Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping La Tour De Prises

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > La Couarde Sur Mer > Camping La Tour De Prises Reviews

Camping La Tour De Prises
Route D Ars Bp 27
Ile De Re
La Couarde Sur Mer
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17670
Tel: 0033 05 46 29 84 82
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 140
Open: March To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Milliebear2016 8 reviews from this member

This has to be the best site we have ever stayed on. The owners invest in the place and it shows. You must book even in low season as they quickly fill up and you could be left out in the cold.

Beautiful pool, bikes for hire, pizza wagon a few days a week, playground, peace and quiet. It's lovely. There are of course a couple of negatives. The pitches are small. If you have a twin axle, hmmmm a bit tight. I wouldn't like to try it. The second problem is that the toilets/showers are unisex. Not overwhelming, but not great. Lots of hot water though and showers are free. But. They could really do with being cleaned twice a day. Clumps of hair and other unmentionables are obvious and unwelcome. A shame that their cleaning staff let them down because it's a lovely, lovely place to stay,

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Achy 14 reviews from this member

This is our second visit to Ile de Re and the 1st time to La Tour des Prises. The site is located in the centre of the island and great for cyclists as it is right on the cycle track. The pitches were quite small but adequate. Wash/toilet blocks clean and the pool is good. There is a small games room with ping pong tables, pool table and television, which my eldest son watched the World Cup final on with lots of other campers. We hired bikes from the campsite and they seemed the same price as from the hire shops in town. There is also a small grocery shop and washing machine area.

I was a little worried that I would feel out of the way at this site (having stayed at Le Remondeau last year, which is in the town) but within 5 mins we were in town on our bikes, so needn't worried.

All in all, I think we would visit again. Yes it is slightly expensive in high season but this is an expensive part of France.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davegatland 6 reviews from this member

After reading other reviews of this site I was expecting something considerably better than I found. First the good news - The site is well located in an old walled orchard adjacent to vineyards and woods. It provides good access to the numerous cycle tracks thay criss-cross the island and gives easy access to the town of Courde sur Mer. The bad news for me is the diminutive size of the pitches and the difficulties in accessing these whilst avoiding the trees that line the narrow access roads. I witnessed a couple of hapless caravanners scrape the sides of their vans whilst trying to exit their pitches. The pitches have a very unkempt look and are littered with previous seasons' leaves and other detritus which, together with the rather claustrophobic pitch sizes, gives the place a rather 'down at heel' appearance. Toilet facilities were OK if a little overloaded given the high occupancy levels. All in all, not a site I will be revisiting (I booked for four nights but left after two). I would only recommend a stay here to those who like a cheek by jowl relationship with their fellow campers and certainly not to someone who needs a little space to chill out.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sean21 7 reviews from this member

The island is a real delight to visit with some amazing beaches and well worth a visit. Access to the site is fine and it is in a very good location with a ten minute walk to the beach. There are numerous walks and cycle paths from the site. The site itself is well laid out with an excellent swimming pool. The reception staff are very friendly and speak good english. There are a mix of static caravans and touring pitches. Some of the pitches though are quite tight and a little cramped. There are a some pitches that are larger and have more space. On arrival we were asked to chose our pitch and we did not have to pay until we were leaving. The toilets are clean and modern but as in other sites in France no seats which is fine with me. There is a fuel station about 1 km away and supermarket 10 mins drive in st Martin.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Retirefire 1 review from this member

We have just returned from three weeks in France, the first of which was spent at this site. We really enjoyed our stay on this fabulous site in a superb location. Our party consisted of me, my wife and our seven year old daughter.

The campsite was almost full during our stay, with mainly French Dutch, Irish and German families. There were some groups of youngsters, some with adult supervision. All were very respectful of each other and come 10pm, the sight was silent.

There was no obvious presence of staff during the day or evening other than those at reception, however the place was always spotless and ran like clockwork. Staff at the reception spoke English and were extremely helpful.

Good pitches (our caravan is 8m long and has an awning to match). Shaded and well laid out. There are a number of mobile homes and all integrated well.

The site is well situated for the cycle routes to St Martin and Ars, and lies quite central on the Ile. The nearest shop is about 5 mins drive, and the nearest beach is great to cycle to at 600m.

The pool was fantastic and we were in every day at some point as it was open until 8pm.

The site is clean, quiet, well run and well located on the Ile de Re. We would definitely return a week was not long enough.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kirstygarratt 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned after 8 nights at this campsite. We had a fantastic and very relaxing time. We have 3 children, aged 9 and 5 and they also thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

The campsite is pretty quiet, despite being half term there weren't really any other children on the site, it was mainly older couples. However, this was not a problem.

The site is ideally situated for the many bike routes on the island, which we made good use of. The only downside is that there is no shop on site and none particularly close. We found a Carrefour in La Courade. We found this more by luck as it down near to the beach, a little out from the market square. There was also a little Spar at Loix, which was about a 10 minute cycle, both were perfectly serviceable. The Spar does close between 1pm and 5pm, however, the Carrefour is open all day from 8am - 8pm, except Sunday's when they open 8am - 12. 45.

The pool is lovely, beautifully clean and never crowded. It has a roof that they can remove when the weather is hot.

We had a great time, weather was good, campsite was welcoming and friendly and we would definitely be happy to return.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Moyster 8 reviews from this member

The island was a total delight especially as we could cycle everywhere and did not need to use the camper. The reception was very helpful, spoke good English and gave us all the maps we needed. The pitches were spacious but required some manoeuvring with a large camper because of all the trees. Once in place the pitch was fine. Showers and toilets were excellent always clean and plenty of hot water. The pool was excellent very warm and never crowded at this stage of the season. Markets seemed to be everyday in each local town and it was easy cycling, though the wind needed to be taken into account. Beaches were deserted with wonderful sand. Very hot in May and can not wait to return later in the year.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rafale 1 review from this member

Weve just returned from 2 weeks at Tour La Prises on the Ile de Re. It was our first visit to the island and we had a fantastic time and would definitely return. The campsite was fairly small and quiet and the staff were friendly. The shop was adequately stocked and open all day and free WIFI access was available in the games room and swimming pool. The reception staff were friendly and spoke English and were very welcoming to us and our dog (so much so we were concerned that wed be leaving minus the dog!). The best way to get around the island is by bicycle which you could hire at the campsite and the staff were very accommodating to our ever changing hire requirements. Our biggest regret is not hiring the bikes earlier in the holiday there is so much to see on the island and bike is by far the easiest way to get around and the campsite is ideally situation right on the main cycle path. The campsite and facilities were clean and take away pizzas were available. The toilets and shower are brain new. The Pool is cover and heat. However all that said there were a couple of downsides mainly there were insufficient sinks for the campsite and you often needed to queue, the nearest restaurant was 10 minutes away on bike (around 20 mins walk) and the whole island (not just the campsite). All that said we would definitely return and would stay on the same site

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizzie 43 reviews from this member

The campsite certainly is in a good location and I would describe it as functional. Toilet blocks etc not especially new with rather worn and old floor in one which often looked rather grubby. One or two of the showers did not work in ths block either (not the block near reception).

The gathering leaves made the site look very untidy and I found myself comparing it to a site we visited in dordogne a couple of years ago where they had same trees but each day went round gathering them up (and this site was half the cost of the ile de re one!)

One other issue we had was that there were no facilities on the site for re-freezing ice packs and no ice for sale - this is a first on any site we have ever visited in France or uk. We were told to go to the supermarket where we were able to purchase blocks of ice but on a return visit they had run out. A significant failing I felt for a campsite.

On a positive note, the pitches are a good size, the location is ideal on the piste cyclable, quiet after midnight.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dudi 1 review from this member

We recently spent two weeks at the end of August and fell in love with the island. We received a warm welcome and found the staff helpful whenever we needed support or information.

I'd like to say a big thanks the earlier reviewers for this campsite, on here as it was their recommendations that led us to choose this site.It was also invaluable to get advice from this site about using EHU etc while touring in France.

The EHU was straightforward as we provided them with the French converter connection, which was bought from Halfords for about 6. They don't have a freezer where you can refreeze your ice blocks but sell small blocks of ice in plastic bags, ice bags do leak but luckily we had some fully seal-able zip bags that we decanted the ice into. Our electric cool-box kept things cool with the help of these blocks. I'd advice breaking them in half at least.

Local markets in the morning sold lovely local ingredients vegetables as well as sea food. The tourist products wine etc can be expensive compared to off island prices.

The site feels really family safe and friendly and I've already recommended it to friends. As the previous reviewer noted the campsite is in an ideal location for exploring the island by bike.

Facilities were very clean and well maintained. There are two blocks which have unisex showers and toilets and also washing facilities, 1 row of sinks for clothes and plates in each block. In the block near the campsite entrance there is a mini laundry mat where you can wash clothes by machine.

The layout of the campsite is well thought out, albeit a little cramped. The pitches are the width of a Monty 6 plus porch. They are arranged in a series of tree lined avenues. Each pitch is marked by trees. At regular intervals there is an outdoor sink and tap shared between about 4/6 pitches. The downside is that the pitches are a lot closer than we have been used to. Luckily no one played loud music or tv's but it wasn't unusual to be woken by conversations on nearby pitches.

The other thing to bear in mind for August is that the trees help make a beautiful setting but leaf and tree sap gathering on the tent roof for the fortnight that we stayed. The leaves are not so much of a problem but the sap could compromise the water proofing of tents. The site is about a 5 -10 minute cycle ride to the nearest, popular and often crowed, beach but it is beautiful. I'll definitely go back to the island.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near La Couarde Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5768 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019