Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of California Meadows Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Swanage > California Meadows Campsite Reviews

California Meadows Campsite
California Cottage
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 2RS
Tel: 01929 425049  or  07730 680579
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rudifa 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful time on California Campsite. It has a beautiful view over Swanage Bay and over meadows with horses and sheep, lots of wild flowers and different butterflies. Absolutely stunning.

The weather was great and we walked down into Swanage several times, although Karen, the owner, offered to take us down in her car on 3 separate occasions. That is what I call hospitality in top form. Taxies were very cheap too. Always under £5. - to get to the seafront or into town.

Swanage is a super relaxed holiday resort with lots of pubs and music events going on. It was truly a delight to be there.

We visit Swanage every year already for over 25 years and sometimes more than once. A great place to take your children and your dogs. Rudi and jill 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Lukere 1 review from this member

 Pros:

The Site was very clean - the toilet facilities were always stocked of essentials.

The camping plot allocated was well maintained.

Lovely walking locations close by - a really beautiful location.

Cons :

The Quarry in the next field start work approx 7am midweek - so you will be awake from then on as it is VERY noisy.

If you're intending on staying for a weekend then this shouldn't effect you. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rerelf 1 review from this member

 Campsite to ourselves which was lovely, kids loved the space!

Toilet facilities basic but clean with plenty of hand wash!

Ideal location for walking on coastal footpath and other Purbeck trails. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Simonl 1 review from this member

 Interesting site, drive through Swanage coastal park and continue on pot holed single track lane until it nearly ends, just before the quarry, and you have arrived at one of 2 small fields.

Karen the campsite manager has a plan for where you can camp, but is open to your preference, and changed easily for me. Nice walks to coast and town through nature reserve.

Booking payment in advance via PayPal (can pay to her mobile number listed or email once price is agreed)

Great basic campsite. Could be cheaper as it is basic. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Laurac 1 review from this member

 We liked that there was plenty of space,

Clean and well managed toilets,

Good location with easy access to coastal footpath.

The owner was friendly and helpful. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Claudi 1 review from this member

 Simple Field campsite with toilets and sinks, no shower facilities. Sometimes noises from working quarry nearby. Good point for day hikers. Great view over Swanage Bay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elizab 1 review from this member

 Lovely, basic campsite with perfect access to the Purbeck walks. Toilets were clean and always had paper, and having a fire pit is always a wonderful way to spend a bit of time in the evening before bed.

Karen is a lovely, approachable, friendly and helpful host

My dog and I had the exact adventure we were after, and will definitely be going back again.

The only thing I would change to make my score a perfect 10/10 would be a shower unit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Spanner150 5 reviews from this member

 I can’t believe this site charges money. It was not fit for purpose. Overgrown so much that it was halfway up the doorway of our tent! Facilities were poor.

No drains under taps so ground was soaking and, as others have said rutted and uncomfortable to camp on. I think they’re just trying to make money from a scrappy field.

Location is up a lane from a housing estate. Won’t return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Prentii 4 reviews from this member

 Difficult drive up a very narrow road and with few facilities, no electric hook ups. We only used the tap and didn't bother with loos etc.

Still a nice place to camp and easy access to coastal path.

Walking is best as you don't want to make too many trips up and down the lane! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matthew b 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from first May bank holiday weekend. We were a group of 7 families with lots of young kids between us.

Swanage is super and the area is lovely. We went mackerel fishing with Marsh's boats on the Sunday and caught 60 fish between 12. All good fun and highly recommended.

The site itself is quite small. We were in the field nearest the toilet block and our 7 tents and a camper van pretty much filled it. The field we drove through to get to our tents was a larger field that had been split by a temp fence with one half used by horses. Our own field had clearly been used by horses recently and in wet weather as the ground had been quite badly churned up making it difficult to pitch at the end nearest the house.

The toilet block was basic. 2 gents 3 ladies and 3 sinks. No soaps or towels no warm water. No shower. At least 1 toilet door (the one I used) would not shut properly. No electrical lighting.

Washing up facilities are basic with a sink in the field with a standpipe next to it.

You are close to the coast but you don't really know it unless you take a short walk to the cliff tops. Great if you are a walker but a shame we didn't have a sea view considering how close to the sea we were.

I didn't meet the owner as the trip was organised by another in our group but they were unobtrusive and didn't mind us using our fire pits into the small hours.

We all had a super time but if you want facilities this isnt the one for you. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is California Meadows Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to California Meadows Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is California Meadows Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swanage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3117 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement