Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Muirkirk Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Muirkirk > Muirkirk Caravan Site Reviews

Muirkirk Caravan Site
Furnace Road
Muirkirk
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA18 3RE
Tel: 07515 721785
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mdunn6 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and helpful,

Toilets were ok and good shower,

Not far from strathaven and cumnock,

Skip was a bit full but understandable at this time

Didn't try the pub, noticed a hotel up road, and takeaway places, . 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lorimac 5 reviews from this member

 The people on the site were friendly. Booking was easy, Site was very busy, not a lot of space between units. It was noisy right up till about 1. 00am with people partying and lighting BBQ.

Toilets weren't that clean first couple of days but got a little better. No toilet roll quite a few times in toilets. Very close to the village with nice walks and some friendly pubs.

But I'm afraid too noisy and crowded for us. There is a large clubhouse on site but we did not use it. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jillilotsatents 2 reviews from this member

 Muirkirk site is a beautiful very friendly site in East Ayrshire with helpful and very hard working staff. The toilets & showers are what I would call 'military' clean, I have never seen them messy any time night or day and I have been on site with my tourer since June.

The grounds are lovely with many ancient trees, and beautiful views of the hills, there are hill walks that take you over to South Lanarkshire or Dumfries and Galloway or nearby Tibbie's Bridge which is wheelchair/scooter friendly and a 'must see'. The folk song 'Ca The Yowes' was written there by Isobel Tibbie Pagan.

At the weekends the bar and lounge are open and hot rolls are now available during the day. The contractors on the site are friendly and helpful, they also work very hard, go to bed early and are spending money in the local community which due to the decline of local industry has sadly suffered.

There is a unique clock tower opposite the site, which was once the the Ironworks Institute. The race track is noisy but very exciting to watch, and we recently went to a Classic Car show there which was fun. Muirkirk is a very friendly place, the locals are really nice and make you feel welcome in shops and pubs, chip shop.

The village is only a few hundred yards from the site gates as is the nearest pub which is an atmospheric building of character and antiquity with a beer garden, again friendly customers and staff. Fishing Permits are available in the village, the river Ayr runs behind the site, the Garpel Water is a 15 min walk.

There are Owls, Oyster Catchers, Hen Harriers, Buzzards, Pheasants, Hedgehogs, Stoats, all around. There are beautiful beaches within 20-30 minutes drive.

The M74 is only 10 miles away. This is truly one of best sites I have ever been on, and management have big plans to make it even better. I am looking forward to Christmas and New Year on site as I heard it was an excellent time to be there.

Watch this space Campers. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Headgardener 36 reviews from this member

 We only stayed here one night and did not really enjoy our stay.

There are a lot of static vans on site which have the best locations followed by many caravans obviously on seasonal pitches. We had a hard standing but felt very closed in by statics and seasonal pitches all around.

The entrance is past the licensed bar and large car park with commercial vehicles and a large rubbish skip full to the top.

The site itself is basically tidy with a lot of newly laid tarmac roads. The grass was mainly neatly cut except under the seasonal pitches which was very overgrown and unsightly as was all the gas bottles around the long stayers.

The licensed bar was open in the evening and I saw a notice advertising live music on Saturday at an entry cost of 3. 00. We did not go in but were not disturbed by it.

We did not use the toilet block as we usually use our own.

There are a few shops in the village for every day use or Strathaven is not too far away for a larger selection.

This is a site geared up for statics and long stay caravans and not our cup of tea. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Caledonian1 2 reviews from this member

 Visited the site on a very wet weekend in a vw campervan.

Made to feel most welcome on the pitch by other site users stopping for a chat.

Social club on site was great as well and also very reasonable prices. I walked into the club on a dreech Friday night and the patrons instantly introduced themselves the conversations were enjoyable. I spent part of Saturday afternoon playing pool with my daughters in the Bar and we really enjoyed it. On the Saturday evening there was good entertainment in the large lounge/function room and I was delighted when myself and family were very lucky on the evening raffle.

Bingo was also played on the evening.

As my family members are over 18 years old and having visited sites all around the country for more than 30 years I feel the site is perhaps more suited for family's with older children. I hope I am not being to unfair as the other people in my group of vw enthusiasts had young children with them and they seemed to be having a whale of a time in each others company. Having said that The Site owner and her staff I am sure would do their utmost to make any familys with younger children feel included.

Toilet block was very clean and functional.

One point of improvement I would like to mention. Could do with a light at the dish wash up area. (I suppose I could just wash the dishes during day). To be fair I did not mention this to the owner and if I did I am sure it would be actioned. I will mention at my next visit.

Great hill walks in surrounding areas. River Ayr very near. (Unsure if fishing Permit required). 10 minute walk to centre of town. 3 local pubs Chip shop in town and doubles as chinese carry out. Salt and Pepper chips very tasty +recommended.

Also in town. Co-op general store (with off licence) Butchers (Great burgers)General Store + newsagent etc.

The site was generally very good and ideal for my needs however every camper has different needs and if you do visit the site I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did.

Looking forward to a return visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Manta400 2 reviews from this member

 First impressions were not good, decided to just book 1 night. A lot of seasonal vans at this site. The site had a travellers feel with gas bottles stood around mossy vans. At 5 o clock several commercial Balfor Beaty vans returned to the site visitor car parking area, didn't feel like a holiday should. However I have been to a lot of sites this year and have noticed a feel of being less friendly as each year passes. The people on this site were very friendly and helpful, which proved myself wrong with my first impressions. The lads working didn't bother me when I thought about the economic climate and people have to do what needs to be done to live, including the owner making a living also. The area is full of interesting mining history and the birthplace of 'tar macadam'. There are plenty of walks from the site, and it is a peaceful place to stay. I stayed another night. I will come back to this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alan + Sally 5 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site but spoilt by a few points which I will cover below.

A) As we entered the site the first thing we were greeted with by the site entrance was an extremely large rubbish skip that was full and remained so for the duration of our stay (5 days!).

B) the elsan toilet disposal point was the second thing we saw, directly in front of you as you drive in. It is basically a household toilet bowl but with no cistern so you could not flush any waste away. There was a tap with a short hose left lying on the floor (amongst dirt and mud)so you could rinse your van toilet out. The disposal point was enclosed, for want of a better word, by a slatted fence that had seen better days.

C) The toilet shower/toilet block was somewhat dated and although we did see a cleaner most mornings mopping the floor the smell of bleach made your eyes water. It appeared that the pallet style blocks adjacent to the shower trays didn't look as if they had been moved in months judging by the amount of debris clearly visible underneath them.

Overall we thought that at 17 p/night this site was over priced and fell well short of the standards of numerous sites we have stayed on throughout the UK. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ashleyh 6 reviews from this member

 We used the site as a stop off on our journey to the highlands from the south. My wife selected it from internet reviews, particularly from this site. I checked it out using Google maps a few days before we went - it didn't fill me with confidence - the town itself looked very tired, as did the site.

On arrival however we were very warmly welcomed (once a small child explained how to open the security gate - we didn't figure it out!) by the owner.

The site has a pleasant enough layout with a few statics and lots of hardstandings and grass pitches with EHU. The toilet block was clean and the water hot. There is an on site bar which was reasonably priced, but no food.

We ventured into Muirkirk which has a co-op and a couple of pubs, neither of which seemed to do food (although it was a Sunday night) The owners are obviously trying hard with the site which does have potential and come the end, suited our 1 night stay perfectly.

A very peaceful site which I am sure would be far busier in another location. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iandj 4 reviews from this member

 We visited on the weekend of the Kaimes sprint, A very friendly little site, our two children aged 4 were made most welcome. The toilets and showers very clean with coded entry. The little clubhouse is warm and inviting and our young children were provided with games to entertain them. The prices were very reasonable. The site has clearly had a lot of work put in recently. The wooded area of the camp site has significant storm damage work on cutting down damaged trees is progressing, I think this site will develop and grow, There are several very nice walks on the doorstep a great relaxing park a wee cracker. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bcam 13 reviews from this member

 Very nice little site on the outskirts of Muirkirk, well set out with ample space between pitches we were on a converted static pitch which was absolutely fine.

The toilets are very clean with good showers.

The only thing was I couldn't find the grey waste disposal area so had to pick the waste water carrier up and empty it down the chemical disposal point but I'm sure it must be there!

There is a very nice wee club on site with a pool table and dartboard and a large function hall.

The owners are very pleasant and are in the process of renovating the park so hopefully all goes well for them.

Overall a very nice welcoming site that is well worth a visit. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Muirkirk Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Muirkirk Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Muirkirk Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Muirkirk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12559 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement