Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping De Chartres (was Les Bords De L Eure)

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Chartres > Camping De Chartres (was Les Bords De L Eure) > Reviews

Camping De Chartres (was Les Bords De L Eure)
9 Rue De Launay
Chartres
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
28000
Tel: +33 02 37 28 79 43  or  +33 2 34 40 30 40


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 96
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 33 Reviews
                7/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susan7 1 review from this member

 This site was better than expected: a good new sanitation block that was large and clean,

Friendly staff, a good leisure room,

Good refuse area and, critically, located directly on the river weaving its way into Chartres,

1 mile from the spectacular cathedral. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 186 reviews from this member

 We'd heard that the campsite name had changed so made a visit hoping that other changes had been made. And found a great refurbished sanitary block.

The M/F toilets are now in separate rooms, the shower and basin room is still mixed but there are lots more cubicles now.

Some of the pitches now have all weather matting to protect them, and a new MH service area was being built across from reception. They seem to be doing bike hire now too.

A food van was there for 2 of our nights, we didn't use it.

Very pleasant young people in reception. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Himwotdus 17 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to this site and improvements are ongoing however certain areas still need attention.

It's a very convenient site to visit the historic town of Chartres and only takes about 15/20 minutes to walk into.

In May the site filled up as the afternoon progressed and by evening it was very busy.

The facilities block has been refurbished internally and now the external needs to done soon as it looks quite shabby.

Would still recommend this site as a stopover to visit Chartres. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kuluk 2 reviews from this member

 This site is good for a stopover. It is set in woodland and there are good sized spaces. However the downside is the unfriendly welcome and lack of interest in helping the camper. The sanitary facilities were inadequate badly needing an upgrade. The shower block was shared by both men and women and the water was barely warm, similarly with the washing up sinks. Water points that worked were hard to find. Would avoid at busy times if at all possible. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mbarry215 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site for a stopover in July. Easily findable by satnav from the route through Rouen. Lots of pitches (not soggy at all), partially shaded. Didn't use the facilities, so can't comment. Had difficulty finding a tap (in the washing machine room) & waste bins. ACSI had finished but only paid a Euro more. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 186 reviews from this member

 Another update for this year.

We were meeting friends so stayed here as it is very convenient. There had been lots of rain all over France, the pitches were a mess and the mud was smelly. Apparently the warden had had to tow vans off with his tractor. However, he didn't tell us any of this when we checked in, just took our money as usual. We finally chose to stay on one of the roads at the end of a cul-de-sac, in line with a number of other vans. Very few went on the pitches.

I wouldn't have minded, but the ACSI discount had finished and we paid full season price, which I considered quite expensive for a roadside halt. Had the warden told us about the condition of the pitches we might have had second thoughts. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Feelyjordan 17 reviews from this member

 Not the most friendly reception, and my wife speaks good French.

I tried 3 stand pipes before I found one that would supply water. Only one sit down loo in the gents, so gents were using the ladies. To be fair the facilities were kept clean, but in desperate need of updating.

A public path adjacent to the site didn't look to be securely fenced, although we didn't have any bother during our stay.

Early end to ACSI deal so we paid 43 Euros for two nights at the end of June. Very pricey compared to the rates and facilities of other sites that we visited.

Positives - free WIFI at reception.

The town of Chartres is a bit of a jewel, and well worth a visit. We cycled in via a safe route along the river then a steep climb up to the cathedral area. It's a longish but do-able walk.

Pity the site isn't better, but tolerable for a couple of nights adjacent to Chartres. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 186 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

Just an update as there have been no reviews so far this year.

We stayed for 1 night on our way home, we meet friends who live locally so this site is very convenient. It is also convenient for the town, via the foot/cycle path along the river.

No change to the sanitary block. Say no more. But not expensive. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Delio2000 2 reviews from this member

 Yeah the old bird on the reception is a grumpy old cow and she speaks only French but is that a problem ?. No it isnt as ifyour visiting then you should at least have respect to try the local lingo as the world doesn't revolve around the uk. The site is tired but cheap so I'm well happy and there's a lovely walk along the river which me and the hounds love. The cathedral in the centre is amazing and there's a lovely bar right outside that serves amazing food and beer. Not the best campsite in the world if your a snob but if your in France and want to feel like your in France then this is the place to stop. On the other hand your in France and want to feel like your on a caravan club site then its probably best you stayed in tbe uk and left us proper campers to have all of the fun !. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Claire N 13 reviews from this member

 Even though previous reviews on this site are quite varied, we decided to stay here because of it's location, which suggests it is within walking distance of the town and the beautiful Chartres cathedral. We booked in and drove to find a pitch. We noticed that there were several twin axle caravans and also several white vans on the site. These, along with the sheet we had been given about locking away valuables, made us feel a bit uncomfortable about staying on the site, and we decided to leave. To be fair to the man on reception, we were given our money back! We may have judged this site harshly, but did not feel happy to stay there. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping De Chartres (was Les Bords De L Eure) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping De Chartres (was Les Bords De L Eure)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping De Chartres (was Les Bords De L Eure) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chartres      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3727 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement