Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rose And Crown Dougies Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Spalding > Rose And Crown Dougies Caravan And Camping Reviews

Rose And Crown Dougies Caravan And Camping
Low Road
Holbeach
Spalding
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
PE12 8JN
Tel: 01406 426085  or  07774 468582
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 100
Open: 20/03 To 20/02

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Alidpe13 1 review from this member

Very welcoming. Clean and basic. Flat pitches. We were a group of 23 adults. 6 children and 7 dogs. Pool on site. Great food in pub on site. Hot water in free showers. Had some noisy neighbours but the site were on that as quick as it took him to walk from the pub. Approx 1 min.

A few tweaks here and there and will be a very good site. It's not 5star. But not are the prices. I always say you get what you pay for but we got more and I was pleasantly surprised.

Will be returning
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adamcraigscott 40 reviews from this member

Visited this site over bank holiday unfortunately there was a lot of rain arrived Friday evening in the dark no lights on site made it a bit difficult to pitch up. We had visited this site a couple of years ago when the owners had just taken over. There is a slight improvement to the toilet and showers but everything looks unfinished The showers were nice and hot and powerful in nice cubicles. The site was very busy the toilets and showers got in a mess they needed cleaning more often. Only 4 showers for a very busy site was a bit grim. It was quite noisy

Plenty for children to do large play area and another new addition a small outdoor swimming pool. Large outdoor seating area to pub and great pub grub and take away Good beer pool table and amusement arcade all dog friendly.

Nothing in walking distance from site

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Missmally 27 reviews from this member

Stayed for 1 night to test out our newly acquired old motorhome. The site still looks 'under construction' with mounds of soil and unfinished tracks and when we arrived there was a huge pile of overflowing rubbish (we were there just after busy Easter period which may explain excessive rubbish).

We pitched on a large, flat field with plenty of EHU points. This may be a bit tricky in wet weather but fine for our night. We saw a water point with hose on the way to the toilets. The ladies toilets were very clean with plenty of loo paper although the taps were hard to push and only stayed on for a few seconds. There was also a laundry room and showers which we didn't use. The pub served pub grub at reasonable price and the staff were friendly, as were the locals. My OH was happy as they served 'decent beer'.

We enjoyed a pleasant night there and although it looks a bit ramshackle (we quite like that)I think once the improvements are completed it will look a lot smarter. It seems to be in a remote location with little in walking distance however we weren't there long enough to explore further afield.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Memoryremains 4 reviews from this member

Very basic site. The pub food was excellent and excellent value for money! Speaking to the owner whilst waiting for our food he told us that they had only been there for 2 years, which would explain why it looked like a building site in places.

The whole campsite is in the middle of being improved. The toilets and shower facilities are modern (apart from the gents as they aren't finished yet) and are very clean. My girlfriend said the showers were the best she had ever used. We will definitely go back to the campsite in the future, especially when the improvements have been finished.

Highly recommend this site to anyone looking for a cheap and quiet site for a weekend away.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andytay 1 review from this member

Just spent the bank holiday weekend here the toilet blocks were clean the staff friendly. The family fun day on the sunday was fun we had our three year old grandaughter with us she loved the bouncy castle, horse ride and play park already planning to return

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J quinn 7 reviews from this member

Stopped here for the first time not easy to find on the A17 to Kings Lynn look for a cafe on the left and turn left at the side of it then keep on that road. First the good part Doug and his wife makes you welcome. The pub cooks spot on food I can recommend it and drinks are a fair price. The down side they have made improvements to the shower block but only 3 showers for male and female so expect a wait and to my surprise a camper took his dog in the showers to wash the mud off it. The mens toilets are only two so again a long wait if the site is full. Some campers just scraped left over food on the floor near the outside wash basin great to invite vermin. A good idea would be to have a small shop in the camp because there is no shops nearby (Doug) you would make a good living on this idea.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shaung 10 reviews from this member

First impression was the site looked a bit tired, we were then informed the site is under new ownership and the new owner has started updating the roads and showers etc. The welcome was fantastic we were a large group consisting of 2 motor homes 2 touring vans and we hired 2 static caravans the site was superb, it was very relaxed, we had 5 dogs between us.

The site is very rural and peaceful, nearest shop is in Holbeach 4 miles away however the new owner is building a shop. The statics were exceptional value for money at £35 a night and the pitch with hook up was £12 per night. The pub was superb very friendly. We ate in the pub on two nights as a group of 17 and they could not do enough. Food was very good and home made( great pies and steak and kidney pudding) they also do take always and serve breakfast from 8am. Very reasonable prices, good facilities for the kids with a great play area and adjoining woods with tree swings. Lots of space on the site ( we played rounders most days and did not interim anyone).

This site is well worth a visit and will only continue to get better, the new owners is currently building new shower blocks, installing a new road system and making some big alterations to the pub.

We will return and we are all looking forward to it.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cycle man 3 reviews from this member

Firstly I can see the site is work in progress but there is no excuse for a dirty toilet block no hot water no soap no paper towels. The site appears to be a mainly accommodation for builders and the camping field lacked a water point, the nearest being near the toilet block. The food in the bar was very good as was the price of a pint. Only stayed one night and would not go back.

Management response: We wonder if this person reviewer stayed on another site! We had just opened a new ladies toilet block for May, and we also have 2 waterpoints. Toilet and showers are constantly checked - floors do get wet when a lot of people showering - and the toilet paper is checked several times a day. If you read our other reviews we feel these reflect the site more accurately.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adamcraigscott 40 reviews from this member

First what lovely people everyone so friendly the pub served great beer and good food. Brilliant bar staff, dog friendly. The site is a working progress want to say good things as they are working so hard but at the moment it is a bit like a building site and quite disorganised. The roads have now been laid, but the ladies toilet block was a disaster, loos blocked, no loo rolls, but they did have hot showers. Mens were better but stepping out of the shower you had your own pool.

There is a new block being assembled and a shop I believe in time this site could be great would love to return to see how it progresses. Nothing in walking distance but base for visiting coast and Spalding

Management response: We have now opened a new ladies toilet block for May 2016 so these issues have been resolved for future visitors.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Marklud 1 review from this member

Booked a weekend stay, excellent site, great value for money.

Kids and dog friendly. Food was great, we had evening meals and breakfast, good quality and a good price to match. Drinks at the bar are reasonably priced with a selection of real ale. Staff are exceptional and do their up most to please. The bar has a dining area, a pool bar and a lounge area. Would recommend anyone to pay this site a visit.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4868 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019