Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Grange Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Frome > Lower Grange Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

CLOSED: Lower Grange Farm Certificated Site
Feltham
Frome
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 11 Reviews
                6/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atucker 1 review from this member

 A lovely small and quiet site. Ideal for caravans and motorhomes.

We camped but found there wasn't access to the showers as the B&B was shut. The 2 toilets and one washbasin are shared so could be a little awkward if there are a few campers.

I would recommend checking shower access before booking.

Quite expensive at £20 a night. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 223 reviews from this member

 We hadn't read any reviews before we booked for a stop-over to break a long journey. The owner's two free-ranging boxer dogs (that I see other reviewers think are so cute) ambushed our small spaniel as she came out of our motorhome. She's never fought in her 10 years, and my husband had to lift both the boxers off her by their collars: we were shocked and should have left then. Luckily our dog wasn't bitten due to my husband's quick actions, just covered in boxer slobber. The owner apologised and took the dogs away. However, they came back so our dog had to stay indoors when normally she'd be on a lead outside, as on every other site we go to. We saw that the boxers also go into any unit if the door is open (including a tent that the owners has left insecure).

Apart from that, the site is very quiet with a pretty outlook, and adequate toilets (we weren't told about a shower). But those boxers should be kept in their own secure enclosure, not roaming freely. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikecarter1969 8 reviews from this member

 Nice pitches, hardstanding next to grass. Great toilet and showers for those in tents. Grass nicely maintained and 2 loony boxers.

Nice and quiet, great wildlife and well set up. This is a nice little site that will not disappoint. Great for Frome (Jenson Button was there) and Longleat and sellers of outboard engines in our case! Aprroaches are a bit difficult,e specially if you have a larger van. Make sure you get a good swing in the gates are a bit of a swine!

Nice friendly owner and the site is dog friendly too! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Y Barfog 1 review from this member

 Because of the adverse reviews, we booked this site with some apprehension when visiting Longleat last week, decided it was worth the risk for only 2 nights as we planned on being off-site during the daytime.

Have to speak as we found - things must have improved since some of the reviews.

Firstly, owner didn't allow his dogs onto the site field at all when we were there, and no sign of broken toilet seat! Toilet paper absent first evening, but ample thereafter - and wash basin in toilet block had lots hot water, soap dispenser and hot-air dryer. We had asked for pitch where we could put our van with daughter's tent adjacent so that grandson could pop into van easily during night if necessary, and owner happy to accommodate that.

Sadly, owner said he'd just had to let alpacas go, so no animals as mentioned in earlier reviews, and no play equipment in evidence either.Apart from trees of course, and lots of space in the adjacent field for the children to run around in!

The shower is still an issue - definitely felt like you'd be going into family home, and dogs tended to think so too, so not sure how we would have found things if we had been in a tent without use of van.

Night skies wonderful, no light pollution at all, and lovely to be able to hear the little Longleat train whistle in the distance. We paid same price for van pitch with EHU as daughter etc did for their tent without EHU - shame prices are not published on their website really. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Antman 1 review from this member

 Need a wide swing when you enter the site, very small gate way. Lovely camping area with a few animals which is brill for the kids. Owners dogs run free and so do campers dogs. You don't have a warden on camp site constantly and other campers (adults and children) behaved selfishly by screaming and shouting, throwing frizbe( which hit our van), and became very verbal until 2am and playing a radio quite loud also until 2am, sound carries at night and was very disturbing. Luckily the worst group only ruined our last afternoon and night.

There is plenty of space to play without being too close to camping units. 2 x Toilets but was not clean. You need to provide your own loo roll. 1 Shower in utility room of house, but it costs £1 per person. It would benefit from site rules like the clubs have. Lots of tents.

Short drive to Longleat, food there very pricey and not very tasty, but plenty to see and do. Safari expensive for what it is, buy a passport it works out better value 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: R1cbm 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed here this last weekend. We were planning a trip to longleat with the kids, not been before so wanted to stay locally. Nice site, very small which is good, only allowed 5 vans and some tents. Pitches were not really marked out so there was a lot of space. They have some animals on site which was nice as my boy likes watching what they were up to. Very quiet site as you would expect and the owner was very friendly, didnít rush us to pay when we arrived late Friday evening. I popped round to see him on the Saturday evening to pay and didnít realise he only takes cash or cheque. (I should have thought about this due to size of site really) I said Iíll pop back to the van for the extra £4 and he said donít bother.

Itís a tight turn into the site but the owner helps us to get in and we have a small van so larger vans could be a challenge. Itís only 10 minutes from longleat which is great and such a nice place to visit, donít buy your food there as itís very expensive. We took a packed lunch!

Toilets are clean and out of the 70ís. Didnít see any showers, not that we looked as we used our van. They have two dogs on site I think boxers which they let roam around day and night. They seem to be very friendly, but I was really starting to get annoyed as my 2 year old was frightened by them and I donít trust dogs with small children anyway. So trying to pack up in the morning with a baby in a pram and a toddler and trying to keep two dogs away was a challenge. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickycwtch 5 reviews from this member

 We are just back from our first camping trip. The site was in a lovely location with plenty of open space and accessible for local attractions.

Owner David was very friendly and approachable. The dogs were a big hit with the children on the site.

There is only one shower which could be problematic when the site is busy and the unisex toilet block is in need of some repair. E.G broken toilet seat.

All in all a good first experience and would visit again 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lynn_brighton 11 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 night stay & visit to Longleat. This is a lovely family run site with 2 adorable boxer dogs (Cally and Basil). We had a great pitch with lots of space, it was peaceful, quiet and very safe for the children to explore. The only thing that lets this site down is the lack of facilities. There is a small unisex toilet block with just 2 toilets and a sink, no toilet roll or soap. We stayed when it was really quiet and the toilets still had regular queues. Also there is only 1 shower which is located in the family home. It is a lovely shower but we waited outside at 7.30am for our shower but no-one opened the door until 8.30 by which time there was a long queue. Not much use if you like early showers like myself and want an early start.

That said we had a lovely stay and if they invested in a new shower/toilet block it would be perfect. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MONTY1953 1 review from this member

 Just had a two night stay at this site in order to visit Longleat.

A quiet and unique site which is family run, and has two very friendly and charming boxer dogs to keep an eye on every one. Their names are Carley and Basil. The facilities comprise of a unisex toilet block and a single shower in the main house, which also does bed and breakfast. There are several animals on this site including some Alpackers.

The atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed. A real haven of peace for any stay. The rates are very reasonable. We will definitely be returning. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3081 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement