Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Campingpark Sanssouci

Campsite Search > Europe > Germany > Potsdam > Campingpark Sanssouci Reviews

Campingpark Sanssouci
An Der Pirschheide 41
Potsdam
Germany   (Browse area)

Tel: 03319510988
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 170
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheRushens 2 reviews from this member

Excellent transport links into Potsdam and Berlin. Amazing shower / loo facilities and good disabled ones too. Even a dog shower and dryer. Pitches very small and quite tricky to get into some of them if you don't have a motor mover. We found the site quite noisy with music some of the nights until 1am. Kids loved the lake and made friends. Hired a SUP board for €12 for an hour which I thought was good value. Restaurant ok but pricy and shop had very little in it. Staff were helpful in reception but you had to ask lots of questions, nothing was volunteered.

To get into Berlin by a travel ticket from the machine in reception before you go, there's a shuttle bus to the tram stop

In Berlin, the number 100 bus does the same route as the expensive tourist buses and will be included in your travel ticket. It is a bit pricey compared to the other sites we Stayed in Germany but you are very close to Berlin. Nearly €150 for 3 nights for 2 adults and 2 kids.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sumitra 23 reviews from this member

An excellent campsite. Very helpful staff, very clean well maintained facilities. Nice restaurant and small shop with bread depot. Tickets to potsdam and Berlin can be bought from reception and these is a mini bus service to the nearest railway station. There are also good off road cycle track to Potsdam as well. We had a very enjoyable 3 days there.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Checkett 8 reviews from this member

Staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent toilet and shower facilities. Great location for visiting Potsdam what with the shuttle bus to the tram and then 10 mins ride to Potsdam. From Potsdam you can then get the train to Berlin which took a further 45 minutes. The bar/ restaurant was not big enough for the site and was always busy in the evening. Bar prices reasonable but restaurant was expensive, but as there is no where else to walk to to eat, they have got you where they want you. Shop carried basic provisions so made do. Booked for 5 nights but only stayed 3 as was very very expensive. 2 adults 2 dogs 52 euro per night, and they don't accept card payments, so would need a to carry a lot of cash. They charge 5 euro per night for a dog and don't supply bags or even a poo bin to put the waste in so had to use the Only one recycling and rubbish bin which was by reception and was always full and stank. All in all a rip off site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: FLICK8 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for 4 nights, using it to commute into Berlin. We arrived at 10. 30pm after the gates had closed, but staff at the bar were very helpful getting someone to let us in and get pitched. Staff were helpful at helping us get travel passes into Berlin and the shuttle bus was great. We had a lovely view of the lake. The place was spotless, and the toilets, showers never seemed busy. Only down side for us was that we received a lot of bites. Would recommend for commute to Berlin.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Newbow 2 reviews from this member

My husband and I spent 5 nights here in order to visit Berlin and Potsdam. We paid extra for a stunning pitch by the lakeside which was worth it.

The site is quite well shaded by trees and all pitches are full service. There are pleasant walks from the site. In my view, the facilities were extensive, very clean and well maintained.

There are plenty of loo/shower facilities which were spotless and the adjustable temperature meant we could have a lovely HOT shower! The different seat heights for the loos was a nice touch (medium worked well for me)!

Additional facilities included an indoor washing up block with cookers for tent campers, an outdoor play area and a covered activity area with pool table etc right by the restaurant. The on site restaurant serves good food, reasonably priced in a lovely atmosphere.

With the help of the staff, we bought a travel ticket directly from reception that we used to travel into Berlin by park minibus (free, on demand service), tram and train. Staff gave us directions and numbers for each service which was great.

Potsdam is also worth seeing, especially Sanssouci park itself (which is free)which you can reach by tram but we drove there without a problem (parking was 6 euros for the day).

Many staff speak very good English and were all helpful and friendly.

The shop/reception is open until 9 pm and the atmosphere is very relaxed. I highly recommend and would visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vw-t5-camper 4 reviews from this member

Just a few additions as the last review was 2008. Most of the information has already been given.

We stayed for two nights and spent a whole day visiting Sansouci Park as we had already stayed in Berlin. See another review. There are a vast number of buildings as well as gardens to see. We went directly by bus* to Sansouci Palace leaving the site on the shuttle bus at 9:30am. We chose this because this is the only location where you can buy the 'Premium Day Pass' @ 19 euros and, we thought, good value although there is no way you will see everything in a day. If you like engineering then don't miss the mosque pumping station - right by a tram stop. *We bought an all-day ticket from the m/c in reception at around 4 euros.

We took the bus to the main railway station where there is every shopping / cash / snacking facility you could need and returned to the campsite on the tram from there.

The campsite reception is excellent and, generally, the site has good facilities. We ate at the restaurant both nights - the second night we had to sit outside as the interior was reserved for a function. Freezing cold, but blankets provided! Reasonable value.

As noted before, the WiFi only works in a tiny, tiny area. It is now free.

Total cost for two nights was nearly 65 euros - expensive but worth it for the Potsdam location.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

The other review of this site has covered the essential information, so rather than repeat it I will fill the picture out a bit with local colour and personal impressions. The first thing we noticed on arrival was a shoe-rack outside reception with a collection of odd shoes, and a sign in German warning campers not to leave shoes outside as a fox was stealing them! Another amusing feature of the site was that all the toilet cubicles had different names on the doors - girls' names in the mens' toilets and boys' names in the ladies!

We were allocated a pitch and led there by a young woman on a bike. She asked us if we were with the Caravan Club, but I don't know if that meant we got a better or worse pitch! The pitches were not marked in any way and seemed a bit haphazard and on the small side, but of course being August it was pretty full. The ground was sandy and there were lots of trees, which meant we were unable to get a TV signal. As there were so many units crammed in together it was quite noisy. There didn't seem to be many non-Germans, but we met the odd Brit in the washing-up room and exchanged stories and tips - always one of the best ways to find out where to go and what to do!

The site has its own small beach on the lake with a roped-off area for swimming, which was popular with children, and is surrounded by forest criss-crossed by cycle paths.

We took advantage of the free minibus to the tram stop and set off for Berlin. It's a large and complex city with dozens of museums and galleries and it can be quite bewildering, so we took an open-top bus tour to get our bearings, then did some exploration on foot. We only saw a fraction of it so returned next day and visited some museums and art galleries. Unfortunately the queues for the Radio Tower and the Reichstag were enormous. You need to get there early in the morning! Top tip - plan in advance what you want to see, as in a couple of days you can only scratch the surface.

Potsdam itself is a very interesting town with a pleasant pedestrian centre with lots of pavement cafes. The main attraction is Sanssouci Park, a vast wooded park dotted with fountains, statues and ornate Baroque palaces. Entrance to the park is free but there is a fee to enter the various palaces and other buildings - there are at least a dozen, including a Chinese pagoda, a windmill and a Roman bath, and you can choose how many, or how few, to visit. Another top tip - take sandwiches and a drink, because we didn't see many places to get refreshments.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To Find site:- Leave A10, Berliner Ring, at junction 22 towards Potsdam on B1. About 2km after Geltow turn right immediately before railway bridge at sign for campsite. The site is about 2 km along this road which is narrow in places but you can pull over on either side to pass. The site is at the end of the road.

Campingpark Sanssouci has about 170 touring pitches plus a number of permanent caravans situated on the shore of Templiner See. Pitch size varies but is generally OK although some tend to be long and less wide which can give the impression of being packed together. The larger pitches tend to be further into the site. Because of the wooded nature of the site large twin axle caravans would need to proceed with care. Fresh water and waste are handy to all pitches and there is the possibility for water and waste hook-up from the majority. For water you require a key which is provided for a modest returnable deposit of €3. Electricity supply (10amp) is convenient to all pitches. There is a separate tent area near to the lake. The general campsite facilities are all to a very good standard with the addition of private bathrooms to rent and a large room that can be used by tent campers to cook and eat meals under cover. Reception (closed between 13.00 and 15.00 daily) is a good source of local information and they sell a variety of maps and travel cards via a machine, most of the staff speak good English. You may need to enlist the helpful staff in reception to understand exactly what tickets you need! Behind reception is a small shop selling basics and bread rolls can be ordered the day before. There is a bar/restaurant. Only cash is accepted in payment at this campsite. The site has a WiFi point, although only available in the vicinity of the bar and it requires the use of the site's own dongles which requires software (provided) to be loaded onto your computer. The only cost is the hire of the dongle at €2 a day. This is a very busy site where the main purpose of a stay is to visit either Potsdam or Berlin so be aware that, like other sites near main tourist attractions, it is not the place for a peaceful/restful stay! It is also quite an expensive site with average fees for 2 of around €30. (Date of visit May 2008)

The majority of people that stay at this site do so to visit either Potsdam or Berlin via the excellent transport links. The site provide a free shuttle bus to/from Pirschheide Bahnhof/tram stop. There is a Park and Ride facility at Pirschheide but this gets full during the week so the site shuttle might be the better option. Local transport tickets can be purchased at reception. There are lots of cycleways in the vicinity of the site. Park Sanssouci is a level, mainly off road, cycle away. Supermarkets and fuel stations are dotted along the B1 although traffic wise going away from Potsdam is quieter.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Germany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7193 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019