Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - North Coast Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Melvich > North Coast Touring Park Reviews

North Coast Touring Park
Halladale Inn
Melvich
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 7YJ
Tel: 01641 531282
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 14
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skodie 15 reviews from this member

Used this site has a stop off on NC 500. Reasonable value for money. WE could see that a lot of improvements have been made and it is well equiped with EHU and hard standings for motorhomes. We were the only tents on site and had to pitch in the middle, reasonably flat but exposed, this site is more geared towards caravans and motorhomes.

Toilets block very dated and in urgent need of an upgrade. Hopefully this will happen soon

Pub was welcoming and food looked good.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jimagallan 11 reviews from this member

Great food at the restaurant, loads of development ongoing to provide new pitches with EHU. Excellent views. A Must see site. A gem in the making. A favourite of ours. On the north coast 500, 18 miles from Thurso.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Calam45 3 reviews from this member

Warm welcome from the owners, who have the pub next door. Facilities clean and warm, with a laundry and room to do your washing up. We were doing the North Coast 500 and found this a much better place to stay than in Bettyhill. Name changed by new owners to North Coast Touring Park, they have pods to stay in too.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonjacq 3 reviews from this member

Great wee stopover site, friendly helpful staff in bar, toilets/showers clean, laundry room was good. Definitely be back

Not ideal for young kids as close to road. Maybe a swing or something would be good

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meskie 1 review from this member

I have used this site many times whilst touring Scotland on my Goldwing motorcycle. Not a lot of places along the top of Scotland to camp. After leaving Blair Athol on route to John o Groats then Ullapool this site cannot be missed at Melvich. Ideal for bikers with tents, Showers, toilets ok Washer and dryer on site to. Ian the owner you cannot miss ex biker stands 6 - 8 tall he owns the pub as well. Food is good and is well worth it cosy warm bar area. Electric hook up cheap if reqd. Ian will do his best to help with any problems you may have ?from here to Durness and Ullapool is a must if you have come this far North

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RoyVaux 45 reviews from this member

Whilst it is true that this roadside site is basically a pub car park, with pitches being far too close together, the choice of sites on the remote north coast road in Scotland is almost nil. There is, however, very little disturbance from the road. Ignoring the poorly reviewed site at Bettyhill, the next one is at Durness.

Dispite being almost full, the owner fitted us in on a level pitch where we could keep the wheels off the wet grass. The toilet/shower block was clean and tidy, if a bit tired, but the water/disposal area was, however, very untidy and a drain looked as if it had been blocked for some time.

The free laundry was a useful bonus, as was having an on site pub serving wholesome pub food.

Due to the cramped site we can only recommend as a passing through stop off.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AdvSplash 1 review from this member

Wow, after planning on staying at Stormaview campsite, which I didn't take the fancy to, I continued on my motorcycle journey and came across Halladale - THANK GOD I did!

I was 19 at the time (Oct 2012) and it was my first motorcycle trip solo and felt a bit nervous to be fair, on entering the pub to pay, the Guy behind the bar (Owner) was most welcoming and did not discriminate like some do as I was a 'biker' paid my fee 5. 00 for my tent and pitched up, showers were a welcome sight as I hadn't stayed at a campsite for 3 days so needed a freshen up, oh and the showers were VERY clean and FREE. I would have paid double to sleep here but it's great it's only 5. 00 and hope it stays at that cost!

I was awake most of the night because of the sheep, that's no bad point though, I chose to sleep next to the fence! :) Didn't bother me either!

I plan to go back this year in May 2013, I will try the food to now I know they have a pub also!

Great place, remote and ideal, it may be on a road, but I can't remember even hearing a car!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lils 2 reviews from this member

Found this site after stopping at then rejecting 2 others on the way towards John O'Groats.

Small site with only a few pitches but reasonably level and toilet block clean and serviceable.

The owners also run the pub which was very pleasant and allows dogs on a lead inside. Didn't have a meal as we had already eaten, but did order a portion of hot chocolate fudge cake which was delicious.

Walked to the beach from the site which was sand and the climb down was a little scary as the sand slipped under my feet with each step, but that was nothing compared to trying to climb back up! For every step I seemed to slide back a foot towards the beach again!

The beach was pretty clean, just fishing rope scraps and other washed-up debris and there were only 4 other people on the whole beach when we arrived.

Didn't try the showers, but they were free to use and despite being on a main road, it hardly counts as a main road and there was almost no traffic at night.

Paid 15 per night for the van, which seemed to be regardless of the number of people or whether you had electric.

Perfectly pleasant in all, and a welcome relief as campsites are few and far between up here!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Crapple 30 reviews from this member

Thank goodness this site is good because there don't appear to be any other sites as alternatives, this site is on the one road that goes right across the very top of Scotland - it's very remote!

We stayed here for one night while driving across the very north of Scotland - the site has electric hook up and toilets and shower accessed with a key. Our pitch was on gravel and was good and level.There's no motor home service point but we wouldn't expect anything like that on a small site like this one. They advertise a laundry on site but unfortunately that was out of action when we were there due to a leak. We ate in the pub, really good food and friendly owners. Although the site is next to the road, we weren't disturbed by traffic noise at night as it's a really quiet road, despite being an A road and the only road in the area!I We have dogs and there was nowhere to let the dogs off leads but as we arrived at 6 pm and left again the next morning this didn't matter to us.

I can't comment on local attractions or the beach that has been mentioned before as we were only at this site overnight while passing through, it served our purpose perfectly for what we wanted from it.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snaprails 13 reviews from this member

You know when you find a place to stay where you don't feel like a tourist? This is one of those places. A small site in excellent location on north coast, owned by the eponymous pub adjacent which is effectively the site reception. Facilities are small but adequate for the size of the site, well maintained & cleaned. Pub is visitor & dog friendly and does a really excellent steak! There is a beach about 5-10 minutes walk away which I reckon you'd have a better than average chance of having to yourself even in summer and Melvich village a bit further on. Recommended.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3818 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019