Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > March > Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery Reviews

Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery
Benwick Road
Doddington
March
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE15 0TY
Tel: 01354 740199
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 58
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 152 Reviews
                9/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madgeplus2 29 reviews from this member

 Very good site currently no shower facilities but otherwise works well.

On site cafe very good but keeps odd times, never know when open or not.

We were there during the hottest days of the year and shade was almost impossible to find, also there when the thunderstorms arrived!

Cannot comment on the fishing but seemed to be well used.

Lack of pavements make walking into the village dangerous but it can be done via the fields. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camperuk 1 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Well kept. Covid friendly.

Fishing was very good. Great location for getting out and about.

Stayed on fully serviced pitch

Would recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julesmalc 9 reviews from this member

 Firstly, let me say that we are not fishing people so this review will not be about that side of the site, but I believe it is quite good.

Upon arrival, we were greeted very pleasantly, and directed to our pitch in The Paddock. We were sited at the bottom of the small hill, near the amenities block. The toilets and showers were kept spotlessly clean during our 4 night stay.

All pitches have ample room between each other, and the whole site is kept beautifully.

The shop is mainly taken over to fishing equipment, but there is a reasonable selection of everyday produce. Upon request, there is a free map of three, different length, colour coded local walks to follow from the site. There is a cafe on site, we didn't use it so can't offer any comment. There is a small dog exercise field attached to the site, which our pooch really enjoyed.

There is a small downside at this time. That being, the building of the new fishing lake and development. The mechanical diggers were working nearly all day. Hand on heart, it didn't affect us in the slightest, but some people might find the hum slightly annoying. The building is due for completion at Easter 2020, so not long to wait.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here, and wouldn't hesitate to return in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bridget Clarke 12 reviews from this member

 What a delightful place to stay,

Well laid out large pitches,

Cafe on site plus a little shop in reception,

We will certainly be returning.

Great little dog exercise field. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Katebull 8 reviews from this member

 Just spent a lovely peaceful relaxing week at this site

Received a warm welcome on arrival with all site information given

Barrier card is £10 cash only which is refundable on return. Barrier card must be handed into reception by 11a. M. On day of departure due to reception closing times

Lovely large hard standing fully serviced pitch with plenty of space

Toilet and showers spotless and cleaned daily. Plenty of hot water and no dreaded push button

Only moan is. Nowhere to put shower gel/shampoo etc in the shower

Lovely little lakeside food cabin selling snacks drinks etc. We had the fish and chips and the steak dinner. And some fabulous sunsets

Colin and Barbara who run it are fabulous

Food can be delivered to your unit for a small charge

Lovely lakes if you like to fish. Can't comment anymore on this as my hubby isn't a fisherman

Nice dog area where you can. Let them. Of the lead

Plenty to do in the area. Ely cathedral is a must visit

Two pubs in the village both serving food and a small general store.

Special thanks to the duty warden who came to our rescue after the ehu tripped

Quickly sorted and repaired

Would we return. Yes 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sallyonedog 1 review from this member

 Nice tidy site with good sized pitches.

If you like fishing then this site is great.

Down side getting woken up at 7am by the day fishermen arriving.

Site facilities are ok. Staff efficient but not very chatty.

This site is for people that fish. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Keels 1 review from this member

 Beautiful peaceful site, clean and tidy and great for camping Doggies. Few things could do with improving though. There was only 1 bin available to use for general waste that we could find, even though we walked the whole site and their map said there were others.

Bumped into various other frustrated visitors walking the site trying to find one also. Also they clean the toilets/facilities between half 10 and half 11 which means nowhere to clean up after you've packed everything away ready to leave at 11am.

Not really thought through to ensure stayers leave happy. And finally, the worst part. Don't choose the hardstanding if you have anything to peg. Bought the best hardground pegs available and the virtual concrete floor destroyed all of them, as well as destroying the hammer in the process. Met others who struggled too.

Our "peg banging" arms are paying the price today and our wallets will be tomorrow, replacing the damaged stuff. Took us TOO much time to get it set up than it usually does, and even longer to take it down. Wish we'd had grass instead.

Fields End, If you are going to make extra charges for awning please at least give us ground we can put it up on! Ground was left with large pieces of broken concrete where the pegs were removed. Completely ridiculous expecting your average camper to be able to handle that.

Overall could be an excellent site if these things were improved. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The Duckies 41 reviews from this member

 What a lovely quiet site. Well played out site with a choice of different types of pitches. We had a gravel pitch.

Staff friendly. Toilet block always spotlessly clean and tidy.

Site clean and tidy. Hubby enjoyed the fishing lake. Well stocked shop on site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mahersat16 6 reviews from this member

 Pleasant camp site. We have just returned from a 3 night stay. Good facilities and nice fully serviced pitch. Disappointed that wi-fi was charged as an extra as the pitch fees weren't cheap.

The bus service was dismal, only a couple of buses a day into March or Wisbech. Unable to get to Peterborough as we had planned as the bus times did not allow and the train station in March was quite a distance from the town centre bus stops.

The on-site cafe was reasonably priced but did not open for breakfast until 10am, the bus left at 09:30!

We wouldn't return to this area as there are much nicer places to visit in the UK. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chelle stockdale 1 review from this member

 Went to fields end waters for long weekend 16th till 19th. Aug. Went to reception greeted by Michelle who was very helpful and told us everything we needed to know about the site and lodge ect very warm and friendly staff at the site cafe

We Stayed in rabbit barrow lodge. Was lovely took our 2 dogs had great time lodge clean and the bed was soooo comfy ️

The hotub was checked every day and was a great thing to have to relax

Itís so peaceful on this site with tourers as well very well laid out

The site is very clean no rubbish or dog muck anywhere very well cared for and responsible dog owners well done for adhering to the rules, there is a dedicated area for dogs to roam free which is brilliant idea and love the fact itís a adult only site.

The fishing lakes are well stocked and my hubby who is a keen carp fisherman caught well on the pit and canít wait to go back. The lakes are well looked after

The pool is on nice flat area and the pit is beautiful for sitting and relaxing by

Thereís a lovely cafe with really well presented and cooked food

The couple who run it are wonderful

Itís cash only so donít forget to take money as you donít want to miss out on going there

Highly recommend it

Thereís a chip shop in Doddington and a one stop convenience store there too, itís a few minutes away

We both canít wait to return

Well done and thank you to michelle and the couple who own the cafe very chatty and friendly, enjoyed talking to you all and hope to see you soon 
via mobile


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near March      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1305 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement