Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Burg Lahneck

Campsite Search > Europe > Germany > Lahnsteing > Camping Burg Lahneck Reviews

Camping Burg Lahneck
Burg Lahneck
56112
Lahnsteing
Germany   (Browse area)

Tel: +49 02621 2765
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: 31/03 To 01/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikey951r 15 reviews from this member

The views from this site are stunning. We were given a pitch overlooking the Rhine Valley several hundred metres below and spent two nights watching the boats going up and down the Rhine from our window. The facilities are very clean and tidy and it costs 50 Cents for a shower of around 8 minutes. A footpath goes through the castle grounds and down a steep path to the town, which can be reached in about 15 minutes on foot. Both mornings my daughter and I walked in to town early and bought pastries from the bakery returning in time to get the others up. The owner is very strict on the rules and was straight out when I left the motorhome running for a few seconds unattended; however, that's what makes it nice and peaceful. We visited Marksburgh Castle about 4 miles away with 3 children on a family ticket for around 15 Euros and also visited Koblenz, which is about 10 miles North. In Koblenz we went up on the cable car for around 24 Euros, which included admission to the Fort. Both visits I thought were excellent value with a 17, 15 and 12 year old in tow and even they enjoyed them. The castle adjacent to the campsite was closed when we visited and there was no indication when it would open again. I heard from a fellow camper there had been a landslide and until the repairs were complete it was shut. I would estimate this is going to take some time; however Marksburgh Castle is only 4 miles away and more than compensates. The electric is metered so you don’t know how much it is until you’ve used it but we paid around 5 Euros for electric for two nights in August running a fridge and various lights, hairdryers and hair straighteners. This brought the total for two nights in August to 88 Euros.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ryandlo 7 reviews from this member

Lovely little site

Booked here last minute for 1 night when travelling from Black Forest to Holland. Booking was easy over the phone although the the man on the phone was a little grumpy. You can't arrive at any time at this site he was very strict on what time so it had to be after 3 and before 7 on a night otherwise your not getting in.

The site itself is only small but it's in a stunning location up on a hill over looking the Rhine and also a beautiful castle. Breathtaking and possibly one of the best sites for views we've stayed at.

There is a public pool next door with diving boards and slides and you get discounted entry from the shop on site. We went for a few hours and the lady didn't even charge us, we arrived about 1 parked the caravan outside the campsite and just spent the afternoon by the pool.

The shop sells basic items and you need to order bread and croissant before 6pm the day before.

The restaurants over looking the campsite was lovely we had a beautiful meal there although it's not that cheap.

The toilets and showers were fine, warm and nice and clean you have to pay 50 cents for about 5 mins in the shower. The electric is also metered and you pay at the end of your stay.

This site is a camping and caravan club site so you may be able to get it cheaper if your book in advance it costs us 36 euro for one night

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Earl34 4 reviews from this member

We spent 3 nights at this site with a wonderful view over the Rhine. Clean and tidy site with helpful English speaking staff. Order your rolls for morning collection, I can recommend the multi-grain. The access road is steep but once there we made good use of the excellent public transport system, the bus stop is a 5 min walk from the site. An alternative walk into the town is quick via the steep gradient that begins next to the castle.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Turner2 52 reviews from this member

Having just returned from spending 4 nights I can report a very good site in a splendid location overlooking the Rhine - very good pitches with superb views and with electric hook up but be aware electricity is metered and you have to pay at the end of your stay.

We managed to get out on the bus on a couple of occasions-the bus runs every hour to Koblenz and also into Lahnstein. Several shops in Lahnstein and also a good brewery with tours available. There is also a very large Superstore (GoBus) with very good eating opportunities.

The site is managed by Two Gentleman and although 'Old School' are very nice people and very helpful and also a nice lady helps in the small shop and orders the bread each day.

The toilet and showers are very clean and lots of hot water. Would recommended this site

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hwcamping 4 reviews from this member

We booked this site based on all the positive reviews on UKCampsite.co.uk

The owner doesn't really use email, so we could only book over the phone.

The site is in a wonderful position for views, but we get around using our bikes and leave our campervan on sites. But because of the steep hill on arrival (almost impossible to contemplate on a bike), we decided not to stay in the end.

We came back a couple of times for the children to use the pool next door which was wonderful, with a helter skelter slide and diving boards and small pools for toddlers.

This would be an ideal site, if you have a caravan and car and are prepared to jump in the car every day, or a camper van with a scooter.

Most alternative sites on the Rhine are affected by noise from the railways and roads that are both sides of the Rhine. If you want somewhere quieter and offering more traditional German villages, the the Mossel valley has quieter sites.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BOYOBAKER 9 reviews from this member

Excellent location overlooking the Rhine. Can be windy as high up. Some noise from trains - railways on both sides of Rhine. Caravan site in all respects i. E pitch toilets, restaurant, bar, shop, cdp, water, waste disposal etc excellent. Cost of electricity was 14 euros for 3 nights! and in good weather. No heating on. Whilst there is a passing bus service -a car is necessary to see everything. Weather in September was fabulous. Site Staff helpful, but strict and military bearing.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laura31 20 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site that I would highly recommend. It has the most fantastic views over the Rhine. All pitches have a good view, either of the Rhine or a view of the adjoining castle. We were fortunate to get a pitch with an fantastic unobstructed view of the town of Lahnstein and the Rhine.

There is a lovely fairytale castle on the hill on the opposite bank of the river that is lit up at night which is lovely. The pitches are large and well maintained.

As the previous review states you are given very precise instructions about how to pitch but they are not unpleasant about it just very organised. There is a small well equipped children's play area and a grassed area you can play sports on.

There is a shop which is pretty basic but does sell ice-cream a few essential and you can order fresh bread which is delivered each morning.

The shower and toilet block is very clean and well maintained. There are separate blocks for men and women, and unlike many French sites you will find both loo seats and loo roll. The 50 cents for a shower is a bit of a pain. You have to find a cubicle then come out and put the money in. But you get 8 minutes which is enough.

Right next to the site is a large excellent outside municipal swimming pool, you can buy reduced price tickets on the site. The pool also has a nice restaurant which does Bulgarian food. We tried it and the food was excellent with an interesting menu. The outside terrace of the restaurant overlooks the site.

Just two minutes walk away is the castle, Burgh Lahneck which you can take a guided tour of in high season and is worth a visit. The castle also has a restaurant with a terrace which enjoys great views over the Rhine.

You can walk down a path to the town which takes about 10-15 minutes, it is very steep and would not be suitable for anyone with walking difficulties or health problems there are also a number of steps. It is a 5 minute drive to town if preferred and there is ample parking next to the landing stages for the Rhine boats. We got a boat to Boppard and also to Koblenz which were really enjoyable trips out.

There is also a train station in Lahnstein. If you wish to cruise the whole of the romantic Rhine region you can get a train to Rudensheim then cruise back up to Lahnstein (it is too far to do in a day return by boat as it takes over 5 hours).

There is a huge supermarket in town (5-6 minute drive) where you can get pretty much anything. Overall this is an excellent site in a great location and I would definitely consider returning in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bryan79 8 reviews from this member

This site is on top of a hill, in the grounds of the castle, Burg Lahneck. It is extremely well kept, and has wonderful views over the Rhein. I was recommended the site by a colleague and was certainly not disappointed. The site is very efficiently run, when pitching up, we were told exactly where we should pitch our tent, which way the door should face and even where the electricity cable should be run, so this site would not appeal to those who are not happy to follow direction. The facilities are very clean, with showers costing 50 cents. As seems normal in Germany, the fee is calculated on car, pitch & people, with electricity being charged on meter. The owners speak English very well. From the site you can walk around the castle (which is open during the day), and down into the town of Lahnstein where you can pick up a Rhein cruise. I would recommend taking a trip down to Boppard. The site has a shop which is open in the morning, is next door to a swimming pool which you can get at a reduced rate. There is a restaurant at the castle.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Germany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4350 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019