Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Bois De Saint Hilaire

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Chalandray > Camping Bois De Saint Hilaire Reviews

Camping Bois De Saint Hilaire
Route Da La Gare
Chalandray
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
86190
Tel: 0033 5 49 60 20 84
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 38
Open: 5th April To 30th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scottk46 6 reviews from this member

Quite an odd site and difficult to review.

Owners are British and very friendly. On site restaurant does chips every night or pizza on two when we were there. Been there for two years.

Grounds and facilities are rustic and traditional, small bar on site. Plenty of hot water and clean facilities in a what looks very ancient looking outdoor toilet and shower block. Showers in particular were excellent. Facilities look a little in disrepair (tennis courts etc) and the site is a little overgrown with vegetation.

Location was perfect for a mid France stopover but not quite sure if I would head back or not.

An interesting detour!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jane and Clive 1 review from this member

Generous pitches located in woodland, hence sun and shade. Good, clean washing and toilet facilities. Tennis court and outdoor pool if so inclined. Free WiFi a bonus. Peaceful and relaxing for useful stopover or your whole holiday. Plenty of quiet, easy cycling. Helpful friendly new owners. Wish them success. Go and support them, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FStuart 1 review from this member

Such a great setting for a campsite with a perfect mix of sun and shade, the tent never got too hot, and we had lots of ideal hammock posts. We found it very relaxing, especially being able to chill at the pool after spending time out and about, or just being able to wander round the extensive woodland the campsite is set in as the kids loved doing nature hunts.

As every pitch has electric hookups we were able to use a fridge which helped keep the beer nice and cool. Drinking water was available in several parts of the site, including the toilet block which also contained the showers, washrooms, sinks and disabled facilities. There are also tennis courts, mini golf, a games room with table football, table tennis and a TV. The kids also loved the play area and play house.

The hosts were very welcoming and helpful, and as the new owners we wish them every success with their plans to renovate the areas looking a bit tired, as well as further improvements. We look forward to seeing the changes in future visits.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oxter 67 reviews from this member

This must be one of the most relaxing places to stay in France. We love the rustic natural atmosphere of the site. Spotless facilities and the incredible power of the showers stings the skin if turned on too high - a pleasant change from the push button trickle experienced on some other sites. Very warm welcome from Monica and Peter and most helpful with information on the area. The large pitches are great and the sun gets through the mature trees and so does the sky tv signal if you persevere with the dish. Lovely pool. Very quiet at the end of August. ACSI Card accepted. Very reasonable site fees. All in all, a very suitable, good value, no nonsense site. Baker down the road is excellent and sells wine and lovely home made pizza type pies. Also Spar next door and Carrefour within 5 mls (open Sunday morning too). One of the best sites around. Eddie & Liz

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vjfoley 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for 4 days here in August.

This a former woodlands area which has been partially cleared to layout pitches. Some of the ligther branches from felled trees were used to divide out the pitches. This looks a bit unsightly but that is the only slightly negative thing I can say about the site.

The pitches are very spacious and the ground easy to drive pegs. Full and partial shade pitches are available.

The kids loved the pool which was warm (25 deg c) despite the prevailing dull weather. It never got too busy and is spotlessly clean.

The games room has the usual fooz ball table tennis etc. British TV is available to watch here.

There are tennis courts and mini golf also available with equipment available free of charge.

There is a nice level woodland walk around to the north of the site.

About 700m walk from the site there is a spar and a beautiful bakery.

The site is also extremely good value and easy to find (just off Poitiers to Parthenay Road)

Last word is for the management - they know their business and are extremely helpful, courteous and friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mildi 14 reviews from this member

Just stayed one night, free Wi-Fi and a good size pitch, The pool area looked very good but we didn't use it. Nice woodland setting but there was noise from a nearby factory. Owner very helpful in pointing out sunny pitch. Just a shame it looked a little run down but still good value for money. If you have a dog with you watch out for the ticks we had a major problem with them when walking around, but that's just nature.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yulies 1 review from this member

We booked this site as an initial overnight stay on our way down to Aquataine southern France. Very easy to find and convenient off the motorway very quiet peaceful location. (app 8 hrs from Calais)

Lovely woodland pitches and very spacious. If you want the morning sun Peter will assist to ensure your van is pointing in the right direction. Large outdoor pool with a sun terrace which benefits the sun all day and into the evening. The local village provides a Spar Bakery (which I'm told the cakes are of an excellent quality upset I never tried but will when we return and treat the owners) and nearby villages includes restaurants.

In both directions are Hypermarkets with all essentials plus more.

Overall we could not fault the site and the owners well they were so friendly and helpful it is hard to find somewhere where you arrive as customers and leave as friends. Games room for the kids and felt very safe and secure. (The misfortune of our breakdown returned us to this site 2 days later. The owners accommodated last minute for an unexpected stay until we were flown home and to be honest we wished we'd booked this site for the whole 2 weeks!) which prompts our return hopefully 2012 if not definitely 2013. Other friends were made on site and our children have asked to return.

Top marks all round see you again soon (Oh and with a more reliable car!)

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FXY04 6 reviews from this member

Totally agree with Peachesandclive review. This is a great camp site for anyone who prefers to stay off the beaten track, yet still enjoy clean, quality facilities.

The woodland includes both a short level walk and a small mini-golf area. There are also two good tennis courts on site.

The pitches are much more generous than many, though for some you will need a long hook-up lead. There is good WiFi available, included in site fees, great for keeping in touch (and adding reviews :) )

The nearby village is not likely to win the prize for France's prettiest, but it does include bakery and grocers and there is a bus route passing through to both Parthenay and Poitiers. (See Poitou-Charentes website or www.Ter-sncf.Com)

From the camp site are easy cycle rides on quiet lanes. (We went to Thenezay and enjoyed a good fixed price menu lunch at Le Cheval Blanc).

There is a grain facility on the edge of the village, you can hear it from the site when the conveyors presumably are running, which isn't all the time or at night and it's not obtrusive.

There is a lot of bird-life to be observed on the site and in the surrounding woodlands and lanes.

Recommended without hesitation.

(GPS: N 46.6675, W 0.002. Height 150 metres)

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Darlin 9 reviews from this member

I was disappointed by this site although it does have potential. It is owned/run by a very nice couple and is a woodland with lots of shade. The pitches are very big but are nothing more than a clearance, overgrown and bordered by felled branches that gives an untidy appearance. Perhaps I should not expect too much for a woodland site but I could not sit outside due to the state of the ground and didn't bother erecting an awning as it would have been a waste of time.

There is a great games room and a huge swimming pool that is not heated. The toilet and wash facilities are adequate and there are two large Tennis Courts and a crazy golf course. All facilities are free to use and the equipment available from the reception.

The location is in the middle of nowhere and the nearest big town is Poitiers some 20km away. Very close to the site is a Bio fuels factory that emits night time noise that is unpleasant and has been the subject of public meetings and complaints in the nearby village.

Management response: The noise and smell from the Bio Diesel Plant has now been eradicated.

Chalandray is once again a quiet and peaceful village, as it was pre 2006 when the plant was built.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Peachesandclive 14 reviews from this member

This is a gem of a campsite which I can't recommend too highly. In a woodland setting with pitches of all sizes freely available. There is a nice swimming pool, a games room with UK channels (very useful for CBeebies on a rainy day!) and clean, well maintained sanitary facilities. The English owners are very friendly and welcoming. The location is very rural but the local village with a grocers and boulangerie is close enough to walk to.

We loved this site - as a family with young children it was ideal. It was like camping on a small site in the New Forest - minus the ponies, but plus the sun.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Chalandray      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5059 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019