Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Bel

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > La Tranche Sur Mer > Camping Bel > Reviews

Camping Bel
4 Rue Du Bottereau
La Tranche Sur Mer
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85360
Tel: +33 2 51 30 47 39
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 200
Open: 01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Argente4 16 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this site having stayed for 3 nights last year.

Love the location. Didn't have to move the camper at all. Supermarket 5 minutes round the corner, bike hire 2 minutes walk from site, beach and town both 10 to 15 minutes.

We really love the town and the beach. Hired bikes, cycled to Jard sur Mer and stopped at a couple of beaches along the way. There are loads of off road cycle paths that take you from town to town.

The site is well maintained, very clean sanitary block that seemed to be cleaned constantly. Liked having the privacy hedges between pitches. The pool area was clean and well maintained and no problem getting a sunbed, but it was towards the end of the season. The site owner is friendly and helpful and remembered us from last year.

We don't usually return to the same places but La Tranche sur Mer and Camping Bel make a perfect French seaside holiday, so we just had to come back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Carolewest 6 reviews from this member

 This is a pleasant site, we took our caravan and spent a week here with our daughter and family, who were staying in a Eurocamp tent. The site has many of the things children enjoy, a large pool and a beach close by.

There is a SuperU close by, The children hired bikes and the site appeared to be a training site for small bikers, this could be a bit of a trial when driving!

The facilities were good, modern and very clean. The beach was lovely. The roads around the site made it appear much bigger than it was- the children knew their way around long before I did.

Like many Eurocamp sites there are now more mobiles than tents, which is a shame as the roads are tarmac and there is little grass or space between them. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

 Initially, we planned on Camping at ‘Camping le Vieux Moulin’, however when we arrived after lunch on a Sunday, we found that it didn’t open after 12. 30pm on a Sunday, so we went to our plan B and camped at Camping Bel.

Although Camping Bel was more expensive than our first choice, it is a really nice site, and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it. It is well situated, being about 10 minutes’ walk from SuperU, and in the other direction about 10 minutes from the beach, and further along to the town centre. There is a good selection of small shops (quite a lot of shoe shops and ice cream shops!), a couple of boulangeries, a small independent butcher, and a fishmonger. There is a market on Tuesday and Saturday, and more markets in July and August.

The pitches are divided by hedges, and in addition to normal camping pitches, there are some Eurocamp tents and caravans here, with cycle hire. The sanitation block, has been refurbished, and the showers and toilets are very clean with modern modular dividers (they were cleaned 2 – 3 times per day).

The block is separated between male / femail, and toilet roll is also provided, you just need to zing some off before you go into the cubicle as there are large rolls on the wall in the main toilet area (there are also English style toilet seats). Wifi is free, for one device per pitch, and accessed around the bar/pool area.

There is a nice pool here, with a little pool for small children, and a covered jaccuzi. A few facilities we didn’t use included, a gym, tennis court, children’s play area.

We were pleased that our initial choice of site didn’t work out as this site has good facilities without being massive. They speak English here and there were a lot of Brits here. A nice friendly site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ab laker 2 reviews from this member

 Have been to this site four times: June 2011, June 2012, July 2015, July 2016. The first two were with Eurocamp and one child, the second two were independently in our own tent, with two children.

This is a fantastic site for young families. The location is a 10 minute walk from a nice beach and 5 minutes from a Super you supermarket. La Tranche sur Mer is a lovely seaside village/small town, and refreshingly not too 'resort'-like. The owners and staff are really good, the site facilities are very well kept, and it is reasonably quiet even in high season. The play areas are small but nice - having at least one overlooked by a washing up area is a nice touch! There is some nice cycling in the region, with bikes available either on-site or at the nearby Vendee Velo shop on the way into town. Les Sables D'Olonnes is a nice town and worth a visit, and La Rochelle is an easy and lovely day out (use the park and ride!).

The only drawback is that the pool is quite small and cold, but the surrounding beaches are nice enough that this isn't really an issue. There is also a municipal pool/leisure centre a few minutes walk away. I've thoroughly enjoyed every trip here, and will no doubt return, but not this year as we feel that we have probably done most or all of the local activities suitable for young children; there is plenty to do, it took us four visits to get to that state! Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bikermich 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived on site on 1st August and the site was very busy. Mainly English families and a variety of statics, touring caravans, Eurocamp, private tents and campervans. A lots of young families and children on site and it was noisy and busy but there is a 10. 30pm curfew which everyone adheres to and the site falls silent. Great pool, nice size. Great location with only a 5 minute walk to the supermarket, beach or 10 minutes to the town centre. Perfect for young families, our 7 year old enjoyed the play area's and riding her bike around the site. A children's film is showed every night at 8. 30, which keept the kids happy. Only downside was that the toilets could do with a revamp, there are no sinks in the toilet section, you have to go into the Shower area to wash your hands and the toilet roll is a strange paper affair! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Thomases 1 review from this member

 We booked our stay via a sun holiday for the first week of the school holidays. Myself my partner and our 2 teenage sons. It's the first time we had booked a sun holiday abroad and was a little apprehensive but need not have worried. When we arrived there had been a slight mix up with another family with the same name being allocated our caravan which would have left us with their tent but thanks to the really helpful staff from Eurocamp they quickly sorted out another caravan for us which actually resulted in us getting a free upgrade - not bad for £15 each! The caravan was very clean had a spacious decked area and was plenty big enough for a grown up family.

The site was very quiet, which we liked and the site owner was always out and about ensuring the facilities were kept spotless. The Pool area was very clean but as we prefer the beach we would take the 10 minute walk there each day instead. I really liked having a bread man on site and looked forward to his hearing his bell each morning - I found this very charming and part of the holiday.

La Tranch sur Mer town centre was about 15 mins walk away, it has a really good market on a Saturday which reminded me of how they used to be back home in the 70s (fruit not flares!). There were plenty of restaurants to pick from and we did not have 1 bad meal and were glad of the return walk back to the site after polishing off 2 courses each night! We were also blessed with lovely weather, even though there was a heatwave back home! All in all a truly lovely place and one of the best holidays I've had - definitely will be doing it again! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ange77 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip to camping bel, the drive down took us longer than expected mostly due to the fact we were a party of four families consisting of 9 kids between us so toilet stops were continually needed! so we arrived at 7pm after reception was closed and were met by the chap in the bar who was very helpful and showed us to our pitches, we had booked four pitches together which were a good size, tree lined for a little privacy and sandy/earthy under foot.

The toilet blocks were spotless and never had to queue for a shower, the small play parks around the site are clean and safe for kids, there are free table tennis, tennis court, basketball court, you need to bring your own rackets etc, Wi-Fi is free but only available around the bar area, we found this site really kid friendly.

The pool is not massive but great for being able to keep an eye on the kids safely from the comfort of a sun lounger, although not many around the pool, but lots of benches and space for towels on floor, The pool we did find cold but kids didn't seem to care, for me was enough to dip cool off and return to my vertical position!

'The bread man!' typically French! comes round at 8. 30 every morning, but depending on where you are on the site varies what time he gets to you, he used to arrive by our van at about 09. 30 although we used to wonder to find him when he arrived locating him by his bell!

We loved him, he likes you to have a go at a little French but he does speak English too! he is a little more expensive than the super you but we thought his croissants were much nicer, and worth the extra pennies,

The location of the site is brilliant, 10min walk to the beach, 15min walk to town, and 5 min walk to massive super u,

The beach is fantastic for kids, shallow and calm and a beech hut sells drinks, ice creams, burgers, chips etc.

The town was really bustling at night, loads of restaurants, street entertainers and of course chichi sellers. A must after dinner treat!

The super you sells EVERYTHING but top tip get there before 10am or its like sainsburys at Christmas every single day!

We will definitely be booking again, as we had a lovely, relaxing 10 night holiday, 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: 1Dartmoor Camper 2 reviews from this member

 This was our fourth visit to this site (2013, 2012, 2010 and 2009). We are forever changing our unit so across the years we have been there with a range of units. The pitches are all individual and we have always been given a large pitch. This summer we went with a Pennine Pathfinder, our eldest son also had his own tent. The site owners are excellent, friendly and welcoming.

The proximity to Super U, the beach and the town, do all add to the positives of the site. Some of the best beaches are further away, but as always in France parking is free! There is also a free bus that stops very close to the site entrance. We really enjoyed using it.

The site is immaculately clean. Staff clean the showers and toilets night and day.

The bread-man can be annoying, but he is part of the charm of the site along with Monsieur Camembert the ridiculous clown who visits the site each Friday evening!

We have always found the pool to be fine. There are limited sunbeds, but you wouldn't fit many more in the space.

The site advertises itself as being more suitable for families with younger children and this is probably true. The site has proved really popular with the English, which we have started to find a detriment. We do like to meet other nationalities when we're on holiday and there was less of this, this year.

We are not returning to the site, not because we don't like the site but because we feel that we have outgrown it. La Tranche-sur-mer is a great town with good restaurants, our favourite was Hotel Atlantique, excellent fish. There are really good beaches in the area and you are within striking distance of La Rochelle. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ceebee1 4 reviews from this member

 Great friendly site let down by a woefully inadequate pool area!

3 of us stayed in August in our tent booked through Eurocamp Independent.

The site is small (200ish) pitches and feels cramped when you first arrive but you soon get used to it. The pitches are large enough without being over generous. We managed to get our car well away from the road that runs around the site and I am glad I did as I witnessed a small boy crash into the back of a 2 year old car while we were there and made quite a scratch. There are a mix of statics, tents, tourers and mobile homes on site.

The wash facilities are very very clean, they seemed to be being cleaned all day (and night) which was lovely to see. The water is just hot enough (could be 1 or 2 degrees hotter) and there are plenty of showers and sinks etc.

We had an electric hook up which was very reliable (10amp. )

My criticism is the pool. It's too cold (in fact we found the sea to be warmer!) and it's way too small with way too few sun beds. I didn't count them but I'd guess there are 30ish sunbeds on a site with 200 pitches and why oh why are they bolted to the floor????

If you weren't there are 10AM to grab a bed you had no hope until about 5PM when people started clearing off. For us, this was a major turn off for this site. The pool also closes very early (7PM. )

As people have mentioned before, the bread man in very annoying, his bell at 8:30 every morning meant that you had no chance of sleeping in, he's also very expensive - my tip is to walk to Super you (10 mins away) and get much cheaper bread.

All said and done this is a pretty good site, it's the location that gains it the good reviews NOT the facilities. It's 10 mins walk to a supermarket, 10 mins walk to a beach and 10 mins walk to a town. But if you want a site to laze around the pool all day - this site is NOT it! Instead, get in your car and drive to Ile De Re - IT'S STUNNING. We took our bikes over the bridge (16 Euros) and cycled all day around this stunning island - we want to go back!

Final word has to go to James the bike guy - he's so helpful and friendly. Good luck with your expansion plans James! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nigelsp 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at camping bel after a recommendation on the ukcampsite and it was everything we asked for.

After coming from a rural site we were shocked by how cramped the pitches were and how claustrophobic the entire campsite felt. We have a vermont L tent and it just fitted and no more - we certainly could not sit outside in the evening and relax.

The internal roads are very busy with kids on their bikes, which took a bit of getting used to until our children joined in and then it was a great plus for the site!

The toilet block and cleaning facilities were spotless, but the pool was cold. The children's cinema is a great idea and settled them down for a nights sleep.

The site is in a great location, close to the beach and within walking distance to Super U.

I can see why some people hate the breadman arriving in the morning but we loved it.

We are considering staying again next year as the children loved it but a bigger pitch would be nice, as it would feel a bit more 'open'. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Bel child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Bel have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Bel?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Bel dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near La Tranche Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2729 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement