Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Atlantic Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Atlantic Camping Reviews

Atlantic Camping
Atlantic Farm
Atlantic Highway
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 8LY
Tel: 01288 355288
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 26 with hook-up, 30+ without hook-up
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alasda 1 review from this member

 Great camp site with a relaxed atmosphere.

Plenty of room to distance if required with lots to see and do.

Toilets and showers were always clean.

Will be returning for sure. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Boldie42 17 reviews from this member

 This campsite has good access from the A39, the site has that cornish feel to it with palm trees and good size pitches all with electric, lots of tents and kids playing but all respected noise levels after 10pm.

As in other reviews only thing that lets this site down is the showers and toilets, I found it best going for a shower late afternoon as in the morning they were cold if the site is full, also the drainage in the showers is very slow.

We would return if there was a better shower block. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: John2119 1 review from this member

 Good - Convenient location. Friendly staff. Quiet after 10pm.

Bad - this is NOT a spacious campsite (despite other comments) - tent pitches were big enough to get your tent up and park your car next to it - the next pitch and their vehicle / tent would be within 2 or 3 metres of you which as the best of times isn't very nice. There appeared to be little or no efforts for additional social distancing as all the pitches seemed to be in full use. I guess are too attractive to turn away people.

Toilets and shower facilities are quite basic and very few of them - seemed to be 2 of each on the main camping area and the same again at the site entrance. So 4 toilets and 4 showers for the whole campsite male and female ? Expect to queue to use them.

Just based on the cramped pitches - especially in a COVID-19 pandemic and limited facilities I probably wouldn't come here again or recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Max111 1 review from this member

 Facilities at this site are atrocious. Showers are basic with tepid water that runs out if others are using it. Washing up facilities are not covered so unpleasant when it rained. Too few toilets when busy and no toilet paper that I found and area is badly lit.

Customer service is awful. The campsite owner is rude and aggressive. Worst campsite I have used. Shame as Bude is only 20 mins drive away. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Squilly 7 reviews from this member

 We booked a bell tent for three nights at 150 but found the one toilet for 6 family tents did not have hot water in the sink and the shower went completely off when the washup sink was used.

It was all off one gas canister and in a field quite a distance from the bell tent, with rusty old caravans in.

We asked to stay one night instead of three and the owners daughter said she had to check with her dad who was really angry and quite scary.

We were very glad to leave and don't want any one else to feel intimidated or threatened by this bonkers owner who provides shoddy facilities. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tannersjje 1 review from this member

 Just returned after spending 5 nights over the bank holiday. Found site easy from the directions that were given to us & as we were given our pitch number we were able to go straight to it. Pitch was slightly sloping but we managed to level ourselves out!

The site was very busy over the weekend & was a bit worried about the amount of toilets/showers on site. No need to worry though as we never had to wait once the whole time we were there. Both the toilets & showers, although basic were always clean.

The walk into Bude takes about 20 minutes & the directions we were given by the friendly staff were easy to follow.

This is a basic site, but we had a lovely 5 relaxing days here & will return again if in the area.

The only negatives about it is that there was no drain to dump the grey waste from our onboard tank. However, we were told you can empty it down the toilet waste!

Also, the farm dog was allowed to wander around the site, which was fine until it did a poo on our pitch! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Nellies 1 review from this member

 After reading reviews on this site we were wary of going! Especially once we have received the email from the site (only a few days before due to arrive) advising us about the fine for non-breathable groundsheets and the need to take your own toilet roll! But after a phone call we agreed to lift our groundsheet daily when we went out to let the ground breath and not get fined. It was a bit of a pain but it was a compromise.

SO. Off we went! And I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The site was quiet, and friendly. The kids loved the playground, which was very close to the camping field. They also loved the shell craft workshop which for 7 each kept them entertained for an hour one damp afternoon. At night we saw the milk-way and during the day often we just chilled on site.

The facilities are basic, but from a scout leader, they are much better than scout camps! every day I had a hot shower and only once had to wait. And that was on a sunny evening when most people had been to the beach and wanted to wash down.

As far as the cleanliness of the facilities. They were spotless! Every morning a warden came round with a jet wash and washed the whole set of cubicles down which left everything looking and smelling very clean.

Bude is a half hour walk away (a bit longer with little legs!) and its a lovely town with 2 beaches. There are quieter beaches within 5 miles north or south which I would definitely recommend. It did get very busy (summer hols!) but this just meant that some days we only left the site at 3pm, as driving into Bude early on a sunny day is bedlam! There is a big Morrisons very close for shopping. The site shop had bits and pieces but didn't stock much.

Overall we were happy with the site, it did us fine for our first visit to Cornwall 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrandMrsP 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a two night stay.

Having read the reviews we were prepared for a basic site but even so!

Arrived and tried to find camping field - the grass was so long at the entrance that the sign was hidden. On arrival at camping field all pitches are steep and grass very long. Wasn't ideal - particularly this morning in the rain. One short trip to the toilet block and shoes ended up soaked through.

Showers basic - didn't mind 'tin roof and cobbled together from stuff from the farm' feel, but wasn't impressed with no drainage and standing in half a foot of water from my shower whilst trying to shower and dry self and a rowdy 3 year old while water floods out to the ante-shower area that is supposed to be dry!

Washing up facilities adequate, used the undercover one and there was plenty of hot water.

First night there was us, 3 other tents and 2 resident caravans (apparently staff). Second night about 4 touring caravans arrived. Despite this, facilities were never cleaned once. Don't think they've been cleaned all year. There is a new toilet block half way up the field (new for this year) we had to ask for the water to be switched on so the toilet would flush but they wouldn't turn on the water to the showers. Despite being new, this wasn't clean either. Several months of dead insect life in the hand basin.

Kids play area was decent enough and seeing the chickens, donkey and sheep took up an interesting 10 mins, but even my animal keen 3 year old didn't want to bother with a second viewing.

Got the distinct feeling that the guests in the surf pods and cottages had a very different experience.

Location was ideal for visiting Bude which is approx 5 minute drive, but downside is A39 runs along the top of the camping fields so traffic noise all night. Lidl and Morrisions about 3 minute drive.

All in all, won't be rushing back! 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Japagow 1 review from this member

 Stayed last year in September. Ground was damp and there is a sloping gradient so I slid a bit.

I had a good rest. I was alone no one else was there. Facilities were good but basic. Line of toilet sheds. Washing sink showers. Clean. Everything worked ok.

The site is close to a coastal road so I could hear some traffic but only occasionally and it wasn't heavy.

Bude by bike is 10 minutes away. Down a hill which is not challenging but gears are useful. Bude has a Morrisons.

As the website says it's a proper camp site. Grass sun the wind sun mud if it's wet.

It's not a holiday park. Urgh and I hope to go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: G0fus 4 reviews from this member

 Having read some of the sites negative reviews here, it was with trepidation that we booked for a three day break on this site to visit Bude. Both of us have worked at camp sites in the UK and abroad as wardens and are used to the expectations and comments of clients, ranging from the sensible and practical to the unrealistic, and in a lot of cases, extremely unfair.

Expecting the worst, we found it easily, were impressed with the beautifully planted entrance drive to the site and nice welcome from the owner. Okay, for those of us who like to be pampered, you won't find that here. You won't have lots of pamphlets throughst into your hand and a 30 minute briefing of where everything is! Lets face it, you never remember half of it anyway, and the pamphlets end up not being read. We were left to find our own way to the non electric pitch, and once there found it to be really spacious, on a shallow slope. Lovely views of surrounding countryside, and a practical if very basic toilet and shower block. Tip for those who have reported negatively on having cold showers - they get cold because of safety electric cut outs when the pressure of water reduces, particularly in mornings where the main toilets and showers down hill are being used, leaving little to find its way uphill to the block serving the higher pitches. Not difficult to work out, if they don't heat up, go to the bottom block - simple. We weren't bothered by anyone, staff or otherwise - okay, as wardens ourselves we enjoy chatting to clients, giving them local information when requested, having a laugh, being seen around the site etc, BUT this site is extremely well priced, without bells and whistles, and offers basic, efficient amenities, provided you are not expecting hotel service, and can use your own eyes to locate facilities! Good atmosphere, met some lovely people there, and will definitely visit again, because we love Bude! 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Atlantic Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Atlantic Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Atlantic Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2602 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December