Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping De Nevers

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Burgundy > Nevers > Camping De Nevers > Reviews

Camping De Nevers
Rue De La Jonction
Nevers
Burgundy   (Browse area)
58000
Tel: 0033 6 84 98 69 79
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 73
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We stayed here overnight on our journey along the Loire. The site is on the riverside opposite the town, you can see the lovely buildings across.

The site has an immediate problem when you arrive, as there is a sharp turn into the entrance, which has a barrier, and there is nowhere to wait except on the road, so there's a lot of juggling with traffic coming and going.

The reception was friendly enough, the staff spoke some English. They were obviously pretty full as we were offered a space on the lower level, and allocated an EHU which was on the higher level, so we had to find a suitable space to park, and use the long cable. This area has no formal pitches, so some of the vans were quite close together. Eventually, some also parked on the space nearest the river, where the tents were.

The sanitary block was some distance away, and up on the next level, beneath the reception. It was very busy, mixed sex, and though the cleaner was there in the morning, by the evening the facilities were unpleasantly dirty.

Washing up was outside, and the water was hot. There is a washing machine that we used, but it can only be used when the staff are there to unlock the laundry. You pay them the cash for this.

We cycled over the bridge into town, but didn't venture too far as it was very hot.

I wasn't struck on this site, it wasn't as cared for as we like, so would probably not return. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KIT1954 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed 1st June for one night whilst heading South, as previously stated its a tight entrance if approaching from N7 or Autoroute but there is a junction 30 metres past where you can turn round and swing in more easily, nice 3 tiered site not large, caravans and Motorhomes on top two tiers and tents on lower, unfortunately due to the very wet weather Northern France was. Suffering the Loire had burst its banks and the lower tier was under water. Site is very convenient for town a five minute walk over the river into the town centre. Friendly receptionist and clean facilities Reccomended but don't arrive too late or the site may be full. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jabawokee 4 reviews from this member

 Tight entrance if approaching from the wrong direction.

Setup on the top level with a fantastic view of the Town and river, facilities were very good but towards the evening the caravans kept on coming so that the lower area was pretty well jammed.

Around 1700hrs several cars with a group of ten or so youths arrived and setup camp below the facilities, within 10 minutes the VERY loud music started and despite being told the Site Rule about quiet from 2200hrs it continued until well after 0130.

At around 0630 we were woken by the French National Anthem blarring and the music continued until Management pulled the plug and the lads left at 0900hrs.

Such a shame as it is a lovely Site in a cracking location but due to the shortsighted Management decision to allow a same sex party we won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morepints 40 reviews from this member

 Used this site for a stopover one rainy evening in mid-September. The location is superb; we were pitched on the riverside with a clear view from the tent to the cathedral over the river; there's a large concrete silo building over there too, which turned out to be the Maison de Culture. Tents are on the lower section; the soil is sandy and easy to peg into. Some noise from the weir, but covers any traffic noise.

At 14pn with ACSI card it's good value, though the snack bar was closed when we were there. Directions on the door to the depot de pain. Toilets clean and warm, up a flight of steps from the lower level.

Looking for a restaurant was tricky - should have used a guide. Ended up at McD's (turn r over bridge; by second roundabout). I suspect the busier part of town is in this area; the bit by the bridge leads to the historical quarter, dominated by cathedral and palace, no shops. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Missmally 27 reviews from this member

 This site is an ideal stop over on the banks of the Loire within easy walking distance of the town.

We pitched our tent on the lower level which is the exclusive domain of tent campers, our tent was adjacent to the dyke so we could use EHU but those tents without EHU pitched right up to the banks of the river. The view across the river to the town and cathedral is lovely, although the cathedral still has scaffolding on it.

The toilets are a bit of a trek for tent campers but are spotless with plenty of hot water. The receptionist spoke perfect English, Dutch and French. We arrived about 5pm without reservation and there were plenty of pitches available for tents but the caravan/motorhome pitches seemed almost full.

Walk across the bridge, cross the road and slightly left and you will find a delightful, small patisserie for your bread and croissants. There is also a friendly bar for a morning coffee and a tabac. Walk up the hill a bit and you arrive at the cathedral and centre of the town with shops, bars and restaurants. Many shops are closed on Wednesdays.

The site cost 29 euros for 1 night for 6 people with EHU - it would obviously be a lot less for a couple.

I would highly recommend this site, it even features in the Cool Camping book and I would make a bee line for it if I was ever travelling in that area again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 To find site:- Leave A77 at junction 37 and take road D976 in the direction of Bourges. At first roundabout take road to Nevers. Just before bridge over the Loire turn right and campsite immediately on the left. Be warned that site reception is closed between midday and 3.00pm and there is no space immediately outside the site to wait so best to time you arrival to avoid the closure.

Camping de Nevers has a lovely situation on the banks of the River Loire overlooking the town on the opposite bank. There are two parts to the site, a higher terraced section and a lower section on the river bank. There are around 70 pitches although only the terraced ones seem to be numbered and with the exception of a couple of mobiles they are all touring. Pitch size is not over generous particularly on the terrace section and newly planted trees don't help access and they are longer than they are wide. I would have thought it would be difficult to place the averaged sized UK caravan on some pitches without the aid of a mover. Likewise setting up an awning could also be difficult due to the provision of space. Electric points, CEE17 connectors, are rated at 6amps. A long lead might be required for the lower section. Water points are dotted around the site. Chemical toilet disposal is combined with the motorhome service point, not sure I would use the water points in this area for caravan water supplies! The reception building is on two levels with the bureau at the higher level and the bar and toilets facilities at the lower level. The bar also does snacks. The toilet facilities are modern and of a high standard with seated toilets but no paper provided. Both toilets and showers are unisex. Internet access is available by a fixed terminal but the WiFi was not working during our stay. The site accepts Camping Cheques out of the high season. Camping de Nevers is a popular night halt and tends to fill up by late afternoon although I would have thought you would find space but I suspect electrics could not be guaranteed.

Apart from being a useful north/south stopover the pleasant town of Nevers, just across the river from the site, is worth a visit. The motor racing circuit at Magny Cours is about 10 miles south. There are numerous supermarkets in the area as well as full shopping opportunities in the town. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 369 reviews from this member

 A very useful site for a 1 night stopover. The entrance is quite tight, the main problem was persuading OH that the big arrow saying 'camping' indicated the right direction. I don't know if it was because it was late in the season, but the lady in reception spoke no English, which was unusual in our experience. The view was somewhat spoiled by the cathedral tower being covered in scaffolding and wrapped up in plastic, but it was still impressive (notwithstanding the fact that it reminded OH of Bedford!) I think the Loire is a bit bigger than the Ouse. The opposite bank is nicely floodlit at night.

The site is easy to find from the autoroute, go back the same way or you will be driving through the town which is not a good idea. The autoroute is free up to J22. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grizgut 7 reviews from this member

 A clean/quiet site that we used as a one night stopover.

The entrance is very tight if you approach it from the wrong direction, don't panic if you do, just drive over the bridge (into Nevers town center) go all the way around the roundabout and double back on yourself, its much easier that way.

The caravan/motorhome pitches have their own water/waste points. There are tall shrubs between pitches so they are quite private, although there is a public footpath opposite the river pitches.

If you go into the town there is a large Champion supermarket (we walked there and back within 30 minutes) along with lots af lovely old buildings, we popped into the cathedral, worth a visit.

The facilities were spotless, I could not fault them. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Val A 30 reviews from this member

 I agree with everything said above - and would add that there is supermarket about 500 metres away, with cheap fuel ready, useful for filling-up without the van on the back!

Toilet facilities were immaculately clean, and always hot water. The view from the site, across to the Cathedral, is lovely.

A very convenient site for an overnight stop - especially as it takes Camping Cheques for quite a long part of the season. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Sjray 11 reviews from this member

 I used this campsite for the weekend of the French Formula 1 Grand Prix 2008 at Magny Cours as it is well situated for the circuit (20-30 min drive).

It is located on the banks of the Loire river to the south of Nevers. The view across the river is to the old part of the town that includes the cathedral. This is a very pretty view of the town. The camp is next to the bridge across the river and does pick-up some noise from the road.

The site is Dutch and the staff speak English and are very helpful. The shower / toilet block were kept very clean and I only had to queue once for the shower. There is a limited shop and bar. The menu is limited but the food good.

Walking across the bridge, past the church into the old town, there is a bustling square with many restaurants. We drank and ate there on several evenings and despite the large crowds (in town for the F1) service was good. There are cash machines and other shops in and around the square. The area looks like what you would expect a typical busy French town to look like; lots of bars and pretty old buildings.

Tents pitches were on a very level area next to the river (caravans/motorhomes were placed on a higher level away from the river). Hookups are available. Being a weekend when the F1 crowd were in town, the siteing of the tents was quite close and we could park our car next to the tent. There wasn't any additional noise except for the rock band playing in the town on the Saturday night that could be heard across the river!

In the later summer months, there is canoeing and local swimming pool - not sure about swimming in the Loire as it was fast flowing.

This is a very picturesque location being opposite the old town (which is illuminated at night) and is close enough (10-15 mins) to walk into. The camp staff are friendly and helpful. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would go back to explore the town more and enjoy the food. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping De Nevers child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping De Nevers?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping De Nevers dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nevers      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Burgundy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44195 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement