Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > March > Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery Reviews

Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery
Benwick Road
Doddington
March
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE15 0TY
Tel: 01354 740199
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 78
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 158 Reviews
                9/10 from 158 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  158 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sheila M29 1 review from this member

 We have been visiting this site for many years. We have never had a bad time since finding this tranquil site.

It is very good for fishing but you really need a car to travel to nearby places if you do not fish.

The team are very friendly and helpful and willing to chat and make you feel welcome.

The facilities are top notch and clean.

Can thoroughly recommend this site if you want to chill out doing nothing. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mick S. 33 reviews from this member

 Just returned from here, and will definitely return. We do not fish, but that's by the by. Just walking round the lakes is enjoyable. And have to say; if those fish have been caught once, they must have been caught umpteen times, they virtually threw themselves into the keep nets!

Anyway, despite atrocious weather during most of our stay, it was still enjoyable. We had (by sheer luck) a large, fully serviced grass pitch, which has astro-turf in the middle. This greatly helped to keep the awning interior dry.

All the pitches seemed a good size. The site was quiet - despite the blurb allowing FOUR dogs per unit! (luckily not many by us at all. ). It was very clean, and well run (the staff pleasant and efficient).

The reception/shop stocks basics ( + loads of fishing stuff, and as many maggots as you can eat). I ordered a daily paper, which was handy. There are walks through trees around the perimeter, and as said, around the lakes. So you can do a mile or two without leaving the site. Leccy was good, TV was good, and internet was good. But, you do have to pay for the latter. We found the 4g phone signal is intermittent. If you are 'getting away from it all' - this wont bother you.

There isnt much to see/do in the vicinity; Ely is half an hour, (and probably better than it looks in better weather). Otherwise, there's not much doing if you cant sit out. We dined - twice- at the Seven Stars pub on the low side of March (10 mins), where the food was excellent and well priced.

There are two pubs nearer, but one appeared shut down, and the other had us looking elsewhere (to the Seven Stars) as its web info said it wasn't doing food. But, it later appeared this was wrong. Their loss for not updating things!

Looking forward to returning, just don't know when. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kabs 1 review from this member

 Our second visit to this attractive site which has clean, modern facilities, welcoming staff and is a great place to stay for a while, even though we do not fish. This time we tried out the new Waterside area.

Great views, walks and wildlife around the lakes and the newly opened Waterside pitches offer plenty of room, gravel hardstanding and are fully serviced. Being right beside the lake edge was very pleasant indeed.

Once the newly planted trees and hedging have become established this will further enhance the new Waterside pitches -

Due to Covid restrictions the showers were not open, but we were aware of that before going and having our own facilities meant that was not a major problem.

We will be back! 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DENM9125 1 review from this member

 Just had a couple fantastic days here at the beginning of the month

The site itself is always clean and regularly maintained, the staff cannot do enough for you, always will to help and a well stocked shop (inc fishing essentials 🎣)

So much work has been done in the New Waterside pitches cabins, very impressive,

Hard to fish but had some out, everything is just settling down, but still a great location to be overlooking the lake.

There are two other large established that have plenty of large fish in, are only a few mins walk from the Waterside pitches

Thanks again to everyone there for all their hard work in making Fields End Water prob one of the best Adult only sites,

Definitely recommend to others in this group if you want a peaceful area,

⚠️WARNING follow directions from Fields End Water website, as sat navigation wants to take you down a country lane that is not suitable for caravans etc.

Looking forward to returning here in August🌞 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bill Warder 4 reviews from this member

 We have been looking for a local site so we can enjoy a few weekends away. The site is very neat and tidy however due to covid restrictions the main toilet blocks was not open. I did find the 4 wc that was open. Which was very clean every time I used them.

Iím not a fisherman but enjoyed seeing others pulling out some large fish.

The pitch was level and, no issues getting the caravan level and set up. If Iíd stayed longer I would have brought a longer waste water pipe. 10 meter waste pipe will do the job.

The only down side is the aircraft noise. Itís not a problem but just be aware they fly 24/7.

The staff seemed very friendly and indeed helpful.

There is lots of places to drive out and visit like Ely, and we even went up to Skegness for a look see.

Would I go back ?

Yes but when all the toilets are fully open.

Thanks for a pleasant stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Npkent 12 reviews from this member

 Just back from a lovely relaxing break on the new waterside fully serviced pitches at this Adults only site.

Lovely to be able to pitch facing the Lake and within a few feet of it.

Large level pitches with plenty of space between pitches and as you are facing the Lake nobody walking past or looking directly at your van.

Plenty of people fishing directly from the pitch or on one of the other lakes. Spotless modern facilities although showers closed due to Covid. Good TV and Wifi speed.

Friendly and efficient wardens, on site shop and small cafe offering meals or take away at reasonable prices. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madgeplus2 31 reviews from this member

 Very good site currently no shower facilities but otherwise works well.

On site cafe very good but keeps odd times, never know when open or not.

We were there during the hottest days of the year and shade was almost impossible to find, also there when the thunderstorms arrived!

Cannot comment on the fishing but seemed to be well used.

Lack of pavements make walking into the village dangerous but it can be done via the fields. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camperuk 1 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Well kept. Covid friendly.

Fishing was very good. Great location for getting out and about.

Stayed on fully serviced pitch

Would recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julesmalc 9 reviews from this member

 Firstly, let me say that we are not fishing people so this review will not be about that side of the site, but I believe it is quite good.

Upon arrival, we were greeted very pleasantly, and directed to our pitch in The Paddock. We were sited at the bottom of the small hill, near the amenities block. The toilets and showers were kept spotlessly clean during our 4 night stay.

All pitches have ample room between each other, and the whole site is kept beautifully.

The shop is mainly taken over to fishing equipment, but there is a reasonable selection of everyday produce. Upon request, there is a free map of three, different length, colour coded local walks to follow from the site. There is a cafe on site, we didn't use it so can't offer any comment. There is a small dog exercise field attached to the site, which our pooch really enjoyed.

There is a small downside at this time. That being, the building of the new fishing lake and development. The mechanical diggers were working nearly all day. Hand on heart, it didn't affect us in the slightest, but some people might find the hum slightly annoying. The building is due for completion at Easter 2020, so not long to wait.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here, and wouldn't hesitate to return in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bridget Clarke 12 reviews from this member

 What a delightful place to stay,

Well laid out large pitches,

Cafe on site plus a little shop in reception,

We will certainly be returning.

Great little dog exercise field. 


Previous     158 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near March      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3240 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement