Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > March > Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery Reviews

Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery
Benwick Road
Doddington
March
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE15 0TY
Tel: 01354 740199
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 78
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 177 Reviews
                9/10 from 177 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  177 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chevy1954 1 review from this member

 TRANQUILITY AT ITS BEST

Although we have only being caravanning for 3 years we are always looking for a site that gives the WOW factor. Well Fields End Water certainly does that.

Although the weather wasnít on our side we still had a relaxing and chilled out 3 nights overlooking your new fishing lakes.

The facilities are second to non and underfloor heating in the individual Ďen suitesí just added to the overall experience.

Will we be back again, without doubt and even though we donít leave until later today we are already arranging to come back with friends.

Our pitch even afforded an unbelievable sunset on 2 occasions making it feel even more special. Thank you 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 20Julian 1 review from this member

 We have been to this site 3 times this year and it is very nice adult only site, with lovely pitches and great fishing. The shop sells essential bits and plenty of fishing bits, the site is very well maintained and the staff are very welcoming.

We loved the small cafe open March to October and run by a very lovely couple Colin & Sandra, we always have the Rib Eye steak full Monty meal and take our own wine, they also serve a very nice breakfast etc

There are some nice walks around the site and also a nice walk across fields to the village centre where there are 2 nice village pubs serving food daily.

Although we use our own caravan facilities in our caravan as personal choice, we have looked at the toilet/showers which appeared to be very clean. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Zedhead36 30 reviews from this member

 We visited Fields End Water 9yrs ago and really liked it, said we would return, so we did !

A lot has changed since we last visited. The site is larger, but in no way cramped, and there is another lake (3 now).

There is a cafe in a cabin overlooking the top lake(The steaks are very good), not licenced but you can bring your own.

What hasnt changed is the standard of the site, which is very good, with neatly tended pitches (most are serviced) and spotless shower blocks. The atitude of the wardens hasnt changed either, they are all friendly and willing to help if required.

The fishing is fairly easy with lots of spieces to go for.

The shop has all the usuals plus some fishing tackle and bait.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we wont be leaving it so long before we return again 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Alan Sear 4 reviews from this member

 Friendly greeting on arrival soon shown to our good quite large pitch.

We had a really good fortnights holiday there.

Fishing really good caters for all levels of skill

Site is kept nice, no litter about

Didn't use Wi Wi

The shop was well stocked with basic needs as well as fishing requirements.

On the day we left my car battery went flat on problem staff came and got it going within minutes.

We recommend this site and will be going again. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Cascar 1 review from this member

 Lovely well kept site with great facilities the staff were very helpful.

We had a wonderful breakfast at the little cafe which was great value,

It's in quite a good location for travelling to some great cities (if you can get fuel) which was the only negative to the distance we had to drive not the sites fault 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davidm 1 review from this member

 We found pitches very good and well kept

Reception was good for fishing bait and a few bits and pieces

My only complaint is the Wi-Fi is very poor and was dropping out lots of the time and also having to sign in every time you wanted to use internet, this was never a problem last year on my visit but I think this must be a new provider for site, it needs sorting out.

But I enjoyed my stay and the fishing was very very good

All in all I would recommend a stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dragonck1955 1 review from this member

 We booked the CL location which was lovely and secluded. There was a CL exclusive toilet/shower hut which was great along with an Elsan point.

We fished The Pit and a good supply of fish were caught, however the swims can be a bit dodgy, at least three people fell in the lake due to the swims so be aware.

You are not allowed to set up on a swim until 7am prompt. You will get a talking to by the Bailiff if you do, he is there waiting before the kick off time.

Good walks for the dog, shop had very basic food but good supply of fishing bait etc. Staff were friendly and helpful. Site was clean and quiet.

We did enjoy fishing there however the only drawback was getting up at 6am every day (we are retired now so this was a novelty) to be ready for 7am start. Good swims would go quickly. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dandylyon 15 reviews from this member

 Nice site with plenty of walks available for dogs around the lakes and also round a little forest.

We stopped on a waterside pitch which are very large and have lots of space to spread out and fishing from your pitch.

Unfortunately we left a day early (as did other people) due to the noise around the lake which disturbed the tranquillity of the lake caused by the couples on 2 pitches and 2 of the glamping pods (who were all fishing)

The wardens quickly responded to a number of complaints about them and spoke to them at least twice but unfortunately they didnít quieten down.

All on all itís a nice site but in hindsight we probably wouldnít go back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 1TROUTFISHER 1 review from this member

 "Cannot Fault This One"

We had a touring pitch 9th to 14th September. Even after leaving this review for a few days to reflect, we are unable to fault anything, staff top class, professional and friendly.

Pitches are spacious, clean and tidy, grass trimmed, and really quite level. We had a grass pitch, and what a pleasant change from the usual limestone/clinker pitches on most sites that are both drab looking, too solid and reminiscent of sitting in a cheap backstreet parking area.

The hardstandings at Fields End are a type of pea shingle, much kinder on the eye and bright even on a dull day. Site was full, but quiet and peaceful, we always use our own facilities so can't comment on that, but it was easy to see on passing every thing is as should be expected.

I didn't fish because although I am a fisherman, commercial fisheries are not my style, but to be honest, walking around the lakes, seeing the quality of the fish caught, I think I might be tempted the next time we visit.

But if you just want to relax, walk, either with or without a dog, then there are plenty of walks both on site and the surrounding area to explore and enjoy.

To recap, we loved it, and after trying to book there for a while, are glad we finally did, and will definitely return.

Mr & Mrs A E Simmonds 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fireworx6 1 review from this member

 This site was relaxing and absolutely gorgeous.

We were there a week and would quite happily have stayed longer and would definitely like to go back.

Pitches have plenty of room, good services. We don't fish but the lakes were beautiful!

Loads of wildlife to see particularly lots of moorhens wandering around the place.

There was a lakeside cafe which did breakfasts from 10am to 2pm and the most amazing dinner in the evening (cheesecake to die for 🤤).

Didn't use the facilities but I'm sure if they were like the rest of the site they were probably spot on too.

Would definitely recommend this adults only site it's so peaceful. 
via mobile


Previous     177 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fields End Water Caravan Park & Fishery dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near March      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2925 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement