Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Parkgate Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Holmrook > Parkgate Holidays Reviews

Parkgate Holidays
Irton
Holmrook
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1YN
Tel: 019467 24640
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Statics only
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 256 reviews from this member

 We booked two nights here to walk Scafell and the local mountains and for the price, this is definitely somewhere I will come back to.

The static was modern, well presented and with stunning views from the balcony area.

It had everything you needed from kitchen utensils, to bed sheets, to outside tables and chairs, we wanted for nothing.

The location is wonderful with walking in abundance in the area and some of the greatest mountains in the UK right on the doorstep.

Shops are not nearby, so make sure you bring everything with you.

The only thing I would suggest is that they either keep the black lab on a lead, or stop him from wandering freely around the site upsetting guests dogs, or simply put gates on the verandas to stop the dog simply walking up and onto our balcony and into our static.

That aside it was great watching the donkeys and relaxing with the great view. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jam n lou 1 review from this member

 First review on here after lots of visits to the lakes, really impressed with this site, real old skool campsite,

The toilet and shower facilities are quite wacky ( converted static caravan)

It is well away from the tourist hotspots, a good pub nearby, about 45mins on foot.

The owner is brilliant with logs for sale, we have decided to definitely return later in the year. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Mhcl1970 1 review from this member

 Have spent several family holidays in tent and in one of the static caravan on this site its an amazing, relaxing and peaceful. I wont go anywhere else when I visit the lake district, the owner always goes out of his way to help with anything needed. I love the atmosphere being on a farm. Its a brilliant place for kids as there is plenty of space. Caravans are well equipped only needed to take clothes 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Briem 1 review from this member

 Myself, husband and dog have just returned from a 3 night stay at this site (August Bank Holiday) and I think it is the only time I have not wanted to leave a place. Beautiful views, a laid back atmosphere, and a couple who were helping the owner (sorry I've forgotten your names) couldn't have done more to accommodate you. It was our first time camping (with our dog Jazz) so we were a little apprehensive but she absolutely loved it.

The weather was perfect but it was lovely to have a camp fire at night when things cooled down a little. It is basic camping but then isn't that what camping is all about (real camping). This is one site, one week-end and one view that will remain in my heart forever. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Garrygee 1 review from this member

 Myself, partner and 3 boys stayed here in mid August 2012 for a long weekend. The typical summer we were having meant pitching in a downpour that Friday evening only to find horror of horrors. No tent pegs! The farm owner had just lost his wife the previous week & handed over control of the campsite to a young couple from Manchester who were staying on site & taking care of the day to day running for him. They were great- they searched high and low and within 10 minutes had brought us back enough pegs to pitch- truly a couple of lifesavers & even helped us pitch in the pouring rain!

This is, as many have said, a back to basics site- but there was a sense of intimacy with the surroundings that you don't find at most commercialised sites- plus you don't get the truly outstanding view! Pitches were basically where you wanted- the site is on several levels, so pick your spot! Campfires were allowed with logs supplied from the owner with a car wheel rim on legs to get going! Cooking marshmallows with the kids as the sun went down behind you- simple tranquillity!

Loved the place for its simplicity & the friendliness. Happy memories all round if you enjoy the simple things! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

 Only just got round to reviewing this great little site. Been 3 times now & enjoyed every trip. Great walking from the site & a couple of good pubs with food within 30mins walk. Great having a campfire too with logs brought to your tent at a very reasonable price. Peter & Caroline are very friendly & helpful. The site was actually closed last November when we rang but they opened up for us & lit the boiler in the shower. It would have been easy for them to turn us away.

This is proper camping with just the basics in a beautiful quiet part of the Lakes - don't tell too many people. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sammons 3 reviews from this member

 Best camp site I've visited in years. 3 nights over Easter. The site charged us 15 per night for a 4 person tent, car, trailer and family of four. Most reasonable rates we could find in Cumbria. Site has 3 loos - one 'with a view', a residential caravan is on site which has a loo, shower room with a combi heater, so hot water was always available at no extra charge. Site is on multiple levels, so you will generally find a piece of flattish land with a degree of privacy even if the site is busy.

The owner uses his quad to provide a portable camp fire (half oil drum) and will supply wood at a reasonable rate, or you may bring your own. For us the site had everything we could need, it was quiet and had fantastic views over Muncaster fell and out toward the sea. No crowds, no marked out pitches, easy going and comfortable atmosphere. We toasted marshmallows over an open fire, slept well and woke to fantastic views. The site owner is a lovely man, great to chat with and full of interesting farming tales. We will return as soon as we can.

My rating is based on what me and my family want from a site - basic and comfortable. Easy access to West Cumbria and walking distance to Lal Ratty! This site is a well kept secret, so don't tell too many people! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KEANO12 1 review from this member

 I stayed at this site for two nights 9th &10th July the owners are lovely and very helpful.

The site is basic but it has all what is needed clean toilets and plenty of hot water. I can not believe is not used more as the views are second to none and 1 mile to the nearest pub.

The farmer sells fire wood and dogs are allowed which are a must as we are a family of four with twins age 8 and love to spend time out doors with our border collie .

I will be going back soon. Pete thanks for a fantastic weekend 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Techworm 1 review from this member

 I remember the first time my father took me camping.

It was to a site like this and it brings back fond memories.

My two young daughters and I visited at the end of July.

The farmer and his wife, Peter and Caroline, made us most welcome and we would recommend this site to anyone wanting to get away from the bustling camp sites further up the valley.

The pitching field is flat and seems to drain well.

You are allowed camp fires and wood is available from the farm.

There are two toilets and a shower with plenty of hot water.

These are kept clean and are perfectbly acceptable.

It could benefit from a washing up area and Peter is looking into sorting this out.

There are glorious vistas of the lakeland fells which made eating our outdoor breakfasts even better.

Eating out in pubs in the area ; we would recommend the King George IV.

When my van failed to start one morning, Peter assisted me in getting it going again and both he and his wife seem genuinely kindly people.

My daughters did not want to leave and we made a promise to ourselves to visit this site again before the end of the season.

If your in the area give this site a visit, you won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris Anderson 1 review from this member

 A basic yet fabulous site. Peter and Caroline were very friendly and accommodating. They will deliver fire logs to your tent door!

The views are great and open-fires are allowed which means we had some wonderfully relaxing evenings.

It is a fairly quiet, low key site which suited us perfectly.

Nearby is some of the best scenery in the land with opportunities to be as adventurous or as easy going as you like.

The two nearest pubs are a lengthy walk away but we didn't actually use them.

There is a good general store a mile or so away. All in all, excellent for no thrills, cheap, beautiful camping.  


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Parkgate Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Parkgate Holidays?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Parkgate Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holmrook      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4759 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement