Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - St Andrews Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > St Andrews Holiday Park Reviews

St Andrews Holiday Park
Kinkell Braes
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY16 8PX
Tel: 01334 474250
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 37 Reviews
                6/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Navroo 2 reviews from this member

Have stayed on this site before and definitely it scores 10/10 for location and views. Last time we noted the toilets were dated but clean, this stay toilets not so well cared for and showers floors were in need of a good clean. Reception staff pleasant and helpful and as always St Andrews is a great place to visit. Beautiful coastal walks right from the campsite which was great as we had the dog with us. A bit overpriced but then it is high season. Could be so much better if they just gave toilets and showers some TLC

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Manj 17 reviews from this member

Stayed here recently for a few days but unfortunately won't be returning.

We were checked in quickly and efficiently by a nice lady.

The pitches were very close together, especially if you had an awning, and also on quite a slope so remember to take blocks. One good feature from the pitches are the lovely views over to East Sands and St Andrews, both within easy walking distance.

There is a new clubhouse with indoor and outdoor seating and a play park next to it. Although there was entertainment at night the noise wasn't an issue. The main issue for this site has to be the old, outdated toilets! It was like stepping back in time to old fashioned public loos! The owners should have a look at some other sites to see what standards are like nowadays. Water was hot enough but not much room and the shower curtain was very clingy !(very unhygienic) There was a bucket and mop with disinfectant which, unfortunately, not everyone used (not the fault of the owners!).

The bins tended to fill up quickly but were not emptied enough with the result seagulls were getting access and making a mess.

The static area looked much more pleasant than the touring areas.

At over £30 per night feel it is much too expensive and have stayed on nicer touring sites costing a lot less.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grandhare 7 reviews from this member

We always go to Clifftops section of the site. Been coming here for years. Very pleased to see hardstanding put in for this year (we were here in May 2018 also) but it is very narrow. Saw a few people struggle to get on it.

Anyway, the first question is why don't the owners spend money on the shower/toilet blocks instead of fancy planting of hedging which is not surviving too well in the battle of rabbits and children playing?

The large general waste wheelie bins were overflowing long before they were due to be emptied so the general waste was being put in the recycling waste bins! Also bottles! It was into our second week when they put a small wheelie for bottles. This filled up so fast that they brought a second one. Neither were emptied when we left.

Finally, the playpark. It is all very well to put a sign up saying children have to be supervised at all times! I counted 15 children on their own one night and some of them very aggressive towards younger ones. So much so, I had to step in to point out that what they were doing was dangerous! Did not go down well and I took my 8 year old away as was genuinely fearful of repercussions against her.

The site is in a fantastic location but for the price we paid for the pitch, I would expect a better level of facilities. Maybe those that use the clubhouse, unlike ourselves, would have a different view?

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

If its location then this site is a good 9. 9 /10. Perched on the cliffs we had a fabulous view over the sands towards the town. We started on a hard-standing pitch at Squires but it was really sloping so we moved up a few rows to the grass - it was firm and much leveler.

Pitches a very good size, ehu and water nearby, as other have said to empty grey water you need to drive up to Clifftops touring area - a real faff.

Toilets / showers were ok at best - they are old but kept very clean. Water reasonably hot but a 15-20 second press button?? Not sure the people that set these have every taken a shower - change it to a time that allows you to get wet and the showers aren't that bad. They do need a serious upgrade but credit to the cleaners for keeping them as well as they do.

Outside the gents was a security light that came on as you approached - the ladies had nothing so you stumble in the dark trying to get your key in. That's another question, why do you need a key? there is never going to be anyone walking past.

The rest of the site is really well kept, everything is very tidy and grass cut. There is a laundry room between the two pitching area. £3. 20 for a wash and £2. 10 for 40 minute dry.

Wifi available but chargeable, there is free wifi at the bar which we found worked fine on our pitch.

The other area where the site scores really highly for us was the reception staff- lady and gent on duty on Monday 18th afternoon were brilliant - nothing too much trouble even though we changed pitches, then changed how long we were staying which meant another pitch change.

It was a very easy 15-20 minute walk into town from the site, along the coastal path which takes you past the beach and it worth it for the views alone.

For the price of £26 per night we loved the location and customer service - the facilities let it down for the price.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julietyran 11 reviews from this member

Whenever we come to St Andrews we always stay at Kinkell. Its a great site and the Clifftops touring area is spot on for our needs. Depending on the pitch you choose you get great views of the sea and town. Its a short walk to the town. The club is a great addition to the site now its been refurbished. As with other reviews, the toilets are slightly outdated but clean. We don't mind pitching up on the grass. If you do get stuck, ( which has happened to us before), the staff are quick to tow you out and are very helpful. I can't really fault this site at all over the years we have used it.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bodiddly 29 reviews from this member

We booked a hard standing on Sprinfields, don't bother unless you have a caravan or small campervan, it was very narrow with too much slope to get level with even the highest Milenco blocks. The lady on reception was very helpful and changed it for a grass pitch on Clifftops, nos 75-100 are along the tree line at the far end and are much harder and drier than the rest, you may still need blocks as it slopes to the side a little, but very flay front to back, the view of St Andrew from here is amazing. The motorhome service point is on Clifftops, OK for filling but very badly designed for emptying. The ladies toilets and showers were dated but clean, but the gents had 3 toilets with broken locks and water all over the floor. The site was very quiet so would not like to be here at busy times. The bar and cafe were both shut for refurbishment while we were there. The walk into St Andrews takes about 30 minutes along the coastal path (not high or near the edge so OK if you don't like heights). The beach is lovely and the town is well worth a visit, with some good shops and cafes. It's a shame about the touring facilities as this could be an amazing site, but still worth a visit out of the busy season.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jimbod22 2 reviews from this member

We booked 3 nights stay for an important event in St Andrews. However our experience at the site was so bad we left early. We were sited 20 yards exactly from an active building site which had heavy machinery, power and hand tools operating all day from 8. 30am. The plot should never have been used while the clubhouse was being rebuilt.

Also the toilet block was disgusting, scruffy, outdated and resembling a neglected public urinal from bygone years. We used our motorhomes facilities during our stay as we did not consider the block fit for use. I relayed our concerns when we left early and handed the unused toilet block key back to reclaim the ridiculous £20 deposit. The receptionist advised me to email her so she could pass it on, it seemed that she had heard it all before.

St Andrews is a beautiful area but the problems at the site spoiled our visit. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 41 reviews from this member

We arrived her for a weekend break. The reception was very friendly and helpful. A bit of a shocker was we had to stump up £20 cash for a toilet key deposit, which I didn't have. So a trip into town later to get the cash. We had booked a hardstanding pitch, no 12 which is in the Squires Touring field. There were only 9 hardstanding pitches in the site. They were all on a slight slope, not a problem with levelling blocks. The views from the site are tremendous. With St Andrews centre only a short walk away down the coastal path, the location is fantastic. The toilet block is functional but in sore need of being replaced by a modern one. Hopefully after the new Bar/Restaurant/games room is finished they will spend some money on the Squires Toilet Block. The Playpark which is next to the Squires

View looked fantastic. The site is huge and is mainly all statics. A let down was also the only grey water disposal was in the Clifftopps Touring field which was a fair distance from the Spires field and then only a tiny square drain which just doesn't do the job. Cant help thinking that it is one of those site that the emphasis is very much on the Statics and the touring part very much comes second, which is a shame because with not a huge expenditure, it could be a great touring site. The site also has a 5mph limit on vehicles and there is a lot of vehicle movement with many drivers going far to fast. A few times I saw children dodging out of a cars way. Unfortunately many of the vehicles going to fast were Abbeyford Leisure. I would return to this site because of the location, but maybe after some improvements to the Touring areas.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paddyvan 7 reviews from this member

Just back from a few nights here, 1st of all the staff all over the site ( bar, grounds and reception ) cannot be faulted and are very nice and helpful, site itself is very clean and tidy but as mentioned before by others the toilets are in need of a refurbishment to say the least AND you pay £20 deposit for one key which is ridiculous, maybe they want you to forget to hand it back so they make a killing !?. Can visit the beach from the back of the site and this also takes you into town, a very nice walk indeed. The food in the bar is nice and fair price as well, again friendly staff in this part. Also as mentioned by others the pitches for tourers are pretty sloped and the use of chocks are a must. Too many statics pretty close together everywhere on site. Overall a nice enough site BUT this has nothing to do with the greedy owners and ALL to do with the friendly staff, I hope they are paid a good rate ?

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Manj 17 reviews from this member

Recently stayed here for a few days. Ideal setting overlooking St Andrews harbour. Site is on a slope so you will probably need some levelling ramps. We had a grass pitch which suited us fine for a short stay. Many statics on this site and 2 areas for tourers. We liked the Clifftop area best. There is a clubhouse on site which we never visited, nor did we hear any noise from it and the site was full when we were there. The only downside for us was the toilet block - definitely needs an upgrade. They are borderline as to whether we return or not. They certainly weren't helped when we were there by some mucky members of the public - would they be so messy in their own homes ???? Thought it was quite expensive compared to other sites we have been on. If the toilet block gets an upgrade we will definitely return as there was a nice atmosphere on site.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1175 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019