Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Andrews Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > St Andrews Holiday Park > Reviews

St Andrews Holiday Park
Kinkell Braes
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY16 8PX
Tel: 01334 474250
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 43 Reviews
                6/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Jpgil3 1 review from this member

 Great campsite and great location but toilet and shower block is terrible - needs knocking down and rebuilding

Two of stayed here for the week to compete the Eden tournament at ST Andrews

Campsite is fab and has a papa Johnís pizza and bar/terrace on site but the toilet/shower block was a real let down - old and filthy 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mcniv 7 reviews from this member

 Spent a week here with caravan and a tent in spires field pitches are a bit tight for caravan awning and car, had a walk round cliff tops field and the pitches there are more generous.

Toilets and showers block is dated but they are clean and hot water was never a problem abercorn leisure could surely afford to up date the block.

The beach is within easy reach for able bodied people- its a steep hill and quite a climb back up. Tried the restaurant have to order food and drink via the app but all orders were correct and it worked well.

A bit of investment would go a long way here, it could turn a not to bad site into a very good site probably would return some time in the future (customer service rating had to be put in it was no contact check in and out) 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Murpherret 6 reviews from this member

 Good location and space. Some disturbance from noisy group but they did stop by midnight.

Toilets block is updated and difficult to keep clean. Would not take a shower there. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lukeledge 28 reviews from this member

 Touring site on the edge of very large static caravan site, the area we had had views across to St Andrews and the Firth. It was very quiet so felt quite roomy.

The hardstanding on each pitch is very narrow and very hard to drive onto without getting wheels on the very soft and wet ground to avoid getting stuck!

Washroom block was ok but getting a bit tired looking, plenty of hot water but irritating push button taps and showers that only stayed on for about 10 seconds.

It is a good location you can walk into St Andrew's either along the coast path or by the road about 20minutes, also easy to cycle in from the site as the pavement allows cying as well. Good cycle track from St Andrew's to Guardbridge and Tentsmuir.

There is a pizza place on site but didn't use it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Minoltaman 7 reviews from this member

 Location brilliant near the coastal path to St Andrews, St Andrews is worth a visit with large beach, historic buildings, shops and Street cafes.

As mentioned before the toilets are a bit dated but clean, our location was the Clifftops touring site, also as mentioned before you will need levellers as some of the pitches have a slope.

My concern was the safety aspect because touring caravans which had a awning then the car parked at the side, some had people come visit with their cars which then did not leave much room between caravans. If there was a fire it would be a disaster.

Overall itís a big site with holiday homes, childrenís play area, bar/ restaurant, pizza takeaway but Clifftops is far enough away from all that to make it a quite pleasant stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jinty15 5 reviews from this member

 I can't fault the location or the view, however our stay was by far the worst we have ever had.

Due to Covid 19 it was a contactless check in, they had sent us a map of where our pitch was, they stated that the reception hours were limited but failed to state what hours this would be. They had included a phone number which went to voice mail and all emails would be responded to within 48hrs.

On our first night one of the tents behind us had an all night party, another party with young children requested several times to quieten it down only to be verbally abused. They had left a lot of litter behind the toilet block which was still there when we left.

I emailed a complaint and received a reply on the 3rd day apologising but stating the people were only there for 1 night, I was also told I could have phoned the night warden, however that information wasn't available to us.

We were unable to find the grey water drain, despite asking other campers and a member of the ground staff, no one seemed to know.

While the toilets were dated I did expect them to be clean due to Covid 19, however I went in on the second day to find one of the wash hand basins choked, on return the next day a further two were choked. On that same day on emptying the chemical waste I found there was no water for rinsing the cassette nor did it flush.

This does not appear to be a site for young families or people seeking a quiet time 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Navroo 2 reviews from this member

 Have stayed on this site before and definitely it scores 10/10 for location and views. Last time we noted the toilets were dated but clean, this stay toilets not so well cared for and showers floors were in need of a good clean. Reception staff pleasant and helpful and as always St Andrews is a great place to visit. Beautiful coastal walks right from the campsite which was great as we had the dog with us. A bit overpriced but then it is high season. Could be so much better if they just gave toilets and showers some TLC 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Manj 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed here recently for a few days but unfortunately won't be returning.

We were checked in quickly and efficiently by a nice lady.

The pitches were very close together, especially if you had an awning, and also on quite a slope so remember to take blocks. One good feature from the pitches are the lovely views over to East Sands and St Andrews, both within easy walking distance.

There is a new clubhouse with indoor and outdoor seating and a play park next to it. Although there was entertainment at night the noise wasn't an issue. The main issue for this site has to be the old, outdated toilets! It was like stepping back in time to old fashioned public loos! The owners should have a look at some other sites to see what standards are like nowadays. Water was hot enough but not much room and the shower curtain was very clingy !(very unhygienic) There was a bucket and mop with disinfectant which, unfortunately, not everyone used (not the fault of the owners!).

The bins tended to fill up quickly but were not emptied enough with the result seagulls were getting access and making a mess.

The static area looked much more pleasant than the touring areas.

At over £30 per night feel it is much too expensive and have stayed on nicer touring sites costing a lot less. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grandhare 7 reviews from this member

 We always go to Clifftops section of the site. Been coming here for years. Very pleased to see hardstanding put in for this year (we were here in May 2018 also) but it is very narrow. Saw a few people struggle to get on it.

Anyway, the first question is why don't the owners spend money on the shower/toilet blocks instead of fancy planting of hedging which is not surviving too well in the battle of rabbits and children playing?

The large general waste wheelie bins were overflowing long before they were due to be emptied so the general waste was being put in the recycling waste bins! Also bottles! It was into our second week when they put a small wheelie for bottles. This filled up so fast that they brought a second one. Neither were emptied when we left.

Finally, the playpark. It is all very well to put a sign up saying children have to be supervised at all times! I counted 15 children on their own one night and some of them very aggressive towards younger ones. So much so, I had to step in to point out that what they were doing was dangerous! Did not go down well and I took my 8 year old away as was genuinely fearful of repercussions against her.

The site is in a fantastic location but for the price we paid for the pitch, I would expect a better level of facilities. Maybe those that use the clubhouse, unlike ourselves, would have a different view? 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 639 reviews from this member

 If its location then this site is a good 9. 9 /10. Perched on the cliffs we had a fabulous view over the sands towards the town. We started on a hard-standing pitch at Squires but it was really sloping so we moved up a few rows to the grass - it was firm and much leveler.

Pitches a very good size, ehu and water nearby, as other have said to empty grey water you need to drive up to Clifftops touring area - a real faff.

Toilets / showers were ok at best - they are old but kept very clean. Water reasonably hot but a 15-20 second press button?? Not sure the people that set these have every taken a shower - change it to a time that allows you to get wet and the showers aren't that bad. They do need a serious upgrade but credit to the cleaners for keeping them as well as they do.

Outside the gents was a security light that came on as you approached - the ladies had nothing so you stumble in the dark trying to get your key in. That's another question, why do you need a key? there is never going to be anyone walking past.

The rest of the site is really well kept, everything is very tidy and grass cut. There is a laundry room between the two pitching area. £3. 20 for a wash and £2. 10 for 40 minute dry.

Wifi available but chargeable, there is free wifi at the bar which we found worked fine on our pitch.

The other area where the site scores really highly for us was the reception staff- lady and gent on duty on Monday 18th afternoon were brilliant - nothing too much trouble even though we changed pitches, then changed how long we were staying which meant another pitch change.

It was a very easy 15-20 minute walk into town from the site, along the coastal path which takes you past the beach and it worth it for the views alone.

For the price of £26 per night we loved the location and customer service - the facilities let it down for the price. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is St Andrews Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to St Andrews Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is St Andrews Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Andrews      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2812 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement