Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Menhirs

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Carnac Plage > Camping Les Menhirs Reviews

Camping Les Menhirs
Allee St Michel
Carnac Plage
Brittany   (Browse area)
56340
Tel: 0033 02 97 52 94 67
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 332
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Roma07 21 reviews from this member

This was the most expensive campsite we used during a fortnight in Brittany (£157 for 4 nights, 2 people, EHU), but to be fair it has all the facilities you might ask for. Swimming pool with flume and waterslide (good fun), small bar with TV for sports, entertainments (not sure what), and decent wash facilities, always being cleaned, but generous in number. My partner loved the free massage and jacuzzi.

Staff were pleasant and had good English, though we were allocated pitch without option to choose. Shop had usual selection, and sold fresh bread and croissants daily. Some takeaway prepared food also available: one evening we had a delicious meal from the counter.

There's a small charge for wifi for which you are given a code.

Good beach is a short walk away at Carnac Plage, as are cafes, patisseries and a few tourist shops.

The only downside: in high summer it was noisy in the evenings until 11pm, with children cycling or scooting all round the site. We were right next to the main path through the site; the pitches around the edge of the site might be quieter.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Croudyl 3 reviews from this member

We booked a 110 to 120m pitch with electric, water and drainage. Very spacious but trees around the perimeter of some pitches made for difficulties in manoeuvring onto pitch. Site however is very well laid out, shower/toilet blocks very clean but only one side (either gents or womens)open at any one time. Disabled shower/toilet in poor state of repair, ie shower head adjustment broken and no temperature adjustment on push-button shower - scalding hot at times so very difficult to use. Also no water to basin. Pool area very clean and tidy with water slides in operation when lifeguard on duty. Didn't try bar or indoor pool so can't comment on these. Site itself is in a terrific spot - very short walk (5 minutes) to beautiful beaches and also small commercial centre (5 minutes) with bars, restaurants, kiddie rides and shops. Also fantastic ice cream stall selling too many to count different flavours of ice creams with diverse flavours such as 'English Soup', Curry, Liquorice to name but a few. We took the land train on a round trip (hop-on, hop-off service) to Trinite sur Mer and then a guided trip around the standing stones of Carnac. Cost €7. 50 per adult which we thought was good value for money. All in all would recommend this site and Carnac.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katieep 7 reviews from this member

The location of this campsite was fabulous. If the weather had been good we would not have had to use the car at all. We really liked Carnac - nice town and the local cycle paths were well maintained and safe - great with the kids and a really good way to explore the local area. Also thought the site was fairly quiet despite being so close to the centre of town. First holiday in a while that OH didn't use his ear plugs at all.

Pool was small but our girls loved the slides and cycling round the site. The shop was ok but had always run out of croissants by the time we got out of bed!

On the negative, the toilet block seemed to harbour mosses and I got some really bad bites. Also (not the fault of the campsite) we didn't really enjoy Brittany as much as other bits of France - really cold wind, not a lot to go and see when the weather was bad - no vineyards, castels, chateaus, etc. Also the fruit was really poor - however if we'd been lucky and had had 12 days of sunshine and no wind we would have had a fab time on the beach eating ice creams and drinking cocktails!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrewdoddsuk 6 reviews from this member

Recent stay - Tent, 2 adults and 2 kids.

Pleasant site - good drainage as we can testify from the amount of rain! Not the quietest, it has to be said. If you want silence don't go.

Shop was good and there are nearby supermarkets. Reception efficient, facilities clean - indeed, constantly being cleaned in shifts, it seemed. The water park was good and had an attendant, and the water was heated. Some of the kids facilities in the basement of the building looked a bit haphazard. But the playground was OK.

Walking to the beach is pretty straightforward, and the restaurants are nearby as well. Plenty of places to get your crepes and ice cream.

Local area is good. Scenic, covered in Menhirs and Creperies. Could easily spend a fortnight exploring and visiting, we only had 5 nights.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Paul hesford 5 reviews from this member

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this site, it was quite quiet for most of the time, then came the French Bank Holiday and the whole dynamic changed, the place came alive, the pool area was full and vibrant buy still plenty of sunbeds available. The shop had limited stock but there was a supermarket a short walk away. The beach was a good 5 minute walk away but not if you had much to carry, it was 20 minute walk into the town and but only 10 minutes to the restaurants, bars and shops.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MadFrank 21 reviews from this member

Have just returned from Les Menhirs after a break of 8 years.

It's amazing how memories change - in this case for the better - the site seemed a lot more open than I remembered.

Reception is very efficient - and even let me stay later on the last day at no charge so I could get the 11PM ferry from Caen.

The location is fantastic 10 mins walk from the town centre and 5 mins walk from the beach - perfect.

The pool is small but has two great (fast) slides that kept the kids happy.

The bar is small but quite pleasant.

There are three sets of very decent toilet/shower blocks that were constantly being cleaned.

I booked one of the 'prestige' pitches with the BBQ, water and waste facilities - not for the facilities themselves but because of the larger pitches. The basic pitches are quite small so if you have a larger van then it is worth considering the extra money.

Gripes:

The shop is poor and closed more than it is open.

There is quite a large static contingent which changes th esite dynamics a bit - especially if you are in the midst of them.

There is only one chemical loo point which became a little unpleasant at time when some of us caravanners decided not to clear up any mess that we made - this was cleaned quite promptly so cannt fault the site - just the users.

Am I going back again - oh yes.

It is expensive bit worth the money for the location in my eyes.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Turner2 52 reviews from this member

A medium sized commercial site with several tent and chalet operators. Fairly quiet on our visit in September 2012. Nice grassed pitches with water taps every couple of pitches and all with EHU. Two large toilet blocks with Showers/washing up areas etc - These were kept very clean during our stay. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby with weekly markets on Wednesday/Sunday with lots of food stalls. Small shop on site with limited stock during our visit as season was due to end but bread could be ordered daily and fresh milk always available - The shop also provided an evening take-away service for hot chicken/sausage and chips etc (6to8pm). The indoor pool was very clean and pleasant but closed on Mondays. The site manager Sylvie was very helpful. Beaches are just 5 mins away from the site and you can catch the little train to La Trinite-sur Mer

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hwcamping 4 reviews from this member

This was our first trip abroad in our campervan and we chose Carnac because it was only 3 hours drive from Roscoff and Les Menhirs had swimming pools and was close to the beach.

The drive from Roscoff was very easy with most of it being on quiet dual carriageways. The easiest way to find the site is to follow the signs for the Tourism office at Carnac Plage and then keep going for another 100yds and the site is signposted on the left.

The owner of the site speaks English which is great and will help you with any queries. The site at the end of July was full to capacity, but the pools were never overcrowded. The lifeguard would always ensure the slides were used safely. Our children aged 11 and 14 yrs spent many hours on the slides. There were table tennis tables, but there were often full. There was a very noisy kids club, our kids were too old to try it.

The pitches were a good size, with some being separated by hedges. I would recommend asking for a pitch around the edges of the site, as the ones in the middle are affected by the noise from the pools and the evening entertainment.

Although the site was busy, this was made up by the proximity of the site to Carnac Plage where there were many eating places in the evening and lots of wonderful icecream parlours. It was just 10 mins walk max to these and then you could walk back to the site along the beach.

If you want a quieter site, then it is probably worth going to the ones between here and St Trinite Sur Le Mere, where there is still a beach, but no eating places within walking distance.

Finally take a bike or hire one and tour the area using the many cycle lanes - French drivers will always let you out at junctions and give you plenty of space when overtaking, so it is a real pleasure cycling around.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Warbis66 28 reviews from this member

We have done this type of holiday for the past 6 years. We have never returned to the same site twice and have usually gone with French Freedom or Matthews HOlidays.

This time we opted for a three bed caravan which I have to say is considerably more spacious than the two bed. The living area is much bigger.

We really liked this site. In terms of entertainment and things to do it is not at the top but the location for us was everything. Short walk to the beach, short drive to numerous others. Short walk to lovely eateries and shops.

The kids 9 8 4 all had a lovely time, the eldest meeting up with friends at the park the middle one playing football and the youngest going off to the 'colouring in ' club.

Pitches small and I have to say a little scruffy. But if you like Brittany and you like being near the beach then I can highly recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mzzy 10 reviews from this member

We really liked this site, it has everything you need, the pools and slides are great, nice little bar, toilets clean, pitch was a good size with own tap.

It is within walking distance of shops, bars and the beach. A great little supermarket on site, with a larger one 5 mins drive away. Shop also sells really nice take-away food, which wasn't too expensive.

We went out of season (end of June) so it was only about a third full, but it was really nice and quiet.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4098 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019