Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Bryncarnedd Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Bryncarnedd Caravan Park Reviews

Bryncarnedd Caravan Park
Clarach Road
Aberystwyth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY23 3DG
Tel: 01970 612444
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 3/10 from 8 Reviews
                3/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Yamaha0012 1 review from this member

 Campsite is not good for familyís really, facilities are extremely poor and not maintained, toilets and showers disgusting and donít work,

Site is probably ok if your looking for a one night stay as a group of friends,

Price to pitch is cheap but reflects the places defects,

In need massive improvements. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Windrush2 12 reviews from this member

 Sadly this is a site that has seen better days. Whilst the location is quite nice and the site is quite sheltered, the facilities are poor. Sinks, toilets and showers didn't look like they had been cleaned for a while and were in dire need of fixing, or better still replacing.

With no air extraction, water vapour has lead to paint peeling off the ceiling. On top of that half the block didn't work (one of the two showers had been completely gutted, whilst the cubicle had been left there gathering dirt and insects/arachnids.

The site appears to be unmanned (though is visited throughout the day by either the land owners or people associated with them) and you will probably have to call a number given at the entrance to pay/find a pitch.

In general the whole place is just run down and messy, and not really worth the price. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lorna Jarvis 3 reviews from this member

 I booked 3 nights on this site by phone and was charged £20 per night which I paid by card over the phone. What a mistake!

We arrived the following afternoon to be greeted at the gate by heaps of rubbish around the bins. I would have gone no further if I had not already paid. We did not know where to park the campervan and there was no sign of an office or staff so we pulled up between two caravans which were not occupied.

The toilet block was filthy and very run down and was not cleaned during the three days we spent there. The lighting was so dim it was hard to see. The same cigarette end was on the floor of one of the toilets throughout. Having ascertained how to operate the shower, I found no lock on the door and a filthy shower tray, covered in hairs.

The male toilet block was worse according to my husband (who is not normally very fussy). The whole experience was unpleasant and unhygienic.

Unless you have very low standards I would certainly not recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neilandlesley 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night as a stop over while touring Wales - NEVER AGAIN ! The only thing going for it is that it is open all year. The male showers were 'out of order' but when you saw the state of them you would not use them anyway.

The male and female toilets are falling down, mouldy, smelly and disgusting. Old mould covered caravans left all round the site that look like they have been left there unused for years.

A guy told us that the site was an old site that the current owner inherited when they bought the farmhouse and cottages next door and they have no interest in it at all. This is very believable and we can only assume they want it closed to build on the land.

The site fees were being collected by two guys walking round giving out hand written pieces of paper with £15 written on - no idea if they were anything to do with the site at all but as there is no working reception it sort of summed the place up. Our rating for this site is only because you can not leave O as a score. 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nerolab 2 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as our friends were spending new year in the adjacent cottages which were very nice. The site was sadly not maintained to the same standards! A large number of tatty vans were strewn around the poorly drained and muddy field; our vehicle became stuck immediately and the friendly caretaker had to position our van with his 4x4. Our van is almost a year old now and luckily has shower/wc as the toilet blocks were poorly maintained with no toilet paper. The waste disposal point was hidden behind the gas store over a grassy area and consisted of a manhole cover with no string to lift it. Apart from its proximity to our friends I can't think of any redeeming features of the site and we would've turned around had we not been meeting up with them. I'm sure in the summer with your own self contained facilities it may look different but it's far from the usual standard we would expect for £15 per night. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Iandy83 9 reviews from this member

 I won't have a bad word said against this site as they got me out of a major problem. I had booked with a site closer to the town, had told them that we were a football team playing a cup match a needed a one night stay. When we arrived to pitch up, we were told no single sex groups anywhere in Aber.

To their credit they had hired a local 16 yr old lad who told us about bryncarnedd and at the last minute Paula saved our trip.

It is incredibly laid back, I wouldn't suggest it for a week-long stay as to be fair Aberystwyth doesn't have as much going for it. If your looking for a place to lay your head for a couple of days whilst touring the town, or local area (Ynyslas Beach is top quality) it's perfect and very cost effective.

Everyone is friendly and helpful, It's not top-of-the-range and doesn't pretend to be. It has the basic amenities you need, you won't be staying on site all day, but in reality who does?

It's a short walk to the Town Centre, but it is down a hill, so be prepared for the walk back up. Plenty of places to eat and drink in the town, but its not exactly a cultural heritage site. Devil's bridge and Borth are probably the places you'll go for that. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aitheras 1 review from this member

 Me and a friend stayed here for 3 nights during a short visit to friends at the nearby university. The charge was an acceptable £6 per night for each of us.

The toilet block is not what I would call clean or well maintained, the showers (or at least the one that worked in the gents area) require further payment in the form of pre-paid electricity cards available from the site office, a single card gives plenty of time for a shower (if you're fast you can get 2 people showered with one card).

I have no children but for the thoroughness of this review I should add that I did not see a children's play area on site or anywhere really suitable for children to play.

A short (little over a mile) walk takes you right into the town centre with plenty of bars (should that be your thing)and some shops, nothing worth writing home about but there are some hidden gems in the side streets.

Worth noting is that the walk from the park down to the main road has a national speed limit but has no footpath or lighting so some heart-stopping moments when cars come round the blind bends.

Also worth noting, most parks in the area will not take parties of all male or all female, however this park does. Excessive noise is not tolerated, though you are given ample warning to keep it to a minimum as we found out on our first night.

On the whole I was very disappointed with Bryncarnedd, the lack of facilities, but if you just want an easy, no-fuss place to pitch up your tent for an odd night then it's more than adequate. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Theclampits 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here as we were attending a wedding in nearby Borth.

The site is owned by a nearby hotel but run by managers who live onsite - Paula being the main point of call.

The ethos of the site is relaxed and friendly and when taking a caravan works out at just £15 per van no matter who is occupying it (inc EHU)

The toilets were generally clean but sometimes lacking in toilet tissue and the showers unfortunately were cold (luckily for us we were showering elsewhere) I think if you let Paula know she will get hot water going.

Some nice views from the site and very quiet - the first night we were there we made a bit too much noise and was soon told off - but after apologising was told not to worry too much as long as we kept it down.

We were allowed to checkout whenever we felt like it on Sunday (a huge bonus after a big wedding do)

On the whole I would say if you want a bit of informal relaxation it is great.

Very helpful staff and nothing was too much trouble - especially if you stopped for a chat - Paula does like to chat

Site is a bit rough around the edges but ok for a group gathering like ours - we were allowed to take up as much room as we wanted.

There are quite a few scruffy looking seasonal tourers and statics so if you want pristine camping/caravaning it's not the place to go - but for basic's it's fine.

Nothing else on site apart from toilet block. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bryncarnedd Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bryncarnedd Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bryncarnedd Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aberystwyth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6639 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements