Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping La Viorna

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > Potes > Camping La Viorna Reviews

Camping La Viorna
Carretera Santo Toribio
Potes
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: 0034 942 732 021
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 110
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Crwydryn 62 reviews from this member

A good site with clean and well maintained facilities a 20 minute walk away from the charming town of Potes.

Nice welcome on arrival and a friendly/helpful nature from everyone working on the site.

Some reviews have alluded to difficulty parking on the pitch though we with our 7. 5m outfit don’t agree. Others didn’t seem to have a problem. Access though to some of the hook up points needed the agility of a goat – perhaps I’ve used poetic licence overstated it a bit!

Reasonably priced food and wine in the on site restaurant.

Good free wifi at reception and some patchy availability on the pitches.

Really enjoyed our stay at La Viorna.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul+julie 58 reviews from this member

Absolutely loved this site it’s in a beautiful setting with views of the mountains.

The pitches are geared up to smaller units mainly motorhomes but there are a handful of pitches which would take a larger caravan. We were lucky.

Sanitaires are immaculate. Restaurant popular but food rather basic.

Pool not reopened for the summer and a sign saying you have to wear bathing caps.

You can really tell the owners take pride in their site. Tubs of flowers here and there and everywhere neat and tidy.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campervan1974 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the first time in 1998. We returned and stayed here for 6 nights in August 2015. It was wonderful. The views from the campsite were fantastic. The staff are so friendly and helpful.

Our children made lots of friends with other English kids and spent a lot of their evenings at the small playground and games room. We ate at the campsite restaurant twice, the food is excellent and great value.

The pitch was not massive but fitted our Decathlon 6. 2XL Air tent (a big tunnel tent) plus our VW Type2 campervan on the pitch. It was a little bit squashed but did work and did not detract from our holiday at all.

The site did have a parking field opposite the campsite entrance, so if you don’t need your car at your pitch you can always park it there if you want (not mandatory, optional). The ground on the pitches is rock hard, we bought hard ground pegs from Aldi before we went. Bring a hammer. But if you want, you can buy stout pegs from the campsite shop quite cheaply.

We had electricity and decided not to bring our extra extension cable which was fine as the electric box was not too far from the pitch.

The toilet blocks were perfectly fine. No queueing and clean. The campsite was quiet after the evening curfew and got good night’s sleep. There were no mosquitos, so no insect bites. The weather was very good, we only had great sunny weather. We spent quite a few of the days in the outdoor pool which was great.

The town of Potes is a 20 mins walk downhill (uphill on the return). If you are a keen rambler, you must buy a chestnut walking stick with steel ferrule (Four euros each) from one of the shops in Potes (such as the Ferreteria). We bought our first pair in ’98 and they are still going strong.

We went to Fuente De one day. Try and get up there for around 9am – 9:30am. We got a parking space in the free carpark near the cable car station. First you queue for to buy your tickets (44 euros for 2 adults and 2 kids), queueing time was 10 minutes or so. Then we waited for our turn for the ride up. There is a number on the ticket (a bit like the deli counter at the supermarket). We did not have to wait too long. Take a jumper with you, as the temperature on the mountain at 9:30am was between 5 and 6 degrees C.

We took a walk on top and took in the wonderful views. Saw a wall creeper and some vultures. We were back down at the carpark for lunchtime. The parking at that time was terrible. People were parking their cars for at least half a mile on the roadside. Overall a great stay at Potes.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Kelper 68 reviews from this member

Visited again after a five year gap.

Appreciated it even more this year. It is a superb site.

Wonderful views of the Picos. Especially from pitches along the eastern side of the site.

Pitches are of various sizes. But mostly spacious and set on mini terraces, so no chance of incursions. Can feel a little bit cramped if the site is full, but that goes for many others, too.

The ablutions are spotless, seats and paper provided. Good showers etc.

The restaurant/bar is excellent, run by Cubans, and very friendly. Phenominally good value: 3 course meal with a glass of wine/beer/soft for 9 euros. Couldn't buy food more cheaply, so we ate there every night. A real hol from cooking.

The owners are wonderfully helpful and friendly. The whole family work there and are a delight.

I've written much about the area in other reviews. We remain 'in love' with the Picos. And will be back again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sabino 4 reviews from this member

This is a terrific site with beautiful views (weather permitting).

It is kept immaculately clean by a great team. The pitches can be a bit tight and the one-way system may force you to park opposite to the way you would like. But many just ignore the one-way and go to face the way they want.

The monastery nearby is well worth the long walk up the hill and the shops, esp supermarket, in town is worth the long trek back.

We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 101 reviews from this member

We had mixed views about camping La Viorna. On the positive side, the showers/toilets were excellent. Seats and toilet paper, and cleaned continually until late evening. The pool looked nice, though we didn't use it, and noticed that swimming caps compulsory rule was generally observed.

As others have said, pitches are mostly quite small with no separation, so sometimes you hope your close neighbours don't snore! We did feel our privacy was invaded at times, though not because our fellow campers were in any way discourteous. Even though it was late August/early September the site was busy with quite rapid turnover of campers. We were on the top terrace, which has the best views, but as a consequence tended to be always nearly full.

The site restaurant/bar seemed very reasonably priced compared with UK (or even France), and the restaurants in Potes were even more of a bargain. (Three courses, including a bottle of house wine and bottle water, 10 Euros!)

The approach to Potes from the north requires a quite long drive along a spectacular narrow gorge, which is a bit daunting for large caravans in a couple of places but is perfectly do-able. Otherwise, roads in this part of Spain are superb and put our British rubbish-strewn pot-holed ones to shame.

A trip to Fuente de is a must-do. On a fabulously clear sunny day we took the cable car to the top, then walked down the long vehicle track, then back to the start via Pido. The whole circuit took us 7 hours, but we did have a few coffee/beer/photo stops along the way!

We are certainly glad we made the long journey from our previous stop in Cauterets to visit Potes and the Picos de Europa.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garethgina 4 reviews from this member

La Viorna benefits from being in a great location just outside of the maid toiwn of Potes - the main town for exploring the Picos de Europa from the south east. I say just outside - its about 2k's away - fully walkable is you are of a mind to - but probably too far if you have smaller children or stroppy teenagers in tow (you'd hear a few too many 'how much furthers' I suspect.

The final bit of the walk is along a busy-ish road and uphill. So possibly best to take the car/van/bikes down into town if you want to explore it or treat yourself to something other than the usual camping fare.

The site itself is on a hillside and climbs up from the entrance in a series of terraces - upon which the pitches are placed. The views to the mountains to the north are quite remarkable and you'll find yourself taking pictures regularly as the cloud formations around the peaks change on a daily basis.

Echoing the other other reviewers the main gripe (if a gripe is what it is) is that the pitches are pretty small and you do end up being very close to your neighbours, and the cars are parked out in to the road leaving the road a bit of a slalom for other car drivers. We have a 5 man tent - quite long - and it was a bit of a squash to get it on the site and park the car close by without overflowing on to the road.

The facilities are excellent - with plenty of hot water 24/7 from what we could see. The shower and toilet block did get busy - but then we were there in the height of the season, but they were kept constantly clean by the staff and there was never a time when the numbers of people seemed to trash the cleanliness - full marks for his - they really worked hard at making sure this aspect was done well.

There is a small shop on site with most of the things you'd need for your camping stay, including fresh bread every morning. The town has a supermarket not more than 10 mins drive away for those things you cant get at the shop.

Theres also a small restaurant and bar - and whilst the offering is limited the prices were reasonable and provide an alternative for the kids. Over the car park from the shop is a small games area where 'da yoof' hang out - a pool table, table football etc. This is a little tired - but does provide a small meeting place for the kids to congregate (and you can cast a watchful eye from the terrace in from of the bar with a vino in hand - so probably works quite well!). As ever the free wifi can be found near the shop - another reason for youth-full (and not so youth-full) congregations.

Theres a pool which isnt heated I hasten to add - so was definitely on the cool side. As Potes is in the heart of the mountains it doesn't get as hot as some parts of Spain and as such I suspect the pool will never be that warm! They do have the weird bathing-caps-must-be-worm rule - which is weird if youve encountered it before - but these can be bought for a euro from the shop.

The owners were very friendly and relaxed in all that they said and did and were made very welcome. We were sufficiently impressed to book another week in 2015 and drag some friends with us. The only reason for the less than full marks is the size of the plots - these really could be a bit bigger.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chumbeiro 13 reviews from this member

A decent campsite with marked, shady pitches. However be aware that some pitches are tiny and you may not be able to park your vehicle on-site (despite paying a daily fee). Stayed for 4 nights through the busy August period and have to say the site felt cramped and claustrophobic. Our pitch on the top terrace was so small that our neighbours' guy ropes crossed ours and we had to walk through other pitches to get to our tent.

Clean and tidy with reasonable showers, toilets and a decent swimming pool. The site is 25 minute's walk to Portes. Portes has all the necessary shops, bars and restaurants for a holiday top-up. The on site shop seemed reasonably priced.

We were charged €24 per night for a tent, car and two adults.

Would only recommend outside of peak holiday time and with the previsor that you manage to reserve a LARGE plot.

Found the mountain biking in the area to be rather disappointing. Too many double track gravel roads and difficult to ride circular loops.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davercox 9 reviews from this member

Only just noticed this site is on this website, hence the very late review. Cannot recommend this site highly enough, one of the best we've ever stayed on anywhere.

Beautifully clean and well-maintained by the hardworking staff. Nice layout, on terraces, leaving you never feeling cramped although the pitches are not huge. Agree, the electric connections are a little odd but work fine. Magnificent views, of course, and plenty of walks in the area around.

At 16 euros with ACSI card, excellent value. Just two downsides to mention: 1) the pool wasn't open when we were there; and 2) inside the main toilet blocks there is a step down that can be hard to see when the lights are off.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Speedy1050 6 reviews from this member

Great location in the beautiful Picos mountains, approximately 70 miles from Santander and about 1km from Potes which is a pleasant walk into but uphill going back.

Nice toilet blocks and communal area with charging points and free, if slow, wifi, a small shop and a bar / restaurant, we didn't eat there but prices seemed reasonable, drink prices were comparable with those in the town.

We were charged €12 for one person+motorcycle+tent per day which was a little too much.

Potes is a beautiful town with plenty of restaurants and bars and well worth a few days.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4861 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019