Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mr Moos Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Mr Moos Caravan Site
Southfield Farm
Hornsea Road
Skipsea
Driffield
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO25 8SY
Tel: 01262 469829
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lookylynda 1 review from this member

Nice pitch on the CL section of Mr Moos which is next to the car park for the icecream parlour. We love the icecream and there is a nice walk to the seashore which takes about 10 mins. Staff are friendly and helpful. Negatives- the main road is very busy and noisy.

The TV reception was poor and on our first night we had virtually no reception at all, we retuned the next day and it improved a little.

There is also no wifI. None of this spoilt our break but the main negative, which they could vastly improve is the shower/ toilet cabin This is really dingy and grim, and not ideally located as you have to walk through the very busy carpark.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dixter 25 reviews from this member

A very pleasant site, with the CL pitches being in a sheltered, small field with part hard-standing. There was electric and water close to hand however the toilet facilities are quite a trek. There is a 'unisex' cabin containing 2 toilets and a shower BUT as us ladies know there is no such thing as 'unisex' as there is no privacy for us (or the men come to think of it). They are cleaned daily but soon became very dirty so perhaps a regular check would be in order. Having slated the ablutions, I will come to the positives: peaceful despite being close to a busy road, sheltered by tall trees, grass well-kept, dogs welcome, and well-signposted farm walks from/around the site. We will return but just hope the toilet/washing facilities are given more thought soon.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Traveljunkie 1 review from this member

After reading a set of very positive reviews, we booked, paid and arrived, looking forward to a charming site and a restful sit around the van. We're not Caravan Club members, so we knew we wouldn't be on the CL. Our neighbours on the site were, but they were members numbers 6 and 7, the CL was full, so they ended up next to us.

On arrival, we (and our neighbours) were greeted in a very friendly way, and we were walked across to the big field, where we started to set up camp. It was lovely - finely mown grass, trees, lots of space, shelter from the sea breeze, perfect. Whoops, just a few minutes later we were told the field was booked for a rally and we'd have to move. We moved, into 'the paddock'. This was the start of our disappointment. It was a narrow strip, with a wonderful view of a wind turbine and the cows that supply Mr Moo's ice cream business. Complete with their flies. Complete with permanently pitched workers' caravans & cars huddled untidily in one corner of the paddock, which prevented one of our neighbours from pitching, until the men had returned from work. The blokes were fine, they came and went very discreetly; just that their static vans changed the character of a site that had promised to be so pleasant. The site was regularly visited by ice cream customers who wanted to show their kids the cows, so from time to time we were gawped at by outsiders, and felt that 'security' was a bit wide open here. And then it turned out that the rally consisted of just five outfits sharing that wonderful field, capacity 10 units. Grrrr.

The facilities are. OK, but there is no emptying point for campervan grey water.

Positives are the easy access to the sea, (but not a 'pretty' sitting beach and hardly any room to walk along), a bus service to Bridlington and Hornsea at the site gates, and provided you can wait until opening time at 10, a restaurant (breakfast???) on site.

Really really disappointed.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KANNGA69 17 reviews from this member

Myself and the wife have had our first weekend away at mr moos this year and had a lovely time. We have stayed here many times over the years and can never complain. We arrived this year to find they now have a shower cubicle in a portacabin with a toilet. These were very clean and the shower was lovely and hot. They have a cl site which is for adults only and also a rally field for caravan club rallies. The ice cream parlour is a great place for kids selling all varieties of ice cream but also the do a lovely breakfast. Skirlington Sunday car boot and giant market is only a 5min drive away and bridlington not too far away. We have just booked some more weekends away here.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonook 2 reviews from this member

Lovely little site, perfect to explore the coastal villages. Visited hornsea mere and found a great fish and chip shop 'whiteheads' which I would recommend, also with food in mind, mr moos ice cream was on our doorstep with an array of delicous flavours which the kids liked, but they do snacks too.

As for the kids we had a trip up to bridlington which was nice and a short drive away (30 mins), all in all a nice base to visit other places and we will return if in the area.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Xenial 17 reviews from this member

Mr Moo's is a Caravan Club CL 5 (5 Caravans). The camping field looked well maintained but due to the time of year/weather we had to stay on the car park which is setup for the winter season. The only uncomfortable part of this was the busy car park using the Ice Cream Parlour / Cafe, which is very modern and sold a delicious range of ice cream. It appears from adverts that the site is becoming adults only from 2011, so play equipment. But dogs were welcome.

During the hours of 9.30am to 6.00pm you had to use the cafe toilets via the cafe and outside these hours could loan a key to use external door to the disabled toilet. It was very clean and roomy and appeared to have (or in progress) the designs of shower. Otherwise you had to use your own caravan shower/toilets.

Skipsea village was a few minutes drive with pubs and shops but supermarkets were only four miles away in Hornsea. There was also a local walk to to cliff/beach.

Despite being on a carpark for winter, and the lack of a shower meaning we had to use and clean the one in our caravan.

This was our first time on a CL not living far from the East Coast probably only the 2nd or 3rd time to visit it. However, the fees were reasonable and with friends we had a brilliant time and will certainly visit the site again for a quick getaway.

The staff were very friendly and when we asked to move from the nearest pitch to the cafe car park to the furthest, they had no problems.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anjo 13 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site several times for long weekends, they are two sides to the site the Cl and the rally field, the rally field is open aspect, the Cl is very nice and sheltered by some trees. The pitches on the Cl are very large and being mainly flat (just one pitch we had to use our levelling chocs) The grass has always been very nice and tidy. Booking in at the Mr Moos counter is no problem at all, the staff being very pleasant and helpful. We think the site is good value and priced correctly.

We were leaving the site on one occasion on the Sunday, our pitch was booked out but when asking the staff we were told that there were no problem with us pulling the caravan off the pitch and putting it in the car parking area of Mr Moo's so that we could attend the Local Sunday market with ease.

We would never hesitate in returning or recommending a visit to this site (and have in fact rebooked)

No play area activities but plenty of room for kids to play.

Dogs allowed on site.

Mr Moos the ice cream parlour is very nice and as you can imagine they make wonderful ice cream on site, they also have a cafe but we haven't tried the food there. On first looking the ice creams did seem a little pricey, however, they are quite a good size and we found one with 2 spoons were plenty for us (two adults), ended up being well worth the money. Plenty of seating area outside the ice cream parlour / cafe which was good for us having a dog.

No showers on site, however, they are toilets through the cafe to use, when the cafe is closed you can gain access to a disabled toilet via a side door, you need to get the key from Mr Moos staff which you keep for your duration / stay, a £5 refundable key charge applies. The toilet is always very clean.

A good walk down the side of the camp/rally field will take you to the quiet beach, if you walk left you see a lot of the coastal erosion and have to walk quite away before you can get back off the beach, If you walk right on the beach you come to the Far Grange static camp site followed by the Skirlington static / touring site. The Skirlington site also has a Indoor & outdoor Market several days a week which is well worth a visit. (not sure if the outside part of the market is only on a Sunday though) also a Sunday carboot is held on the grounds. A swimming pool on site which I believe allows visitors.
i.e.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Captain Caveman 18 reviews from this member

Sat Nav coordinates N 53°58’28 W 00°12’32

I would highly recommend this site. It is a breezy coastal site but the 5 pitches are given a degree of protection from the wind by high bushes. The rally field is a bit more exposed but is perfect for kite-flying! It is adjacent to a busy ice cream parlour (Mr Moo’s) and dairy, but the caravan pitches are separate and screened by hedges so it is not intrusive, especially as it is otherwise surrounded by fields. Mr Moo’s also sells high-quality hot snacks and sandwiches and we ate very well during our stay. The staff were very friendly.

Behind the parlour there is a viewing platform where you are encouraged to see the cows that produce the milk for the ice cream. At the back of the car park there are some electric hook-ups for late arrivals as the ice cream parlour closes at 5pm, however as we knew in advance we were going to be on the rally field we set up there and spoke to the staff the following morning.
The water pressure is quite low so it takes a few minutes to fill the Aquaroll; this might be an issue if a large rally was attending. The CC handbook states there is a toilet available; I think I found the door to it but it was locked throughout our stay so I can’t comment on it further.
A 10-minute walk along an adjacent footpath leads to the beach. The footpath takes you past a WW2 aircraft observation post, a Cold War monitoring station and two WW2 pillboxes. The beach closest to the cliffs is littered with building debris and exposed metal from the numerous buildings that have fallen into the sea due to coastal erosion, but when the tide is out a large clean sandy stretch is exposed. The row of houses(!) along the cliff edge are living on borrowed time and I was told they were once the subject of a TV documentary.

To the north there is the seaside resort of Bridlington, Bondville Model Village (N 54°06’01 W 00°10’07) and Sewerby Hall (N 54°06’08 W 00°09’51) with a zoo containing monkeys and penguins. Further along the coast is the beautiful Flamborough Head (N 54°06’57 W 00°05’00) with its lighthouse. If you visit at low tide there are plenty of rock-pools to explore and a rocky coastal walk under the cliffs for the adventurous, but be sure to return before the tide turns! To the south is Hornsea and its Freeport shopping village (N 53°53’51 W 00°10’00), although the pottery has long since gone.

There is a Post Office with general store in Skipsea, a Tesco (including a petrol station) and a Somerfield in Bridlington. The closest Fish and Chip shop we saw was on the caravan park in Skipsea and Calor Gas is available from the first caravan park on the left on the road towards Hornsea.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


764 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019