Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Malvern Holiday Park (duke Of York)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Worcestershire > Site Reviews

Malvern Holiday Park (duke Of York)
Tewkesbury Road
Berrow
Malvern
Worcestershire   (Browse area)
WR13 6JQ
Tel: 07581 036453
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25 Seasonal Pitches
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 10 Reviews
                7/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (10)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

This site used to be part of the Duke of York public house. Previously it was just a field with very basic facilities.

It now has new owners, who have gained planning approval and a site licence for 25 units and we've completely re-developed this field. It now has roadways, hardstandings, electric hook-ups, a new toilet and shower block, chemical disposal point etc

The site has been re-named Malvern Holiday Park and now offers 25 seasonal pitches for caravans only. There is also a shepherds hut for hire on site.

The pub is still next to the site, however is under different management.

Please note therefore reviews prior to this date may no longer be relevant, or reflect the current site.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wynthesurfer

As I used to stay at this pub a lot and knew it had been closed for a while I rang on the 26/5/2012 as I had been informed it had re-opened.

On speaking to the new very pleasant owner he said that the site was now closed as he was building 5 log cabins and would not be accepting any campers etc.

He stated that he now caters for food and drink only so after speaking to him it may well be worth trying out if staying in the area.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Uglow 11 reviews from this member

We spent a week at this site in our large American RV (36ft long) The pitches are massive and are relatively level so setting up was fairly easy, which makes a good change. Some would say cheap but cheerful I would only say cheap.

As far as the facilities well what can I say, my partner refused to use the toilets. I understand the fact that it does mention on the pubs website that the toilet block is basic, basic we can deal with but well in all the time we were there they were not cleaned once!

The light did not work so if you didn't have a torch you could be stuck. The soap dispenser was empty when we arrived & remained the same for the duration of our stay.

The toilet roll was not replaced by anyone apart from myself there was no hot water. So if you are camping you would need to use a stove for washing up. We are fortunate enough to have everything we need on board our RV, if we were in a tent we would have not stayed for more than one night.

As far as the pub goes the food was good value for money the staff are very friendly and the landlady met us on our arrival which gave us a very good impression. The pub has a large car park as well as a good size beer garden. There are a couple of swings and a slide for the kiddies to use.

One thing to mention there is a large pond to the bottom of the campsite there is a rotten bridge with a cone to stop you using it. So if you have young kids then be aware of the potential danger, also the site is right on the main road, although we couldn't hear road noise at night.

The question I always ask myself would we stay again? Well unless they improve the toilet block and clean it at regular times of the day we would not return

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lorettaof 1 review from this member

We spent a wonderful, long weekend at this friendly site. The toilets are rather ancient, but for £11.50 with electric hookup, the price was great value for money. The pub serves reasonably priced, top class food and excellent real ales. The landlady was friendly and welcoming as were all the staff. The site is even which is unusual in such a hilly region. The 'Big Chill' festival was taking place nearby at Eastnor and on the Saturday, the wind blowing in the right direction, enabled us to listen to some of the music for free. The lovely town of Great Malvern is a short drive away and well worth visiting. We will definitely return to this friendly pub.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tizzmom 4 reviews from this member

We spent three nights here over the Whitsun bank holiday, and found the owners to be helpful and friendly. There was plenty of space on the fairly level site even though I believe they were fully booked at this time.

There were several electric hook-ups and the water was easy to get to, as was the waste disposal area. The grass was well mown and the cuttings removed, so thankfully no grass in the caravan.

Food and service in the pub was good - you can check out their menu and costs on their own website, which will give you an idea of the variety of food offered.

There also is a small children's play area, and plenty of space for the kiddies to run around. We spent a few hours in nearby historic Tewkesbury town, and would have taken a trip on the river there had the weather been kinder.

The lovely Malvern Hills and Ledbury town are also within easy reach by car. All in all a quiet, relaxed weekend, but be aware that this site has no showers. My only gripe was with the state of the unisex toilet block - it was in dire need of TLC and a good scrub.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: StaffordKnot 37 reviews from this member

The site is only about 15 mins drive from junction 2 of the M50 and sits well away from the road behind the pub and is very quiet. If you are self sufficient, in terms that you have your own shower and loo then this is ideal. Unfortunately, there are no showers and the outside loos, although clean, lacked loo rolls and could do with a bit of TLC!

As mentioned on the pub website there is no marked out pitches which allows for more than adequate space between you and your neighbour. Its worth mentioning that the hook ups are only 6 KW which is a bit of a nuisance if using a lot of appliances (kept tripping). However, the pub landlord has just fitted 6 more 16 KW hook ups which will be fine once the ground has settled.

TV reception is just about OK. All the pitches on the site also benefit from having the sun all day too! A bonus the weekend we were there!

The pub is most certainly worth a visit or two; we ate there both nights and have to say how good the food and drink were. The couple who run the site are very friendly and helpful as is their Springer Spaniel ‘Alfie’!

Nearby as mentioned in a previous review, is the Farmers Arms in Birtsmorton, which again is worth a 5 mins drive to. If going a little further a field we found a gem of a pub in Malvern Link (not Great Malvern), just off the common called the ‘Nags Head’; very quaint!

Ledbury and Upton upon Severn are both worth visiting. We will be back!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jano 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to the Duke of York and it exceeded our expectations. We checked out the UKCampsite.co.uk reviews before our visit and found them to be accurate.

The owner helped us to site our caravan on a field with room for about fifteen units, there are temporary toilets on site which are functional and there are no showers, but this may alter in due course as the owner develops the site.

The pub is a typical country lnn with good food and many types of real ales. The owners were very helpful and welcoming. We have booked to return to this site in May to explore what must be one of the loveliest counties in England.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joceline 1 review from this member

Went camping here and it poured down with rain but that didn't matter, a couple have just taken over the place and they are doing a wonderful job, great staff, great food and its dog friendly too!
The campsite has electric and non electric pitches and now except tents. The ground is really flat no bump! and its perfectly mowed. Around the area is Ledbury a lovely town with nice tearooms and then there is tewkesbury in the other direction.
Will definitely stay here again! great time!

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smith21 2 reviews from this member

A site which has been vastly improved since a previous visit some years ago. The grass is now nicely mown and the site is generally kept up to standard.

As well as the Duke of York, another reasonable eating place about two miles up the road is the Robin Hood public house.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Surfer01 7 reviews from this member

Very nice site with a level grassed field. Site is maintained and neat. Pond nearby so one will need to keep and eye on any young children. There is also a play area in the pub grounds away from the caravans. Has about 8 EHU hookups, toilets also available. Pub serves good food. Also in the vicinity is the Farmer's Arms a 600 year old pub that also serves good food and a number of local brews. Definitely going back again.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Worcestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2838 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019