Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lee Meadow Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Lee Meadow Farm Reviews

Lee Meadow Farm
Shaftsorough Lane
Lee
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 8FF
Tel: 07773 426609  or  01271 879825
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pienewman 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic place. Very clean and friendly.

The pitch was a large and perfect for a big tent.

The shop was always stocked and the staff all very helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: LuckyStag 1 review from this member

 We had a pleasant stay on this peaceful campsite, despite Storm Evert! Around 4 fields, definitely more than the 30 pitches stated in this listing, but noise was never an issue and the pitches are spacious. Our field had a great view of the sea but almost none of the pitches were level; other fields looked flatter. Disappointed there were no animals to say hello to on site, but we found some space for cricket and football.

Helpful staff, though rather disorganised. We paid for 4 pitches but were only given 3, and we weren't told we were responsible for 'reserving' the empty one for family coming later, so it was taken by someone else and our family had to take a pitch further away.

The toilets and showers were cleaned regularly; the old block in our field was OK, but no hot water at the sinks so we walked the extra metres to use the new block, which was much bigger and nicer. I never queued to use the toilet or shower.

Our main complaint would be that the water in the men's block was never more than luke-warm in the 7 days we were there. We were told to let it run for several minutes which seemed rather contrary to the eco-friendly ethics, and it didn't help anyway.

Quite an expensive site so they need to sort this basic requirement out. The washing up area, on the contrary, has plentiful hot water but they need to add some 'Danger, very hot water' stickers as I saw a young girl burn herself whilst trying to wash her hands there.

The shop is great and the wetsuit wash and freezer room were much appreciated. The bike rental folk kindly let us borrow their pump and tools to fix our puncture.

The site is in a great location for beaches and the Tarka trail (walking and cycling), in the countryside, no road noise. We enjoyed the steep 20min walk down to the Grampus pub and Lee Bay beach.

If the menfolk had just had hot showers then this would've been a great stay, but it was still very good, thank you. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MrsRys 11 reviews from this member

 Booked into this site for just over a week. Initial impression was that the site was spacious (basically two large fields).

Facilities were spotless. Shop itself is fairly small but stocked a good selection of basic provisions including the farm's own meat. Our only complaint was that the prices of the basic provisions were high - 5. 60 for a jar of marmalade for example! However, shopping is available in nearby Ilfracombe for all your daily needs.

There is plenty of walking direct from the site - although beware the track down to Lee Bay from the site is muddy in places (even when its dry). Plenty of dog walking on the nearby dog-friendly beaches of Woolacombe and Saunton Sands (which are VAST !). 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChrissiD 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, definitely best we have ever stayed at for facilities and cleanliness and has rekindled our love for camping!

Shower and toilet blocks were just right - never a queue and kept immaculate, washing up area more than adequate and the on site farm shop with fresh produce, breakfast and lunch goods plus stone baked pizzas was fab.

The pitches were spacious and with great views, so even with everything thought of - facilities to charge phones, freeze ice packs, hire bikes, campfires and picnic tables and wash wetsuits, the site still managed to feel completely like real camping.

The owners were super friendly and helpful - will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SUNSEEKER21 4 reviews from this member

 Just had to put a review on this is the 5 time we have been to this site its so lovely we have been in busy and quiet time we always know there is an extra field in August but it doesn't bother us everywhere in Woolacombe is extra busy in August but this site still feels laid back and chilled out lots of room for all.

The family work so hard to make sure everyone is ok. Its a shame some people are disrespectful of the quiet times but Matt and Trudy always make sure they are reminded of the rules :-) and the facilities are always clean plenty of hot water and the showers are fab this is so Cheap for the area I think the price is still the same for the last 3 years.

The animals the Farm shop the staff exactly what camping is all about. No frills but this is camping

See you soon keep up the great work. The area is amazing ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atentaholic 1 review from this member

 We arrived on Wednesday to find a beautiful campsite with comfortable facilities and a friendly welcome, we enjoyed walk to Lee Bay and a bike ride into Ilfracombe the next day. Woolecombe bay is not far away, I would recommend parking out on the south end where the beach is quieter.

If you are looking for a quiet campsite this is not the place to be as it is popular with groups of friends and families you are a large group you will be able to pitch close together and the noise rules are not enforced. The weekend we were there it turned into a bit of a party zone. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bazsaz 2 reviews from this member

 I booked a week here after reading the good reviews, it's a nice site and the owners were lovely, though we were disappointed with the shower facilities, some of the doors didn't lock, the water was often a Luke warm trickle and the cubicles weren't at all private with the doors and side partitions starting above my knee and above my young children's bottoms!

We had asked for a sheltered pitch and was unfortunately put in the middle of a field, we had very bad weather while we were there and the wind and rain did have us awake all night worrying for the safety of our tent.

Also beware a camp fire does sound great but they are extremely smelly and made the tent and our clothes smell of smoke even though we didn't have a fire ourselves.

The site is easy to find and far enough away from the road not to have any traffic noise, but there could do to be a few more passing places once you turn off the main road. It's about 10 minute drive to both woolacombe and ilfracombe.

This is a good value site which is mainly why we booked it but I did wish, especially given the rubbish weather we had (in august!) that we'd paid extra for a site with more facilities. Also woolacombe is a lovely place with gorgeous beaches, just not much to do if it rains. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fonant 9 reviews from this member

 A more-sheltered site close to Woolacombe and the beach.

The site is very popular, and it's probably worth booking ahead (even if on the same day) at busy times.

There is an excellent cafe and farm shop, which was selling home-made pizza in the evenings we were there. Facilities are plentiful, although there was a lack of hot water at peak times.

Fire pits and tables are available to hire, but these are priced per-visit and are very expensive for just one night's stay.

The farm has pigs, piglets, chickens and a horse. The piglets were VERY sweet and fun to watch! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Yorkie brid 1 review from this member

 Have been a member for 14 years but this is the friendliest site ever visited. Even the phone call booking was friendly, courteous and informative making you want to get there as soon as possible.

The facilities where more than adequate, clean with plenty of hot water. We were immediately made to feel like one of the family. Nothing was too much trouble. Kids play area spacious and well used with farm animals to view as an added incentive.

The shop and catering facilities were superb.

In close proximity to other places of interest make this an ideal location. This was not Butlins but by gum it has something really special about it. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Claireuk 14 reviews from this member

 This campsite is one of the best we have been to. Now if you are looking for entertainment inc a pool, club this is not for you. If you are looking for enjoying the countryside, wildlife, farm life, beaches, amazing fresh food this is for you !

My kids age 6 and 9 loved it as there was actually room to play and kick a ball which can be rare these days when you get crammed into pitches. We had opted for no electric and were told we could pitch where we wanted ( it was not very busy when we arrived). Even when the campsite got busy there was still plenty of space

We did not queue for the showers or washing up and they were all kept clean. My 6 yr old fell in love with Evie the micro pig and spent every moment when we were at the campsite with the pig ! There are alpacas, chickens, lots of pigs, a horse and sheep so the kids love it.

You can purchase eggs and meat from the shop along with many other amazing goods fresh from the farm.

Cheap campsite but you spend all your money in the farm shop. But that is because it is that good ! The people that run the campsite are always about and are very friendly. Beaches are all very close by along the coast from Woolacombe down to Saunton. Nearest supermarkets are in Ilfracombe.

We will definitely be going back to this site. 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lee Meadow Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lee Meadow Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lee Meadow Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1979 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement