Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Du Poulquer

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Benodet > Camping Du Poulquer Reviews

Camping Du Poulquer
23, Rue Du Poulquer
Benodet
Brittany   (Browse area)
29950
Tel: 0033 02 98 57 04 19
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Static Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 9 reviews from this member

Smallish friendly site in a fabulous position five minutes from the beach and an easy walk (also level, along a promenade so accessible for wheelchairs/mobility scooters) to a boulangerie, bars, restaurants and other shops. Static was super - practically new and very clean, lovely shower and comfy bed.

They are very particular about how you clean it before you leave and rightly so. 2 bed statics are in the middle of the tourers area so you don't feel out on a limb.

All facilities within easy reach including the superb indoor pool which has a jacuzzi, wave machine, water jets and bubble beds - it's like a free spa day! No real shade for much of the day around the outdoor pools, but few people seemed to mind even when it was unseasonably hot for Brittany!

Had a look at the touring pitches as we were previously caravaners - manly very good sized, level pitches with electric points easy to hand, and water at the end of each row. Plenty of shade from mature trees on most of the site, but this does mean access is a bit tight in some places. The site is very well maintained with flower beds around the nice bar patio and hedges to divide the pitches.

Good laundry and wash up facilities - the newer one has hot water, lots of showers and loos but of course no loo seats (Our Static had one!)

Due to the time of year, the other campers were mainly mature couples and young families. There was a group of schoolchildren who did rather monopolise the outdoor pool but it didn't really affect us. Older children with their parents would probably find it a bit sedate, although there's plenty to do nearby.

Steffan and his team are really friendly and welcoming but we did feel there was a slight lack of information - the bar opened on July 1st, a couple of days after we arrived, and then the shop and grocery the next day, but this was not mentioned and it was not signposted. Also I have no idea when the pool hours were - although they were always open when I wanted them! In summary, a really nice site which could be made perfect by a few tweaks!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Badger54 16 reviews from this member

We chose this site because it was closer to the town than Du Letty, and appeared to be a little less `full-on`, and I am certainly glad that we did. The reviews on here, and the ratings on the ACSI website are right in that it is a lovely site, run by very pleasant owners. Our pitch was about 30 metres from the indoor pool (there are also 2 outdoor pools) with sauna and turkish bath, and next door to the pool was the shower/toilet block - -up to date, clean, and plenty of hot water. The tap for fresh water was about 20 metres away, and no-one on our part of the site, which appeared to be just for MH`s (about 12 pitches) was far from any of the facilities. There is a nice bar and outdoor seating area and free, and fast, wi-fi is available around this area. The best part for us was the fact that the beach was just a 50 metre stroll down the street, and then a pleasant walk along the promenade eventually takes you to the marina.

All in all we thought this was a fabulous site, and suited us perfectly - - an added bonus was the bargain price with ACSI, just 16 euros a night for the 2 of us including our MH, EHU, and our dog.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M0SJVSTUART 1 review from this member

Fantastic site well situated very clean, the owner is very helpful. Although the weather was changeable whilst we were there it is a lovely place to visit, there is plenty to do, from the city of Quimper to the most westerly point in mainland Europe, pont Raz.

I cannot recommend this site highly enough, just remember to take some levelling blocks!

The outdoor pool was on the cold side but great fun was to be had using the two slides, the indoor pool was always warm, it also had the benefit of a sauna and a steam room all free to use.

The two shower blocks were very good with plenty of hot water and very little need to queue, I have to say the site was fairly quiet when we were there so this may change at peak times.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nic3101 29 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd campsite on our Brittany/Normandy tour. Got to say the site owner is such a lovely guy - could not do enough, spoke fairly good English (better than my French), took us to view the pitch before we booked - and it was a little on the small side for us - but fine.

There is a lovely bar (with free WIFI), water tap at the top of the 'road' we were pitched on. The loos and showers were VERY clean, hot and spacious. It's literally 2 minutes from the beach no hills or owt).

The pool area is fantastic, 2 Slides for the kids - big and small! an outdoor and indoor jacuzzi, an indoor pool with a steam room and showers.

All in all, fab place. Around 35 euros a night incl electric.

Gorgeous place - clean, well kept, great owners, great area. Honestly couldn't say anything negative.

The owners would do anything to accommodate you - not because they run a business but because they are nice people! Fact!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elsiekay 49 reviews from this member

This is a really nice site only a stones throw from the lovely beach at Benodet. The pitches are a good size and separated by hedging. There is both an outdoor and covered pool which was a bonus. The loo block is clean and well equipped with privacy cubicles and there is a washer and dryer 5 euros each. As noted, you need to remember your own loo roll but that isn't unusual in France. The gentleman on reception speaks good English and is very helpful. WiFi is restricted to the bar area but is good there.

There are a few beachside restaurants in easy walking distance. We didn't eat at any but it was pleasant to sit with a drink overlooking the sea. There is a Carrefour on the town outskirts a few minutes drive from the site.

Benodet itself is nice although it was quite a trek from the site to the tourist office on foot. We took a river trip with lunch to Quimper. It was a lovely trip but very expensive at nearly 90 quid for 2 people. Still. We were on holiday!

We visited Ile Tudy very pretty but difficult access for motorhomes. Also Loctudy, le Letty and several of the viewpoints round the coast. All very nice although we found it more difficult in our smallish motorhome to get around compared to Normandy. More height barriers and 'Interdites camping car' signs in all the nicest spots! For this reason, not sure if we will return to this area but if we do, we will stay at Camping le Poulquer. It was surprisingly full of English people for the time of year but I understand this is the first year the site accepts the ACSI card so that may explain it!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Turner2 52 reviews from this member

Fantastic site well situated in Benodet both near the sea/beach and town. Brand new indoor spa with sauna, steam room and swimming. Outdoor pool with 2 slides and heated. The toilet block is brand new with good free hot showers(only down side you to provide your own toilet paper and no loo seats)

Site is family owned and the son Stefan speaks good English - nothing was too much trouble. Nice easy walk to shops and restaurants.

If you are going to Benodet-then this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Aitch3071 7 reviews from this member

I loved this site as it had a very relaxed atmosphere. The staff seemed lovely but we were not given any information about where to find things around the site or in the local area. We were given a choice of a shady or sunny pitch. We chose a shady pitch which was of a good size and edged by hedges. The only problem we had with being under the trees was that our van got covered in sticky sap which we had to wash off when we left. The facilities were very good with an old and new toilet block both of which were kept clean. Didn't use the pool or bar but both looked Ok. The shop was good for morning bread but other stock seemed limited and it was not always open when it said it would be. No barriers or gates to the site but this didn't seem to be a problem as the site was very quiet at night. The beach is just around the corner and the town is easily reached by bike. I was surprised by the lack of shops for such a big town but we did eventually find a carrefour so all was well. The boat trip on the Odet is expensive but worth it and a visit to Concarneau is a must. We were lucky enough to be in Bennodet when they had a free open air concert which was well attended by locals and tourists. If you like quiet family run sites then this is for you.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MadFrank 21 reviews from this member

This site is just 2 minutes from the main beach at Benodet and 5 minutes walk from some quite decent beach side restaurants.

Benodet itself is a nice enough town - some restaurants by the beach and port area. Not too many shops to be honest though. There is a big Champion store in the town which was quite sufficient (boxes of JP Chenet red wine for 7 Euros 95 - wow!).

If you stay here make the effort to go to Concarneau and visit the walled city in the port, go to Quimper and look round the medieval quarter and cathedral.

For those of you who know the area the site is on the road between Du Letty and Benodet itself.

The site has a pleasant well cared for air with plenty of clean toilets and showers. The shop is basic, the bar small, and the takeaway limited - all the better for it to be honest since there aren't the hordes of people congregating late at night.

The swimming pool and slides look quite small on the website - but I can honestly say that we went in the pool everyday and the kids didn't get bored of the 2 slides which I though they might.

The site roads are all tarmac with the rows of caravans being off lines of grass tracks.

Be warned there rows of caravan pitches are quite narrow - they suggest a maximum length of 6.5m for a caravan - with due cause. If you have a motor mover it will be a breeze. The rows do slope a bit but nothing a few few blocks and ramps can't cope with.

My van is 7.5m long and I asked them in advance if they could cope with me. There are some pitches that can cope with the longer twin-axles but not many. Be prepared for some serious power steering abuse or get a mover - I don't have one so getting on the pitch was a bit difficult.

The feel of the site is very friendly and I would say at least 75% of the vans, campers and tents were NON British - quite refreshing for a change.

I got talking - as I do - to many people and found that lots of them return year after year because they like the feel of the site so much.

There is plenty of shade on the site from many mature trees - the majority of the pitches are bordered by 4ft high hedges. The electic hookups for the pitches are a mixture of standard 'round blue plugs' that we get in the UK and the more traditional 2 pins round french sockets. Each stand serves 4 pitches so be prepared with a longer cable. There was no problem with reverse polarity either.

I loved it and so did the wife and kids. PS don't tell anybody!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3440 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019