Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Griffin Inn

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Wrexham > The Griffin Inn Reviews

The Griffin Inn
Trevalyn
Rossett
Wrexham
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL12 0ER
Tel: 01244 570515
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 EHU, 15 tents
Open: 28/05/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulyk13 4 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed another night camping at this great site. Since our 1st visit they have got the electrics sorted in the caravan section so we will have to take the caravan next time. The food is really good and they have a selection of real ales that change regularly. The landlord and the staff are really nice and the locals friendly. Motorcycles are welcome as the landlord also rides. The only downside is that they only serve food Thursday to Sunday.

We would definitely recommend this site! We havenít got children so can't really score the child friendliness although my brother reckons his daughter's would enjoy it. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site closed briefly during 2016 following a change of management, but is now reopen for camping and carvavanning. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Firstmarket 6 reviews from this member

 This site charged £23 per night with ECU.

Shared toilet facilities with a wet room and 2 toilets. They are on a passcode which he didn't give us as he left it open. I had a look inside and it was dirty - his comment 'could do with a mop'. When we came to try to enter the door was locked. Luckily we had our own facilities. However, I would not have used the wet room my wife refused to use the facilities at all.

No Free WiFi Grass very long and area dilapidated. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Motorcamper 5 reviews from this member

 Was going to stay on this site on 21/8/15 for two nights, when we arrived changed to one night. What a let down for £23 per night for a cl site. Place was neglected and run down. Only stayed because we had arranged a meal in the pub for the family, that was a little pricey but ok. Now back to the site, litter all over the place bins had not been emptied, grass had not been cut, and as for the toilet/shower block, it was dirty damp at all times, the skirting boards in the shower had fallen off. Oh and if you park at the top of the site you will need another cable, because you are too far from the hookups, then cars will drive over your cable. No facilities for children, some shops in the village about a mile back on the main road, bigger shops ect about 6 mile away in Wrexham and Chester. Oh and it is cash only No cards. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weefieryscot 2 reviews from this member

 Loved it. Small and personal. Hook up, water etc. Wet room, toilet etc. Just great. Lovely and peaceful. Paul and Amanda are so friendly and helpful. Had a beautiful home cooked meal at a very reasonable price. Totally delicious. Stopped here on our way to South Wales and will definitely be back. Thank you so much. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Quixall 12 reviews from this member

 A very warm welcome from Paul & Amanda, nothing is too much trouble. Toilets & showers very good, access via a key code, well looked after & clean.

Food is delicious & reasonably priced, the Sunday carvery is outstanding.

Locals are very friendly & make you feel at home.

This is one of our favourite sites & we return time & time again. Hope this review means they've still got room for us! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Delboya 11 reviews from this member

 Cracking little site, reasonably well kept. Camping field was very overgrown, but was mown while we were there. Facilities ((one toilet plus one toilet and shower in a bathroom) were adequate - and enough for the five 'vans that were there. I guess there would be more issues if there were a lot of campers as well.

Under new management since sometime in March - new people seem very nice and friendly, and seem to be continuing with the same policies as the previous people. Ale at the pub was good, and food, whilst a limited choice, was OK. Especially liked their 'nibbles' starters.

We will definitely return if we go back to that area.

Del 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Scud4984 6 reviews from this member

 Decided to go local and saw this site under 10 miles from home and thought we`d give it a go. It's a lovely little site for a weekends break. Amenities are perfectly ok, 2 toilets and 1 shower in a unisex type of environment, Also free use of a freezer and sink for washing dishes. The EHU point is centrally located and as such they do supply cables to plug into to help with the distance to the pitches, this also lets the site owners cables get driven over and not your own. The pub is a cracking little old fashioned country pub with great food and two lovely roaring fires.

Cant fault it really

I've put N/A for child friendly, as its just a field really, nothing for kids to do. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Queen Vic 2 reviews from this member

 This site is situated on the B5102 Rossett Road but for some reason sat nav and google maps direct you off the A483 via a single lane country road (Darland Lane). It is a shortcut I suppose, but awkward for motorhomes and caravans and impossible if there is a vehicle coming the other way.

The site is very well maintained, really nice toilets and showers, secured with a digital lock. The pub is lovely - two roaring fires, excellent food freshly cooked. Friendly and welcoming.

I was under the impression there was no EHU for tents but the only other tent in the camping field was hooked up. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SafariChris 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here 3rd weekend of July in small tent. The site is easy to find, mid-way between Wrexham and Chester either of which offers plenty of days out and activities, although be warned, parking in Chester is NOT cheap ! £4 for 2 hours parking !

The camping field is neat, flat and spacious and even though the owners said it was full on the Saturday night there was plenty of room, the smaller caravan field was very nice indeed and had electric points aplenty. Although the road runs right alongside the tent field it wasn't too noisy apart from the silage tractors early in the morning and that wouldn't be year round.

Damage for 2 adults in a 3 man tent over 2 nights was £16, so works out at £4 per night per adult, excellent value for money.

The washrooms were tidy and had a freezer for campers use, a potwash sink, 2 loos, one shower and a sink/vanity unit. Never had a problem with queueing and lots of hot water (free)

The pub itself is run by very pleasant owners and the food was excellent, the beer a little pricey but well kept.

Great little site, well run and centrally located for activities, thumbs up ! 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Griffin Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Griffin Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Griffin Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wrexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wrexham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4193 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement