles.

Barbecues are allowed. Being a marina, you can launch your own canoe or boat, or rent them on site. Fishing opportunities are plentiful. From the site you can access the footpath that runs along the river and also cycling Route 1. How many sites can offer you the opportunity to bbq your fresh caught fish and explore by foot, boat or bike?

Within a stones throw is the Wherry Inn. This is a very comfortable eats and drinks pub. BUT 400m up river, or just round the corner, then down a very long rough track off Station Road, is the Locks Inn. This has to be a unique old fashioned riverside pub. Real ales (Green Jack); real cider (Burnards); Thursday folk evenings (free); Friday curry night (From 6pm, get there early); Sunday live music outside (free). How can it get any better?

A unique site with a unique pub just round the corner. I'm certain you will enjoy them both as we did.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4028 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019