Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Baron Of Beef

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Shropshire > Bucknell > Baron Of Beef > Reviews

CLOSED: Baron Of Beef
Chapel Lawn Road
Bucknell
Shropshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that whilst this pub is still open, the campsite has closed, and they longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sox500c 11 reviews from this member

 A dozen generously sized well maintained pitches in a relatively flat paddock behind the pub. Nice soft ground with only the occasional stone under the soil. Electric hook-up available on most pitches and one water standpipe. Toilet facilities available in the pub during opening times and the disabled toilet is open 24/7 via key code. A single shower is in the disabled toilet, shower use during pub opening hours is discouraged because access may be required by customers. I would imagine a queue could form for the toilet/shower during busy periods but as there were only two pitches occupied during our stay this wasn’t an issue. There are no dishwashing facilities on site so be prepared for this.

The area is pretty quiet with only the faintest of road/rail noise at night. The pub is very nice with a large beer garden. The food was generally of a good standard but I would have expected more beef dishes bearing in mind the pub’s name. A decent range of ales and ciders but only one draft lager, a premium lager would be nice. All the staff we encountered were friendly and attentive and when we had cause for complaint it was dealt with quickly.

There is another pub about 10 minutes walk away, turn left out of the site and then left down by the side of the cemetery, past the old school house and follow the path along the river, the pub is on the right as you emerge at the main road. Not as cosy, but an alternative place for food/drink for when the Baron is closed. Be aware that neither the Baron nor this pub serve food on Sunday evenings.

The local railway station is a short walk from the site, as are the bus stops, but bus & rail service on a Sunday is very limited if at all. Great biking roads in this area and if you’re into steam trains then the Severn Valley Railway that runs between Bridgnorth and Kidderminster is worth a look. Ludlow is about 30 minutes drive from the site and is a very pleasant market town with plenty of places to eat and drink. I can recommend Ye Olde Bull Ring Tavern for a decent meal. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cheltonian 2 reviews from this member

 Good pitch, good food, good weather, good walks, BUT the owner talked the talk of improving the site but needed a grant! why do you need a grant to improve a camp site?

The personal hygiene facilities are well below the standard I would expected, with a washbasin pretty well already filled by the taps and no room for water or to get your hands in. No natural light, dingy and unable to cope with a full site if the picture is to be believed, the owner did say most modern vans have all the facilities they need so the rest of us must put up or shut up. No dish/cloth washing facilities.

I was disappointed. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Basherbish 5 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a four night stay at this campsite.

The weather was wonderful for this time of the year, except for one evening when it absolutelly hammered down for twenty minutes. There was no waterlogging of the site, it was ' dry ' in no time. The field is level, sheltered all round by tall hedges and the grass is almost bowling green quality.

The facilities provided were well up to scratch, toilets and showers clean, the site owner and staff were welcoming and helpful and the pub atmosphere was warm and accommodating.

There is a local bus service from the village, giving an easy means of visiting Ludlow, a wonderful old market town with markets on Thurs, Frid and Saturday. We will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boghugger 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a 5 day stay at this site. Whilst there it snowed heavily and we had to stay an extra night to wait for the roads to clear. We did have some difficulty getting off the site due to the depth of the snow, but the owners, owners children and a couple of staff members came to our rescue and got us going, so many thanks to all for their help it was greatly appreciated.

The site is situated at the back of the pub and is on a large flat field. There is EHU, chemical toilet disposal and access to the disabled loo/shower via a keypad.

We didn't eat at the pub, but did go in for a drink and got a warm and friendly welcome. In fact, all the people we met whilst walking around the village seemed very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this site to anyone wanting to explore the area and will certainly use it again the next time we visit the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NickT13 5 reviews from this member

 Great place and as I was on my motorbike the roads there were perfect for the journey.

The field is flat just at the back of the pub, there are some electric hook ups.

The pub does good food with welcoming staff and the locals were chatty.

On the downside the campers use the disabled toilet where there is also a shower, however it is only available outside pub hours, as I got there after 6pm I could not use the shower that evening.

A small price to pay for such an enjoyable evening. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Archibald 1 review from this member

 The campsite is remarkably neat and tidy in a very scenic setting. The surrounding area is very picturesque and local areas of interest are easily accessible.

The on-line booking was straight forward and the Baron of Beef was easy to find.

The pub itself is beautifully presented, and the staff very welcoming. The meal we had was delicious, and I'd go as far as to say, the best, tastiest cheeseburger I've had.

The one downside is the shower facility available. There is only one (well-presented shower) with restricted access during the day which could be problematic when the site is busy. If there was a second shower, I would give top marks for a first class site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MurphyandLizzie 4 reviews from this member

 Spent one night on the camp site at the back of this lovely country pub. Field is flat and well cared for and not at all boggy in spite of all the recent rain.

Staff at the pub made us welcome and we enjoyed an excellent meal with them that night. Imaginative menu using local produce served by lovely staff. Very good beer!

Nice walks in the area to take our dogs. Just one loo and shower combined but spotlessly clean and well designed. Will definitely return! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Edwardsfamily 3 reviews from this member

 We will certainly be returning in the future.

We were four adults in a folding camper. The site is basically a small field at the back of the lovely beer garden that the Baron of Beef has. It is a very informal set-up. There are a few electric hook-ups but the rest of the site seems to be just to pitch-up where you want. The site is pretty level, with the odd lumps and bumps here & there but it didn't affect us.

The site is small, quiet, deep in the Shropshire countryside and a 20 second walk to the pub - which we loved! The food at the pub is divine - especially the steaks :) Access to the site is pretty easy.

The toilet set-up is to use the pub toilets during the day and the externally accessed disabled toilet/shower/baby change during the night. The external door is coded access so ask for the code when you book in. The shower is available at specified times of the day.

We stayed during the wet weekend following the month long early summer we have been experiencing. We knew the bad weather was coming and were a bit worried that the rain would be gushing through our awning over the dried land. But the site was well drained and it was no problem.

The staff and locals at the Baron of Beef are really friendly and we will definitely be returning with our toddler in tow as we are confident it will be a cracking, safe site for her to run around on. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 34 reviews from this member

 I have stayed here a couple of times. In November 2010 I was the only fool, er, person on the field during a cold wet evening while heading for a concert in Much Wenlock, and almost got stuck in the field when even more rain fell overnight.

Unfortunately the EHU location and my short cable meant I had to be a fair distance onto the grass. Thank goodness for gripmats! The lunchtime meal I had was very good.

My last visit was the day before the royal wedding and the field was filled with 2 big groups and another motorhome, so I had to park up towards the far corner and no EHU was available. The one water point meant I had to navigate my way through the other tents.

The pub's toilets are available during opening hours and the disabled toilet, which also doubles as a shower, is available overnight and at certain times of the day. Access to the latter is via a keypad code.

The building appears to completely close outside of pub hours so when I arrived mid-afternoon I could not pay or ask about where to park. I ended-up driving around until the evening, and will remember next time to arrive at lunchtime.

Mobile phone reception was patchy, and 3G reception non-existent, which didn't get better until you drove a fair distance away. Not too surprising considering the terrain.

The prices are a little bit higher than I would like but the location is good as a stopover. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4765 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement